Is Zeiss better than Canon L?

Started Sep 15, 2008 | Discussions
JackM
Veteran MemberPosts: 6,826Gear list
Like?
Is Zeiss better than Canon L?
Sep 15, 2008

Yeah, I have no experience with Zeiss lenses. I have to admit their association with Sony kind of knocks them down a notch in my book, but that is purely irrational on my part.

What can Zeiss bring to the table that Canon can't? Surely something otherwise they would not jump in this market.

JackM's gear list:JackM's gear list
Sigma DP2 Merrill Fujifilm X100S Canon EOS 5D Mark III Canon EOS 7D Mark II Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM +6 more
George Kalemanis
Forum MemberPosts: 91Gear list
Like?
Re: Is Zeiss better than Canon L?
In reply to JackM, Sep 15, 2008

JackM wrote:

Yeah, I have no experience with Zeiss lenses. I have to admit their
association with Sony kind of knocks them down a notch in my book,
but that is purely irrational on my part.

What can Zeiss bring to the table that Canon can't? Surely something
otherwise they would not jump in this market.

I've used Zeiss for MF gear and played with Sony's 135/1.8, and 'L' lenses don't compare. Zeiss is sharp edge to edge, colors are bold yet neutral, and contrast is outstanding. I'm actually not all that impressed with Canon's 'L' quality, maybe it's because I'm used to using Zeiss.

George Kalemanis's gear list:George Kalemanis's gear list
Canon EOS 5D Mark II Canon EF 17-40mm f/4.0L USM Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM Carl Zeiss Distagon T* 2,8/21 Carl Zeiss Distagon T* 2/35 +2 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
hunk
Veteran MemberPosts: 3,214Gear list
Like?
There is no such thing as L-quality

Although they are branded, priced and colored simular there is no way you can compare a 85L with a 16-35L...

Maybe lenses like the 85L should be renamed 85XL

JackM wrote:

-- hide signature --

wild images and such at my website
http://www.x32.nl

hunk's gear list:hunk's gear list
Leica M9 Canon Extender EF 2x II Sony 135mm F2.8 (T4.5) STF
JackM
Like?