Canon 70-200 IS f4 vs f2.8 I & II

Started Feb 22, 2011 | Discussions
rsdofny
Junior MemberPosts: 44
Like?
Canon 70-200 IS f4 vs f2.8 I & II
Feb 22, 2011

I am a hobbyist and want to get a new camera plus a 70-200mm (have a 17-55/2.8 for normal use already). I'll need to take photos for my son's track meets both indoor and outdoor. I would imagine that the lens will be very limited use for other purposes. I want to take advantage of the current "rebate" on canon and get a 60D or 7D and the zoom - f4IS ($1200), f2.8 IS I used (~$15-1600), or a new f2.8IS II ($2100)?

f4 has a lot of appeal: lighter, cheaper, but a stop slower. I don't know if I can compensate with higher ISO to freeze action indoor. Between the two f2.8s, I probably cannot tell the difference for my use, but everyone says the ver II is the sharpest among all the 70-200mms. But I would assume ver II will have the better resale value vs ver. I if I have the lens just gathering dust after my son's hangs up his spikes in the future. For $500, I'll gain better a much better lens, better resale value (if ever I sell it) and all the new vs used benefits.

Between the 60D/7D, does the AF system in 7D make a difference for track action?

If I add up the price, a 60D/f4 will cost $2200 vs a 7D/f2.8 II will cost $3600.

SpeedNeeder
Junior MemberPosts: 46
Like?
Re: Canon 70-200 IS f4 vs f2.8 I & II
In reply to rsdofny, Feb 22, 2011

I'm interested to read some discussion on this choice too. The f2.8 would certainly be great, though the price difference vs the f4 is significant for me.

-- hide signature --

I like blue M&M's best.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
AOKH
Senior MemberPosts: 2,568Gear list
Like?