Tutorial - My E-5 workflow (sharpening, NR)

Started Nov 12, 2010 | Discussions
jl_smith
Veteran MemberPosts: 3,405Gear list
Like?
Tutorial - My E-5 workflow (sharpening, NR)
Nov 12, 2010

I've had several inquiries of how I sharpen my images, etc and so I thought I would make this a thread and then reference it when they ask again

Disclaimer I'm by no means a post processing or photographic expert - Just a relative newbie not only to Olympus but photography in general (my first SLR was Pentax K200D waaay back in 2008 ) I'm not going to go over the nuances of every single technical caveat that I mention - I'm just using layman's terms because that's what I am.

Now, there are a few things I've learned in the few shorts years I've been shooting, when it comes to post work:

• No amount of technical wizardry is going to rescue an artistically bad photo. A boring photo is a boring photo is a boring photo.

• That said, if a photo makes you pause and think "this might be good", give it at least a small amout of post work and see how it turns out - sometimes a great photo is made from a "bad" one by a nice crop or B&W conversion. Don't spend too much time trying to make the photo work , though. If it's a good photo, you'll know rather quickly. I've made this mistake before - spent hours on a shot I thought I could "rescue" only to be just as bored at the results as the original!

• Contrast can be a great way to "sharpen" your images.

• Clipping blacks slightly can be a great way to add contrast and help with noise

• Software can do amazing things.

• You need to know how to control your software in order to make it do amazing things as well as have the artistic vision to know what you need to actually do (or not do).

• Simple dodge / burn can be amazingly effective.

MY TOOLBOX