580EX Extension Cable

Started Apr 2, 2005 | Discussions
dangoodall
Forum MemberPosts: 52
Like?
580EX Extension Cable
Apr 2, 2005

I'm using a 20D and a 580EX for fashion sales photography.

I really want to hook the flash up to an umbrella stand but I don't want to spend so much money on the Canon remote transmitter.

Is there a hot-shoe cable that takes full use of E-TTLII or do I really have to buy a transmitter?

Any other advice would be really appreciated.

-- hide signature --

Dan Goodall.

James Arnold
Regular MemberPosts: 480
Like?
Re: 580EX Extension Cable
In reply to dangoodall, Apr 3, 2005

Canon off shoe cable 2..about $50

-- hide signature --

The list of my stuff is in my profile...so that the search engine works like it's supposed to. How about you?

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
BrianZ
Senior MemberPosts: 1,472
Like?
Re: 580EX Extension Cable
In reply to James Arnold, Apr 4, 2005

The Canon Off-Camera Shoe Cord 2 will only give you 2-3 ft of reach to your light stand - not very useful. But if you're handy with a soldering iron, you can build a perfectly functional extension cord to work with the Canon cord using Cat 6 ethernet cable and two pairs of connectors. Here's what mine looks like, and I have tested it with a Cat 6 cable up to 12 ft long (total cord length about 15 ft)...

Cat 6 cable uses thicker wires, so is better than Cat 5 to avoid signal loss due to higher resistance in thinner wires).
-BrianZ

James Arnold wrote:

Canon off shoe cable 2..about $50
--
The list of my stuff is in my profile...so that the search engine
works like it's supposed to. How about you?

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Chirebel
Contributing MemberPosts: 607
Like?
Or you can ..
In reply to dangoodall, Apr 4, 2005

Pay these guys arm and a leg to do the work for you:
http://www.paramountcords.com/canonttl.asp

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Chirebel
Contributing MemberPosts: 607
Like?
For this much, you
In reply to Chirebel, Apr 4, 2005

might consider a slave flash instead, a sigma 500dg super or a 420ex and leave one flash on the camera. No cords.. And you get fill flash too boot.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Ravitej Khalsa
Senior MemberPosts: 1,109Gear list
Like?
Transmitter
In reply to dangoodall, Apr 4, 2005

The Canon wireless transmitter works great. How much time and effort will it take to make or acquire something else. How much is that time and effort worth?

 Ravitej Khalsa's gear list:Ravitej Khalsa's gear list
Tamron SP 150-600mm F/5-6.3 Di VC USD
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
BrianZ
Senior MemberPosts: 1,472
Like?
Re: For this much, you
In reply to Chirebel, Apr 4, 2005

If you build it yourself, you save $100 and gain the flexibility of moving the umbrella wherever you like. I should have mentioned that the parts will cost about $75 total, including the Canon cord. Plus about 3 hours to solder the 4 connectors on, if you want to make the cord covertible to use either just the coiled cord on a flash bracket or with the extension inserted for mounting farther away on a light stand. Or if you don't care to use the cord with a flash bracket, you can save the cost of the connectors (less than $10) and a couple of hours of soldering time, by just wiring the cords directly to each other. Not quite as neat or useful, but should work fine.
-BrianZ

Chirebel wrote:

might consider a slave flash instead, a sigma 500dg super or a
420ex and leave one flash on the camera. No cords.. And you get
fill flash too boot.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
tommyleong
Contributing MemberPosts: 624
Like?
Re: 580EX Extension Cable
In reply to BrianZ, Apr 9, 2005

hey
this is REALLY GOOD STUFF

thanks very much and it really saves a lot of money too

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Elan Remford
Veteran MemberPosts: 3,716
Like?
Re: For this much, you
In reply to Chirebel, Apr 9, 2005

Unfortunately, although this is admittedly only my understanding, the 20D's E-TTL setup when using the 580EX is a closed design, requiring either 550 or 420 units to take full advantage of E-TTL.

I LOVE my EOS 20D and the Canon vision of implementation, but the lighting architecture has almost broke me. I abandoned E-TTL for multi-light, driving two Alien Bee monolight slaves with umbrellas, given their considerably greater flexibility, using the 580EX for on-camera (or bracket) only. Wah.

Chirebel wrote:

might consider a slave flash instead, a sigma 500dg super or a
420ex and leave one flash on the camera. No cords.. And you get
fill flash too boot.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
CGP4
Junior MemberPosts: 33
Like?
Re: 580EX Extension Cable
In reply to BrianZ, Apr 26, 2005

Just saw this post, excellent info. For DIN connectors, I would recommend Switchcraft's 05CL5M (male) and 06AL5F (female). They are high quality and incorporate a lockring so the connections won't come apart.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
tommyleong
Contributing MemberPosts: 624
Like?
cut the cable but ...........
In reply to Ravitej Khalsa, Apr 29, 2005

ok
i got the cable, cut them into half
then joined them using some sort of audio connectors (5pin )
but used normal cable , ie not the cat6 cable
length is 3 metres

but things begin to go haywire
the flash shoots but no picture in the camera
and even after I shut down the camera, the LCD continues to
display info ???
this is really freaking me out

Cables were checked again and again for shorting and
earthing but nothing there

last resort, reduced the lenght, ..........same problem
zoom and aperture changes in the flash as with the camera
but when triggered, no pictures

pls give me your experience with this
thanks

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
tommyleong
Contributing MemberPosts: 624
Like?
Re: cut the cable but ...........
In reply to tommyleong, Apr 30, 2005

ups

help urgently needed :((

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
TomCee
Senior MemberPosts: 2,680
Like?
Re: cut the cable but ...........
In reply to tommyleong, Apr 30, 2005

2 possible problems:

as far as I know there should be 6 pins connected;
the wire you used has too high internal resistance.
--
Regards,
Tom

http://clik.to/tomcee
Canon 300D FAQ: http://www.marius.org/fom-serve/cache/3.html

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
tommyleong
Contributing MemberPosts: 624
Like?
Re: cut the cable but ...........
In reply to TomCee, May 1, 2005

pls elaborate on that 6pin thing?

the wires were rather thicker than the original
but if resistance is too high, how does it then
able to change zoom and aperture on the flash
( info DID TRANSMIT ACROSS for that to happen)

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
onlyintexas
Regular MemberPosts: 262
Like?
Re: For this much, you
In reply to BrianZ, May 1, 2005

Does anyone know where you can get a hot shoe connector for canon without buying the $50 cable. I have one but don't want to tear it up. If I can buy just the connectors (2) then solder the 6 pin wire inbetween them. That would be a lower cost option if I could find the shoe adaptor connector.

BrianZ wrote:
If you build it yourself, you save $100 and gain the flexibility of
moving the umbrella wherever you like. I should have mentioned
that the parts will cost about $75 total, including the Canon cord.
Plus about 3 hours to solder the 4 connectors on, if you want to
make the cord covertible to use either just the coiled cord on a
flash bracket or with the extension inserted for mounting farther
away on a light stand. Or if you don't care to use the cord with a
flash bracket, you can save the cost of the connectors (less than
$10) and a couple of hours of soldering time, by just wiring the
cords directly to each other. Not quite as neat or useful, but
should work fine.
-BrianZ

Chirebel wrote:

might consider a slave flash instead, a sigma 500dg super or a
420ex and leave one flash on the camera. No cords.. And you get
fill flash too boot.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
TomCee
Senior MemberPosts: 2,680
Like?
Re: cut the cable but ...........
In reply to tommyleong, May 1, 2005

Well, there are 5 pins on the bottom + the contacts on the side (ground) = 6.
--
Regards,
Tom

http://clik.to/tomcee
Canon 300D FAQ: http://www.marius.org/fom-serve/cache/3.html

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
BrianZ
Senior MemberPosts: 1,472
Like?
Re: cut the cable but ...........
In reply to tommyleong, May 21, 2005

I can think of at least a couple of potential problem areas to check. First, you mentioned audio connectors. I recall trying an audio cable having 5-pin DIN type connectors, but continuity testing showed one of the pins was not connected through, so I returned it and then bought the in-line solder type connectors to use with ethernet cable. If you have these solder type connectors with no wires, with 5 pins plus shield, to connect 6 wires, then that shouldn't be a problem. Second, I was able to use ordinary Cat 5 for shorter lengths, but for longer lengths you will eventually reach a point where the resistance of the wire causes a loss of signal, so Cat 6 cable with thicker wires is a better choice. I made a 4-ft cable with Cat 5 but used Cat 6 for a 12 ft cable. Since you tried shortening the cable this may not be the problem. Next I would check connections again and make sure all the proper pins are wired through to the correct pins at the other end and again check for shorts testing each pin at one end with every other pin at the opposite end, including shield connector. You have to be meticulous with soldering technique. I recall having an intermittent short that was difficult to detect because it was inside the outer plastic cable housing. I cut down the length before I ever discovered it. When I was soldering, the heat transmitted down the wire to the unstripped wire still covered by the outer plastic, melting its protective cover and fusing it with another wire's plastic, such that the two metal wires occassionally came in contact. I only discovered it after stipping back the outer cover more. Then I was careful to put a metal clamp on each wire as I soldered it to act as a heat sink to prevent this problem. I also used heat shrink tubing around each soldered connection to make sure they never touch and also wrap in electrical tape to avoid contact with the outer metal shield. Shorts can be tricky to detect sometimes. I would also check the order of connections again to make certain they are correct. Maybe a pair of wires is flipped.
Good luck.

tommyleong wrote:

ok
i got the cable, cut them into half
then joined them using some sort of audio connectors (5pin )
but used normal cable , ie not the cat6 cable
length is 3 metres

but things begin to go haywire
the flash shoots but no picture in the camera
and even after I shut down the camera, the LCD continues to
display info ???
this is really freaking me out

Cables were checked again and again for shorting and
earthing but nothing there

last resort, reduced the lenght, ..........same problem
zoom and aperture changes in the flash as with the camera
but when triggered, no pictures

pls give me your experience with this
thanks

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
BrianZ
Senior MemberPosts: 1,472
Like?
Re: 580EX Extension Cable
In reply to CGP4, May 21, 2005

Good idea with the lock ring, as the others can pull apart with enough tension. However the 12CL5M model might be a better choice, since it has a 240 degree pin layout instead of 180 degrees where the pins are closer together, which makes soldering more of a challenge. I wish I knew about these, but mine still works fine, and at least they will pull apart if someone trips on the cord instead of pulling a lightstand down.

CGP4 wrote:

Just saw this post, excellent info. For DIN connectors, I would
recommend Switchcraft's 05CL5M (male) and 06AL5F (female). They
are high quality and incorporate a lockring so the connections
won't come apart.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Ken Phillips
Forum ProPosts: 16,331
Like?
Uh, think about it ...
In reply to onlyintexas, May 21, 2005

... what you want is an Off-Camera Shoe Cord 2 without the wire ... which is the cheapest part!! You need both 'sexes' also, so you don't need two of something, you need two DIFFERENT somethings!

I cannot see that buying them separately would be cheaper, although I am certain that Canon will sell them to you!
Ken

-- hide signature --

http://www.ahomls.com/gallery.htm
Voted Best of the City 2004 by Cincinnati Magazine
I don't believe in fate, but I do believe in f/8!

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Samo_B
New MemberPosts: 1
Like?
Re: cut the cable but ...........
In reply to tommyleong, Jun 8, 2005

Did you found out what was wrong?
I have the same problem at the moment.

tommyleong wrote:

ok
i got the cable, cut them into half
then joined them using some sort of audio connectors (5pin )
but used normal cable , ie not the cat6 cable
length is 3 metres

but things begin to go haywire
the flash shoots but no picture in the camera
and even after I shut down the camera, the LCD continues to
display info ???
this is really freaking me out

Cables were checked again and again for shorting and
earthing but nothing there

last resort, reduced the lenght, ..........same problem
zoom and aperture changes in the flash as with the camera
but when triggered, no pictures

pls give me your experience with this
thanks

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum MMy threads