135/2 DC and 85/1.4 bokeh

Started Jan 23, 2012 | Discussions
Timskis6
Veteran MemberPosts: 9,562
Like?
135/2 DC and 85/1.4 bokeh
Jan 23, 2012

Hi guys, I'm relatively new to Nikon but have been using the 24-70/2.8 and 70-200mkI for indoor studio and outdoor portrait work, and love them.

Like many others, I'm looking at both the 135/2 DC and 85/1.4 for more controlled scenarios outdoors.

I haven't been able to find comparisons of the bokeh between the 135/2 DC and 85/1.4 at similar portrait length magnifications (i.e. both at half body). Can anyone point me to some links or comparisons, or chime in with their experiences?

In my experience the compression effect of the longer focal length affects bokeh more positively than simply 1 stop faster with a shorter lense (at similar magnifications). Combined with the defocus control, I'm really leaning toward the 135/2 DC if specifically looking at bokeh only.

Thoughts?

Cheers,
--
Tim
http://www.developemotion.com
'I haven't been everywhere, but it's on my list.'
E3/7-14/12-60/35-100/150/EC20
http://www.flickr.com/photos/timskis6/

Olympus E-3
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
jcfhsu
New MemberPosts: 17Gear list
Like?
Re: 135/2 DC and 85/1.4 bokeh
In reply to Timskis6, Jan 23, 2012

Hi. It would help if you state whether you shoot DX or FX. This would affect the working distance, the form and quality of the out of focus areas, and the degree and depth of acceptable focus of your subject.

Also, the amount of pixel count of your camera does affect the sharpness and the overall appearance of your output. (I shoot D3x exclusively now, but have had owned other FF's, and DX's).

Both 85 1.4 and 135 2 are critically sharp in the focused areas, though they differ in how their sharpness spreads through out the frame. I'd say the 85 will have more field curvature than the 135 due to their working distance.