white balance with studio lights

Started Nov 17, 2011 | Discussions
photoartist
Forum MemberPosts: 59
Like?
white balance with studio lights
Nov 17, 2011

I have been shooting with Alien Bees for a few years now and have been very happy with the results. However one thing I have found challenging is shooting portraits of subjects dressed in green. I have found that the color balance seems to be way off and make the skin tones very red. Can anyone explain why this happens? I have also noticed this when shooting with my 580 EX speedlight, that shooting subjects wearing green always skewes the color balance.

Tihomir
Junior MemberPosts: 40
Like?
Re: white balance with studio lights
In reply to photoartist, Nov 17, 2011

Do you shoot RAW and how do you set your white balance? Do you use some sort of a white/gray card or you nail it in camera by dialing the color temperature manually, or you try to guess it in post?

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
David Grabowski
Veteran MemberPosts: 7,287
Like?

It sounds as though you are shooting in Auto WB mode. Try daylight, shoot RAW and correct the little bit of off WB there may be in post. But daylight will usually be stable from sjhot to shot if the lights are. Or if that doesn't work then learn to take a Custom WB reading and preset that as your studio WB. The green in and of itself mixed with studio flash isn't going to make the skin red. It's one of two things, both lead to WB issues in camera . The green either shows a pre-existing WB issue that your eyes don't nomally pick up on, or in the case of Auto WB, is over correcting for green throwing the WB off.