a33+kit lens or Minolta 28-80mm D f/3.5-f5.6 Lens+$100?

Started Nov 30, 2010 | Discussions
flancrest
New MemberPosts: 3
Like?
a33+kit lens or Minolta 28-80mm D f/3.5-f5.6 Lens+$100?
Nov 30, 2010

I'm about to purchase a Sony a33, after much research and reading on these forums. I own a Minolta Maxxum 5 SLR film camera, and the kit lens that it came with, a Minolta 28-80mm D f/3.5-f5.6 Lens. I'm wondering if I should spend the exta $100 to get the kit lens included with the a33, or if I'd be better off using my Minolta lens (in great condition) and putting the $100 toward another lens.

The a33 will be my first DSLR (SLT). I have limited photography experience, and won't be doing any professional shooting, so I'm looking for versatility foremost.

Thanks to all who post here, I've been lurking for months and gotten a ton of great insight.

pako
Senior MemberPosts: 1,551Gear list
Like?
Re: a33+kit lens or Minolta 28-80mm D f/3.5-f5.6 Lens+$100?
In reply to flancrest, Nov 30, 2010

flancrest wrote:

I'm about to purchase a Sony a33, after much research and reading on these forums. I own a Minolta Maxxum 5 SLR film camera, and the kit lens that it came with, a Minolta 28-80mm D f/3.5-f5.6 Lens. I'm wondering if I should spend the exta $100 to get the kit lens included with the a33, or if I'd be better off using my Minolta lens (in great condition) and putting the $100 toward another lens.

28-80 D? are you sure is a "D"?

Anyway, the kit lens is quite good, you will get better result from that lens than from your old kit lens.

-- hide signature --

Pako Dominguez
-----------------------
http://www.phototeka.net

pako's gear list:pako's gear list
Sony Alpha DSLR-A900 Sony Alpha NEX-7 Sony Alpha 7R Sony DT 16-105mm F3.5-5.6 Sony E 16mm F2.8 Pancake +18 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
flancrest
Like?
In reply to pako, Nov 30, 2010