event photography

Started Jun 14, 2011 | Discussions
D5000Angora
Forum MemberPosts: 97
Like?
event photography
Jun 14, 2011

I will be shooting an indoors event for my friend. I am not a professional, although I was many years ago, in the film era.

I will be shooting with Nikon D90, 17-50 2.8 Tamron, 50mm 1.8, 35mm 1.8 and with Nikon SB-600.

I also have the sto-fen omni bounce (although I didn't find results with it very pleasing).

Usually I bounce my flash up the ceiling but I am not sure how tall they will be in the hall.

My question is: how do you solve lighting issues when you don't have a wall to bounce light from?

Thanks!

toomanycanons
Veteran MemberPosts: 9,106
Like?
Re: event photography
In reply to D5000Angora, Jun 14, 2011

Gel with a 1/2 CTS, point your flash straight at the subjects and fire away. Sounds easy, right?

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
D5000Angora
Like?
In reply to toomanycanons, Jun 14, 2011

Totally!
Should the flash be in full power?
Thank you for your answer!

Joe Federer
Senior MemberPosts: 2,438
Like?

Use ambient light?

Bounce off people or other things (a dude wearing a white shirt is just as good (or better) than a wall/ceiling)

Put your flash off-camera (either in your outstretched hand, on a stand somewhere, or even sitting on top of a wall sconce...?) and trigger it with your on-camera...

Find a good spot (lighting wise) and wait for things to occur there.

Lots of options...
--
JOE FEDERER
Websites:
http://www.joefederer.com
http://www.federerphotography.com/blog
http://www.theprofessionalphotographyforum.com/

D5000Angora
Like?
In reply to Joe Federer, Jun 14, 2011

Thank you for these suggestions!

However, I like to be able to move around and catch interesting situations rather than situations coming to me... and I can't rely on a person with white clothing to pass by by chance but it's a cute idea

I wonder, if I set my WB to 3800K (1/2 CTS) will I get the same affect as using the gel?

lbuclk=