First Impressions: Using the Fujifilm X-Pro1

Buy on GearShop$1,199.006 deals

Summary

You needn't have read this piece from start to finish to see that I'm very impressed with the X-Pro1. From what I've seen so far it looks like Fujifilm has avoided re-introducing any of the more egregious oddities of the X100. And while we've yet to subject it to our rigorous testing methodology, we've not found flaws of the type that plague the X10. On balance I think it's safe to say that the X-Pro1 is a camera that gets much more right than it does wrong.

Operation and handling in the field are simply superb. This is a camera that gets out of your way and lets you devote your attention to making pictures. My chief complaints at this stage really revolve around the need for an improved MF implementation and better AF speed with the heavier 60mm f/2.4 lens. Whether either issue can be improved via a firmware upgrade remains to be seen. 

The X-Pro1 delivers outstanding images with a JPEG processing engine that produces very pleasing color, excellent detail and a highly effective combination of sharpening and noise reduction. And I must admit that with its limited third-party raw conversion support, I don't feel I've yet to see the best of what this camera can produce. All of us in the dpreview office look forward to putting the camera through its paces in our testing studio to dig a little deeper. Our first impressions are very positive though, and I hope this article will reassure and encourage anyone that has been watching the X-series and waiting for Fujifilm to 'get it right'. 

Samples Gallery

There are 30 images in this review samples gallery. Please do not reproduce any of these images on a website or any newsletter / magazine without prior permission (see our copyright page). We make the originals available for private users to download to their own machines for personal examination or printing (in conjunction with this review), we do so in good faith, please don't abuse it.

Unless otherwise noted images taken with no particular settings at full resolution. Because our review images are now hosted on the 'galleries' section of dpreview.com, you can enjoy all of the new galleries functionality when browsing these samples.

Fujifilm X-Pro1 Preview Samples - posted April 2nd 2012

Recommended Links

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by dpreview.com or any affiliated companies.

502
I own it
212
I want it
62
I had it
Discuss in the forums
Our favorite products. Free 2 day shipping.
Support this site, buy from dpreview GearShop.
Fujifilm X-Pro1

Comments

Total comments: 228
123
HubertChen
By HubertChen (11 months ago)

Great Article! I hope more more of the same are coming!

I found this Article only by accident when browsing Articles on dpReview. I wish this Article can be linked in prominent place to the X-Pro1 Review. To me the information in this Article are more important for buying considerations than the Review itself.

A very small quibble on the discussion of Corner Sharpness:
When comparing the corner sharpness of the city rooftop shot comparison of f/4 and f/11, I would venture that a significant portion of the shown corner softness @ f/4 is not necessarily simply corner sharpness, but may very well be regular loss of sharpness due to depth of field.

It appears the corner roof top is placed at 1/3 : 2/3 distance to the center roof top and thus most likely out of depth of field when focused on the center position.

In short, I believe this example is not indicative of loss of corner sharpness due to lens aberrations.

0 upvotes
Gunston Gun
By Gunston Gun (Mar 3, 2013)

Loving it

0 upvotes
Abbas Rafey
By Abbas Rafey (Nov 17, 2012)

I would like to see side by side comparison

0 upvotes
Midwest
By Midwest (Sep 14, 2012)

It's hard to understand why the diopter has to be manually changed (and at $19 each). I sometimes wear contacts, sometimes wear glasses, and sometimes wear glasses but choose not to use them to look through my camera's viewfinder. I can set the diopter to the way I need it in a couple seconds. I'd need to have maybe three different ones, which of course I'd have to keep track of and have with me.

Why on Earth would Fuji expect you to manually *change* the diopter?! I fail to see why anyone would spend the big bucks for this camera.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Midwest
By Midwest (Sep 14, 2012)

"The physical similarities between the two cameras are quite striking." ??

Both with viewfinder windows, both black, both about the same size, but nobody is going to mistake either for the other. Ah, but how I love that first and foremost indicator of quality, "rangefinder styling".

0 upvotes
Sandy Fleischberg
By Sandy Fleischberg (Jul 11, 2012)

One lazy eyed " U G L Y D U C K L I N G " that is !

1 upvote
RIK38089
By RIK38089 (Jun 28, 2012)

I bought this camera to replace my Canon 5D 11, because I had a back injury and could no longer carry the heavier camera all day and because I had already tried the X10. But I am very disappointed in it.
I find that it is almost impossible to hold it with touching one of the buttons on the back and changing the settings or the view. These buttons are far to sensitive.
The focusing is remarkably slow.
It has no stabilisation which I find remarkable since both the X100 and the X10 do.
The above all make it a very disappointing camera for me, the image quality is very good but I think it should be used on a tripod as it needs very gentle handling and is too slow for anything like street photography.

4 upvotes
GMart
By GMart (Sep 12, 2012)

X100 has no stabilisation.

1 upvote
Tee1up
By Tee1up (Jun 23, 2012)

I am still using my Fuji S2 pro as I love Fuji's color. This will be my next camera but like others, eagerly awaiting a final full review.

0 upvotes
billybones1918
By billybones1918 (Jun 20, 2012)

Yes, the diopter issue is a pain. The window with the supplied diopter removed is 0 correction. If you have perfect eyesight, the supplied diotper (-1) is unhelpful and can be replaced with a 0 correction piece (to protect the window); if you wear glasses, and want to compose with them on, you can do the same thing as the eye relief distance is reasonable. If you wear glasses and take them off to compose, for middle-far distance, you need a diopter corresponding to your prescription for middle-far distance (roughly driving) vision. Example: I'm long-sighted and wear +1 for driving but prefer to compose without glasses, so I replaced the supplied diopter with a +1. By the way, the diopters for Nikon FM3a etc cameras are a perfect fit, but tighten it a bit as they tend to loosen - much better made than the Fuji one, cheap and plentiful on Ebay.

1 upvote
iflash
By iflash (Jun 17, 2012)

Another two months and still no full review. Of course I would only say that because I just will not buy a camera without a full dpreview at hand. I want to buy this camera but no way, no how, without a dpreview. C'mon lads. We need you. Digit extractus!!!

0 upvotes
Casino Nelson
By Casino Nelson (Jun 17, 2012)

Best camera I have ever owned. But definitely not for everyone given its niche market. The images it produces easily surpass my old 5dmkii and at a 1/3 of the size with lens. Its the difference between a sniper and a machine gun. Both serve different purposes. It is just more of a pleasure to shoot with for me.

0 upvotes
Enadril
By Enadril (8 months ago)

I have read almost everything obvious on the net about the Xpro. Your comparison/metaphor rules them all out. By far the most descriptive. /Salute

0 upvotes
ChrishsChan
By ChrishsChan (Jun 17, 2012)

I have my X Pro1 for a week, like it, had issue with the OVF/EVF was solved by Fuji quickly. Photo quality is super, the AF is a bit slow, if you know the habit of the AF, it is OK. Actually, I like to use manual focusing. This camera is not for action photos, best for portraits/scenery. Only issue is the diopter, should have installed the adjustment dial for this costly camera. I need one, have to check with all the camera shops in my city. I dare not to buy it from eBay, don't know what type is right. I need to phyically test one first. At last, bought a +3, no choice, not that good. Did some research later, the diopter with the camera is -1. I need a +2 for my short, long & blur eye sight. Same issue was happened when I bought my Bronica ETR. Even I got the advice from my optometrist, still not work. Diopter recommended by Fuji is from Cosina, is not easy to find. Nikon old FE/FM works. Fuji should have this for free. Also, user manual is not perfect, too simple & miss a lot..

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
billybones1918
By billybones1918 (Jun 6, 2012)

Results with the Voigtlander 12 and 15mm (Metabones adapter) are quite good - Capture One support would be nice sometime before the year 2020!

0 upvotes
ranger18
By ranger18 (Jun 6, 2012)

Tried with both the 18 and 35mm lenses, but had to return...did not get high enough percentage of keepers due to lack of stabilization (IBIS). Lenses are the BEST I have ever owned. But they are so good, that in use with this camera body, they are unforgiving. AF is slower than typical, but not as bad as others say... so if you plan to invest, be confident that you don't need image stabilization built in to either camera or lenses, because this system has neither.

0 upvotes
herebedragons
By herebedragons (Jun 5, 2012)

Nice try Fujifilm, Sony, Pentax, Panasonic, etc. ... these are toys ... upgraded point-n-shoot cameras that are made to appeal to someone that wishes to carry around a smaller, more compact form factor. When I shoot casually, I grab my Nikon D7000 w/ a small prime 50mm f/1.4G, but when I shoot to capture the moment, I grab my Nikon D4 or if I'm shoot landscapes, my Nikon D800. Maybe someday these mirror less cameras will come to mature into something more than a hobbyist's toy but for now, it's just that - a toy!

2 upvotes
JakeB
By JakeB (Jun 10, 2012)

So just to be clear, dragon (!), these cameras are "toys," while real men, like yourself obviously, "grab" their dslrs.

Thanks for sharing.

7 upvotes
JoeDaBassPlayer
By JoeDaBassPlayer (Jun 13, 2012)

The K 01 is a wolf in sheep's clothing. IQ is fantastic but its small size does not call attention to itself That last aspect makes it a fail to the gearhead - large DSLR market.

0 upvotes
RoelHendrickx
By RoelHendrickx (Jun 16, 2012)

hey, herebedragons,
In order to understand your comment better, I tried to find some of the photos you make with your D4, D800 etc.
Surely I was expectiing stuff that one cannot produce with a "toy camera".
Sadly I only found some photos of a cleaner canister and of a dog in your gallery.
Can you point me towards other photos from you online somewhere that will impress me more and convince me that your skills are indeed wasted on "lesser" cameras?
Thanks.
Roel

7 upvotes
marike6
By marike6 (Jun 17, 2012)

Love my D800, but I'd take the Fuji X-Pro1 over a D7000 any day. D7000 is a wonderful camera, but I like many of the images from the Fuji better.

No camera is a toy, but some produce cartoon-like images. This cannot be said about the Fuji which has some of the most beautiful IQ I've ever seen. And the 35 1.4. Oh my.

2 upvotes
iflash
By iflash (Jun 17, 2012)

Hey guys, the dragon is just breathing fire. He is having us all on. He knows that even a pin-hole camera can produce mighty pictures in the hands of a master. Big cohunas do not equal mastery over light. Still, I have a son in law who sublimates his dubious sexuality by espousing his need to be 'manly' - big car, big house, big camera - little willie, small brain.

3 upvotes
milwman
By milwman (Jun 21, 2012)

No Toy, Just not for you just as its not a birders camera.

0 upvotes
belnan
By belnan (Jun 5, 2012)

OK that is one ugly camera, I would like to see a shoot out between this and the Pentax K-01, a bit homely as well. One cost a thousand dollars more and also has slowish autofocus. Stop comparing this to the leica, they made it look like a leica so you would do that, smarten up dpreview. Shootout vs K-01 lets see it. Show us what you get for 1700 bucks!

0 upvotes
JoeDaBassPlayer
By JoeDaBassPlayer (Jun 13, 2012)

That is not going to happen. The K 01 was far too good for its price to begin with so they brought in a flawed review from the outside. They will never compare it to something even more expensive.

BTW - the photos from the K 01 and 40mm prime are beautiful.

0 upvotes
marike6
By marike6 (Jun 19, 2012)

Ugly?

http://www.flickr.com/photos/75083336@N00/7387184386/

Not as beautiful as an M9, but the above image is some pretty serious camera porn.

3 upvotes
Grant David Stovel
By Grant David Stovel (May 28, 2012)

Having used mine for 3 weeks I feel like Fuji is using me and many others like lab rats. There are so many great attributes to the camera but several are just not up to a $2500 purchase [incl taxes] Battery life is the worst I have seen in any camera, the focusing [and no I do not shoot like I had my 5DII in my hands] is finicky, the RAW processing software, as many have said, is just not worth the effort.
Again it seems they launched this camera based on market timing and put it on the market thinking it was good enough. What I think happened is this...a far more sophisticated purchaser bucked up for this new toy to compliment their photographic interests. Thus the expectations are high ....VALUE is where performance exceeds expectations.
For me this Fuji is worth having...but not really giving me value other than fairly good quality shots, great build quality and may I say it...a conversation piece on the street.

1 upvote
mhike
By mhike (May 29, 2012)

Stop early adopting, in that case. You act surprised, but Fuji has a record of this and it's spreading across the industry because of early adopters like yourself.

0 upvotes
Midwest
By Midwest (Sep 14, 2012)

Know how to identify the pioneers? They're the guys with the arrows in their backs.

Comment edited 13 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
FTW
By FTW (May 25, 2012)

the X-Pro has one big disadvantage beside of many others in the way it functions, and that is the price. Way much too expensive, and typical for Fuji. They make good stuff but at over-driven prices. The S5 came on the Market once for 3200 euros for the body alone and when production stopped 2 years later, they sold the left over for 650 euros for the same body. This shows clearly how much Fuji plays with our bells anyway. Despite that, it makes excellent shots. All is a question if your are willed to spend that much money for a body alone while you can get another one for half the price that beats it in picture quality and dimensions. The statement that Pro's like bigger cameras is bullsh.., they often take what they get form their employer, those who work on their own count on reliability, but a reporter with a Nex-7 for example makes the same good shot and gets less tired to carry his tool or is the point "what people say", like so often.

0 upvotes
FTW
By FTW (May 25, 2012)

And, do not start now again the Leica story, please?

0 upvotes
Jackwindinhair
By Jackwindinhair (May 20, 2012)

Nooooo! why BIGGER !?? It doesn't NEED to be bigger. Why not smaller, more compact -like a Canon s-100- but w/ a full-frame sensor? Yeah! A Leica/Canon-killer.
Also, did they fix the horrible lag and auto-focus present in the x-100?

0 upvotes
Nishi Drew
By Nishi Drew (May 23, 2012)

The designation "X-Pro" clearly targets Pros, and pros like big cameras, main reasons being that the extra size and weight provide a body that can be gripped and stabilized better, and for when larger lenses are attached the body would provide better balance. Though so far no large lenses are present.

And Fujifilm have stated that they considered full frame, but we won't see that yet

1 upvote
mhike
By mhike (May 29, 2012)

This is not a "pro" camera. It's just the name designed to entice spec sheet shooters and compact owners with money into buying. A real pro knows what they need to shoot with and it doesn 't come from the name. More than likely, it comes from shelling out for a rental and seeing what peers are using.

0 upvotes
charles6680
By charles6680 (May 5, 2012)

I have the chance to try the OM-D today and it is great in EVF refreshing rate. I panned the camera and found images transient very smoothly and seems even better than the NEX7. HOPE FUJIFILM can upgrade this in new firmware if it is possible. At the moment, I hate while I love the x-pro1.

1 upvote
FTW
By FTW (May 25, 2012)

No test until now has stated it to be better than the Nex-7. I have compared both and worked a week with the OM-D. I still find the NEX shot better, despite that both have the same pixel density. It only Olympus could get away from the stupid 4/3 format. What Sony needs urgent are lenses.

1 upvote
nico-foto
By nico-foto (May 29, 2012)

I can't see how m43 is stupid. In fact, thats what allows them to have small high quality fast lenses. If you want APS-C, check nex...and note the size and weight of high quality fast lenses while you're at it...

m43 hits the sweet spot between portability and IQ imho.

0 upvotes
Rodolfo R
By Rodolfo R (Jun 4, 2012)

In my opinion the size of the sensor is the main thing, 4/3 is a toy sensor and the stupid 4/3 proportion is only a problem if you intent to print your result, all papers comes in 3/2 proportion. That's why I agree with FTW. Is a bit stupid bild a system with such a stupid size/proportion sensor.

0 upvotes
frenchmonkeys
By frenchmonkeys (May 5, 2012)

I love Leicas, but can't afford their digital offerings. If this really is a viable alternative to a digital Leica I'd buy one. Since Fujifilm were the manufacturers of the Hasselblad-badged XPan kit, they're clearly capable of producing quality lenses too. We'll see.

Sigh, sure miss my XPan...

1 upvote
lmtfa
By lmtfa (May 3, 2012)

Not too shabby but the camera and two lenses sets you back 3k +. Then again your buying a camera system. I'd like to hold one.

0 upvotes
gvr
By gvr (May 2, 2012)

Is it possible to set this camera to take a sequence of photos, for example for a time lapse? I looked through the manual pdf and didn't find anything.

It'd be nice if this was doable in the camera software - requiring an external cable/electric release for this when the camera already contains a computer is incredibly greedy by the manufacturers that do (for example Canon.) Aside from the cost and inconvenience factor, it's also very frustrating if you'd happen to forget or leave this piece of equipment at home while packing your camera bag and end up going *doh* in the field.

0 upvotes
frenchmonkeys
By frenchmonkeys (May 5, 2012)

I take the point, but not all computers do the same thing. For instance, you have no problem buying a graphics card with a dedicated graphics computer on board, even though the computer already has a CPU. It would be nice to have this in-camera, but it's not unreasonable for it to be managed by a different chip. I also think modern cameras should include GPS and wi-fi - these should not be separate items, and certainly shouldn't cost as much as they do.

0 upvotes
olddog99
By olddog99 (May 17, 2012)

You tend to look for smart camera remotes for sequence, canon has one about $150 which can probably cook soup if you got time to figure it out, I don't know in this case, ie I used the time lapse once on hat camera. Now two cameras later.

0 upvotes
bchalifour
By bchalifour (May 2, 2012)

It is a very pleasing... and frustrating camera to use.
Image quality and possibilities are great.

Points in dire need of improvement:
1-AF focusing (slow and can simply be erratic, I have had too many bad surprises).
2-M-focusing can be improved too.
3-precision of the frame in the OVF should definitely be improved with the next update of the firmware.
4-we need a 23 mm f 2 or f 1.4, fast... please this is the OBVIOUS lens with a range-finder or alias range-finder!!! I need a wider angle than the 35 mm but not as wide as the 18 mm (with fewer distortion and less loss of sharpness in corners at full aperture).

0 upvotes
Midwest
By Midwest (Sep 14, 2012)

With all those shortcomings, what is the reason for wanting to part with a few thousand dollars for it? Rangefinder styling? Fuji is playing that card time after time and one of these days people will realize that, and a name with 'pro' or 'x' in it, don't justify huge price tags on equipment that is not superior in any way.

0 upvotes
charles6680
By charles6680 (Apr 30, 2012)

I own the xpro1 for three weeks and is totally agreed with dpreview about all the flaws reported in it's First Impressions Article. In which the low resolution, low contrast and low refreshing rate of the EVF are most annoying. Manual focusing is nearly impossible given the provided diopter is correct. However, it is not.

Comment edited 12 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
copajaus
By copajaus (Apr 30, 2012)

I own an X100, AF was not too good at the beginning but got better with new firmwares, I don't think you should worry too much, issues are going to be fixed. I found FUJI to be very pro-active until they get something "right" so it;s just a question of time before they release of fix for those issues.
At the meantime I am pretty sure the picture quality is excellent.
Enjoy it...!!!

0 upvotes
FTW
By FTW (May 25, 2012)

Ohhh, at the price you pay for it, you could await not to be taken for a guinea pig. At least, that is my opinion.

0 upvotes
Dr GP
By Dr GP (Apr 22, 2012)

I have been shooting the x1pro for 3 weeks now.

The camera is a joy to use in principle - i like the way its handling.

There are a few quirks which severely limit its usefulness -- to the point where I would not recommend buying it (I am using the 35mm lense)

1. The Autofocus is really horrible. two issues:
a. Its slow. Slower than x100 w latest firmware. UNUSABLE for anything even slowly moving (eg Kids)
b. Worst - a LOT of AF errors even when camera locked on. Problem worst when OVF is used and aperture is set to anything other than "A". God knows why.

b) makes it a hit and miss game. Interestingly overall picture sharpness for pictures where the camera said "I am in focus" varies substantially, suggesting random back/front focus issues.

2. You cant really use raw files well. Most people will have a workflow like in lightroom or Adobe PShop. Silkypix requires relearning and to me at least it seems like a clumsy software.

DP REVIEW should look at these issues in full review.

6 upvotes
milwman
By milwman (Apr 17, 2012)

Still Hope you update soon without Adobe RAWs and add them later as it may take some time for Adobe to make up a RAW converter do to small number of cameras out their at this point?

0 upvotes
Trevor G
By Trevor G (Apr 14, 2012)

"Silkypix isn't the most user-friendly software out there either"

Typical from dpreview reviewers who believe that only Adobe produces acceptable results from their clumsy interface.

Unlike Adobe Silkypix works from left to right and from top to bottom.

Each control has a tool tip if the icons don't register with you at first. ;-)

" - in my experience of using it to manupulate the X-Pro1's raw files it takes quite a bit of work to produce a raw file that looks as pleasing as a typical 'straight from the camera' JPEG."

Maybe, sometimes, but not always. I've "done" the ISO500 portrait shot and even shown the few steps it took, and posted them in the Fuji forum here:

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/readflat.asp?forum=1020&thread=41211866

Mind you, I must thank dpreview for always bashing Silkypix because that attitude made me try the programme to see if it really was as bad as is always made out. I've bought both Pro versions so far, first 4 and now 5. Thanks dpreview. ;-)

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
ulfie
By ulfie (Apr 11, 2012)

Not any sharper looking than m4/3 with the Panny 25/1.4 or 20/1.7. See here:
http://www.dpreview.com/news/2011/6/20/panaleicasamplesgallery

2 upvotes
milwman
By milwman (Apr 17, 2012)

Glad you like your camera and lenses but not much of a test and if you are happy why change. I still think the full test will show much more then what's out now. Remember everything is only 72 pix on the net and there eyes will see much more then you or me.

0 upvotes
kevin camera
By kevin camera (Apr 11, 2012)

this is a really excellent camera for those with any doubts.

i went on vacation so decided to buy it now, with some corporate discount, instead of waiting for the price to drop (and my suspicion is the price will drop... this is hardly an affordable camera given the stock levels)

yes, AF is slow... but it is the image quality that stands out

0 upvotes
Tom Caldwell
By Tom Caldwell (Apr 10, 2012)

Seems a very fair review with good coverage. Better than trying one for myself. One might have thought that the Ricoh GXR A12 M mount model might have also made the cut as another "standout mirrorless model" in a comparison. Especially as the GXR-M does have its own Leica style connections with particular connection/optimisation to the Leica M bayonet mount. Perhaps a three-way comparison image including the GXR M mount version would have been also interesting. But then I am not in a position to properly judge. At least Ricoh merits a mention with it's contrast peaking focus assist feature (alongside the Sony).

0 upvotes
lacro
By lacro (Apr 10, 2012)

Though obviously better than her older and cheaper sisters, it still seems Fujifilm launched these whole X series BEFORE they should.
Don't get me wrong, I love the whole X concept, but in order to "fullfil my love and a relationship", there should be less issues that there are in all three cases.
Many of the extras I've already published I would love to see in the next X10, are here. Ok, yes, this is another camera, size and price altogether. But it seems to me, they could have improved all three of them without too much riskier investments. Nevertheless, I'm eager to see the results of the new X10 sensor, in order to get it ASAP. Only then, I'd consider the huge bet a X Pro 1 System is.

0 upvotes
milwman
By milwman (Apr 17, 2012)

Price point of the X Pro 1 is well bellow Leica's and will sell plenty. Later as they get more out they will likely bring a body out without the optical part and dropping down 300? Helping sales. It is just to cool of a camera not to make it. It is aimed at the higher end and I am sure the planned sales will make break even and surpass it.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Alejandro del Pielago
By Alejandro del Pielago (Apr 10, 2012)

Fujifilm is claiming it will out-resolve the full frame 21MP Canon EOS 5D Mark II. So, l´air du temps say it: let´s compare the Fuji (maybe with Leica glasses) with the 5DIII and the D800...

0 upvotes
dav363
By dav363 (Apr 8, 2012)

I just wanted to post a correction to one of the "oddities and quirks" highlighted in the DP review. The author mentions it is not possible to cycle between frames shot in continuous mode while zoomed in. I think I've found the solution to this, when viewing one of these "burst" sets of photos, the default view is of the first frame in the batch, with a smaller inset view which strangely cycles through all of the frames in the batch at a rate of about 10fps or so. By pressing the down button on the four-way, it jumps into the batch of burst photos and allows them to be viewed one by one using the thumbwheel to advance through them. Zooming in at this point allows you to continue flicking through them using the thumbwheel while zoomed in. Once you get your head round it, it actually makes good sense as you can continuously cycle through that batch hunting for the 'keepers'.

2 upvotes
Amadou Diallo
By Amadou Diallo (Apr 9, 2012)

Right you are. That's been corrected now.

2 upvotes
Sam Carriere
By Sam Carriere (Apr 8, 2012)

Thank you for a review that is helpful and informative. The forum comments, not so much.
I sometimes think that the main purpose for this forum is to allow some people to pretend that they have a clue what they are talking about.
This is a camera that has been available for a very short time. Yet, so many of the comments would seem to indicate that the poster has been using the camera for months or weeks.
I can only wish for a bit less presumption and a bit more intellectual honesty.

4 upvotes
mjl699
By mjl699 (Apr 7, 2012)

I have an X-Pro1 and a Pan GX1 and while the photo quality of the X-Pro1 is much better (amazing that I can say that as the GX1's photos are very very good indeed) one area where the GX1 really shines above the X-Pro1 is focussing. Focus speed is much better, focus mode selection is better, and focus area selection (with the touch sensitive screen) is better too.

I have a baby, and at short range (<1m) you have no chance of shooting anything in focus with the X-Pro1 when he moves back and forth. It just takes to long to get a "lock". With the GX1 it isn't easy, but you have a chance. Let's hope the X-Pro1 can be improved to some extent with firmware upgrades.

So for me it's about what you want. If you want something small(ish) with great photo quality and good handling, and you prepared to put up with focus speeds which are not leading edge these days, and you have the money, the X-Pro1 could be the camera for you. You won't be dissappointed if it's photo quality you want.

1 upvote
guyfawkes
By guyfawkes (Apr 7, 2012)

This is a camera that my heart dearly wanted. And let's admit, looks can matter in our decision making. However, in the UK, the body only price is the equivalent of $2200, and the best I have seen with the f1.4/35mm is around $2700.

But I am very disappointed in what has been highlighted as its idiosyncratic behaviour and less than stellar performance in areas that will matter to me: sluggish time between taking images, 2.5 seconds a pop really is too slow, and it seems the ability to mount third party lenses is let down by difficulty in manually focusing them, as no focus confirmation is provided. Without being able to check it out personally, the claimed slow focus ability in both daylight and reduced lighting scenarios would be a big disadvantage.

Hopefully, all may not be lost as Fuji may be able to address all these issues and, one never knows, pricing may come down to more acceptable levels in the UK. Then I may be tempted.

0 upvotes
mjl699
By mjl699 (Apr 7, 2012)

I have a X-Pro1 and 2.5s between shots in normal use is not something I have experienced. In continuous shooting at 6 fps once the buffer is full, which happens after about 2s, there is a LONG delay before you can shoot again.

Comment edited 8 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Andrew Fildes
By Andrew Fildes (Apr 7, 2012)

I had a review sample of the full kit last week. I really wanted to like it - I considered buying. But... The image quality is superb - no doubt of it. But the handling. No lock on the exposure compensation dial; my bag kept adjusting it to +2. No viewfinder dioptre adjustment. I'm only +0.5 in my preferred eye but that was annoying. The manual tells you to buy Cosina screw ins - that's suspicious. I had to wonder if... Autofocus in good light with the 35mm was slow enough to disqualify it as a street shooter. With the 60mm, it hunted while doing portraits, slowly refocussing for almost every shot?
The Q quick menu button is on the crest of the thumb grip; you keep pressing it accidentally. Your view in EVF mode is often interrupted by the menu screen. (Upgrade to 2-push?) There's more but mostly nitpicks.
Once again, excellent lenses and a brilliant sensor crippled by a really frustrating body. A friend suggested it was Fuji lenses on a Cosina body with Sigma firmware. :-)

1 upvote
sproketholes
By sproketholes (Apr 7, 2012)

Cosina screw-ins and Nikon also, FM,FE etc

0 upvotes
Hen3ry
By Hen3ry (Apr 6, 2012)

Excellent preview, and some great samples. the most telling samples are the last few -- NO DISKS!!!

Nice appearance, technical innovation, and that lens map has my mouth watering. The f2.8 14mm (21mm equiv) lens is particularly appealing.

Pity about the lack of a built-in flash; this camera clearly lends itself to candid style photography, and a little built-in flash for fill is very handy for that from time to time (I really miss that on my E-PL3; to use the silly accessory flash I have to remove my OVF -- I use an OVF for the 14 and 45 lenses (28 and 90 equiv) -- and resort to the damned screen).

Nice to see OIS coming too.

Good to see that the grinches are making their usually nit-picking and silly complaints in these comments. Shows what a darned good camera Fuji has come up with.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
max metz
By max metz (Apr 6, 2012)

Thanks for a really great preview, very informative and accompanied by excellent photographic examples - I had planned on getting this camera by year end, though holding off will be difficult now as I find myself shooting imagining how much more fluid this camera will be for my shooting style. Happy Easter. :-)

0 upvotes
Alejandro del Pielago
By Alejandro del Pielago (Apr 5, 2012)

I´d like a comparison (Lab and RL): Fuji, Canon (5dII and 5dIII) and Nikon about IQ...

0 upvotes
sproketholes
By sproketholes (Apr 7, 2012)

Why not get a comparison with a Koni-Omega Rapid and a Deardorf 810 whilst your at it.. otherwise Mr Pielago might get upset that you are biasing the review..

1 upvote
RoccoGalatioto
By RoccoGalatioto (Apr 4, 2012)

There's no image stabilization on the M-9. Does is make it a bad camera? This is a range finder camera, a classic type that would be cheapened by IS. And there's no built in flash either, thank God.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
4 upvotes
ageha
By ageha (Apr 5, 2012)

It's not a range finder camera.

1 upvote
T3
By T3 (Apr 5, 2012)

#1. It's not a rangefinder camera. It's merely designed to look like one.

#2. The inclusion of IS does not "cheapen" a camera any more than the inclusion of high ISO, or using a tripod or monopod. All of these are just tools to help you reduce the impact of camera shake, allowing you to get a sharper image. Plus, if you don't like IS, you can just turn it off; then it's as if you have a camera that doesn't have IS.

Besides, Fuji plans on introducing IS lenses for the X-Pro1.

#3. If you really think it's a rangefinder camera, you must also think that the X-Pro1 is "cheapened" by the inclusion of auto focus. You must be thinking, "Auto focus? What sacrilege. There's no auto focus on the M9!"

Comment edited 8 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
Oery
By Oery (Apr 4, 2012)

no image stabilization on body nor lens ?

1 upvote
CFynn
By CFynn (May 24, 2012)

How nany Nikon prime lenses are stabilized?

0 upvotes
photosen
By photosen (Apr 4, 2012)

Thanks for a well done preview. It seems Fuji is learning but there are still many important details to be worked out... I'm thinking in particular of third party lenses and all those people who used Nikon/Nikkor on their S5s...

0 upvotes
GabrielZ
By GabrielZ (Apr 4, 2012)

Overall this summary has been disappointing, I was really excited about this camera! Intially considering giving up my Canon sytem and moving over to it.

The thought of a compact and light weight (as compared to a DSLR!)camera with near if not equal Leica levels of both build and image quality at a much more affordable price was very tempting.

But it's bugs and incompatibilities, edge softness on the wide angle lens, slow AF on the macro/portrait lens and bad current RAW conversion software (I only shoot in RAW) have gone some way to put me off! I was expecting better...what a shame!

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
1 upvote
cgarrard
By cgarrard (Apr 4, 2012)

My god will Fujifilm ever figure out how to design a camera without ultra-obvious quirks! MF is a joke, and the other stuff I'm reading on this article is simply maddening. Things fixed in the X100 that make their way into the XPRO1, WHY??? My god!

5 upvotes
buckshot
By buckshot (Apr 4, 2012)

spoke too soon

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
sroute
By sroute (Apr 4, 2012)

When possible DPReview should pop some M lenses on an adapter and check them out. The sensor implementation even though it lacks an anti-alias filter seems to do more poorly with most wider (under 50mm) lenses. To my eye, this isn't a go-to camera for the dedicated M lens shooter - with or without focus peaking.

0 upvotes
bdcolen
By bdcolen (Apr 4, 2012)

You speak of the 'quirky' autofocus of the 60 2.8. But what about the autofocus performance of the 50 and 28 equivalents? How do those lenses autofocus in low light. The idea of this camera is very exciting, but as an X100 owner I do not want to be 'twice burned.'

1 upvote
Aleo Veuliah
By Aleo Veuliah (Apr 4, 2012)

A cheap version of the Leica M, but with a very good sensor

This is not a camera for everyone, like the Leicas M

Well done Fuji

1 upvote
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (Apr 4, 2012)

Except that it's not a rangefinder.

1 upvote
cgarrard
By cgarrard (Apr 4, 2012)

its not well done, its half done- praising for a half done design is a serious misstep.

2 upvotes
Michael Switzer
By Michael Switzer (Apr 9, 2012)

cgarrard--
Have you shot with this camera? Do you really know if it's half done? Do you really know ANYTHING about the three lenses? Have you shot with an M9? Is it "half done"? Do you have any idea what you're what you are talking about? I think talking with your mouth full is a "serious misstep.

0 upvotes
Dr GP
By Dr GP (Apr 22, 2012)

@ Michael

I dont have an M9 but have x100 and D3S.
Tend to agree with Cgarrard - the Firmware 1.21 largely fixed the AF issues I had with the x100. The X1Pro not only focuses more slowly (so you can't use it for anything moving) but more importantly there are a lot of focus errors even though the camera indicates "it locked on".
Its such a pity because the concept and otherwise the camera is quite lovely.
P.S. I have been shooting it 3 weeks.

0 upvotes
Total comments: 228
123