Leica M9 battery life...?

Started Dec 28, 2009 | Discussions
Norwin
Regular MemberPosts: 162
Like?
Leica M9 battery life...?
Dec 28, 2009

New Friends,

Having just purchased and most recenty obtained the new M9, I have now twice been surprised by finding the battery 'dead'.

Having had several Canon's in the past (the most recent a 5D Mark II, which I am in the process of selling) - I've now three times re-energised my new Leica M9 battery to find that by the following day it is completly discharged and won't even turn the camera on...

As I wrote above, I am new to Leica and think perhaps the Leica battery is more sensitive when new than any Canon battery I have ever had...or, it is something more serious of which I am completely unfamiliar?

Please, my new friends - advise with the experience you've had with your new Leica camera batteries...

I know they discharge rapidly when new...however, this is beyond discharging rapidly. This is over night...dead.

....no, I did not leave the camera on.

In appreciation for the courtesy of your respected response,

I remain

Faithfully yours,

Norwin

David28
Senior MemberPosts: 2,699
Like?
Re: Leica M9 battery life...?
In reply to Norwin, Dec 28, 2009

Norwin

Doesn't sound right to me. I have had mine for a week and I "complain" that it runs down pretty quick but I am talking a few days per charge and heavy usage and reviewing on LCD. Did you fully charge it up first time before using - like it ask you to in the manual????

Still ...... I notice it does run down faster than the one with the M8.

Try getting a spare and see how that goes.

Good luck.

Not a disaster but annoying nonetheless

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Calvin Chann
Senior MemberPosts: 1,395Gear list
Like?