Solar eclipse in southern hemisphere today

Started Nov 13, 2012 | Discussions thread
ForumParentFirstPreviousNextNext unread
Flat view
dave gaines
Veteran MemberPosts: 9,173Gear list
Like?
Solar eclipse in southern hemisphere today
Nov 13, 2012

I just read this in the news. It apparently begins in Australia in just a few hours.

"On Wednesday, Nov. 14, residents and visitors in Cairns, in Queensland, Australia, will witness the moon completely cover the sun for two minutes in the eastern sky an hour after local sunrise, provided the weather is clear (cloudy conditions could spoil the show). Because of the time zone difference, it will still be Tuesday afternoon (Nov. 13) in the United States during the total solar eclipse.

Cruise ships positioned farther east off the coast of New Caledonia and New Zealand will intercept the moon’s dark shadow, called the umbra, on the open waters of the South Pacific, giving passengers even longer durations of totality — up to 2.5 and 3.5 minutes, respectively. The eclipse will begin at 3:35 p.m. ET (20:35 GMT) and last about 3.1 hours as the moon's shadow moves across Earth.

You can watch two live webcasts of the total solar eclipse here at SPACE.com beginning at 1 p.m. ET (18:00 GMT)."

More info and a visual description of the experience in this article:

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/49805768/ns/technology_and_science-space/

-- hide signature --

Dave
No thought exists without an image. Socrates
http://whaleshark.smugmug.com

 dave gaines's gear list:dave gaines's gear list
Olympus C-8080 Wide Zoom Olympus E-330 Nikon D800E Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR Nikon AF-S Nikkor 14-24mm f/2.8G ED +7 more
ForumParentFirstPreviousNextNext unread
Flat view
Post (hide subjects)Posted by
ForumParentFirstPreviousNextNext unread
Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum PPrevious NNext WNext unread UUpvote SSubscribe RReply QQuote BBookmark post MMy threads
Color scheme? Blue / Yellow