Photography like a tale

Challenge series hosted by RazvanRO. Challenges start on Mondays.
Great photography rises from a harmonious combination between feelings and capture techniques. The photographer, like a storyteller, sees, feels, captures and shares illusions, lights, characters, feelings and colours. He tells a taleā€¦ Do you have a tale to tell?
Finished (54 challenges)
Entries: 300
Winners announced: 10th January, 2011 GMT
Winner: The Corkscrew - Lower Antelope Canyon
open theme but be sure you comply to dpreview general rules
Entries: 125
Winners announced: 3rd January, 2011 GMT
Winner: Caterpillar, Ladybug and Little aphid
use your macro lens and bring the most spectacular worlds which are not so easy to see with naked eyes
52. > Closed
Entries: 125
Winners announced: 27th December, 2010 GMT
Winner: Road Closed!?!
keep close to the challenge title. be creative if you wish!
Entries: 103
Winners announced: 20th December, 2010 GMT
Winner: White & blue
as the challenge title suggests...
Entries: 125
Winners announced: 13th December, 2010 GMT
Winner: IMG_466
The shot must be taken from the inside of a car. Your shot must include some interior parts of the car - fail to do so will trigger disqualification.
Entries: 83
Winners announced: 6th December, 2010 GMT
Winner: Double rainbow at Skoutari, Mani, Greece
Rainbows
Entries: 148
Winners announced: 29th November, 2010 GMT
Winner: Shaker Dawn
"Good morning!" - the first wish in the morning... Show the very first activities in the morning; your way of saying "Good morning!". Good luck and good light! Mind the rules, see below!
Entries: 100
Winners announced: 22nd November, 2010 GMT
Winner: Onandjokwe
Portrait of a single black person. Classic portrait.
Entries: 40
Winners announced: 15th November, 2010 GMT
Winner: Sitting news
paper in any kinds and forms.
Entries: 125
Winners announced: 8th November, 2010 GMT
Winner: Runners
Real ones, no toys, no drawings.
44. > Brands
Entries: 135
Winners announced: 1st November, 2010 GMT
Winner: Brooks Saddle
Show us the most powerful brands of the world... From fastfoods to banks, from lingerie creators to army suppliers... Your exposure must show the brand, the sign, its name or it's particular elements.
Entries: 72
Winners announced: 25th October, 2010 GMT
Winner: Bedtime Rituals
We spend a lot of our time in bed. We sleep there, we eat there, we make love there, we jump there, we read there, we dream there, we whisper there, we watch TV from there, we play there, we hide under and in it, we throw things there, we cry there, we die there,.... Share an exposure where the main subject or main action is related to a bed existence.
Entries: 214
Winners announced: 18th October, 2010 GMT
Winner: Patagonia
It must be a natural place, not man made. So, please: no cities, no villages, no agricultural fields, no artificial lakes, no artificial waterfalls, no artificial etc-etc.
Entries: 112
Winners announced: 11th October, 2010 GMT
Winner: Autumn colors
Autumn is already present in the northern hemisphere. Could you identify its signs? (Not only fallen leafs! Be creative, don't mix up with the masses!)
Entries: 137
Winners announced: 4th October, 2010 GMT
Winner: OverTheSun
Be creative and keep close to the challenge theme! Human presence is mandatory!
Entries: 219
Winners announced: 27th September, 2010 GMT
Winner: Moscow
Share a shot where you represent your country. Something unique related to your country that makes the viewers to recognize it.
Entries: 99
Winners announced: 20th September, 2010 GMT
Winner: Love Is...
You know!
Entries: 204
Winners announced: 13th September, 2010 GMT
Winner: Prick-airous Bubble at Dawn
Use your imagination! No flowers!
Entries: 100
Winners announced: 6th September, 2010 GMT
Winner: Fight against Poverty
I was spending some time reading a book and found a simple but 'deep' question: "What keeps a human alive?" (Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn - "Cancer Ward") It is a simple question and most of us (if not all of us) had it at least once in his/her lifetime and, most likely, he/she also tried to find an answer (It is not necessary to reach this question by reading it in a book - and also not necessary to...
Entries: 69
Winners announced: 30th August, 2010 GMT
Winner: Shades of Gray
Have you ever been cheated? Have you ever felt the bitter taste of love? Have you ever lost everything in a short time? Have you ever been tempted to put an end to all this? Have you ever felt that you want to disappear? Have you ever felt that you want to travel at the speed of light and die like a falling star? Have you ever felt your heart squashed? ....and beside all of these you had the...
34. > Hidden
Entries: 197
Winners announced: 23rd August, 2010 GMT
Winner: Otherside
Obviously, we must be able to see part of the hidden thing or at least we should be able to imagine it. A toy in a sealed present box is a bad example for this challenge as long as we do not have any clue that inside that box is a toy. A dust cover over a car is a good example because we can identify the form of it. Be creative! No snapshots please!
Entries: 99
Winners announced: 16th August, 2010 GMT
Winner: D3A_9022PelicanA1Crop
Be creative!
32. > Silence
Entries: 199
Winners announced: 9th August, 2010 GMT
Winner: morning for two
Make us feel the silence...
Entries: 55
Winners announced: 2nd August, 2010 GMT
Winner: Ready to Fly
Include some lines from a poem or a story to your shot. See it like a story told to your viewers!
Entries: 63
Winners announced: 26th July, 2010 GMT
Winner: Gemini
Natural Thunder / Lightning
Entries: 124
Winners announced: 19th July, 2010 GMT
Winner: A winter wonderland in Lapland
....wonderland..., the perfect place for a tale...
Entries: 99
Winners announced: 12th July, 2010 GMT
Winner: God bless my Mom
Dedicate a tale to the one you love!
Entries: 34
Winners announced: 5th July, 2010 GMT
Winner: September_October_November Granite Creek, Sutton Alaska
The same place captured at different times (day/night, different seasons, different timetables/schedules,...). By "same place" I mean the same composition, the same (main) subject, the same angle, the same distance and the same orientation. Show 3 or more than 3 shots of the same place. Be creative and try to be original!
Entries: 122
Winners announced: 28th June, 2010 GMT
Winner: Lone Chair
Be creative and keep it black and white! Shots entered must be interrelated to the challenge title. Please read the post-processing rules and additional rules before entering this challenge.
Entries: 200
Winners announced: 21st June, 2010 GMT
Winner: Innocence By Candle Light
Be creative and share a photography expressing innocence. Inappropriate shots will be disqualified.
Entries: 42
Winners announced: 14th June, 2010 GMT
Winner: Japanese drawing
First ranked 75 shots from each of the last 5 challenges in "Photography like a tale" series are invited to join this challenge. Do you think that your shot was ranked unfair? Your shot was first, but what about it in this challenge? Find out the answer, join in!
Entries: 73
Winners announced: 7th June, 2010 GMT
Winner: La esperanza
Share the best shot taken with a Sony slr.
Entries: 72
Winners announced: 31st May, 2010 GMT
Winner: sparrows
Share the best shot taken with a Pentax slr or dslr.
Entries: 174
Winners announced: 24th May, 2010 GMT
Winner: Japanese drawing
Share the best shot taken with an Olympus slr or dslr.
Entries: 175
Winners announced: 17th May, 2010 GMT
Winner: Great falls
Share the best shot taken with a Nikon slr or dslr.
Entries: 174
Winners announced: 10th May, 2010 GMT
Winner: seagull over still lake water
Share the best shot taken with a canon slr or dslr.
Entries: 148
Winners announced: 3rd May, 2010 GMT
Winner: Sherwood Forest Country Lane
Out of the city, away from the highways (...) lies the 'true' country and its country roads. Make us feel as if we were walking on a country road! (obviously, there must be a road in your exposure - not highway! Please see the 'definition' for highway in Additional rules section.)
Entries: 125
Winners announced: 26th April, 2010 GMT
Winner: Sky Flower
Each participant has its fireworks, but which shot is the best?
Entries: 100
Winners announced: 19th April, 2010 GMT
Winner: Seattle Night
Share a photograhy where you zoom in or zoom out during slow exposure.
Entries: 150
Winners announced: 12th April, 2010 GMT
Winner: Tropical Thunderstorm
A tale of great or equal than 5 seconds. The longer the exposure the better. Not entered to previous dpreview challenges!
Entries: 200
Winners announced: 5th April, 2010 GMT
Winner: Chequered Swallowtail
This is a challenge about real butterflies (moths allowed). So please: no tattoos, no toys, no drawings of butterflies or other butterfly representations. Macro shots allowed as long as we can see that there is a macro of a butterfly/moth.
Entries: 13
Winners announced: 29th March, 2010 GMT
Winner: no winner
For some a lucky number for others not. Which side are you? Show us a photo involving number 13. Please provide additional comments if there are no evident signs of the 13 number, 13 elements, 13 anything..., otherwise you can have the bad luck to be the last in this challenge.
Entries: 107
Winners announced: 22nd March, 2010 GMT
Winner: Frog Med
Imagination is the heart of every tale... Be creative and may the best shot win! *) Please see some voting tips: http://www.dpreview.com/learn/?/Help/ChallengesHelp_01.htm#judging_guide
Entries: 100
Winners announced: 15th March, 2010 GMT
Winner: Casstle of Meissen
We need a castle for our tale. Please provide the best castle shot in order to continue the tale. It must be a real castle or an old, grandiose building (not skyscrapers and not modern buildings). If you want to be the winner please see below the details regarding the castle...
Entries: 145
Winners announced: 8th March, 2010 GMT
Winner: Thirst
Our world upside-down - literally. Sometimes rotating the whole shot it has much more to say than its original orientation.
Entries: 99
Winners announced: 1st March, 2010 GMT
Winner: Nevena
Young or old, black or white, boy or girl, tall or short, fat or slim....it doesn't matter, but what matters most are the glasses! Present a B&W portrait of a single person wearing glasses (not sunglasses!!!)
Entries: 99
Winners announced: 22nd February, 2010 GMT
Winner: Stalker
The shadow(s) must be on a vertical wall and it could be the shadow of a dog or of a belated person going somewhere or of a running car or of a fragile flower...
Entries: 78
Winners announced: 15th February, 2010 GMT
Winner: Chobe Elephants at Sunset
One of the amazing continents on Earth, Africa, reveals some of the most peaceful, simple and warm landscapes. The best moment to 'write a tale' is at dusk or at sunrise, reason why we expect a Tale of Great Africa at those moments... See some guidelines below.
Entries: 95
Winners announced: 8th February, 2010 GMT
Winner: Duck in muck
Spot the critical points/areas of our planet where pollution is present. Show how deadly pollution can be to our environment.
Entries: 97
Winners announced: 1st February, 2010 GMT
Winner: Forgotten Beach
Share with us the best landscape exposure where filters like Cokin or Lee were used (gradual, warm, colored, infrared, etc-etc). Give a short description about the filters used. Please avoid using filters in photo editing software.
Entries: 60
Winners announced: 25th January, 2010 GMT
Winner: Greasy Spoon
Many of us start the day with a strong, flavored, black coffee and a newspaper. In the office, in airports, on the train or in the car you enjoy the morning coffee taste together with some fresh news. Say "Good Morning" to us by including a coffee and a newspaper/magazine in your sepia tone exposure.
Entries: 124
Winners announced: 18th January, 2010 GMT
Winner: life has been so hard
Even in the most luxurious places on Earth we can find poor peoples. Our happiness should take into account the grey smile of poverty. We manage to handle huge and expensive cameras and lenses while other people like us struggle to get a slice of bread. I know that for most of those in poverty taking a shot is sometimes disgraceful so please avoid that and try making it soft and grey, not dark.
Entries: 123
Winners announced: 11th January, 2010 GMT
Winner: Planet Earth
Take the viewers into the fascinating world of mirrors. Use at least one mirror to create some special effects, not just a simple reflection. Don't expect to win showing us just a simple mirror.
Entries: 125
Winners announced: 4th January, 2010 GMT
Winner: Mazalat hut
Capture the perfect moment close to Christmas, the cosy atmosphere, the gentle lights, the present rush or anything that expresses best the Christmas atmosphere.