Same Price: 30D / D80

Started Jan 27, 2007 | Discussions
curious_george
New MemberPosts: 6
Like?
Same Price: 30D / D80
Jan 27, 2007

Hi and thanks in advance for your advice. I am facing an extremely difficult choice - the Nikon D80 kit (18-135mm) and Canon 30D kit (18-55mm) are retailing at the SAME price where I come from. In most forums, the 30D is rated in a different class than the D80/400D/A100! As I am a beginner, what are the reasons to buy a 30D over the D80?

P.S. I am asking the same question from the opposite viewpoint in the Nikon forum!

curious_george
New MemberPosts: 6
Like?
Re: Same Price: 30D / D80
In reply to curious_george, Jan 27, 2007

curious_george wrote:

Hi and thanks in advance for your advice. I am facing an extremely
difficult choice - the Nikon D80 kit (18-135mm) and Canon 30D kit
(18-55mm) are retailing at the SAME price where I come from. In
most forums, the 30D is rated in a different class than the
D80/400D/A100! As I am a beginner, what are the reasons to buy a
30D over the D80?

P.S. I am asking the same question from the opposite viewpoint in
the Nikon forum!

I was asked why a beginner would not be looking at even cheaper alternatives. Hope the following helps put your advice in perspective!

I spent days poring over the specs (the side by side comparison feature on this site helped tremendously. THANKS)

My original comparison was purely between the D80 and the 400D, and I'd virtually settled on the D80. The info from the salesguy was that the 30D was a superior camera, at the same price, and the key points cited were the 5fps shooting rate, 1/8000 shutter speed AND availability of a range of affordable 'prosumer' lenses. It seems like Nikon lense range only from 'beginner' lenses designed for the D40/50, then a huge leap to very expensive 'Pro' lenses.

What I hope to attain from the illustrious readers here is some 'real-world' comparisons.