50mm F1.4 - Is it worth fixing?

Started Jan 6, 2012 | Discussions
gmike Junior Member • Posts: 47
50mm F1.4 - Is it worth fixing?

Hi,

I was on vacation when my 50mm F1.4 fell out of my bag onto a concrete floor. I picked up the len and it appears that the glass is still good. It will not focus. When I shake it, it sound like something got loose. My question is: Do you think its worth getting it fixed?

Mike

Color Stream Forum Member • Posts: 84
Re: 50mm F1.4 - Is it worth fixing?

A very similar thing happened to me as well. Something was loose! It did auto focus though.

When I looked at the front element, I saw the B+H filter smashed to hek, but the front element was fine. To make sure, I sent it into the Canon Irvine CA center, and they said that the focus ring was replaced because it was loose. When you drop the 50mm f1.4, it can loosen the focus ring for some reason. I am not an engineer, so I am not totally technically savvy about all the mechanical parts to the 50mm f1.4 lens.

The report they sent back to me was 3 parts replaced and the two parts tightened. I cannot be certain, but I think it was three parts total. They also cleaned the elements. The lens was only a few weeks old when this happened. I used the repair card to cover the damage, and it cost nothing. I had the lens back in 7-8 days if I remember right.

You might just want to send the lens in to give it a try, and see what they can do for you. Canon Repair / Tech Support is the best in the world! I believe they take really good care of their Customers.

Anyway, that is my opinion.

• Color Stream

talico Contributing Member • Posts: 614