Doing nothing, how long does the battery last?

Started Feb 21, 2010 | Discussions
Optimus Prime Lens
Regular MemberPosts: 243Gear list
Like?
Doing nothing, how long does the battery last?
Feb 21, 2010

I have the D90 with the Nikon grip and 2 Nikon batteries. I thought they maybe going flat a 'bit' quick. I charged them both then put them both in the grip. I turned the camera back on about one and a half - two days later and the right one had gone down 6% and the left 4%. Now that seemed quick to me, but I have no experience of DSLRs such as this. Can someone please let me know if it sounds like a 'problem' or not. Obviously they have both gone down more since.

Supr X
Veteran MemberPosts: 4,956
Like?
Re: Doing nothing, how long does the battery last?
In reply to Optimus Prime Lens, Feb 21, 2010

Optimus Prime Lens wrote:

I have the D90 with the Nikon grip and 2 Nikon batteries. I thought they maybe going flat a 'bit' quick. I charged them both then put them both in the grip. I turned the camera back on about one and a half - two days later and the right one had gone down 6% and the left 4%. Now that seemed quick to me, but I have no experience of DSLRs such as this. Can someone please let me know if it sounds like a 'problem' or not. Obviously they have both gone down more since.

-How many times has each battery been charged and 75% discharged? They will not perform 'optimally' until run through a charge and discharge cycle several(3 or 4) times . . .

Then they will last months with the D90 'on' and in it's auto-standby mode . . .
--
David~
WSSA Member #90

. . . shoot like there's no film in the thing!

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Optimus Prime Lens
Like?
In reply to Supr X, Feb 21, 2010

Ahh, I hope that's it. Not done enough 'cycles' certainly. One did discharge completely (did so while camera off), will that have any 'adverse' effect?

Supr X
Veteran MemberPosts: 4,956
Like?
In reply to Optimus Prime Lens, Feb 21, 2010

Optimus Prime Lens wrote: