Ultra Zoom Camera with traditional viewfinder

Started Mar 12, 2011 | Discussions
Saving Lady
New MemberPosts: 2
Like?
Ultra Zoom Camera with traditional viewfinder
Mar 12, 2011

Does anyone make an ultra-zoom camera (at least 12x) with a traditional viewfinder. I really dislike the LCD displays that many cameras have settled on in lieu of a traditional viewfinder.

Thanks.

John Q Public
Forum MemberPosts: 82
Like?
Re: Ultra Zoom Camera with traditional viewfinder
In reply to Saving Lady, Mar 12, 2011

I'm far from an expert, but I believe the closest is the Nikon p7000, and it's only 7x. Have you considered using the buying guide and searching by feature?

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Leonard Migliore
Forum ProPosts: 10,002Gear list
Like?
Won't happen

Saving Lady wrote:

Does anyone make an ultra-zoom camera (at least 12x) with a traditional viewfinder. I really dislike the LCD displays that many cameras have settled on in lieu of a traditional viewfinder.

An optical viewfinder with a 12X zoom is going to be an awful lot like the camera's actual lens, be similar in size, and come close to it in cost; it would be the rebirth of the twin-lens reflex. This is a camera you're not going to see.

Aside from DSLR's, there are very few digital cameras with optical viewfinders these days and most of those are pretty poor; they're generally referred to as "tunnel" finders because using them is like looking down a tunnel.

So electronic viewfinders are the best solution for compact cameras with a wide zoom range.

-- hide signature --

Leonard Migliore

Leonard Migliore's gear list:Leonard Migliore's gear list
Canon PowerShot G12 Nikon D300 Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 10-24mm f/3-5-4.5G ED +9 more
Humboldt Jim
Senior MemberPosts: 1,071
Like?
Re: Ultra Zoom Camera with traditional viewfinder; Kind of