Best setting to do some nude/portrait photo with 350D

Started Jan 29, 2007 | Discussions
cervusint
New MemberPosts: 17
Like?
Best setting to do some nude/portrait photo with 350D
Jan 29, 2007

Hi,

I've just received my new Tamron 17-50 2.8 lens. The least I can say is that it is a really great piece of optics ;-)) (just tested a little outside). But I'm really new to DSLR world.

To be franck, I was a little disapointed when I first used my new 350D (XT) with the kit lens last month: I came from a Pro1, which is great with a fantastic L lens, and my first pictures with the 350D looked very poor probably due to the combined facts that I'm a newbie, the kit lens is really poor for indoor pictures, and the indoor nude/portrait is a difficult "job" (but so gratefull) and needs a lot of light...

Well, now I'm impatient to test this new lens to do some portrait and nude pictures of my beloved wife. The light are the usual lights in a home. My equipment includes:
350D + flash 420EX + lens Tamron 17-50

I use the flash in bounce mode with an additional white sheet of brillant paper stuck to th 420ex which reflects a part of the ligh to the model

So, what are the camera setting the most used into those kind of photo session? I'l like to get clear brillant pictures (a contrario of "artistic" soft and blured ones )

Please, fell free to give some really detailled advice, like you were spoken to a dumb newbie (me!) who doesn't know a sh... about Tv mode, or P or Av etc... or aperture etc...

I've read the manual which is useful for the "here the button" -> "what it is for" way, but I'd like the "I need this result" -> "what are the setting" way

many thanks in advance.

skrubol
Contributing MemberPosts: 927
Like?
Lighting
In reply to cervusint, Jan 29, 2007