New to Aperture (and Mac)... help!

Started Apr 29, 2010 | Discussions thread
Shop cameras & lenses ▾
ForumParentFirstPreviousNext
Flat view
Looleylaylow
Looleylaylow Regular Member • Posts: 291
New to Aperture (and Mac)... help!

Posted this in the "Retouching" forum too...

Greetings colleagues. I'm struggling with the age-old "managed vs. referenced" dilemma and am seeking suggestions. As a long-time Windows user, I'm a little freaked out by my new Mac's tendency to control everything and bury the native file structure somehwhere difficult to find. But I also want to spend less time administering my machine and more time playing with pictures.

I'm seeing many of the pros and cons of letting Aperture 3 manage my photos vs. managing them myself and referencing them with the software. What I'm not clear on is whether there is any way--using either method--to delete a master image (not just a version, and not just an image in an Aperture library but the original imported image) via the Aperture 3 interface. There's a "delete master image and all versions" command under the edit menu but that does not, in fact, delete the master image, at least not as I'm defining "master image." So at the moment, it seems to me that the only way to truly rid my system of a picture that I don't want after it's been imported is to delete versions via Aperture and then go to the source file in Finder and delete the original. Which seems to be much easier when Aperture is NOT referencing my files.

So am I missing something? Why would Apple offer up "delete master image" if the command leaves the master on the machine? Help?

 Looleylaylow's gear list:Looleylaylow's gear list
Nikon D7100 Olympus E-M1 Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G VR Olympus M.Zuiko Digital 45mm F1.8 +4 more
ForumParentFirstPreviousNext
Flat view
ForumParentFirstPreviousNext
Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum PPrevious NNext WNext unread UUpvote SSubscribe RReply QQuote BBookmark MMy threads
Color scheme? Blue / Yellow