LENS MOUNT: Should I choose a Sony Alpha NEX-5 or Samsung NX10 INSTEAD?

Started Jun 5, 2010 | Discussions
RF-lens
Junior MemberPosts: 47
Like?
LENS MOUNT: Should I choose a Sony Alpha NEX-5 or Samsung NX10 INSTEAD?
Jun 5, 2010

Hi experts,

I'm an enthusiastic photographer - all types of subjects. I own hordes of classic (obviously non-digital) rangefinder cameras and lenses, as well as lots of premium Nikkor F-mount glass.

I have only one digital camera, a 5MP 8x zoom dinosaur from 2003.

This is because I've been waiting for a reasonably-priced ($3000 or less) full-frame Nikon digital SLR with more than 15 MP. I can't justify the price of a used D3x. Where's that D700X/D800/D900?

For the interim, I want a compact, non-SLR, large-sensor, interchangeable lens camera ON WHICH I CAN MOUNT (via an adapter) MY EXISTING RF LENSES (mainly Leica screw and M-bayonet & Zeiss Contax / RF Nikkor) and maybe my Nikon-F mount lenses.

Such adapters are easily available for the Micro-4/3rds cameras, most of which will allow most of my lenses to be mounted (unless the rear barrel protrudes too much). Of course, I'll lose automation; no big deal.

FIRST QUESTION!

Which Micro-4/3 model will give the maximum clearance for such lenses?

SECOND QUESTION!

The big drawback is the size of the Micro-4/3 sensor. My beautiful 25mm wideangle will become just a normal lens, in effect... So, would I be better off with a Sony Alpha NEX-5 or Samsung NX10 instead, or is there something which means no adapters will become available for their mounts (none is currently available, as far as I know)? Or should I wait for another mount to "arrive"?

Help!!

amalric
Forum ProPosts: 10,556
Like?
Re: LENS MOUNT: Should I choose a Sony Alpha NEX-5 or Samsung NX10 INSTEAD?
In reply to RF-lens, Jun 5, 2010

Strange that this is your first post since you have registered, and that you ask all these questions in a rival forum.

Do you want to raise some havoc at our expense?

Am.
--