Tips and guides for wedding reception shooting

Started Oct 8, 2009 | Discussions
mellon88
New MemberPosts: 15
Like?
Tips and guides for wedding reception shooting
Oct 8, 2009

Hi guys,

I have been asked by friend to take photos at her wedding reception this coming saturday night, it will take place in a restaurant. I am not sure how the lighting of the place is..but I have been there and i believe there will be sufficient lighting.

I am new to photography and currently using D5000 with kit lens 18-55 without any other accessories. Could you please give me some tips and guides on how I can do this correctly.

I know I dont have the skills to take amazing photos yet, but I really want to do this nicely for my friend.

Any help is appreicated!

Thanks!

Ryan Stewart
Senior MemberPosts: 1,513
Like?
Re: Tips and guides for wedding reception shooting
In reply to mellon88, Oct 8, 2009

There wont be enough light. Seriously, there wont.

Ive struggled in similar venues using a D300 and fast f/2.8 zooms and 1.4 primes. I would go there and see for yourself. Even if you have a VR lens you will need to boost the ISO because VR is useless in these situations. You will need faster shutter speeds to keep people sharp.

I usually use fast lenses (can you rent?) and a barrage of strobes. I havent done specifically wedding receptions but I get to do a lot of parties, shows and banquets and the venues and can relate to some of the fun involved.

Are you THE photographer or just a friend taking pictures?

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
mellon88
Like?
In reply to Ryan Stewart, Oct 8, 2009

She did not hire any professional photographers for the reception,
she just asked me to take photos for her that she wants to keep afterwards.

maybe i should find out where i can rent fast prime lenses for the night.

cPez
Regular MemberPosts: 332
Like?

You can take some good shots with your set up - but can also do much better with an additional flash.