Flash TTL while shooting subjects dressed all in dark gray.

Started Sep 27, 2010 | Discussions
David Wilkie
Junior MemberPosts: 40
Like?
Flash TTL while shooting subjects dressed all in dark gray.
Sep 27, 2010

I was taking group photos of a high school marching band. The small groups were all dressed in black pants and dark gray hoodies (hooded sweat shirts) while posing together on a football field at night (the field was lit via stadium lights).

The flash made all of faces way over exposed, but everything else was exposed perfectly. The cause, I assume, was due to the abundance of dark gray causing a complete lack of reflected light back to the camera. I was able to post process the shots (faces) and salvaged most of the pictures.

Since I am pretty new at this, I guess I need more experience using the flash without TTL. I am using a Nikon d90 with SB600.

ANY SUGGESTIONS on exposure settings for the next time I try something like this again? I do not have a light/flash meter. Should I use the camera to meter the scene THEN monkey with the flash in manual power?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. THANKS

Quantum Help
Senior MemberPosts: 1,666Gear list
Like?
Re: Flash TTL while shooting subjects dressed all in dark gray.
In reply to David Wilkie, Sep 27, 2010

You are correct in assuming that all the dark tones fooled the camera. You best bet, when in either vary darm, or very light situations, is to use the flash in manual mode. This way, it is powered for a specific distance and will give you repeatable shots.

Quantum Help's gear list:Quantum Help's gear list
Nikon D90 Nikon D1X Nikon D200 Nikon D300S Nikon AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D ED-IF +5 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
UKphotographers
Veteran MemberPosts: 3,929
Like?

Using your current equipment, setting a manual shutterspeed and your flash to TTL-BL will give you a better result. Full manual would be preferred, but TTL-BL should do a good job.

Have a look here: