delete files permanently from HD using Aperture

Started Sep 18, 2012 | Discussions thread
Alpha Doug
Veteran MemberPosts: 9,115Gear list
Like?
Re: delete files permanently from HD using Aperture
In reply to Brian OReilly, Sep 19, 2012

The problem with Lightroom's version of "delete" is that if you choose the "delete from disk" option, that image is gone immediately, never to come back. In Aperture, when you "delete" an image from a Project inside Aperture, it immediately is sent to Aperture's Trash folder in the inspector. It will sit there until you decide to "empty" the Trash. That way you can retrieve any image that you accidentally deleted. When you "empty" the Trash, the files then migrate to the official System Trash (the wastebasket). You still have one last chance to get that illusive file back before it's gone forever, when you empty the system trash. This was done on purpose to help people avoid the "oh crap" I just deleted the wrong file!

-- hide signature --

Only my opinion. It's worth what you paid for it. Your mileage may vary! ;-}

http://www.dougwigton.com/

 Alpha Doug's gear list:Alpha Doug's gear list
Canon PowerShot S95 Sony SLT-A77 Olympus PEN E-PM2 Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM +1 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum PPrevious NNext WNext unread UUpvote SSubscribe RReply QQuote BBookmark post MMy threads
Color scheme? Blue / Yellow