Advice on shooting in low light conditions, D90

Started Feb 15, 2010 | Discussions
kaamos
Junior MemberPosts: 30
Like?
Advice on shooting in low light conditions, D90
Feb 15, 2010

Hi

I was asked to take pictures of this high school dance happening. I guess it's something like the prom dance in the US, evening dresses etc. Anyway, I'm pretty new to this but I would really like to get some decent shots. Can you give some general directions on what kind of settings to use, and which lens on which situation? I want to take dancing shots and then some portraits of the couple. I'm expecting dim lights, movement and zooming in from the edge of the dance floor.

Gear:
D90
18-105 VR
70-300 (non-VR)
Tamron 10-24 DiII
Nikkor 50mm 1.8 Prime (old manual lens)
SB-400

I'm thinking the 18-105 will probably be my choice for most situations because of it's reach and the VR.

How about shooting portraits with the SB-400? It can't be tilted so it would bounce sideways. Can that look good?

How about ISO? I have previously used 800 with good results. Dare I crank it higher?

AF-C for the dance, AF-S for portraits?

Thanks in advance!

wijnands
Veteran MemberPosts: 7,813
Like?
Re: Advice on shooting in low light conditions, D90
In reply to kaamos, Feb 15, 2010

kaamos wrote:

Hi

I was asked to take pictures of this high school dance happening. I guess it's something like the prom dance in the US, evening dresses etc. Anyway, I'm pretty new to this but I would really like to get some decent shots. Can you give some general directions on what kind of settings to use, and which lens on which situation? I want to take dancing shots and then some portraits of the couple. I'm expecting dim lights, movement and zooming in from the edge of the dance floor.

Gear:
D90
18-105 VR
70-300 (non-VR)
Tamron 10-24 DiII
Nikkor 50mm 1.8 Prime (old manual lens)
SB-400

I'm thinking the 18-105 will probably be my choice for most situations because of it's reach and the VR.