Consumer SLR Camera Roundup 2013

Buy on GearShop8 deals

Nikon D3200


24MP APS-C CMOS Sensor | 4fps Continuous Shooting | SD Card Slot


What we like:

  • High-res sensor
  • Built-in distortion correction
  • Compact design

What we don't like:

  • Kit lens could be better
  • Overexposes in bright settings
  • Live view AF not as fast as mirrorless

Sporting the highest resolution of cameras in this range, the Nikon D3200 offers a 24MP sensor at a very low price. With an optical viewfinder, a high-resolution 3-inch LCD screen, and compatibility with AF-S Nikkor lenses, the Nikon D3200 is a great entry-level digital SLR. For about the same amount of money, Nikon offers their Nikon 1 system cameras, including the J3 and V2, which have a smaller sensor and body, and use smaller lenses as well. 

"What stands out about the Nikon D3200 is its extremely high resolution in such a small, simple-to-use SLR design"

The Nikon D3200 comes with an 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 lens that covers a 27-83mm equivalent range, which is good for basic photographic needs. Built-in distortion correction makes up for many of the kit lens' shortcomings, making the overall package a good one. The sensor easily out-resolves the ability of the lens, however, so purchase of a better lens will improve image quality.

In good light, the Nikon D3200 will do very well, and the noise performance is good as ISO rises. The Active D-Lighting function helps create well balanced JPEGs even in high-contrast settings. We noticed a tendency to overexpose in bright, high-contrast situations, often requiring some exposure compensation to correct. 

Its simplified interface will be familiar to any Nikon user, and will be easy to grasp for anyone stepping up from a simple point-and-shoot camera. The more experienced photographer may resent the amount of button-pressing required to change settings, though. Compared to enthusiast-level SLRs, the D3200's viewfinder is on the small side, but it's on par with others in this roundup. If framing your images on the LCD is your thing, though, the D3200's slower contrast-detect system pales in comparison to comparably priced mirrorless cameras. Its light weight and small size give the Nikon D3200 an advantage over the larger cameras in this roundup, but many mirrorless cameras are smaller and lighter.

What stands out about the Nikon D3200 is its extremely high resolution in such a small, simple-to-use SLR design. It's a great choice as a family camera or a backup camera, as it's easy to pack along.


Studio Test Scene | Specifications Compared


Sample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photo

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by dpreview.com or any affiliated companies.

222
I own it
47
I want it
40
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 104
elouisyoung
By elouisyoung (1 month ago)

too bad the "roundup" didnt actually happen at the end of the year. Then the K3 could have been included and it could have actually gotten the recognition it deserved as top dslr of 2013.

0 upvotes
select
By select (2 months ago)

I changed my Nikon D5100 with this new D5300, I did such a good choice!

- better ISO
- better image quality
- 8mpx more
- wifi
- gps
- better videos with 60p

this is a great camera... but is not advertised as it should be by Nikon

0 upvotes
gmrwhite
By gmrwhite (3 months ago)

Hi, are there any news on when a full review of this beautiful camera will be online? it should be on the firsts days of 2014, right?
thanks for your work

0 upvotes
Judy77
By Judy77 (3 months ago)

Hello,

I'd like some advice from the pros out there. I own a Nikon D5000 but would love to upgrade to the D5300. I am told that I won't get hardly any money ($100) if I trade my D5000 in to try to get the D5300 unless I sell it on E-Bay or Amazon, which I'd rather not do because there is so much competition to sell your DSLR online.

So my questions are:

1. Should I try to sell my D5000 via E-Bay or Amazon or just keep it?

2. Do you think it's worth upgrading to the D5300? Thank you!

0 upvotes
select
By select (3 months ago)

yes, it's worth...

I was a D5100 + 18-105mm kit lens owner, I've sold it on ebay at a really good price and bought the D5300 + 18-140mm lens at good price too, online of course but not on ebay...

To me, it was a really good choice, I have more megapixels which are useful in some situations, slightly better ISO, no low-pass filter who produce sharper images and I can easily see the difference compared to the D5100, built in Wifi which is very useful to me and last but not least I've a little more zoom (140mm vs 105mm).
I got all these improvements maintaining a small size dslr camera.
The only think I miss is a touch sensitive screen.

At the end I changed my camera and lens beacause I've been lucky and got a good deal... if you have the opportunity do that, you won't regret it...

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 4 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Don Schroeter
By Don Schroeter (3 months ago)

Ok I see how it works, thank you Andy.

0 upvotes
Don Schroeter
By Don Schroeter (3 months ago)

Please help, this new method of reviews sucks, every time I hit the review tab for the camera I want read about, it jumps back to the roundup page, quite frustrating.

2 upvotes
Andy Westlake
By Andy Westlake (3 months ago)

The 'Read Review' button links to the most-detailed content we have for each camera. For several, such as the Canon EOS 100D, it's a full review, but for some of the most-recent cameras which we haven't fully reviewed yet, it's this article.

1 upvote
Steve in GA
By Steve in GA (4 months ago)

Nikon may have changed these ratings/recommendations with their recent pricing reductions.

The D7100 was offered at $800 (body only) by Amazon and some other retailers on Cyber Monday. That is $300 below recent USA street prices for the D7100. And yes, I bought one. ;-)

Since that D7100 price is the same as the body-only D5300, the D7100 is now in the consumer SLR game, price-wise.

1 upvote
PicZeni
By PicZeni (4 months ago)

The Nikon D3200 is an exceptional camera. It has good sensor and also is a quick snapper. I use it personally for some of my quick projects and I tell you, it really is effective. Would you like to see some of the photos taken with the camera? Here is the link- www.piczeni.com

0 upvotes
zigi_S
By zigi_S (4 months ago)

The slt-a58 is recomended for high iso? All slt cameras are inferior in this compartment for losing a third of light. No matter how good the sensor behind is, it has to work with less light.

1 upvote
Geren W Mortensen Jr
By Geren W Mortensen Jr (4 months ago)

Have you actually /used/ an SLT? I do, and the reality is that they do quite well at higher ISOs.

3 upvotes
NorthLight
By NorthLight (4 months ago)

I needed a small, durable camera for an off-road motorcycle tour of Iceland's interior this past August. The Canon SL1 with the 18-135 STM lens seemed like a good choice. It survived my crashes, one north Atlantic gale (getting wet didn't bother it), vibration and off-road rigors just fine. The files were better than I anticipated and were used for a book production. I found that I adapted easily to the smaller format and could use the body with my 24 f/1.4 and 50 f/1.2 for street shooting without any difficulty. The SL1 & 18-135 combination caught all of the fast action of the other riders in the group without a single out of focus shot. File IQ was certainly aided by using really good glass.

0 upvotes
technicallyTony
By technicallyTony (5 months ago)

I would give points to cameras using buttons and deduct points for a touch screen. How can you adjust from shot to shot if you need to take your eye off the viewfinder? According to the DP review, the low end Nikon produces better RAW images, works better in low light, and has a better build than the Canon, however the Canon with the clunky touch screen handles better.
If playing with a touch screen is what you want in photography, use a phone. If spending some extra $$, I'd probably take the D5300, if saving, I'd take the SLT-A58. Yes the A58's EVF is worse in bright light but far better in dim light. Also for beginners, the EVF gives you "what you see is what you get", you know your exposure is close when looking at the scene in the viewfinder, some a graph in the corner of the viewfinder.

0 upvotes
DPReview Staff
By DPReview Staff (4 months ago)

You can do plenty with buttons on the Canon. That's one of the good parts of the Canon touchscreen design. It's available, but not required. They removed no buttons when they added the touchscreen, as others have done. So it's either or both. Where it comes in handy is when you're accessing the things that no camera has a button for. White Balance, for example, is available via a button press, but you're going to want to look at the screen to select the setting you want. You can use the arrows if you like, pressing the button up to six times, or just tap the desired icon on the screen, taking the move from several button presses down to one tap on the screen. I'm no fan of touchscreens either, but this design changed my mind.

3 upvotes
leno
By leno (4 months ago)

With my nose I could make the adjustments without moving my eye.

5 upvotes
guido1953
By guido1953 (5 months ago)

Before anyone buys Pentax, please do a google search for "Pentax SDM motor
problems". Know what you are getting into before you spend your hard earned
money.

1 upvote
Rutterbutter
By Rutterbutter (4 months ago)

How many lenses are SDM guido1953 ? LOL
3 million compatible lenses and the few SDM focus motors that cost you some money are making you troll the brand. Typical.

1 upvote
waxwaine
By waxwaine (4 months ago)

And google Sony glass quaklity and technical service, and google Nikons electronic fealures, and google Canon light leaks...

3 upvotes
kodachromeguy
By kodachromeguy (5 months ago)

As usual, I think the Pentax K50 is the most interesting one of the group. Often it takes the smaller and more innovative company to make the clever product. It's a pity Pentax is marketed so poorly in the USA.

14 upvotes
Fuji lover
By Fuji lover (2 months ago)

I may be new to the photograph scene but I would buy three Pentax k-50 ive held it and shot with it I love it right now I have a fujifilm hs 50 exr good camera

0 upvotes
miketala
By miketala (5 months ago)

DPR's categories are outdated thus far less useful than they could be.

Mirrorless compete directly with DSLR's and have the same image quality (or near enough so for m43). The biggest difference is the viewfinder and body size.

Say I've got $700 to blow on a camera for my kid who's getting into photography & video. What do I get? DSLR? Mirrorless?

Throw out the mirrorless/dslr/dslt distinction. Use the umbrella description "System Cameras" and then break them down by average price points or desired use: Entry / Intermediate / Prosumer / Pro / Video.

It makes so much more sense, and is far more useful.

Comment edited 17 seconds after posting
4 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (5 months ago)

There was some debate in the office, with price as the deciding factor or putting all interchangeable lens cameras together.

However, different pricing in different countries (and the constantly changing nature of price), makes that difficult.

Equally, it was argued that a significant number of people might be looking specifically for a DSLR and wouldn't consider a mirrorless camera to be a direct alternative. Equally, anyone looking at a mirrorless camera because of its portability won't consider a DSLR, so we kept the separate on this occasion.

In future, we hope to have a way of presenting both/all methods, but for now, we had to make a decision.

7 upvotes
Doug Aiien
By Doug Aiien (1 day ago)

Another category that is neglected by almost all reviews is auto tracking of moving objects, sports or birds in flight. I am most interested in the latter, but seldom see any indication that actual testing was performed, only guessed at. I realize that both camera auto focus speed and telephoto speed plus operator skill all contribute to this kind of evaluation. I wish I had a lot more to go on than the "probably" and "should" guesstimates I read in the reviews.

0 upvotes
PrakticaB
By PrakticaB (5 months ago)

K-50: 16 megapixels (MP) sensor is much better than 24MP. 16MP will already allows HUGE prints. However, in order to have an IQ good enough you need expensive lens not the kit
Second: less MP means less noise at high ISO: good pictures at ISO 6400 or above - very important for low light situation. The best example is taking pictures of children indoor - 6400 means sharp pictures with low noise.
Also consider that the new Nikon Df - has also a 16MP sensor not 24MP.Why?
Third: smaller jpeg/raw files. If you compare 16MP with 24MP, you will see you need double the space on the card for the same number of files! You need roughly a twice bigger card for same number of files
Video - K-50 is not better, but the difference is not so big! If you make video with a DSLR you have to use a tripod since is difficult to hold it steady. If the screen is fixed or can be tilted makes suddenly little difference. Also, don't forget a DSLR is for taking pictures. Again, Nikon Df - no video only pictures

1 upvote
PrakticaB
By PrakticaB (5 months ago)

Why Pentax K-50 is the best choice for beginner.
1 Weather resistant - you won't be afraid to take you camera if it's raining or near big waves; a splash is not a catastrophe. A huge reduction in stress/worries, and really enjoy taking pics
2 Excellent kit lens - better than competition
3 Shake reduction in body - (approximately the same as Vibration Reduction or Image Stabilisation) - this is a great advantage, since you can use cheaper lens to get great results. To get similar advantage in low light you have to pay a lot for VR or IS lenses. To understand better, a lens which is 5.6 at 300 mm with SR will perform as a 300/2.8 lens without stabilisation
On short, less money spend to extend your lens collection - not to mention you can use 40-vers old lenses with focus support
4 Best viewer:100% coverage and 0,92% magnification - this is crucial, since here you see the picture before it is taken. This is expensive - you will have to pay A LOT more to get something better than K-50's

9 upvotes
papillon_65
By papillon_65 (5 months ago)

The Pentax kit lens is the worst kit lens I've ever tried, and I tried 3 of them, all of them were soft. Canon kit lenses are mile better these days, especially the STM version.

1 upvote
Drobs99
By Drobs99 (2 months ago)

I completely agree. In fact you outlined the exact reasons why I purchased the Pentax K-50. In addition you can take HDR photos, which is uncommon in this group. Do your research and decide what is important to you. Don't be afraid to look outside the norm.

0 upvotes
Dan Forest
By Dan Forest (5 months ago)

I was thinking of getting my 13-yr old daugter a decent camera for Christmas, as she likes to take photos, and doens't like the limited nature of our Lumix DMC-FZ200. Given that she is quite small (4'8') would anyone recommend the smaller EOS 100D over the Pentax K-50 (which seems to get better comments here)? Thanks.

Dan

0 upvotes
Katier
By Katier (5 months ago)

For a 13 yr old, the 100D will be easier to handle due to the small size, and by the time she upgrades other cameras will be around.

That said the K50 isn't a big camera and is a LOT more capable, so much better value for money. Of the two I wouldn't touch the 100D with a bargepole.. but given who is using it I'd probably go for the 100D or the K500.

2 upvotes
tkbslc
By tkbslc (5 months ago)

I'd find her something with a big sensor a cheap and fast normal-ish prime. Nikon D3200 with a 35mm f1.8, EOS M + 22mm, etc. K50 with the 35mm f2.4 if that looks good.

DSLR with kit lens doesn't offer much more creativity than a higher end compact, which you have.

0 upvotes
davids8560
By davids8560 (5 months ago)

Could somebody like Ansel Adams churn out better photos with something like a SL1 or K-50, or even a XZ-2, than a complete and total novice with a D610?

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 4 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
onlooker
By onlooker (5 months ago)

Yes, absolutely.

3 upvotes
tkbslc
By tkbslc (5 months ago)

Probably not. He's dead.

1 upvote
onlooker
By onlooker (5 months ago)

> He is dead

"somebody like". I am pretty sure that referred to his talent and photographic abilities, not to his cellular condition.

4 upvotes
Rutterbutter
By Rutterbutter (4 months ago)

Skill will always trump equipment

0 upvotes
tkbslc
By tkbslc (5 months ago)

Once again I leave a comment thread feeling like Pentax fans are a rather sensitive bunch.

5 upvotes
peevee1
By peevee1 (5 months ago)

SL1 is actually a very poor choice of DSLR. Yes, it is body is smaller than other entry-level DSLRs, but not ANYWHERE small enough to hold it like a compact (the base on the right side of body is too thick to cradle it in the base of your palm), and at the same time the grip is too small to hold it like a DSLR (gripping it). And the lenses are not any smaller - it is not like it suddenly turns into a m43 camera because they made the grip a little smaller. And you pay (compared to to say T5i) for the slightly smaller size in much smaller battery giving much shorter battery life, and you lose articulated screen.
Also, as usual with Canon, its sensor trails all other big sensors in image quality (both dynamic range in good light and noise in low light), even smaller m43 sensors.
If you want truly small and light system (not just body), look at m43 cameras and lenses, and if you want a camera for EF lenses, look for body which can handle them well (at least 70D or 6D).

0 upvotes
papillon_65
By papillon_65 (5 months ago)

Actually the SL1 is a very nice little camera, it has all the advantages of small DSLR while retaining excellent mirrorless capability in liveview mode. The ovf is really very nice for such a small camera and the touchscreen is excellent, it really speeds up operation at times. I had an Olympus EM5 and though it was nice in many ways I prefer the Canon. The image quality is nothing to be worried about, very capable. I've also found the battery life to be far superior than the Olympus. Using smaller EF-S lenses and primes it's big enough to give a decent grip but not so big so I wouldn't want to carry it. Using lenses like the excellent 55-250mm and 18-55mm STM (which is also better than any m4/3's kit lens IMHO) it makes a very nice travel rig. Either way I would carry the EM5 in a bag so size is not an issue. It's a very well designed little camera only under-estimated by those that haven't used it. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting a camera of this type.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
1 upvote
peevee1
By peevee1 (5 months ago)

It does not have good, let alone "excellent", abilities in live view. It still focuses painfully slow compared to m43s. And it does not have their other abilities like focusing aids and under/over exposure blinkies etc.

0 upvotes
ChrisKramer1
By ChrisKramer1 (5 months ago)

I used to have a GF1 and liked it a lot. However, I would not recommend this system to anyone. The image quality and dynamic range was very limited - I was forever getting images with totally blacked out shadows and blown highlights - even in overcast conditions! In fact, I found my Canon G9 provided better dynamic range in good light. The lenses are very expensive and some are of poor build quality. Personally, I would recommend the Sony NEX series with the new Sony 35mm.

I quite liked the SL1 with a 40mm pancake. But you are right, the body is too small for typical DSLR-sized lenses. I think even the canon 35mm f2 or the 28mm f2.8 would be too big for it.

0 upvotes
papillon_65
By papillon_65 (5 months ago)

It's absolutely fine in liveview and if you can't get the exposure and focusing right you should probably stick to a cheap point and shoot.

0 upvotes
drummercam
By drummercam (5 months ago)

I am guessing that Pentax K-30 was not on this list because, yes, it is identical to K-50 except for the outward form and a couple of minor updates in the K-5, but also because DPR lists only currently produced models (I assume).

That said, the K-50 and K-500 should switch positions on this list.

BUT, if price point is a factor (after all, we're talking about "Consumer" models), Pentax K-5, K-5II, and K-5IIs should be 1, 2, 3 -- even if they are no longer being made. Hands down, there is no better, more capable "consumer value" camera in the DSLR camera market at the moment than a Pentax K-5.

9 upvotes
audiobomber
By audiobomber (5 months ago)

The K-30 and K-5 are discontinued, but the K-5 II and K-5 IIs are current. There has been discussion about whether they will be discontinued or remain in the line. I haven't heard anything definitive from Ricoh.

The D5300 excels at specsmanship, which is an easier sell. The K-50 design is more photo-centric. I can see an argument for either, but I would still buy Pentax for its dual wheels, superior OVF and weather-resistance. Where I live, I NEED a rugged WR body and lenses.

4 upvotes
DPReview Staff
By DPReview Staff (5 months ago)

This was a roundup of 2013 models, hence the absence of the cameras you mention. The K-500 has no AF points in the viewfinder, so it is not something we'd recommend to most users, as even the cheapest point and shoot camera will tell you where it's focused.

2 upvotes
Katier
By Katier (5 months ago)

You don't make it clear it's a '2013 released model roundup' - the way it's worded it's definitely a '2013 available roundup.

That said it's still a really strange selection. Yes the lack of focus point is a SLIGHT weakness, but I bet the most common focus mode is center point - so hardly a big issue. I never shoot in any other focus mode (well except manual focus which is another strength of the Pentaxes- dead easy focus screen swaps)

0 upvotes
qwertyasdf
By qwertyasdf (5 months ago)

If I were to recommend a Canon entry DSLR to a friend, without a doubt, it will be the 550D.

0 upvotes
edu T
By edu T (5 months ago)

I might even agree, except for a minor issue: the 550D/rebel T2i b is thrice removed from this Christmas twenty thirteen season.

1 upvote
tkbslc
By tkbslc (5 months ago)

Given the price plunge of all SLR models. I'd not go lower than the T4i/650D. The newer all cross type AF system is well worth the few extra bucks.

0 upvotes
edu T
By edu T (5 months ago)

Good point, tkbslc: more than just seasonally planned obsolescence or gift freshness, there HAVE been effective improvements.

0 upvotes
ThePhilips
By ThePhilips (5 months ago)

If you like s/h Canons, than 50D is much better choice.

0 upvotes
ChrisKramer1
By ChrisKramer1 (5 months ago)

I recently purchased the Canon 600d with kit lens for 399 Euros. The image quality is not a patch on my Sony NEX5n but the Canon offers far better handling and some very nice prime lenses (at reasonable prices). Now I enjoy going out and taking photos again.

0 upvotes
D1N0
By D1N0 (5 months ago)

The K-30 (identical to the k-50, except for it's looks) is at an even better price point.

8 upvotes
Antimateria
By Antimateria (5 months ago)

A58 IS a DSLR and is the best entry level.
Photo, the best video af, no limits in live view and tilting lcd.
In raw quality is excellent on hig iso too, in jpeg too for the target.
Kit is good and you can use 16-80 Zeiss, the best aps-c kit.
Nikon d3100?
What awful piece of s........

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
BlueBomberTurbo
By BlueBomberTurbo (5 months ago)

The A58 is a (D)SLT. Similar in the way the final image is acquired, but the mechanics of it are a bit different. A DSLR has a semi-translucent mirror that splits the image from the lens mostly up to the viewfinder, and partially to the AF sensor. When a photo is taken, that mirror moves out of the way so the sensor can record the image.

An SLT has a fixed mirror that's translucent enough for the sensor to record the image, with the rest of the light going to the AF sensor. Saves on moving parts, but reduces light to the sensor, with a slight hit on image quality. It also requires an electronic viewfinder, since the mirror isn't reflective enough to light up a standard optical viewfinder.

1 upvote
Ciskje
By Ciskje (5 months ago)

But remember thanks to fixed mirror, AF Sensor are enabled ALSO during live view/movie mode, others use very slow contrast detect to maintain focus.

Comment edited 58 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
onlooker
By onlooker (5 months ago)

"The A58 is a (D)SLT. Similar in the way the final image is acquired, but the mechanics of it are a bit different"

Oh, give it a rest. Digital Single Lens Reflex. DSLT ∈ DSLR.

3 upvotes
NowHearThis
By NowHearThis (5 months ago)

The A65, IMO is the best value right now. $600 with kit lens or only $800 with the 18-135 (about $200 cheaper than the SL1 or T5i with a similar lens. And about $300 cheaper than the Nikon D5300 with the 18-140.

HDR, GPS, 10fps, extremely fast AF (photos and video), excellent ergonomics, wireless flash commander, IBIS (any lens is stabilized), sweep panorama, OLED EVF, etc.

I really like mine. I've used it for everything from general snapshots to low-light concert video, to Bridal engagement/wedding photos and videos. It's extremely versatile and quite a bargain right now.

1 upvote
AtlantaGator
By AtlantaGator (5 months ago)

Yeah the A65 is a excellent deal right now. Only problem with it (and the A58) is the future of the A-Mount is questionable. Sony's investment is in the E-Mount.

0 upvotes
ChrisKramer1
By ChrisKramer1 (5 months ago)

But not everyone will like the electronic viewfinder. That's the reason I sold my otherwise excellent A57. And that transluscent mirror is terribly fragile. In fact, it's not a mirror at all, just a bit of polythene. Take GREAT care when you clean it

0 upvotes
NCB
By NCB (5 months ago)

The SLT-A58 isn't a DSLR and shouldn't be on the list. My choice would be the Nikon D3100, not on your list but still available at a truly bargain price. Great image quality and handles like a dream. The kit lens is quite good, better than you imply, and alternatives like the cracking 16-85 are reasonably priced.

1 upvote
Ciskje
By Ciskje (5 months ago)

Nikon 3100 have a rolling shutter problem, look at panning here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0pOJ1eikUeQ

And also a Jello effect here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X0sSE2OdCeU

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Revenant
By Revenant (5 months ago)

An SLT is more a DSLR than it is a mirrorless camera. It has a separate autofocus sensor.
Also, they are marketed towards the same people who would consider buying a DSLR.

2 upvotes
DPReview Staff
By DPReview Staff (5 months ago)

It's quite true that the A58 isn't a DSLR, but it is designed to compete directly with them, so we included it. Since no other company produces SLT cameras, it would make for a very short roundup whose winner would also be the only contender.

3 upvotes
NCB
By NCB (5 months ago)

Video isn't why people buy DSLRs; there are better ways of doing it. The SLTs are no good for people who want optical viewfinders, the vast majority of those who do buy DSLRs.

0 upvotes
Ciskje
By Ciskje (5 months ago)

Video IS why people buy CONSUMER DSLR. Nobody consumer require OVF.

0 upvotes
rsf3127
By rsf3127 (5 months ago)

K50 is the best camera among the contenders of the list by a good margin.
If video is a must have, I would go for the a58 instead.

3 upvotes
completelyrandomstuff
By completelyrandomstuff (5 months ago)

One more note about the third party lens choices for Nikon vs Pentax. You must specifically mean the Tokina 11-16, because everything else is available and cheaper:

One example: Tamron 17-50, $309
http://www.amazon.com/Tamron-17-50mm-Aspherical-PENTAX-Digital/dp/B0013DFZNK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1385553575&sr=8-1&keywords=Tamron+17-50mm+pentax

Tamron 17-50 for Nikon $499.00:
http://www.amazon.com/Tamron-17-50mm-Di-II-Aspherical-Digital/dp/B00156OZ68/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1385553565&sr=8-1&keywords=Tamron+17-50mm+nikon

This happens all the time, presumably because all nikon lenses need internal motor.

7 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (5 months ago)

living with Pentax is kinda like with an elegant woman who cooks badly. then just let "third-party maids" do the job.

0 upvotes
completelyrandomstuff
By completelyrandomstuff (5 months ago)

I think their lenses are ok. They do have a bit of a problem with rectilinear wide angle zooms though, there is only one and it's awfully overpriced.

Comment edited 18 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
completelyrandomstuff
By completelyrandomstuff (5 months ago)

I have to agree with everyone else. The K-50 is an outstanding bargain, can be bought for $500 with a lens if you look hard enough. It has a lot better IQ than the canon, very good consumer grade lenses that are pretty cheap, is weather resistant (18-55 WR, 55-300), screw-drive AF (cheaper third party lenses), has a lot better viewfinder (!) and a proper mirror lockup (!)... Not to mention the image stabilization in body. These are the things that are very important and which beginners wouldn't know to look for.

Given it is some $250 cheaper than D5300 at the moment, you could get yourself a very nice 35mm of 50mm prime for free, or upgrade to a kit with two zooms. Ricoh/Pentax really hit a jackpot with this series of consumer dslrs and I think DPreview should note that, just like most of their readers did.

16 upvotes
DPReview Staff
By DPReview Staff (5 months ago)

If you read the conclusion, we also recommend the K-50.

0 upvotes
completelyrandomstuff
By completelyrandomstuff (5 months ago)

I have. There is indeed a tiny footnote as compared to a big title and a picture of a NIkon D5300. It's hardly equivalent. If it was, do you think there would be so many people disappointed with your conclusion? The disappointment is a clear indication that something is not right in presentation, by definition. What most of us believe is that this is paid advertising.

4 upvotes
Antony John
By Antony John (5 months ago)

The K-50 is mentioned at the bottom, just between mono sodium glutamate and methyl parabens.

3 upvotes
xrokx
By xrokx (5 months ago)

I also believe that pentax has a better offering in this class of DSLRs.

2 upvotes
D1N0
By D1N0 (5 months ago)

Curious Flip flop compared to the beginners camera recommendations where the K-500 trumps the 100D rebel/kiss something. Nikon should really put screwdrive and an Pentaprism in the D5xxx series, then it would be a killer. AF-drive motor sound in the Pentax depends on the lens you use. It also takes lenses with built in AF motor.

4 upvotes
xrokx
By xrokx (5 months ago)

Then it would be a d7100 killer.

1 upvote
D1N0
By D1N0 (5 months ago)

Now the K-3 is... so go to war Nikon. There is competition.

2 upvotes
xrokx
By xrokx (5 months ago)

I agree.

0 upvotes
completelyrandomstuff
By completelyrandomstuff (5 months ago)

I agree, for me it was lack of the screw drive and lack of the mirror lockup that were the biggest problems. Then it was a very thin grip and the relatively poor viewfinder.

0 upvotes
Katier
By Katier (5 months ago)

"The Pentax can't match the Nikon for lens choice (particularly when it comes to the more affordable, third-party options), but it's an awful lot of camera for the money and one that may well be more satisfying to shoot with, if you've owned a DSLR before." You what?

There is over 40 years worth of lenses to choose from, and a fantastic range of lenses to choose from. The only area Pentax lacks a bit is for f2.8 professional long zooms - hardly the types of lenses that a consumer SLR user would be looking at.

I'm frankly staggered that the K50 wasn't the recomended Camera, it out-features the 5300 in so many areas.

Not only that but the 5300 competes with the K5 II for price, therefore either the K5 II should be in the round-up OR the 5300 not be there.

Not only that but the K50 is only £50 more (comparing Kit's) than the Canon 100..

Very poor round-up, very poor.

22 upvotes
massimogori
By massimogori (5 months ago)

Totally agree, Katier. In addition to what you wrote, the typical buyer of these cameras will hardly buy any other lens in addition to the kit one. Yes, maybe a plastic tele-zoom.

Accordingly, stating that an arguably better camera (as argued by DPREVIEW!) in the entry DSLR level falls short of a the Canon or Nikon counterparts because of poor lens selection is exactly like stating that a serious company like Pentax will never win because it is not a Nikon nor a Canon!

Poor Phil Askey!

16 upvotes
rsenk19
By rsenk19 (5 months ago)

Biased round-up and psalm of Canon and Nikon brands.
Why not Pentax K-30 or K-50? Both are the real consumer DSLRs.

7 upvotes
DPReview Staff
By DPReview Staff (5 months ago)

The roundup is of models announced this year. Yes, there are many other bargains to be had in older models. Welcome to them. We recommended the K-50 also. Read the conclusion.

3 upvotes
xrokx
By xrokx (5 months ago)

You recommend it as perhaps, maybe, possible alternative "that may well be more satisfying to shoot with, if you've owned a DSLR before"... also you use superlatives for both 100d and d5300 and on the other hand allmost only negative points of limitations of the K-50.

2 upvotes
LeVerm
By LeVerm (5 months ago)

Oh!… Ca-n-ikon… as usually… Why not Pentax K 50?
I can't see any real "plus" of these two cameras over the K 50…
Well, Iill still keep my hopes!

Comment edited 30 seconds after posting
10 upvotes
Ingloryon
By Ingloryon (5 months ago)

have you considered using glasses?

3 upvotes
DPReview Staff
By DPReview Staff (5 months ago)

Consider that I've been shooting with both the Pentax and Nikon, and preferred the Nikon experience overall. And also note that we recommended the K-50 as well in the conclusion.

3 upvotes
FrancescoC
By FrancescoC (5 months ago)

Ridicolous, you advice all the DSRL cameras in this category! For a true advice you must be more selective. This article is useless and is only marketing for the brands.

4 upvotes
Ingloryon
By Ingloryon (5 months ago)

have you read the page 9? have you?

1 upvote
DPReview Staff
By DPReview Staff (5 months ago)

We were selective on the conclusion page. We picked the Canon SL1, Nikon D5300, and Pentax K-50. Having them in the roundup is not necessarily a recommendation, but to make that clear we put in that conclusion page, which we called, "Which consumer SLR should I buy?" If you can suggest a more clear title, we will consider it next time.

1 upvote
JohnEwing
By JohnEwing (5 months ago)

Suggest another category: "Best cameras to buy second hand". Might put manufacturers' noses out of joint.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
4 upvotes
DPReview Staff
By DPReview Staff (5 months ago)

I think it's a great idea. Knowing them as well as I do, I very often buy older models, which are no less good today than when I reviewed them originally, to save money.

3 upvotes
davids8560
By davids8560 (5 months ago)

There is some legislation in DC right now that calls for prohibiting cameras more than three years old from National Parks and sports venues. And Times Square, I believe. Penalty calls for a fine, or 30 days' jail, or both.

0 upvotes
white shadow
By white shadow (5 months ago)

Recycling is a great idea and good for the enviroment. In our materialistic world, there is just too much wastage.

Having the latest camera does not make one a better photographer. It is best to spend the time and money to learn the essential skills first. After that, one can take good photos with any camera even a P&S.

2 upvotes
white shadow
By white shadow (5 months ago)

@ davids8560

Are you joking? What is the logic of such a legislation?

0 upvotes
kodachromeguy
By kodachromeguy (5 months ago)

@whiteshadow: not only is he not joking, but the legislation goes on to state that a person caught with an older DSLR will have to attend a photography training class. There, the students have to use film, and develop it themselves with their own hands. Also, they will have to learn sensitometry, exposure basics, and will be forced to set their own shutter speed and f-stop. It is akin to the pending legislation to make motor vehicle offenders take a class to drive manual transmission.

1 upvote
Treeshade
By Treeshade (5 months ago)

In before "where is D7100/70D?" questions: they are in the "Enthusiast interchangeable lens camera roundup".

http://www.dpreview.com/articles/4227562267/enthusiast-interchangeable-lens-camera-2013-roundup

1 upvote
Sordid
By Sordid (5 months ago)

These "in before" postings suck monkey testicles.

1 upvote
Zerixos
By Zerixos (5 months ago)

Don’t rush of and order your Canon 100D yet!
I think the Canon 100D is a camera you should hold first, and if you have the possibility take it on a test run. My fingers stretched along the body almost covering the flash shoe, making it uncomfortable to use the shutter button. That being said, some female friends thought this was one of the greatest DSLR’s to hold. This is a camera to test first, because its not similar to any other previous models from Canon.

2 upvotes
Ciskje
By Ciskje (5 months ago)

In this target, movie capability are important, only 100d and A58 have acceptable performance.

0 upvotes
JefffromMaRS
By JefffromMaRS (5 months ago)

I own a D5200, D7000 and a D610 and I use them all for making professional video. The D5200 has some of the best hi-iso video performance I've ever seen and the footage grades exceptionally well in post and there is basically no moire. I can't imagine the 5300 being anything but better for video - with the possible exception of slightly more moire from the lack of an AA filter. So, maybe from a consumer viewpoint the video may lack some features, but from a technical viewpoint, the 5200 (and by extrapolation, the 5300) is an excellent video shooter that has made me lots of money ; )

0 upvotes
Ingloryon
By Ingloryon (5 months ago)

acceptable performance due to autofocus? serious video shooter never uses af, so...

in image quality department, d5300 is the best for video, by far.

0 upvotes
steveTQP
By steveTQP (2 months ago)

I second that about the D5300 being great for video, also for stills, when paired with the superb sharp 16-85 Nikkor Zoom!

0 upvotes
Total comments: 104