Types of Lens Hoods: Tulip, Folding Rubber, etc...

Started Jun 14, 2010 | Discussions
char04
New MemberPosts: 4
Like?
Types of Lens Hoods: Tulip, Folding Rubber, etc...
Jun 14, 2010

I'm pretty new to photography--just bought a 550d a couple months ago. I've learned so, so much from just reading on these forums, so thank you. However, I could use some clarification regarding lens hoods. From what I've read, they definitely sound like a good thing to add to my bag--both for lens protection as well as reducing flare (please correct me if I'm wrong). But, there are a ton of different types of lens hoods--which would be the best for me to start out with? I'm seeing folding rubber ones and "tulip" ones and screw-in metal ones... The telephoto and macro ones are self-explanatory, but I'm a little lost with the others.

At this point, I only have the kit lens, 18-55mm, and the 55-250mm, so a 58mm lens hood should work for both, correct? Would I need a telephoto one for the 55-250mm?

Thanks for all your help, everyone!
Charlene

AnandaSim
Forum ProPosts: 13,422Gear list
Like?
Re: Types of Lens Hoods: Tulip, Folding Rubber, etc...
In reply to char04, Jun 14, 2010
  • Some lenses come with custom designed hoods for free.

• Rubber ones were popular when we were shooting prime lenses in the film era, I still use one. However, they are generic - they don't know what lens you will fit on so their baffling against the light may be too shallow (not effective enough) for the 200mm and give you vignette or obstruction when you are at the 50mm of the lens. They also screw on which means if you want to fit filters, and take them on/off, you are screwing two things on and off. They do not give you physical feedback when you touch a table or a wall so they don't help you avoid harder knocks.

• Plastic ones often mount on bayonet grips - that means they allow you to easily screw in and out a filter. They have to be custom designed per each lens since they are not collapsible flexible.