Using a graphics tablet & pen when editing?

Started Mar 14, 2012 | Discussions
Hdub
Forum MemberPosts: 63
Like?
Using a graphics tablet & pen when editing?
Mar 14, 2012

Just curious if anyone uses one during thier editing? I can definitely see how they would make certain things much easier. Trying to use the lasso with a mouse is a pain. I'm no pro photog, editor, or artist, (I'm just an IT guy!!) but I'm thinking about picking one up.

Someone willing to chime in with recommendations or input on what/when/how you use it during your work?

Thanks!

mujana
Senior MemberPosts: 2,920Gear list
Like?
Re: Using a graphics tablet & pen when editing?
In reply to Hdub, Mar 14, 2012

I'm using the Wacom Intuos 4 together with my mouse in Lightroom; mouse for scrolling (in left hand), and pen for working on my pics (in right hand). Sometimes only the pen/Intuos. Works great! More precise and more sensitive (tablet + pen).

I suggest you search for more results on this forum (there are many posts about this subject).
Good luck!

mujana's gear list:mujana's gear list
Olympus OM-D E-M5 Olympus M.Zuiko Digital ED 9-18mm 1:4.0-5.6 Olympus M.Zuiko Digital 45mm 1:1.8 Olympus M.Zuiko Digital ED 75mm 1:1.8
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Toermalijn
Forum ProPosts: 12,545Gear list
Like?

I use the pen and tablet for all kinds of retouch/design stuff.
Extraction, painting/smudging etc. is ideal for tablet.

The standard pen is also good for operating system navigation.

WineO
Veteran MemberPosts: 4,310
Like?

For close work and drawing you can't beat a pen and tablet. I am sure that the artists amongst us will say they are indispensable.
Claude

Pixel Poetry
Veteran MemberPosts: 3,579Gear list
Like?

Good timing, the Intuos 5 just came out and it has some new features, go to the wacom home page for more info.

I do a lot of retouching and have been using a very old graphite tablet, I don't think I could do my job with out it.

Pixel Poetry's gear list:Pixel Poetry's gear list