Tamrac 5592 Big Wheels SpeedRoller 2X Bag Review

Tamrac 5592 Big Wheels SpeedRoller 2X
$400 / £300 www.tamrac.com 

The Tamrac 5592 Big Wheels SpeedRoller 2X is a photography equipment buffet on wheels. The bag's primary attributes are its industrial strength telescoping handle, oversized wheels fortified with ball bearings, and a ton of real estate for camera equipment. The SpeedRoller 2X is luggage compartment compatible and even carries a laptop over 17-inches in size.

I've reviewed more than a few bags within recent months, and the Tamrac SpeedRoller 2X is the most expensive model I've tested to date, at a street price of $400. Is this particular model a classic case of 'you get what you pay for', or does the SpeedRoller hit a few speedbumps along the way? Let's give it a whirl.

Key Features

  • Carries two DSLRs with lenses attached
  • Oversized, ball-bearing wheels
  • Carries laptops up to 17.3 in.
  • Industrial strength telescoping handle
  • QuickClip Tripod attachment system
  • Ballistic nylon outer shell, plastic-armored walls and foam padded main compartment
  • 5-year limited warranty
  • 14W x 9D x 22H in. (36 x 23 x 56cm)
  • 12 lbs. (5.4Kg)

The million dollar question you're probably asking right off the bat is whether or not the Tamrac SpeedRoller can withstand the inevitable airport security shakedown, so let's get this out of the way first. Yes it can. At 14W x 9D x 22H in. (36 x 23 x 56 cm), the bag satisfies the current maximum dimensions approved for overhead storage. For professionals carrying a lot of expensive gear, this is likely to be a big deal. Checking a bag filled with $10,000 worth of equipment into the hold of an airplane is something you only do if you have to.

The other attributes that make the Tamrac SpeedRoller 2X an ideal airport warrior are its giant four-inch wheels and 20-inch telescoping handle. The wheels are made of a hard rubber compound and feature metal ball bearings for a smooth and quiet ride. The large diameter wheels and buttery bearings performed admirably upon a variety of terrain, including grass hills and gravel. I've done some 'offroading' with the SpeedRoller 2X on a selection of rocky Maine landscapes during several real estate shoots, and it coped admirably. The bag even handled a thick blueberry field without any hiccups, which many New Englanders would consider a definitive test.

A large, telescoping and locking aluminum handle make travelling with the SpeedRoller nice and easy. Oversized wheels with ball bearings offer a smooth, quiet ride.

The locking, telescoping aluminum handle provided plenty of length for a comfortable tow, though I'm not the tallest pine in the forest at 5' 8". So, I called upon a few of my taller friends to roll the bag around. They tell me that while the handle was well-built and sturdy, the sharper, more upright angle made the bag a bit less stable when pulled over challenging terrain. Perhaps Tamrac could have made the handle longer, in the 24-26 inch range and introduced three different locking height adjustments for different size photographers. I stress though that this is really only an issue for very tall people, in the 6' 3" and up category. Dikembe Mutombo would carry it like a handbag.

As for durability, I was impressed with the SpeedRoller 2X's structural integrity. The entire outer shell is ballistic nylon with ribbed rubberized piping around all corners on the top side. Three hard plastic runners line the underbelly of the bag, preventing the nylon shell from ever touching the ground. Both leather wrapped handles are foam padded and exceedingly comfortable. They are also reinforced with cross-stitching and did not flinch when I yanked on them with all my might. The main zippers are oversized (seeing a trend here?) and also highly durable.

Inside the bag, Tamrac lined the entire interior with soft fabric and reinforced all of it with plush foam. The bottom of the interior compartment features a large foam pad to support all the weight from gravity's constraints, and the top of the interior has a smaller foam pad, both of which can be un-velcroed, allowing the entire bottom tray to be removed for cleaning. The padded bottom tray also sits suspended about an inch from the outside wall of the bag, so there's a wall of air in addition to the foam to protect the underside. Two adjustable straps suspend the top flap in the upright position so it doesn't come crashing to the ground and equipment is accessed easily. The top flap is lined entirely with foam, as well as the outermost compartment that holds a laptop. As a result, my 17-inch MacBook was sandwiched between two slabs of foam. Overall, as you might be able to tell, I was highly pleased with the construction of the Tamrac SpeedRoller 2X.

Two full size DSLRs and 7 lenses can fit inside the SpeedRoller 2X. Small tripods are questionable, but large tripods will topple the bag over when stood upright.

Organization was another strong quality of the bag. The entire main compartment of the bag is stocked with 13 thick foam-padded strappings of all shapes and sizes. Therefore, the main compartment is fully customizable. I was able to fit a Canon EOS 5D Mark III with battery grip and 24-105mm lens attached, two flashes, wireless lav mics, a portrait lens, three battery chargers, travel hard drive, photo filters and card readers. A large telephoto lens up to 16 inches can fit in the main compartment while stuffing a lens-free body in one of the side compartments, and 4-5 other lenses can still fit inside.

The top flap is fitted with with Tamrac's Windowpane-Mesh pockets, which are essentially transparent zippered sleeves that showcase small items like memory cards and batteries. A large zippered sleeve lives behind the transparent pockets, ideal for documents and maps. 

The strapping system is pretty serious, as well as the foam padding. Here's the hard plastic reinforced underside.

Two large hockey puck-like protrusions reside parallel to the rolling wheels. These are for standing the bag upright. When I had the SpeedRoller 2X packed to the brim with all of my equipment, the bag was able to stand upright without any instability issues. However, when I attached a larger tripod to the QuickClip Tripod attachment system, the bag toppled forward like a felled tree. Smaller tripods fared okay, but my pro-grade tripods acted like a boat anchor. I was a bit disappointed by this, and had to refrain from setting the bag upright on the ground unattended.

Summing Up

The Tamrac 5592 Big Wheels SpeedRoller 2X is something of a mouthful, but it is a testament to quality construction and architectural ingenuity. The bag is rugged, comfortable to travel with (for normal to small- sized people at any rate), and provides seemingly endless organizational possibilities. The best part about the SpeedRoller 2X is that it's airport-friendly, and will prove to be a trusty travel companion. I did run into an issue with mounting a large tripod to the outside of the bag, and I think that's something Tamrac should explore when designing the follow up model. But overall, the bag is a bonefide winner in my book.

What we like: Rugged, quality construction, expansive storage capacity, malleable internal components, carry-on approved

What we don't like: Prone to toppling over with a large tripod attached, might be too short for tall people to tow comfortably


Mike Perlman is a freelance photographer and writer, based in Bar Harbor, Maine. After a spell reviewing camcorders at Camcorderinfo.com, Mike moved to infoSync World as the Senior Photography Editor, before taking up a role at TechnoBuffalo.com as the head of the Photography department. These days, Mike runs his own photography business and contributes to dpreview between shoots.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by dpreview.com or any affiliated companies.

Comments

Total comments: 44
birdseyeviewphotos
By birdseyeviewphotos (6 months ago)

I just bought for £62 inc delivery a Hama Miami 200 Photo trolley a Rolling bag the size is 270 x120 x370 it is Airline compatible and weighs just 2950g empty I carry it 2 Pro Bodies a Fuji S5Pro and a Nikon D300s plus a 70-300 mm 3.5 Nikon AF VR Lens on one of the bodies with a 18-70 f2.8 AF Sigma Lens on the other. Then comes a Sigma 105 mm Macro Lens and Sigma 150-500 mm lens various filters and a laptop plus leads. Spare camera batteries plus chargers, a Nikon Flash Gun and a Sigma Ring Flash and the adaptors to fit all lenses wireless remotes Most importantly my 240 tablets per week in 7 day divided dispensers + Insulin for each week plus a spare week. Having taken photos for nearly 60 years one learns there is no perfect bag I have had 2 different Billingham's a 335 and a Hadley 2 Tamrac's Pro 11 several Lowepro's. I had one with a changing bag in 6X6 Film days. Now its a single camera top loader a Tamrac Super light 44 a Peli type the Hama, a case for all reasons BYE

1 upvote
birdseyeviewphotos
By birdseyeviewphotos (6 months ago)

I have bought for just £62 inc delivery a Hama Miami 200 Photo trolley online or as you might say a Rolling bag the size is 270 x120 x370 this is Airline compatible it weighs just 2950 g I carry it when travelling .I put into it 2 Pro Bodies a Fuji S5Pro and a Nikon D300s plus a 70-300 mm 3.5 Nikon AF VR Lens which is on one of the bodies with a 18-70 f2.8 AF Sigma Lens on the other. Then comes a Sigma 105 mm Macro Lens and Sigma 150-500 mm lens various filters and a laptop plus leads. Spare camera batteries plus chargers, a Nissan Flash Gun and a Sigma Ring Flash for use with the adaptors to fit all lenses, my 240 tablets per week in their divided dispensers + Insulin for 4 weeks, books to read when waiting around. Having taken photos for nearly 60 years one gets to learn there is no perfect bag I have had 3 different Billinghams 4 Tamracs a Peli type 4 Lowepro's even had a bag with a changing bag in it a top drop belt I bought it for my trip to Australia in Jan 14 ...BYE

0 upvotes
birdseyeviewphotos
By birdseyeviewphotos (6 months ago)

I have reviewed to above placed 39 plus mins ago replaced it with an edited version and deleted the old one it

0 upvotes
tominwa
By tominwa (10 months ago)

Unlike everybody else, I'm more interested in the off-road abilities of the bag. I have a recently acquired shoulder injury that precludes carrying my old ThinkTank. I need to pull a bag, and this looks like a good candidate. The handle seems short for a long stride (I hate hitting my heels while towing a bag), and it sounds as if there are no backpack straps available for those tight pinches where towing a bag requires one too many hands. Does anybody know of other likely candidate bags?

0 upvotes
ChristianG
By ChristianG (10 months ago)

I have a Tamrac Cyberpro Express of about 2006 vintage which has successfully held my (one) DSLR plus four lenses, flash, Joby tripod, 2x conventional tripod heads and associated bits and pieces since that time. It, too, is cabin compatible, has wheels (admittedly smaller sized) and a fairly stout handle. I was thinking of replacing it with this one but it has given me splendid service, looks like new and I therefore can't see any compelling reason to replace it.

Oh, the first thing I did to mine is take a razor to it to remove all the labelling. At least to some extent it doesn't now yell at you "expensive camera gear inside, please steal me". Can't really do that with a Pelican case, they're pretty distinctive.Well, they were that last time I looked at them which I admit is some time ago.

I bought that one courtesy of a recommendation on the oldest underwater photography website on this medium.

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 13 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
JonathanRphoto
By JonathanRphoto (10 months ago)

Still does not beat Pelicans. Now those are series cases! and half the price of this softy bag!

0 upvotes
Les Kamens
By Les Kamens (10 months ago)

My think tank international has been amazing, as it holds two pro bodies 5 lenses two flash heads battery charge and small bag of all the things youl'll ever need to keep your shoot going. It is also cheaper and sleeker than the Tamrac and on airplanes it fits most overheads and on commuter flights fits under the seat

Comment edited 20 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
irm
By irm (10 months ago)

Not all international travelers get 22kg, we Aussies get 8kg. I must admit I have seen some very large carry-on bags get put in overhead lockers.
I bought the new Canon backpack and coloured the bright red logo black. It will carry a camera, couple of lenses, spare clothes and 15" Mac without a problem. Comes with adjustable chest and waist strap. Has a waterproof cover which could get lost quite easily. Bright orange inside so little things are easy to find.

0 upvotes
ArcaSwiss
By ArcaSwiss (10 months ago)

And of course you can buy it on Amazon !

1 upvote
AntonH
By AntonH (10 months ago)

There is a typo under the spec, right below the Key Features. It says the weight is 5.4g. I think you meant 5.4kg.

1 upvote
M Lammerse
By M Lammerse (10 months ago)

It looks like a very nice bag from the review, but I miss personal experience using it for quite some time. How will the zippers hold, how will the wheels hold, the handle etc. Are parts replaceable?
For those who are searching for cheaper alternatives for this Tamrac.
I'm using an X200 roller of Lowepro. It's a bit old looking odd ball for a roller bag, but it has some nice features which I miss in this bag.

It has a good lock against quick theft, it has a hard outside shell and a strong nylon bag which can be taken out. It has some great features, like the carrying handle can be used as an emergency flash standard or even as a tripod for a camera. The rollerbag is stabiel with a tripod and it has an extra standard, so the bag back, is never leaning on the ground itself, if you do not want it. Wheels are replaceable, I use one since 2011 and since then I'm a very happy roller.

Only ANA gave me a couple of times problems with this bag fully loaded (KLM, JAL, Lufthansa not)

Comment edited 7 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Falconest174
By Falconest174 (10 months ago)

Too big, too heavy, although well designed otherwise.
Not everyone is built like Arnold S.

1 upvote
tommy leong
By tommy leong (10 months ago)

nice article.
hope you follow up with alternatives to this bag.
One that addresss some of its short-comings, hopefully

0 upvotes
utphoto
By utphoto (10 months ago)

Overpriced, too big, too heavy, weighs as much as the carry on allowance on some non-US airlines.

0 upvotes
Tapani Tarvainen
By Tapani Tarvainen (10 months ago)

It weighs 4.5kg? Not much fun when hand luggage limit is 5kg... even with 8kg (most common these days where I travel) the bag would take most of it.

2 upvotes
jrkliny
By jrkliny (10 months ago)

This sounds like a really good rolling case but way beyond my budget. I made my own for the cost of an inexpensive American Tourister. I think I paid about $50 at the discount store. I did need to spend a couple of hours with duct tape and cardboard in order to build all the interior partitions. I like that the partitions exactly match my needs. I would buy the featured case or something like it if I had lots of spare cash.

I do really like a roller case. I use it for air travel but on a regular basis for storing and carrying my gear when I travel by car. I carry way more than I need and then stock my smaller daily cases for my specific needs based on what I plan to shoot that day. For hiking and daily shooting I usually use a belt to carry my lenses in individual cases. Those lens cases fit into my roller.

0 upvotes
tommy leong
By tommy leong (10 months ago)

Good idea,a cheaper and easier alternative.

what i do is , i chuck in my existing camera bags (i have a couple )
Big and small, which comes in handy on location since i do NOT need to always bring out the big roller bag on each occasion.

0 upvotes
Jeff Peterman
By Jeff Peterman (10 months ago)

I'm still looking for a good travel bag designed for frequent flyers who also want to carry camera gear. That means it should have easy-access compartments for all the normal essentials (books, tablet, water bottle), plus exterior pockets for travel documents, a place for emergency clothes (underwear, socks, etc., for when your checked luggage gets delayed) AND padded compartments for a DSLR and a couple of lenses.
These days, I make do with a general purpose travel bag and add my camera gear with the body in a neoprene pouch and each lens in it's own pouch, but that's far from ideal.

0 upvotes
Tord S Eriksson
By Tord S Eriksson (10 months ago)

ThinkTank Airport TakeOff suits me fine, never travel without it!

0 upvotes
Marc111
By Marc111 (10 months ago)

I prefer ThinkTankPhoto Airport Security or Airport TakeOff if you need a backpack straps:

http://www.thinktankphoto.com/products/airport-security-v2-roller-camera-bag.aspx

http://www.thinktankphoto.com/products/airport-takeoff-roller-camera-bag.aspx

1 upvote
Mike921
By Mike921 (10 months ago)

For that price, backpack straps should have been included like Tenba does. Miss.

0 upvotes
keith james taylor
By keith james taylor (10 months ago)

Awesome cool bag!!! protecting your gear in an expansive bag.
I note from the pictures lens caps are unnecessary ,awesome or what??? lol.

0 upvotes
M Lammerse
By M Lammerse (10 months ago)

I don't use lens caps as well (I use protective filters and a cloth to clean them) Many of my colleagues don't use lens caps either, it saves us time, and personally, I always loose those things so and so.

0 upvotes
Ian McDonald
By Ian McDonald (10 months ago)

i have to agree, i am also losing lens gaps s now i don't bother

0 upvotes
mtkya
By mtkya (10 months ago)

i think this will be a good lighting gear bag~ you can roll along on location and strap your light stand to it

0 upvotes
Aleo Veuliah
By Aleo Veuliah (10 months ago)

Tamrac always do very good products, I have one but smaller and the build quality and features are great, very easy and secure to use.

1 upvote
erichK
By erichK (10 months ago)

International carry-on weight limit: 10KG or 22 pounds.

Weight of this bag: 12 pounds.

Enough said: increasingly, airlines do weigh carry-ons.

7 upvotes
paulbysea
By paulbysea (10 months ago)

Totally agree, the reviewer really needs to think things through before writing. Probably a great case for use when you are not flying but useless for international traveller.

1 upvote
Jim Scarff
By Jim Scarff (10 months ago)

I concur. That is why I never take my wheeled heavy photobag anymore. Instead, I carry the Gura Gear Kiboko bag (4 pounds) that lets me actually put camera gear, and not just an empty bag in the overhead.

0 upvotes
Infrabasse
By Infrabasse (10 months ago)

My TT International v2 full with laptop tops at 17kg and I managed to fly ryanair having had the bag weigthed.
I wore one of my cameras and loaded my jacket pockets with lenses when came time to weight the bag. It was virtually empty with just the laptop, a body and a couple lenses in there.
Once through weighing, load the bag again :)

0 upvotes
Alternative Energy Photography

"I wore one of my cameras and loaded my jacket pockets with lenses when came time to weight the bag."

That sounds like far too much trouble. All it takes is one or two alert airport or airline personnel to see through you, and your stuff goes in the checked luggage.

0 upvotes
Infrabasse
By Infrabasse (10 months ago)

I've never seen anyone be asked to empty his pockets into his bag...
Maybe wearing your camera could be considered an additional bag, but pockets? no way.

Anyway, that solution works for me, I can carry a lot of stuff and not put it in hold luggage.

Comment edited 23 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
erichK
By erichK (10 months ago)

Bags like this drive me crazy because they:
- weigh much of one's carry-on allowance before anything is put in them,
- exceed allowable dimensions
- are so purely designed as bags that they are awkward for dive computers, clothing, books, magazines, etc
- are geared for cameras/lenses much larger than my FT /mFT's stuff
- they scream "expensive photo stuff"
- they are too big/heavy for other than fixed-location shooting.
I'd never use such a bag for my upcoming trip to Argentina and Brazil. In addition to being a thief magnet, it would make it hard to pack the extra changes of clothes, pair of shoes, rain gear and other essential items I've learned to carry on, after numerous occasions when checked luggage arrived days later, because of the great deal of weight and space consumed by its elaborate dividers, partitions, etc.

Such bags are just great for the jet-setting super-pro traveling be secure means from one secure location to another. An increasingly rare breed!

7 upvotes
agentul
By agentul (10 months ago)

just take out all of the dividers and use your clothing items as cushions. i always put my fragile items between 1-2 layers of clothes in my checked luggage.

also, the bag is generic-looking. it only screams "expensive gear" if you attach the tripod to it like in the picture. otherwise it's pretty bland. it would have been another story if it were to have a huge CANON/NIKON/SONY etc logo on it.

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Joe Ogiba
By Joe Ogiba (10 months ago)

It looks like about the same size as my Tenba large rolling Shootout Backpack.
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7400/8725760601_37ae1d4cba_k.jpg
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7364/8725762151_e26e04d0f9_k.jpg

0 upvotes
abi170845
By abi170845 (10 months ago)

The best bag is the Think Tank Ultra Light inside the Pelican Hard Case Carry On, waterproof, shock proof, dragged it across sand, put it on a boat, take the bag out, put it back it when it rains. Too bad Think Tank does not make the ultralight bag anymore.

Comment edited 23 seconds after posting
1 upvote
tommy leong
By tommy leong (10 months ago)

perfect !

0 upvotes
SeeRoy
By SeeRoy (11 months ago)

Whoopee, another bag. They jes keep-a-comin...

2 upvotes
Lucas Jarvis
By Lucas Jarvis (11 months ago)

I have this size bag and it can still squeeze into that overhead compartment tester device they have at the airports even with it's wheels.

BUT BEWARE. With gear being so heavy it NEVER makes the weight requirement. I often carry a body in my personal bag, along with one in my wife's personal bag, just to get it's weight down, only to put it back in the bag after check in.

Oh, and best bag ever BTW and highly recommenced. Have a look at other bags and you will see how their zipper orientation on the internal pockets are sideways and therefore would be prone to items falling out. This bag got it right.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 4 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
RSJohnson
By RSJohnson (10 months ago)

My bag of this size also easily fits in the overhead compartment per se but with the wheels they get caught in the tester; this bag has oversize wheels which would be great unless you are flying. Just sayin be careful, find one and measure it before you fly.

0 upvotes
Alternative Energy Photography

"...I often carry a body in my personal bag, along with one in my wife's personal bag..."

Off topic...this just made me laugh. So your wife is truly your partner in crime, yes? :D

0 upvotes
BJN
By BJN (11 months ago)

Is the tripod strap system secure enough you could partially extend a leg to stabilize the standing load?

1 upvote
RSJohnson
By RSJohnson (11 months ago)

Please check the dimensions of this "airport friendly" bag to make sure they include the oversize wheels as often the dimensions are bag only excluding wheels and feet. In a recent trip SFO to LIH my trusty carryon was rejected at check in because although the bag dimensions were within UA spec, when they forced me to try and jam the bag into the sizing cage the wheels prevented it from going in. At 22" L it will be at the max for many airlines so if wheels are on top....

3 upvotes
Saleen1999
By Saleen1999 (10 months ago)

I work for American Airlines and I can tell you the wheels will be a problem because the bag size of 45 linear dimensions is for the bag. Not including the wheels. Of course, it will depend on the ticket agent or the flight attendant who has the last say so.

6 upvotes
Total comments: 44