Linux workflow for 30D/20D and Cinepaint

Started Mar 15, 2007 | Discussions
Karl Piers
Regular MemberPosts: 374
Like?
Linux workflow for 30D/20D and Cinepaint
Mar 15, 2007

As a long-term Linux user I'm investigating how best to work with raw files from my 30D - I've been avoiding this for too long, but would like to bite the bullet ...

Has anyone already been down this route? If so, do you have any suggestions on a recommended workflow?

My current thinking is to use dcraw to convert .cr2 files to tiff, then cinepaint for image processing. Is there any advantage using dcraw to convert to ppm, then ImageMagick to tiff? I'm new to cinepaint (although have much experience with gimp), so is a colour profile required for the 30D for when finally converting down to JPG?

Any suggestions, experiences would be appreciated.

bnp
bnp
Forum MemberPosts: 72
Like?
Re: Linux workflow for 30D/20D and Cinepaint
In reply to Karl Piers, Mar 15, 2007

If I were you, I'd just bite the bullet and dual boot Windows for your image editing. That's what I do. I think you'd be happier in the long run. I've been using Linux on a daily basis for about seven years now, but I keep Windows around for Photoshop, iTunes, etc. I've considered going over to Apple to get the Unix underpinnings, but the niceties of Windows. Too expensive for my blood though.

Sorry I don't have a real answer to your question. I'm sure it can be done, but it'll take longer and probably won't be as user friendly as doing it in Windows.

Ben

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Rick Thorne
Junior MemberPosts: 43
Like?

Really depends on your target final output? Is this for web posting, printing, personal use? Professional output for clients?

I'm just starting on cr2 files but tried the linux route ( I'm on the ubuntu art team ) with my NEF files and you have better options than Cinepaint. I never used TIFF either.