D3000 - Auto focus problem

Started Apr 14, 2010 | Discussions
Waverley82
New MemberPosts: 3
Like?
D3000 - Auto focus problem
Apr 14, 2010

Hi there

Potentially stupid question from an absolute beginner... I've just got a Nikon D3000 which I love but I'm having one small problem with it. The way I like to shoot is to half push down to focus on the subject, then re-compose before actually taking the picture(s).

The problem I'm having (which isn't a problem for my fiance on his D300) is that the focus is fine for the first shot I take but then the camera auto-focusses on the centre point (and not the subject) before I take any subsequent shots.

I know I could change the focus point before I take the piciure but I'm finding that a bit awkward and would prefer to be able to half press, re-compose and then shoot (more than one shot at a time).

I just wondered if there is a setting I am missing to fix this or if anyone has any other tips?

Thanks in advance.

wilson44512
Contributing MemberPosts: 582
Like?
Re: D3000 - Auto focus problem
In reply to Waverley82, Apr 14, 2010

what autofocus mode are you using?
AF-A
AF-S
AF-C
try

AF-S (AF single, sometimes called single area AF) mode, is good for photographing subjects that don't move, such as flowers or portraits etc. It locks the focus on the non moving object that you want to photograph. You can then recompose the shot and take the photograph.
--
D40 D90
18-55MM 18-105MM 55-200MM VR Tamron 70-300MM
SB400
Canon S3 IS

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Waverley82
Like?
In reply to wilson44512, Apr 14, 2010

Sorry, I should have said that. I'm in AF-S mode and it's fine for the first shot, it's just that if I want to take multiple shots of that scene I have to re-focus before each one (or the camera automatically 'jumps' to focus on the centre point).