Started May 3, 2010 | Discussions
smi
smi
Junior MemberPosts: 35
Like?
Upgrading 40D to 7D???
May 3, 2010

Dear all,

I have been reading the CANON forums for a while with a lot of interest. I am really impressed by the number of comments and the frequency that are being added. You can really learn a lot! This is my first time that I participate with an issue that is bothering me.

I've recently upgraded my 40D's lens collection, with the 17-55 F2.8 IS. I am extremely pleased with this lens.

I'am dealing with a pretty difficult decision at the moment: what should be my next upgrade step? 7D or 70-200 F2.8 II IS lens? I mainly use the camera for photos and I can live without the video capability for a while. I realise that I would eventually purchase both items, but in your opinion which one should come first?

Any advise will be greatly appreciated.

liquidstone
Veteran MemberPosts: 9,910Gear list
Like?
Re: Upgrading 40D to 7D???
In reply to smi, May 3, 2010

I use both, and IMHO the biggest advancement of the 7D over the 40D are HD video, MFA, AF, frame rate, more useful AF points and LCD, not necessarily in that order of importance.

If such areas are not critical to you, then I suggest go for a good additional glass.

smi wrote:

Dear all,

I have been reading the CANON forums for a while with a lot of interest. I am really impressed by the number of comments and the frequency that are being added. You can really learn a lot! This is my first time that I participate with an issue that is bothering me.

I've recently upgraded my 40D's lens collection, with the 17-55 F2.8 IS. I am extremely pleased with this lens.

I'am dealing with a pretty difficult decision at the moment: what should be my next upgrade step? 7D or 70-200 F2.8 II IS lens? I mainly use the camera for photos and I can live without the video capability for a while. I realise that I would eventually purchase both items, but in your opinion which one should come first?

-- hide signature --

Romy