EOS AF point types: X + | - (f2.8, f5.6, f8)?

Started Dec 20, 2013 | Discussions thread
Shop cameras & lenses ▾
ForumParentFirstPreviousNextNext unread
Flat view
Forum MemberPosts: 58
EOS AF point types: X + | - (f2.8, f5.6, f8)?
Dec 20, 2013

I have yet to find a good comprehensive reference for which EOS models (including xxD models, Rebel/xxxD, and Full Frame xD models) have which kinds of AF sensor point types.  If I am not mistaken there are several types of sensor points (I'm talking about only Phase-Detect AF here):

- Horizontal

| Vertical

+ regular cross

+X "dual cross"

Additionally, some are sensitive only at f/2.8 or above, some are sensitive at f/5.6 or above, and I think I read somewhere that on some cameras, some points are sensitive all the way down to f/8.

So, which EOS models have which kinds of PD-AF points, and what aperture ranges do those points operate at.  I guess we can start by compiling a list for all EOS models currently in production.  [Note:  I posted this to the 7D / 10D-70D forum because it is in the middle... I'd post this to a general EOS forum if one existed].

Canon EOS 10D Canon EOS 7D
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
ForumParentFirstPreviousNextNext unread
Flat view
ForumParentFirstPreviousNextNext unread
Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum PPrevious NNext WNext unread UUpvote SSubscribe RReply QQuote BBookmark post MMy threads
Color scheme? Blue / Yellow