Review in Progress: Pentax K-5 II and K-5 II S

Last September Pentax replaced the K-5 with not just one but two new digital SLRs, one without an optical low pass filter (OLPF). Looking little changed from the Pentax K-5 and K-7 before that, the Pentax K-5 II retains a very photographer-friendly design, with a good set of controls at the ready despite a surprisingly compact design. Internally, the K5 II gets only a few updates, including a new air-gapless LCD and an improved autofocus system; the latter of which offers a noticeable improvement in AF speed overall, and greater sensitivity in low light. Though the resolution remains the same, Pentax updated the camera’s 16.3-megapixel CMOS sensor with a faster data readout, according to company representatives.

Though Pentax made few upgrades, the K-5 II remains an excellent digital SLR, particularly for outdoor photography, including a weather-resistant body, extreme cold tolerance down to -10C (14F), an optical viewfinder with 100% coverage, sensor-shift Shake Reduction that works with all lenses, an electronic level function, and a seven-frame-per-second frame rate. 

As almost a bonus, Pentax also offers the K-5 II S, which is essentially the same camera with the low-pass filter removed. Also called anti-aliasing filters, low-pass filters soften images slightly to minimize pattern interference with the sensor’s own grid pattern. When capturing subjects without repeating patterns, K-5 II S users will gain a slight sharpness advantage; however, repeating patterns do occur in nature, so even landscape photographers are not immune from the possibility of moiré appearing in images. We’ll have a look at the issue in this First Impressions report to see if it’s worth the risk for extra sharpness at a cost of just $100 more.

Highlights

  • 16.3-megapixel APS-C CMOS sensor
  • 11-point SAFOS X autofocus system
  • ISO 100-12800; expandable to 80-51200
  • 1080p video at 25fps
  • 3-inch, 920K LCD
  • Maximum 7fps continuous shooting
  • 100% Glass prism viewfinder (0.92x magnification)
  • Weatherproof, cold-resistant, Magnesium-alloy body
  • Shake Reduction image stabilization built-in
  • Handheld HDR image capture 
  • Built-in Level
  • Horizon-fixing 'Composition adjustment' rotates sensor, allows careful composition 

Handling

That Pentax kept the K-5 II design essentially the same as its predecessors might concern some, but those familiar with the design will be just as happy as they were when the company introduced the K-7 in 2009. We really liked the original design quite a bit, so we're perfectly happy to see it repeated here. The body is tight and small, a little smaller than a large Rebel, but with a metal body rather than polycarbonate.

Despite the smaller dimensions, the Pentax K5 II’s controls remain easy to use once you get accustomed to the tight quarters. The camera’s small size makes it easy to fit into a bag or backpack - and outdoor trail use is a purpose for which the K-5 II is quite well suited thanks to its weather sealing and cold resistance.
Front and rear control dials allow full access to aperture and shutter speeds. The AF point selection switch is maybe a bit too stiff between detents though, which makes landing on the actual selections a little more difficult. Also, having an infrared port front and back makes tripod work easier, especially when working in close quarters, as in macro photography.
The optional GPS receiver connects to the camera through the hot shoe, with no cable or special connector required. It also uses its own AAA battery for power. We've only just received this accessory; watch for the review for a little more detail on how this works with the K-5 II.

Improved autofocus

Pentax says focus acquisition should be faster with the new SAFOX X autofocus system, and our early experience shows that to be true. In low light, the difference is a bit less obvious. Both can still struggle a bit in low light, but the K-5 II takes about half a second, while the K-5 takes more like a second on average. We’ve always admired how Pentax SLRs, even when they were slow, kept at the job until focus was achieved, where other cameras just give up.


Click here to go to page 2 of this article: First Impressions - Pentax K-5 II and K-5 II S... 

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by dpreview.com or any affiliated companies.

90
I own it
34
I want it
3
I had it
Discuss in the forums
125
I own it
47
I want it
7
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 70
teribithia
By teribithia (10 months ago)

A very detailed review

0 upvotes
Azergoth
By Azergoth (10 months ago)

(Sorry for asking this but:)
The K5 ii was released in 2012 and this post was published on April 16th. Will a final test eventually be published??
Thanks :-)

0 upvotes
Scorruhestand
By Scorruhestand (11 months ago)

I am looking to acquire my first DSLR. In doing so, I have narrowed the selection between the K-5II/K-5IIs or the D7100. A full review of the K5IIs and or K5IIs may provide the answers I need to make my decisiion. I.e. which camera has the least noise in JPEG and in RAW captures? How effective is the auto-focusing on the K’s under various light conditions? How bad is the moiré in the K5II’s/K5II and how would that compare to the D7100? These are some of the things I hope can be answered through the coming review. I echo Ochman’s below comment “Please hurry up, I can't wait to see the review.”

0 upvotes
Gary Dean Mercer Clark
By Gary Dean Mercer Clark (11 months ago)

Its time that all of the camera makers install the GPS inside the camera like Sony is doing with the Sony A77 and A99. That optional GPS receiver is huge and takes up the hot shoe? BandAid add ons to systems that could be incorporated into the body of the camera make no sense to me. That being said, my friends shooting with the k5 II having nothing but huge praise for this camera. I'm sure that the k5 IIs will make some very happy photographers out there.

0 upvotes
BStevenson
By BStevenson (Apr 30, 2013)

As for your upcoming review, maybe you could do a complete review of the new camera without saying, "Hey, we cut and pasted lots of stuff and reprinted parts of the earlier K-5 review." Even though there might be much in common, reading re-posted stuff from earlier cameras is less meaningful. I shoot a K-10D and have never handled K-5. Stores don't seem to stock them and I'm way out in the sticks anyway. Don't mean to suggest that comparisons aren't useful - they are. The k-5 II is a new camera, could you please treat it that way? Thanks, Bob

2 upvotes
Gary Devouges
By Gary Devouges (9 months ago)

I have a k-10 also. I am looking at the new K5 IIs and still trying to figure out if I should take the fork in the road or stick with Pentax. I have that auto focus problem and everyone says that with the K5, that problem goes away...... I sure hope so. Do you have a k5 now ? if yes, are you happy with it ?

0 upvotes
Ochman
By Ochman (Apr 27, 2013)

Please hurry up,I can't wait to see the review.

0 upvotes
minturnino
By minturnino (Apr 21, 2013)

I have an K-5 and I'm not happy to the AF accurance even outdoors.
The AF module of the K-5 is unstable especially on white surfaces.
For this reason I was thinking of buying a K-5II.
Percentage with which you can take pictures in focus by using the K-5II?
There's really an more AF accurance/Improved in low light?
Thanks

0 upvotes
jaad75
By jaad75 (Apr 21, 2013)

My K-5 is pretty accurate, but K-5IIs is still better, and in a low light is MUCH better (as I wrote before I have misfocused shots level close to zero - let's say less than 10 for over 200 shots). Here you have pretty decent AF accuracy test, done by the guys behind the LensTip - just scroll down to the autofocus section (Google translated):

http://translate.google.pl/translate?hl=en&sl=pl&u=http://www.optyczne.pl/211.4-Test_aparatu-Pentax_K-5_IIs__Rozdzielczo%25C5%259B%25C4%2587.html&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dhttp://www.optyczne.pl/211.4-Test_aparatu-Pentax_K-5_IIs__Rozdzielczo%2525C5%25259B%2525C4%252587.html%26client%3Dfirefox-a%26hs%3DIFS%26rls%3Dorg.mozilla:en-US:official&sa=X&ei=lYtuUduwB4nJtAbc3oDoDg&ved=0CDMQ7gEwAA

Comment edited 24 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
jaad75
By jaad75 (Apr 21, 2013)

They compared K-5II and the original K-5 before:

http://translate.google.pl/translate?hl=en&sl=pl&u=http://www.optyczne.pl/211.4-Test_aparatu-Pentax_K-5_IIs__Rozdzielczo%25C5%259B%25C4%2587.html&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dhttp://www.optyczne.pl/211.4-Test_aparatu-Pentax_K-5_IIs__Rozdzielczo%2525C5%25259B%2525C4%252587.html%26client%3Dfirefox-a%26hs%3DIFS%26rls%3Dorg.mozilla:en-US:official&sa=X&ei=lYtuUduwB4nJtAbc3oDoDg&ved=0CDMQ7gEwAA

I don't think they tested the best copy of the K-5, though.

0 upvotes
jaad75
By jaad75 (Apr 22, 2013)

Something went wrong with those links - here we go again - K-5IIs and K-5II:
http://translate.google.pl/translate?hl=en&sl=pl&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.optyczne.pl%2F211.3-Test_aparatu-Pentax_K-5_IIs__U%25C5%25BCytkowanie_i_ergonomia.html

K5II and K-5:
http://translate.google.pl/translate?hl=en&sl=pl&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.optyczne.pl%2F208.3-Test_aparatu-Pentax_K-5_II_U%25C5%25BCytkowanie_i_ergonomia.html

Both are compared to Sony and Nikon as well.

0 upvotes
ozdean
By ozdean (Apr 19, 2013)

Boy the IIs really shines as iso increases!

0 upvotes
Arijit Banerjee
By Arijit Banerjee (Apr 18, 2013)

I am primarily a birder. The K5 has held me in good stead, even in low light. I really look forward to the review covering the sensor of K5IIs being tested in real life (along with studio samples) - covering subjects of interest to wildlife photographers - birds and nature macros to be specific.

0 upvotes
Pete
By Pete (Apr 17, 2013)

I agree with previous posts re: FF/BF issues. In certain situations, the K-5 struggles. Even, in some cases, in the same light, but if one person is more tan than another. I see some this in stage-lighting situations. If the II series addresses that, in all honesty, that would be a phenomenal camera. That occasional issue is my main gripe with the K-5.

0 upvotes
jaad75
By jaad75 (Apr 17, 2013)

I've done many more shows with K-5 than with K-IIs, but what is the most noticeable, beside of AF speed in a low light, is the number of misfocused shots - it's close to ZERO with IIs, while it was up to 20-30% with K-5.

0 upvotes
JacobSR
By JacobSR (Apr 19, 2013)

On the K5 some claim that if you turn the shake reduction off you get much improved AF speed. Use SR only when needed.

0 upvotes
Model Mike
By Model Mike (Apr 19, 2013)

Did a stage shoot with the K-5II, focus was spot on all the way. Wouldn't have even tried with the K-5. Pentax have made a step improvement with AF in both sensitivity and accuracy.

2 upvotes
solarider
By solarider (Apr 20, 2013)

Quote: "By JacobSR (1 day ago)
On the K5 some claim that if you turn the shake reduction off you get much improved AF speed. Use SR only when needed."

I'd like to know in the review if this truly shows up in practice. Thanks DPR :-)

Comment edited 37 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
jaad75
By jaad75 (Apr 17, 2013)

"In low light, the difference is a bit less obvious"
Are you kidding? It's a low light where the difference is HUGE. It's not only the speed difference (K-5II slows down in much lower light than the original K-5 did), but the accuracy which is the best in this class of equipment.

0 upvotes
jf_tea
By jf_tea (Apr 17, 2013)

The low-lights issues...
Have they been resolved ?
Really?
The two original K5 that I have used have problems with extreme front focusing under yellowish low-light: Tunsgten (indoor and some flood lights outdoors) and Sodium (street lamps).
*** I wish Pentax offered owners the option of upgrading the AF module ! ***
Otherwise, the K5 is fine under sunlight (even dusk) and bright light, or blueish low light (mercury lamps).

2 upvotes
jaad75
By jaad75 (Apr 17, 2013)

They have been resolved completely. But they weren't that pronounced with a good copy of original K-5 as well. Original K-5 just could not focus in such a low light as K-5II can and slowed down noticeably when light levels were between EV4-EV3 where K-5II keeps that regular speed to EV2-EV1. There is a great improvement with AF accuracy as well.

1 upvote
D1N0
By D1N0 (Apr 17, 2013)

In camera sharpening in jpeg mode works very well. When you select the k5 in the tool en put it on iso 100 (extra sharpeness) it just trashes everything (of course the k5 II(s) have this setting as well (it's in the natural colour mode settings).

0 upvotes
DStudio
By DStudio (Apr 18, 2013)

All the K-5 variants are strongest at ISO 80, of course.

Comment edited 29 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
RaZZ3R Death
By RaZZ3R Death (Apr 17, 2013)

Dear DPR team, I would like to see a comparison with higher MP count cameras like Sony A77, Nikon D5200 to see if you can get the sharpness of 24MP AA-filtered sensor. And I would really appreciate a comparison in high ISO noise with Sony's 24 MP APS-C and Full Frame sensor (Sony A65/77/99, Nikon D3200/5200/7100/600) and Canon's 20MP 6D and specially Fujifilm's X-Trans sensor.

1 upvote
yabokkie
By yabokkie (Apr 17, 2013)

a sensor with no AA filter should not be able to give higher resolution than the same sensor with an AA filter. what you see is no resolution but noise, though the noises may give you a "feeling" of higher resolution.

0 upvotes
dbateman
By dbateman (Apr 17, 2013)

Yabokkie what are you talking about!
The AA filter blurs the image. Thus a 16MP image from a camera without a blur filter will be crisper and sharper than an image from a camera with an AA filter. Thus RaZZ3R request is fully justified. A 24MP camera with a blur filter, does the sharpness and micro contrast match the 16MP without the AA. I think the answer will be yes! As the Kodak 14MP SLR/n has no AA filter and its very sharp. Also the Leica's without AA filter are very sharp, and this comparison has been done at luminous landscape.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
RaZZ3R Death
By RaZZ3R Death (Apr 21, 2013)

Yes, I know that it's not true resolution but it is perceptive resolution because a slightly blurred higher MP sensor wouldn't print as big as a lower MP sensor without AA filter because there are no additional gains in details because of the AA filter blurring the sharpness of the MP count, giving only an advantage of cropping more MP for framing. I did say about the noise because I want to see the advantages, in stops, of higher size sensor of FF (the "low end" ones like Nikon D600/Canon 6D) against the best APS-C sensor (like Pentax K-5/5 II/5 IIs/Nikon D7000/7100/ Fujifilm X-Pro1/X-E1) in the high ISO noise performance. As far as I can tell, from DPR's own studio shots, the Fujifilm best's even Full Frame in terms of lower noise (JPEG & RAW) at high ISO (1600-12800) and how would that correlate with other APS-C cameras in the semi-professional range.

0 upvotes
Jurgen van der Pol
By Jurgen van der Pol (Apr 17, 2013)

Dear DPR team, looking forward to a full review tremendously! I'd really like to see a side-by-side comparison between the K-5 II and K-5 II S specifically on portraits of people. What's the relative difference? Thanks, keep up the good works.

1 upvote
DPReview Staff
By DPReview Staff (Apr 23, 2013)

Thanks for the suggestion. If you go to the second page of this article, you'll see portraits. http://www.dpreview.com/articles/6059494336/review-in-progress-pentax-k-5-ii-and-k-5-ii-s/2

0 upvotes
Tord S Eriksson
By Tord S Eriksson (Apr 17, 2013)

@McDuff,

Love shots you got there! The colours looks a bit muted, but that seem to be the way with the K-5 IIs, even with DPR's comparative test.

I switched from K-5 to D600, while the wife switched from her K-5 to a K-30, which under most situations beat the K-5's performance, not least AF.

I take most shots with my Nikon V1, though, and she with her OM-D.

0 upvotes
McDuff
By McDuff (Apr 17, 2013)

Thanks, Tord. The colour saturation is probably my choice, through Aperture's RAW development engine. Nikon is very tempting, but the K-5IIs is still the complete, compact and weatherproof package for me.

0 upvotes
McDuff
By McDuff (Apr 17, 2013)

I have replaced my K-5 with a K-5IIs and I am very happy with the result. None of my images show moiré, so that is not a problem, and the sharpness has improved perceptibly, along with the AF. It is an excellent camera which will hold up well to competition for many years.
Here is a close-up with the DA 35mm 2.8 Limited:

<http://images.threeshoes.biz/Photography/PPD/2013-cb-project-365/27301110_shbBGx#!i=2460040568&k=xZp8hsk&lb=1&s=A>

1 upvote
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Apr 17, 2013)

lAthough they are following a trend (no OLPF), they clearly do not possess the sensor to do that. The moiré is rather significant.

Comment edited 11 seconds after posting
3 upvotes
DStudio
By DStudio (Apr 18, 2013)

Actually it wasn't a trend until after Pentax did it - only Nikon (who deserves most of the credit) came before them, and Pentax was the first to completely remove the filter.

Comment edited 31 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
jaad75
By jaad75 (Apr 18, 2013)

There was a couple of filterless cameras before D800E...

1 upvote
Just another Canon shooter
By Just another Canon shooter (Apr 17, 2013)

DPR, the AA filter is not there just to prevent moire with repeated patterns. Please take some time and read something about sampling, the sampling theorem, and aliasing. The 2nd page of the review is full with examples of aliasing. Moire is just one of them.

4 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (Apr 17, 2013)

O-LPF-O is rather destructive even we don't see it in a formation of moire. but if people don't see it, people don't care. and if you can see it, you are not a welcome customer. O-LPF-O is a "feature" that saves a lot of manufacturing cost.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Docrwm
By Docrwm (Apr 17, 2013)

My requests are for the following:
#1) Astrophotography with the K-IIs + O-GPS1
#2) AF Speed across AFS and AFC with K-5 and K-5II/IIs
#3) Low Light comparison with K-5II/7100/K-5

0 upvotes
Mescalamba
By Mescalamba (Apr 17, 2013)

Yep moiré isnt nice thing. It can be improved by using different demosaicing than those common ones, which unfortunately means no regular RAW converters. Advantage is that except one for Mac, all are free to use. :D

0 upvotes
halai
By halai (Apr 16, 2013)

As an owner of the K-5, I would like to see the AFC comparison of the two cameras. I have kids so would love to see if Pentax improved on this segment.

Thanks DPR!

0 upvotes
jaad75
By jaad75 (Apr 17, 2013)

Yes they did. I use that new expanded AF area mode (introduced with K-30) and it works better with moving subjects.

0 upvotes
DStudio
By DStudio (Apr 18, 2013)

I find AF-C is improved when the expanded AF area mode is off as well.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
jaad75
By jaad75 (Apr 18, 2013)

@DStudio - I didn't even bother to check the regular mode, cause the expanded AF area mode works great and I left it on for good... :)

0 upvotes
forpetessake
By forpetessake (Apr 16, 2013)

Don't fret the moire: most lenses just don't have sufficient resolution, most scenes don't have regular high special frequency patterns, in many cases focusing is off just enough to eliminate them, and finally the noise reduction takes resolution down quite a bit to eliminate any traces of the high frequencies.
On the other hand, if you notice moire in your pictures, you can be proud of the quality of your lenses and your camera :-)

6 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (Apr 17, 2013)

what an insult to Pentax lenses!

2 upvotes
DStudio
By DStudio (Apr 18, 2013)

I agree that in most cases you don't have to fret the moire, but most of my lenses yield noticeably better resolution on the K-5 IIs compared to any other Pentax body.

0 upvotes
Artak Hambarian
By Artak Hambarian (Apr 16, 2013)

I would second in being interested in the astrophotography feature of the gps and overall the shake reduction performance especially with tele lenses.

0 upvotes
solarider
By solarider (Apr 16, 2013)

For the great DPR team: Having no experience in Astro photography - Would the K5IIs be best in this regard using the O-GPS1 unit? Is moiré from K5IIs even an issue in this field?

TIA.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Felix11
By Felix11 (Apr 16, 2013)

ISO 51200! And this from the sensor rumoured to be in the Ricoh GR to be announced in 6 hours time!

Comment edited 26 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
Robert Garcia NYC
By Robert Garcia NYC (Apr 16, 2013)

Pentax deserves a gold for these cameras.

19 upvotes
solarider
By solarider (Apr 16, 2013)

Additionally, we hope to see review of the optional O-GPS1 Astrophotography module in the review. http://www.pentaximaging.com/accessories/GPS_Unit
additionally: http://www.pentax.jp/english/products/o-gps1/astrotracer.html

Thanks so much everyone at DPreview.

Cheers!

Comment edited 4 times, last edit 8 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
stephp
By stephp (Apr 17, 2013)

That you can expect with this module when looking at nebulea and galaxies:
http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/39284452
It's great :)

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
DarylK
By DarylK (Apr 16, 2013)

Not a big deal, but as the owner of a K-5, I'd be interested to see if the image quality is much different/improved between an old K-5 and the new K-5II.

0 upvotes
In hydraulis
By In hydraulis (Apr 17, 2013)

Stepping away from tripods and studio scenes, I read that when Pentax removed the AA filter, they actually removes it. By contrast, Nikon merely substituted a compensating one in the D800E.

One net result is that the sensor assembly in the K-5IIs has less mass than that in the K-5II. As a delightful little bonus, this reduced mass makes the on-sensor shake reduction more effective. From what I've heard, about 1 stop's worth of performance better.

I'd love to see that tested.

5 upvotes
solarider
By solarider (Apr 17, 2013)

Re: In hydaulis - One net result is that the sensor assembly in the K-5IIs has less mass than that in the K-5II. As a delightful little bonus, this reduced mass makes the on-sensor shake reduction more effective. From what I've heard, about 1 stop's worth of performance better.

Curious stuff - please provide a link for others to read up on this... first I've heard of this. Hope it is so.

Nic

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
jaad75
By jaad75 (Apr 17, 2013)

There is absolutely no improvement in SR results - it's about 2.5-2.66EV just as it was with original K-5

1 upvote
DStudio
By DStudio (Apr 17, 2013)

@jaad75 - on what evidence do you base this remark? My real-world results show otherwise.

Additionally, it doesn't seem to have much to do with additional effective EV, but rather defines the absolute minimum usable shutter speed, regardless of conditions.

AFAIK the reduced mass being the reason for the improvement is just speculative - I'd love to see DPR do some comparisons among the K-5, K-5 II, and K-5 IIs to see if both the II and IIs show improvements in SR. Interestingly, the focal length doesn't seem to be a big factor in SR performance (at least within the normal range of around 16-100mm). Rather, it's a simple matter of how slow the shutter speed can go (e.g. 1/6s vs. 1/13s).

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 7 minutes after posting
1 upvote
jaad75
By jaad75 (Apr 18, 2013)

@DStudio - I compared max shutter speeds I can hold with the SR on and off. I've done about hundred exposures on different focal lenghts.

1 upvote
Model Mike
By Model Mike (Apr 19, 2013)

Better IQ? Don't know, don't care. The II gives me more keepers, that's what matters.

0 upvotes
solarider
By solarider (9 months ago)

It's possible that this is only within your particular copy of the camera. I don't think they made any real hardware changes to the camera other than the different LCD and increasing the low light AF ability to -3 EV.
It is good to know that you can get better results.

Cheers

0 upvotes
CeleryBeats
By CeleryBeats (Apr 16, 2013)

Very fine DSLR's for sure!

9 upvotes
steelhead3
By steelhead3 (Apr 16, 2013)

I like this new approach to reviews (the only downside will be to feed the people who want to find something wrong with a camera)

2 upvotes
Almeida
By Almeida (Apr 16, 2013)

So it doesn't seem worth the hassle...

2 upvotes
AbrasiveReducer
By AbrasiveReducer (Apr 16, 2013)

Why not? Neither camera is free of moire so might as well get a little extra detail.

3 upvotes
Tord S Eriksson
By Tord S Eriksson (Apr 17, 2013)

In my book the K-5 II seems to have better AF than the K-5, but if it is worth spending about twice as much as you do for a K-30, that has the same improved AF (I think), and a speedier processor, that's the question!

The K-5 IIs does have a slight upper hand - image-wise at least.

So K-5 II, if you already have a K-5 - definitely not worth the outlay.

I'd pick a K-30 as my back-up camera instead, and be prepared to be impressed - paint it matte black, and it'll look very pro!

0 upvotes
lsphotou
By lsphotou (Apr 17, 2013)

I have k-5 and k-5iis and I had an opportunity to shoot with k-30.
It is a nice camera but it is not for a pro use like k-5 iis.
K5iis have way better AF for low light and it is much faster than k-5.
I shoot mainly in night clubs and weddings ...
by the way I had to shoot in the same places with NIKON D7000, D300S with nikor 17-55 2.8 and they just not as god as 5iis in IQ. the only thing they are better is AF speed but still K5IIS is handling the job very well and way better than K5.

As a person that considered to buy D600, seeing the results from this camera I prefer to wait for Pentax FF, as I really believe it will be much better camera then D600 or 6D

Comment edited 48 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
jaad75
By jaad75 (Apr 17, 2013)

K-30 has a different AF sensor (SAFOX IX) and it's definitely not as good as the new SAFOX X. I have both K-5 and K-5IIs and that update was definitely worth it.

0 upvotes
minturnino
By minturnino (Apr 18, 2013)

I have an K-5 and I'm not happy to the AF accurance even outdoors.
The AF module of the K-5 is unstable especially on white surfaces.
For this reason I was thinking of buying a K-5II.
Percentage with which you can take pictures in focus by using the K-5II?
Thanks

0 upvotes
Chev Chelios
By Chev Chelios (Apr 16, 2013)

Typo under "Handling"?

"Despite the smaller dimensions, the Pentax K7’s controls remain..."

2 upvotes
Robert Morris
By Robert Morris (Apr 17, 2013)

Welcome to DPR, Shawn are you just helping out or is this your new home? Dave seems to be losing his best reviewer's over at IR lately.

3 upvotes
Total comments: 70