Canon T3 / 1100D or Nikon D3100

Started Jul 2, 2011 | Discussions
mc224
New MemberPosts: 2
Like?
Canon T3 / 1100D or Nikon D3100
Jul 2, 2011

I know this question must have been asked a thousand times, but I need your help.

I planning on buying my very first DSLR and I am having trouble choosing between the Canon T3 / 1100D and the Nikon D3100.

I have used some in the past (rented it at school), but never had to buy one.

I am an architecture student and I am going on an exchange for a year in Europe, which means I will shoot more landscape and buildings than portraits. It also means that I am on a kinda-tight budget, so the kit lens that comes with the D3100 or T3 will be the only one I'll use for the first year(s) or so.

I visited a few stores to get some advice, and one in particular said the Canon T3 was the better choice because the auto-focus on the D3100 won't work with all the Nikon Lenses. But like I said, I am not planning on buying a new lens in the next year so I don't know if it really applies to my situation...

So, tell me what you think : Canon T3 / 1100D or Nikon D3100 ?

dradam
Senior MemberPosts: 2,595
Like?
Re: Canon T3 / 1100D or Nikon D3100
In reply to mc224, Jul 2, 2011

mc224 wrote:

I know this question must have been asked a thousand times, but I need your help.

I planning on buying my very first DSLR and I am having trouble choosing between the Canon T3 / 1100D and the Nikon D3100.

I am an architecture student and I am going on an exchange for a year in Europe, which means I will shoot more landscape and buildings than portraits. It also means that I am on a kinda-tight budget, so the kit lens that comes with the D3100 or T3 will be the only one I'll use for the first year(s) or so.