Two Heads or Two Tripods?

Started Feb 5, 2012 | Discussions
ScottTomlinson
Regular MemberPosts: 407
Like?
Two Heads or Two Tripods?
Feb 5, 2012

I own a rock solid Manfrotto 3021BRPO Tripod with a 3047 Photo Head. I'm starting to do a lot more video, and this head is not sufficiently smooth (or designed for) panning. I'm debating whether to get a video head for the 3021 or to buy a fully set up video tripod. I've never taken the head off so I'm sure how easy interchaning them on a single tripod would work. Does anyone have any advice in this regard? I wish there was a single product that worked great for both stills and video. The photo head gives you the 3rd axis, the video head gives you smooth pans and tilts. Thanks ahead of time for the help.

BeautifulEarth18
Forum MemberPosts: 61
Like?
Re: Two Heads or Two Tripods?
In reply to ScottTomlinson, Feb 10, 2012

I'm no expert, but since you've not received any replies I thought I'd try and help.

I think that two tripods is not realistic for most people. I can see why you are thinking of doing that but think of the weight. Even a fairly light tripod like mine weighs about 2kgs with the video head attached. If I was carrying another similar one with my ball head, that would be close to 4kg in weight. Plus tripods are big. Again, mine is fairly light and compact but I can only just fit my tripod in my backpack with the rest of the gear. I know that it would be possible to carry it in a shoulder bag but it's just more baggage. Grappling with 2 tripods all the while will get tiresome (I actually tried it for a while myself when I had a very small tripod with a ball head and my slightly larger one with a video head. I found that it only slowed me down).

Unless you have an assistant, or unless you don't travel far on foot when out photographing/shooting video, I would definitely suggest sticking to one tripod.