Hoping for an Olympus equivalent to the Panny 20mm lens

Started Apr 5, 2012 | Discussions
SammyToronto
Regular MemberPosts: 108Gear list
Like?
Hoping for an Olympus equivalent to the Panny 20mm lens
Apr 5, 2012

I've been shooting the epm1 + the panny 20mm lens for several months now and have found this combination capable of producing a stellar image quality. However, I've recently tried to shoot pics of my nephew and niece and found the slow focus of the panny to be a true problem when trying to keep up with kids indoors. I've never had such a hard time shooting kids with my Canon XT + Tamron 17-50; a combination not exactly renowned for lightening-quick focus yet it easily kept up with the kids producing in-focus pics 90% of the time (my gallery has a couple of those pics).

It's even worse when trying to take a video indoors where focusing REALLY struggles, even it very good light. It's a shame because, when in focus, the video captured is to die for and better than any camcorder I've owned.

I love the panny's focal length since it's great for taking indoor pics/videos of people, which is what I mostly do, so I hope Olympus produces an equivalent version with the MSC focusing mechanism and image quality of the phenomenal 45mm (which I'll probably also get). It doesn't even have to be a pancake lens; something the size of the 45mm would do nicely. Olympus, are you listening?

SammyToronto's gear list:SammyToronto's gear list
Canon EOS 350D Olympus PEN E-PL1 Olympus PEN E-PM1 Olympus PEN E-PL5
Olympus PEN E-PM1
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
peppermonkey
Senior MemberPosts: 2,485Gear list
Like?
Re: Hoping for an Olympus equivalent to the Panny 20mm lens
In reply to SammyToronto, Apr 5, 2012

If you are going to ask Oly that, you may as well ask Panny to just release an updated 20mm with modern AF... unless there is some reason you want Oly and not Panny to release it..

SammyToronto wrote: