Black Images with Nikon D3100

Started Jun 3, 2011 | Discussions
txcamerlady
New MemberPosts: 3
Like?
Black Images with Nikon D3100
Jun 3, 2011

I've had my Nikon D3100 since Feb. 2011 and have had really good results with it. I was outside in bright sunlight today taking pictures of our horses and was just snapping away and then the pictures started turning out solid black.. Through the viewfinder as well as looking at the LCD screen on the back. I could focus my subject through the viewfinder but when I took the actual picture there was nothing there.

I have removed the memory card, the batteries, the lens (cleaned the contacts) I'm unsure of why it did this. It has done this on 2 previous ocassions as well. It will be taking great pictures and then just stop. Other times its great and will take pictures forever.

Any ideas. I am a beginner and have purchased several books on this particular camera since it was my first big jump into digital photography, but nothing in the Nikon books talks about black photos.

Thank you
txcameralady

slowhands
Veteran MemberPosts: 5,470Gear list
Like?
Re: Black Images with Nikon D3100
In reply to txcamerlady, Jun 3, 2011

Review your settings... ISO, fStop, Shutter speed, Exposure Compensation.
Certain combinations can give BLACK PICS even on sunny days.

I would have expected accidental adjustment to give over exposed (white), but black is possible too.

If you are CERTAIN your settings should give a good or over exposed image on a bright day...(ISO 400,f8, 1/60, + - 0)

Then investigate mechanical

Maybe a lens is failing...change lenses. Often they stick open and give ove exposure, but a blade could be flopping / loose to fully stop down and cause under exposure(?)

Maybe the mirror isn't flipping to allow exposure on the sensor...? you can see in viewfinder, but image is always black. This is what I suspect most likely

slowhands's gear list:slowhands's gear list
Canon EOS 40D Canon EOS 350D Canon EOS 7D