A900 RAW in PSCS3 versus DXO optics 5.3 elite

Started Apr 21, 2009 | Discussions
Quentin (UK)
Senior MemberPosts: 2,437
Like?
Re: A900 RAW in PSCS3 versus DXO optics 5.3 elite
In reply to Mava, Apr 21, 2009

DxO applies noise reduction before de-mosaicing of the raw file.

See here, and watch the embedded video down the page:

http://www.imaging-resource.com/NEWS/1224662427.html

You can't achieve as good a result after the file has been decoded because high levels of noise confuse the demosiacing program which mistakes the noise for real image info.

I use DxO with an A900 and frankly results are astonishingly good.
--
Quentin
http://www.brightnewlight.co.uk
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/micropayment/
--
'Where have I been all my life?'

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
mpeman
Senior MemberPosts: 1,853Gear list
Like?
It doesn't...
In reply to mezman, Apr 21, 2009

Capture NX only works on Nikon .NEF files. It will not work on Sony raw files.
--
Regards, Kevin
-------------------

'Photoshop is a noun...not a verb, and is best used as an emery board, not a jackhammer.' Vincent Versace in Welcome to OZ: A Cinematic Approach to Digital Still Photography with Photoshop

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
mpeman
Senior MemberPosts: 1,853Gear list
Like?
He can send it...
In reply to Marti58, Apr 21, 2009

...but you will not be able to do a thing with it in Capture NX. Capture NX is for Nikon raw files only.
--
Regards, Kevin
-------------------

'Photoshop is a noun...not a verb, and is best used as an emery board, not a jackhammer.' Vincent Versace in Welcome to OZ: A Cinematic Approach to Digital Still Photography with Photoshop

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Barry Fitzgerald
Forum ProPosts: 29,888
Like?
Re: A900 RAW in PSCS3 versus DXO optics 5.3 elite
In reply to Mava, Apr 21, 2009

On their site there is no raw support for the A200, which is a tad hmmm really!

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Mava
Forum MemberPosts: 91
Like?
full pics
In reply to Barry Fitzgerald, Apr 21, 2009

PSCS3
[IMG] http://i40.tinypic.com/sfxjtl.jpg[/IMG]

DXO
[IMG] http://i41.tinypic.com/33f440z.jpg[/IMG]

The DXO is 350ppi and the PSCS3 is 300ppi therefore the dfference in size of the bottle in my first post.
I don't now why the DXO makes the TIFF files 350 ppi.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
dennismullen
Veteran MemberPosts: 8,684
Like?
Re: A900 RAW in PSCS3 versus DXO optics 5.3 elite
In reply to Barry Fitzgerald, Apr 22, 2009

DxO A200 and A300 support is scheduled for this summer.
--
You can see larger versions of my pictures at http://www.dennismullen.com .

“Those who would sacrifice liberty for safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.” - Ben Franklin.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Ken_5D
Forum ProPosts: 11,820
Like?
Re: Clarification
In reply to Dennis, Apr 22, 2009

Dennis wrote:

Dennis wrote:

dennismullen wrote:

the big blotches of noise that ACR creates.

Mmmm ... let me backpedal a bit. I'm looking at A700 with firmware
V4. This post is specifically talking about the A900 which I don't
believe is capable of offering the same "high ISO NR OFF" raw files.
So even if I do some trials with the A700, they obviously won't apply
to the A900 and I can understand if anyone shooting the A900 is
looking for a good high ISO solution.

  • Dennis

-- hide signature --

Dennis,
As of A700 V4 all Sony cameras including the A900 have HIGH ISO NR OFF.
---------
Ken - A700 Owner..
Some of my work at:
http://gallery.cascadephotoworks.com

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Dennis
Forum ProPosts: 13,130
Like?
Re: Dennis
In reply to Marti58, Apr 22, 2009

Sent you a note via "send this user an email". You can reply to send to me. Thanks,

  • Dennis

-- hide signature --
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Dennis
Forum ProPosts: 13,130
Like?
Re: Clarification
In reply to Ken_5D, Apr 22, 2009

Ken_5D wrote:

Dennis,
As of A700 V4 all Sony cameras including the A900 have HIGH ISO NR OFF.

Hi Ken,

Isn't there a difference in A900 high ISO and A700 v4 high ISO though ? The a700 finally has a Nikon D300-like grainy appearance while the A900 still has some of the smeared/blotchy color noise that everyone complained about in the pre-V4 A700 files (if I understand correctly).

  • Dennis

-- hide signature --
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Dennis
Forum ProPosts: 13,130
Like?
DXO & Lightroom ?
In reply to Quentin (UK), Apr 22, 2009

So DXO "plays" with Lightroom in three different ways according to the dxo website, but none of them seem especially friendly. You run files through DXO then import the DXO output into LR (as DNG or non-raw). You can call DXO from LR as an external editor and then import the converted files as copies. Or you can open DXO and access the LR database.

None of these options really seems like it fits into the LR workflow where non-destructive edits are maintained by the program in a database or sidecar files. I think a given file would end up either being an edited-by-LR file or an edited-by-DXO file ... if edited by DXO and then further tweaked in LR (b&w conversion or duotone for instance) then going back to adjust DXO updates seems problematic.

I have to admit, I'm tempted to try it, but don't want to be tempted to spend another $169 after just buying LR (Adding to the tempation is the fact that there are modules for A700/16-80 which I use frequently (and A700/70-300).

  • Dennis

-- hide signature --
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
HK photographer
Regular MemberPosts: 458
Like?
Capture NX
In reply to Marti58, Apr 22, 2009

does not work on A900 RAW

I convert the file to TIFF and open it with attached Capture NX because it gives me more options eg, u-point technology which really is useful.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
HK photographer
Regular MemberPosts: 458
Like?
I have tried DXO's
In reply to Mava, Apr 22, 2009

trial version adn I confirm your finding BUT

as your pictures have also shown, the DXO "washed away"' more color and outline clarity
and it is also DEAD SLOW!

I am interested in the Bibble which one thread here shows that it is as good in NR but preserve more color and detail.

Any contribution on DXO vs Bibble?

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
dennismullen
Veteran MemberPosts: 8,684
Like?
Re: I have tried DXO's
In reply to HK photographer, Apr 22, 2009

I won't knock slow if it means the program is crunching twice as many numbers and therefore getting better results. Time to get a faster computer

I suggest everyone run their own tests and don't use the NR for comparison.
--
You can see larger versions of my pictures at http://www.dennismullen.com .

“Those who would sacrifice liberty for safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.” - Ben Franklin.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
dennismullen
Veteran MemberPosts: 8,684
Like?
Here's a test I did before...
In reply to dennismullen, Apr 22, 2009

I compared noise levels without NR between ACR and DxO here...

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1037&message=31369848
--
You can see larger versions of my pictures at http://www.dennismullen.com .

“Those who would sacrifice liberty for safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.” - Ben Franklin.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Marti58
Marti58 MOD
Forum ProPosts: 18,610Gear list
Like?
Re: It doesn't...
In reply to mpeman, Apr 22, 2009

did u actualy tried it ?
--

  • living in harmony with nature and other beings...will create an better world for all * marti58 -2006

http://www.flickr.com/photos/marti58/
http://www.flickr.com/groups/worldwidefriendship/

 Marti58's gear list:Marti58's gear list
Nikon 1 Nikkor 10mm f/2.8 Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ3 Samsung HZ35W Canon PowerShot S95 Nikon Coolpix P500 +24 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
jnrob
Regular MemberPosts: 311Gear list
Like?
Re: A900 RAW in PSCS3 versus DXO optics 5.3 elite
In reply to Mava, Apr 22, 2009
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
vtube
Regular MemberPosts: 369
Like?
Re: A900 RAW in PSCS3 versus DXO optics 5.3 elite
In reply to jnrob, Apr 22, 2009

jnrob wrote:

I assume it has been posted before:
High ISO raw developer comparison (even 6400 w/o NR)

http://www.alpha-numerique.fr/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=264%3Aalpha-900-comparatif-de-9-logiciels-de-developpement-de-fichiers-raw&catid=70%3Adeveloppement-des-raws&Itemid=321&limitstart=2

It seems very very interesting!

-- hide signature --
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
mpeman
Senior MemberPosts: 1,853Gear list
Like?
No need...
In reply to Marti58, Apr 22, 2009

Both common sense and Nikon specs say that Capture NX2 works only with the .NEF files. Just as Sony's IDC only works with .ARW files (or Sony RAW).

Jeesh.

-- hide signature --

Regards, Kevin
-------------------

'Photoshop is a noun...not a verb, and is best used as an emery board, not a jackhammer.' Vincent Versace in Welcome to OZ: A Cinematic Approach to Digital Still Photography with Photoshop

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
mpeman
Senior MemberPosts: 1,853Gear list
Like?
This oughta be interesting..
In reply to Dennis, Apr 22, 2009

...as Capture NX2 will NOT open or do anything with the Sony RAW file unless it is converted to jpeg or tif first...and then it kinda defeats the point!
--
Regards, Kevin
-------------------

'Photoshop is a noun...not a verb, and is best used as an emery board, not a jackhammer.' Vincent Versace in Welcome to OZ: A Cinematic Approach to Digital Still Photography with Photoshop

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
mpeman
Senior MemberPosts: 1,853Gear list
Like?
Sure...
In reply to HK photographer, Apr 22, 2009

That would work...

...but it kind of defeats the point of working in raw.

Why not just use Nik Multimedia's Viveza plug-in? More powerful than Capture NX2 on processed files.
--
Regards, Kevin
-------------------

'Photoshop is a noun...not a verb, and is best used as an emery board, not a jackhammer.' Vincent Versace in Welcome to OZ: A Cinematic Approach to Digital Still Photography with Photoshop

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum MMy threads