Action sports video test with Sony A65

Started Mar 18, 2012 | Discussions
johndfrey
Forum MemberPosts: 60
Like?
Action sports video test with Sony A65
Mar 18, 2012

I have been a video producer and studio owner for the last 30 years. In addition, still photography was added as one of our services about 10 years ago. From Betamax (Beta 1) in 1981 through 3/4" U-Matic through Betacam SP video formats over the years, I have sought the sharpest, clearest original video that I could record under the prevailing circumstances and limited budgets. I added medium priced HD cameras when the prices were reasonable several years ago, and now have added DSLR-type cameras to fit certain situations.

I am currently shooting action sports promotional footage for racetrack promoters and we just completed their Winter Series which was held in daytime, but the track finals was to be held at night, and would feature two of the very best from America - current World Champion and current U.S. champion. The opportunity to shoot footage with these 2 guys fighting it out would probably not come up again in 2012.

This track has always been a very low-light venue, and I was looking for the best camera set-up to handle this as well as the night-time summer series starting in April. I had a couple of Panasonic GH2 cams in hand-held rigs, but I finally concluded, after testing, that they were not going to give me the footage that I needed in such a dark environment, as the specifications that I required were: 1920 x 1080 60p, and the GH2s could only shoot 720 60p. In addition, I shoot manually and the shutter has to be 1/120th for the slo-mo that is the primary purpose of this footage. Even with the Nikon adapted manual 1.4 50mm, the GH2 footage was just not there and had no in-camera image stabilization for the hand-held work.