Why do my indoor photos have a yellow effect/look

Started Jul 9, 2008 | Discussions
newboy71
New MemberPosts: 6
Like?
Why do my indoor photos have a yellow effect/look
Jul 9, 2008

As others, I am a newbie to this, and have I think a simpe question.

Why when taking photos indoors or in low light conditions do the pictures have a yellow look/effect. If it helps I am using Cannon 400D 15-55 lens normally set on 3.5AP and auto white balance 100-400ISO

Comments and feedback would be great?

Thanks

James

Yellonet
Senior MemberPosts: 1,250
Like?
Re: Why do my indoor photos have a yellow effect/look
In reply to newboy71, Jul 9, 2008

Because the auto white balance is easily fooled, try some of the other white balance settings.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
ADunham
Regular MemberPosts: 135
Like?

Agreeing with previous poster, and I'd add that in some situations even the specific white balance choices don't work as well as you might like. Try shooting in RAW or RAW+JPG and then mess about with the white balance in DPP to see the difference. It's one of the things that prompted me to start shooting everything in RAW. Don't have to worry about whether or not I've correctly set the white balance or not!

dhphoto
Contributing MemberPosts: 617
Like?

Because the lighting indoors (if it's normal bulbs) is yellow/orange compared to daylight (which is much bluer)

Auto white balance often doesn't deal with this well, by far the best way to ahcieve natural colour is to set a custom white balance, which is quick and easy and in the manual. You just take a picture of something white or mid grey, tell the camera to use that as the white balance and away you go.

It may be some of the presets will get you closer but a custom balance is comfortably the best

David

Erik Magnuson
Forum ProPosts: 12,058Gear list
Like?
See p20 of the 400D review

newboy71 wrote:

Why when taking photos indoors or in low light conditions do the
pictures have a yellow look/effect.