Review: Fuji X Pro 1 for the Architectural Photographer (Part 1)

Started Apr 8, 2012 | Discussions
endus
Contributing MemberPosts: 863
Like?
Review: Fuji X Pro 1 for the Architectural Photographer (Part 1)
Apr 8, 2012

I took my Fuji X Pro 1 out today for it's first real test run. When I got home and took a look at the files, I was compelled to write a review. Why? First, because I don't really have anything better to do right now. Second, however, I have been waiting for a camera like the Fuji X Pro 1 for a long time. Read that closely...a camera like the Fuji X Pro 1. I have been enthusiastic about this camera since it was announced, but for years before that I was looking for this type of camera. The question was, did the Fuji live up to expectations? Could it succeed where my Panasonic LX3 failed? Could it truly be a 5dMKII substitute when I don't want to lug my (literally) 28 pound 5dmkii rig around?

About me: I am primarily an architectural photographer. I shoot off a tripod almost all the time. I shoot RAW 100% of the time. I have worked with models, done some fashion stuff, I do landscapes on a regular basis...but Architecture is my thing. I have lugged my gigantic 5dMKII rig through many crazy adventures, but I have been looking for a rig I can take when I want to lighten the load a bit. I have shot FD mount stuff on some of my trips to that end, and those shots turned out well. I do prefer digital for color, though, unless I'm shooting Velvia, which doesn't have enough dynamic range for some of what I do. I also like the flexibility of digital (can go B+W or color, can process heavily if I feel like it), so I really wanted a good portable digital that could take extremely high quality pics.

I've also wanted to expand my horizons a bit, maybe do some street shooting, who knows. Being able to sneak the camera into concerts wouldn't hurt either.

Anyway, so I took the camera out for it's first real shoot today. These are my initial impressions.