pc won't open mac jpegs

Started Jul 26, 2006 | Discussions
Buzzman
Senior MemberPosts: 1,514
Like?
pc won't open mac jpegs
Jul 26, 2006
-- hide signature --

I put some photoshop files on a cd that i saved as jpegs I put all of the files in one folder.
what do i need to do so that pc's can open my saved jpegs.
The only difference between a man and a boy - is the price of his toys!!

uwe_r
Veteran MemberPosts: 3,429Gear list
Like?
Re: pc won't open mac jpegs
In reply to Buzzman, Jul 26, 2006

1. How did you burn the CD?

2. Do the JPEG files have file extensions (.jpg or .jpeg) - Windows cannot determine file types by inspecting the file (as OS X), it needs the extension to identify the required application.

3. What dou you mean by "can't open" ... what happens (error message, disk does not mount...)?

Cheers,
Uwe

 uwe_r's gear list:uwe_r's gear list
Canon PowerShot G15 Canon EOS 5D Mark III Canon EOS 70D Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM +10 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Ken Leonard
Veteran MemberPosts: 5,810
Like?
Re: pc won't open mac jpegs
In reply to Buzzman, Jul 26, 2006

Hmmm, as far as I know, jpegs are jpegs., No such thing as "Mac jpegs". Are you absolutely sure you saved the files as jpeg and can you read those files on your Mac?

Ken

Buzzman wrote:

-- hide signature --

I put some photoshop files on a cd that i saved as jpegs I
put all of the files in one folder.
what do i need to do so that pc's can open my saved jpegs.
The only difference between a man and a boy - is the price of his
toys!!

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Paul_S57
Regular MemberPosts: 226
Like?
Re: pc won't open mac jpegs
In reply to Buzzman, Jul 26, 2006

Just trying: you do not confuse the real JPEG files with the files with same name with a dot (.) prefixing, which OS X adds for each file in the folder? Tiny little files. Browse the list, and find the real stuff below.
Again, just trying to help.
--
Best regards,
Paul

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Damien
Regular MemberPosts: 123
Like?
Re: pc won't open mac jpegs
In reply to Buzzman, Jul 26, 2006

Some other ideas:

  • try dragging the JPG straight into a web browser window, does that work?

  • Photoshop can save out 48bit JPEGs (16bits per R/G/B) instead of 24bit JPEGs (8bits per R/G/B) which can confuse most other software, using Irfanview you can detect what sort of file it is and see if this is the problem.

-- hide signature --

Damien

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Buzzman
Senior MemberPosts: 1,514
Like?
Re: pc won't open mac jpegs
In reply to uwe_r, Jul 26, 2006

I am waiting for an email response to find exactly what the message. is . I saved the files as jpg's in photoshop. and burned the disk with the disk utility.
Buzz
--
The only difference between a man and a boy - is the price of his toys!!

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
mikiev
Senior MemberPosts: 1,091Gear list
Like?
Saved as jpeg from photoshop...
In reply to Buzzman, Jul 26, 2006

Did you use "Save as..." or "Save for Web"

"Save as..." includes resource fork data - like thumbnail view and custom icon - which can cause problems for a PC program expecting a "plain vanilla" jpeg.

"Save for Web" saves as a "plain vanilla" jpeg - with data only, no resources.

I also use "Save for Web" for photos I send via email - so people using a PC don't get 2 copies of every attachment: one with the picture [containing data], and the other one (which they can't open) [containing resources].

Mike
--
Web: http://home.comcast.net/~mjvoice/
Flickr: http://flickr.com/photos/mike_leone/

 mikiev's gear list:mikiev's gear list
Epson Stylus Photo R2880
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
mikiev
Senior MemberPosts: 1,091Gear list
Like?
Disc Utility
In reply to Buzzman, Jul 26, 2006

If they can't read the CD, Disc Utility may have been set to burn a Mac-only [HFS+] volume... but I thought it defaulted to Mac & PC compatible [like Toast does].
--
Web: http://home.comcast.net/~mjvoice/
Flickr: http://flickr.com/photos/mike_leone/

 mikiev's gear list:mikiev's gear list
Epson Stylus Photo R2880
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
uwe_r
Veteran MemberPosts: 3,429Gear list
Like?
Re: Saved as jpeg from photoshop...
In reply to mikiev, Jul 27, 2006

mikiev wrote:

Did you use "Save as..." or "Save for Web"

"Save as..." includes resource fork data - like thumbnail view and
custom icon - which can cause problems for a PC program expecting a
"plain vanilla" jpeg.

Are you sure about that? I always use "save as..." from CS2 and never had a problem on any PC under Windows 2000 or XP? Even Windows own image/fax viewer displays these JPEGs correctly.

Cheers,
Uwe

 uwe_r's gear list:uwe_r's gear list
Canon PowerShot G15 Canon EOS 5D Mark III Canon EOS 70D Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM +10 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Jim Merwin
New MemberPosts: 20
Like?
Re: Disc Utility
In reply to mikiev, Jul 27, 2006

Buzzman, why did you start a new thread? People here are trying to help you already and have posed some important questions that are critical to resolving your issue.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Buzzman
Senior MemberPosts: 1,514
Like?
Re: Disc Utility
In reply to Jim Merwin, Jul 27, 2006
  • the person with the burned cd is out of state, so it is difficult to problem solve . i thought it would be easier just to figure out how to burn a new copy for that i know a pc will open. They haven't emailed me exactly what the message states, or if the cd opens or just the individual files won't open..

Buzz
The only difference between a man and a boy - is the price of his toys!!

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Bimthecat
Senior MemberPosts: 2,642
Like?
You must have a PC
In reply to Damien, Jul 27, 2006

You must have a PC

....only someone with a PC would think there was such a thing as an 16 bit jpeg

(there is not....jpegs are only 8 bit)

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
SUBY
Senior MemberPosts: 1,657
Like?
Re: You must have a PC
In reply to Bimthecat, Jul 27, 2006

Bimthecat wrote:

You must have a PC

....only someone with a PC would think there was such a thing as an
16 bit jpeg

(there is not....jpegs are only 8 bit)

Hmmm, constructive comment there with a slight hint of sarcasm to make people feel superior about themselves when replying. Not really necessary in any forum really.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
uwe_r
Veteran MemberPosts: 3,429Gear list
Like?
Re: pc won't open mac jpegs
In reply to Damien, Jul 27, 2006

Damien wrote:

  • Photoshop can save out 48bit JPEGs (16bits per R/G/B) instead of

24bit JPEGs (8bits per R/G/B) which can confuse most other
software, using Irfanview you can detect what sort of file it is
and see if this is the problem.

??? Any possibility you are mixing something up here? You can indeed generate a 48 bit per pixel floating point bitmap from JPEGs using PS' Merge to HDR function, but a JPEG is limited to 8 bits per channel / 24 bits per pixel. Saving to JPEG will always generate a 8-bit image; you can also check this in PS easily: change an images mode to 16bit and the open the "Save as..." dialog - you will find that JPEG is not even an available format for this operation.

Cheers,
Uwe

 uwe_r's gear list:uwe_r's gear list
Canon PowerShot G15 Canon EOS 5D Mark III Canon EOS 70D Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM +10 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
BobNL
Veteran MemberPosts: 5,008Gear list
Like?
Are they by any chance CMYK?
In reply to Buzzman, Jul 27, 2006

You can save as cmyk jpg but somehow those are often not readable on a PC. Not sure why but experienced it several times.

BobNL
--
http://www.bobslog.nl
http://www.flickr.com/photos/bobnl
http://www.pbase.com/BobNL
http://www.rondje-ypenburg.nl
http://bob.sigma-bits.com/gallery2
And coming soon: http://sigma-bits.com

 BobNL's gear list:BobNL's gear list
Sigma DP1 Sigma DP1 Merrill Sigma DP3 Merrill Sigma DP2 Quattro Nikon D700 +3 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
wilfredmrand
Senior MemberPosts: 2,340
Like?
Does the disk show up?
In reply to Buzzman, Jul 28, 2006

When you mount the burned CD does it show up in windows exploere (MyComputer, probably drive D:\)? Is there a directory? If none of this happens either the CD is defective or something went wrong with the burn. When you go to the Add Hardware control panel in Windows, can the OS 'see' the drive (click properties)....can you re-map it to the usual drive letter? This trick has worked a couple times for me.

I transfer between my Macs at home and PCs at work all the time - almost never do I experience as issue, though once U had a bad CD and twice the Add Harware thing worked because I had fouled up drive mapping when I hot-swapped a USB Compact Flash reader.

A jpeg is a jpeg, and Macs burn both Mac and Windows formats simulatneously.
--
Wilfred M Rand
http://www.pbase.com/wilfredmrand/

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Buzzman
Senior MemberPosts: 1,514
Like?
Re: Does the disk show up?
In reply to wilfredmrand, Jul 28, 2006
-- hide signature --

I don't know the specifcs. I made the cd for someone else and they are out of state.
Buzz
The only difference between a man and a boy - is the price of his toys!!

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
KAllen
Veteran MemberPosts: 3,743Gear list
Like?
Re: pc won't open mac jpegs
In reply to Buzzman, Jul 28, 2006

When I've had a complaint about my PC wont open your Mac jpg's, the reason has always been because the user is using some rubbish software that can't handle the file size. Ask them which software they are using, if the reply is "Microsoft something" that will be the problem.

Kevin.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
mikiev
Senior MemberPosts: 1,091Gear list
Like?
Save as...
In reply to uwe_r, Jul 29, 2006

I know PS Elements had that problem, and I started using "Save for Web" because of it...

If they have fixed the problem, I wouldn't know because I've been using "Save for Web" out of habit ever since.
--
Web: http://home.comcast.net/~mjvoice/
Flickr: http://flickr.com/photos/mike_leone/

 mikiev's gear list:mikiev's gear list
Epson Stylus Photo R2880
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
kaister
Forum MemberPosts: 75
Like?
Re: Save as...
In reply to mikiev, Jul 30, 2006

i have had problems burning jpgs in a folder on a cd, pcs at camera stores sometimes can't read 'pccompatible' cds burnt from a mac with subdirectories - make sure the jpgs are sitting in the main directory on the cd, not in a sub folder

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum MMy threads