Moire shooting LED signs

Started Mar 3, 2010 | Discussions
StrangerTF
Junior MemberPosts: 36
Like?
Moire shooting LED signs
Mar 3, 2010

Although not a photographer by trade I frequently need to photograph a large electronic sign as part of my job. Mainly this is for proof of performance for clients who buy time on the sign, but it is also important for the photos to show their creative efforts at the best. Problem is, that pointing a tiny, dense matrix of red green and blue sensors at a matrix of red green and blue LEDs seems to be a recipe for some especially hideous moire effects. For example, this is a detail from a photo taken with a Lumix LX3, and shows an area of the sign that a human eye would read as white.

I have also used an old Canon 300D which produces ugly, although less intense moire than the LX3, which I attribute to its much larger sensor area and also lower pixel density, although perhaps other factors may be involved as well.

The magnitude of the problem varies depending on the colors, patterns and distances involved, but rarely goes away entirely.

I know moire is a fact of life in photography, especially digital, but I would appreciate input on how I could at least reduce it. I can disguise it somewhat in Photoshop, but I would prefer to have things looking better out of the camera, to the extent that it is possible to do so.

I am sort of an 'advanced novice' meaning that I have been taking photographs for a long time and understand, at least superficially, most of the basics, but in actual practice I go about it rather simply. Perhaps I am just not doing it well? I do not have a heavy investment in EF-S lenses for the Canon, just the kit lens it came with and a relatively inexpensive long zoom, so switching systems is not a big deal to me.

Here is what I have thought of so far that might lessen moire, although I hope their may be other alternatives as well:

1. use a camera with a larger sensor (like the Canon EOS 5D).