Qualification in Photography?

Started Oct 14, 2011 | Discussions
onelargebeerplease
New MemberPosts: 10
Like?
Qualification in Photography?
Oct 14, 2011

Dear All.

I am an amateur photography looking to progress further. I have 4 years experience give or take with a DSLR, and I have read endless books and magazines. What I wish to know is : Is it worth completing a qualification in photography such as a City and Guilds or NVQ Level 1 before setting up a website and looking for clients?

I already have a strong portfolio, including one wedding I photographed last year but I would like your advice regarding the importance/need for accredited qualifications when considering a part time career as a photographer.

Has anyone here completed either of the above qualifications or a degree?

Do you think it was worth the time, effort and money spent to gain the qualification?

Also, from the point of view of an employer, would you be more concerned with an employee's portfolio or qualification?

I would really appreciate any feedback on this matter

Many thanks
Tom

Ashley Morrison Photography
Contributing MemberPosts: 814
Like?
Re: Qualification in Photography?
In reply to onelargebeerplease, Oct 14, 2011

onelargebeerplease wrote:

Also, from the point of view of an employer, would you be more concerned with an employee's portfolio or qualification?

Are you wanting to be an employee or are you wanting to be a self-employed photographer who produces images for 'others' to use ?

I have a degree in graphic communications, by the way - which I guess helped me understand a bit about what ad agencies & graphic designers were looking for - but I think a few courses in marketing and/or business studies would have been more helpful in those earlier years.