No High-Speed Sync when triggering 430EX II from 60D remotely?

Started Aug 27, 2011 | Discussions
Junior MemberPosts: 26
Like?
No High-Speed Sync when triggering 430EX II from 60D remotely?
Aug 27, 2011

Hi guys, I'm new to flash photography. I got 430EX II connected to my 60D remotely (via pop-up flash). With High-Speed Sync turned on on my 430EX, I can't get my 60D go faster than 1/250 shutter speed. I was on manual mode btw. Did I miss something or that's a limitation? I know it is the case for those cheap ebay trigger out there but not sure if this apply to 430EX as well. Please let me know, thanks!

ScratchDisk
Senior MemberPosts: 2,679
Like?
Re: No High-Speed Sync when triggering 430EX II from 60D remotely?
In reply to 167, Aug 27, 2011

Hi, That is a limitation - it lies with the pop-up controller. If you were using a 5xxEx or the ST-E2 as the master device, HSS would then be available across a Canon Wireless network.

I think Canon thought that wth the 60D/7D/600D controllers, power from the built-in flash was going to be limited anyway and therefore increasing the demand by implementing HSS would lead to lack of reliability.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Like?
In reply to ScratchDisk, Aug 28, 2011

ScratchDisk wrote:

Hi, That is a limitation - it lies with the pop-up controller. If you were using a 5xxEx or the ST-E2 as the master device, HSS would then be available across a Canon Wireless network.

I think Canon thought that wth the 60D/7D/600D controllers, power from the built-in flash was going to be limited anyway and therefore increasing the demand by implementing HSS would lead to lack of reliability.

That is sad... I was thinking about getting another 430EX... is there a cheaper solution to this? Can we connect 2 flashes with flash cables? Thanks anyway!

ScratchDisk
Senior MemberPosts: 2,679
Like?
In reply to 167, Aug 28, 2011