First Impressions: Using the Nikon D4

The Nikon D4 is a serious photographic tool at a serious price. At $6000 the D4 is twice the cost of the recently-released D800, and offers just under half of its pixel count. But it's what the D4 does with its pixels - and how quickly and reliably it does it - which makes it so potentially attractive to working professionals. The D4 is built for speed and versatility. It might not offer the highest resolution on the market, but it is designed to deliver its 16MP images at a rate of 11 per second in all winds and weathers. 

A few days ago we took delivery of a factory-fresh production D4 in our Seattle offices and it's hardly been turned off since. We've already published a detailed overview of the D4, and we've also asked a group of professional photographers what they think, but in this article, I'll be explaining what the D4 is actually like to use, as we move forward towards a full, in-depth review. 

Full disclosure here, I use a D3S regularly, and outside of my day to day shooting for dpreview, much of my personal and professional photography over the past five years has been shot using either the D3 or D3S. Like all camera reviewers I swap between different systems constantly, but I happen to know the D3 and D3S very well.

The New York Dolls, 2009, taken on a Nikon D3S at ISO 8000 (processed Raw)  Denmark Hill, 2010, taken on a Nikon D3X at ISO 320 (Processed Raw) 
Biffy Clyro, 2010, taken on a Nikon D3S at ISO 6400 (Processed Raw)  Kentish Town, 2009, taken on a Nikon D3 at ISO 400 (Processed Raw)

That said, bear in mind that this article is not a review. That's in the pipeline. Also, I don't pretend to speak for all photographers, so if you think I've got something wrong, or I haven't mentioned something that you really like (or don't like) in this article feel free to leave a comment. You'll find four pages in this article, the first three comprise a quick overview of my early impressions of the camera, both good and bad, and page four is reserved for samples - studio, real-world and video clips. 

Overview

The D4 is a heavy, chunky camera, just like the D3S which it replaces. But whereas the D3S inherited the 2007-vintage D3 chassis, the D4 brings new ergonomics as well as an updated specification. Cosmetically, the D4 is curvier and more streamlined than its predecessors, and slightly lighter, too. The D4's battery is new, and is not compatible with the older type used in the D3 and D3S. The same applies to the D4's battery compartment door, which looks like it might be interchangeable with that from the older models, but is actually a slightly different size. 

Although most of its controls are in basically the same places compared to the D3 and D3S the D4 feels subtly different in use thanks in part to the redesigned hand grip and the steeper angle of the main shutter release.

Compared to the D3S, the D4 looks slightly different when viewed from the top. A red movie shooting button is an obvious addition to the right hand side of the top plate but in this view you can also see that the 3-position metering switch has been removed and metering mode added to the cluster of controls on the upper left. Changes have been made to the D4's rear controls and control layout as well - two new 'sub-selector' joysticks have been added for horizontal and vertical format shooting and a new live view switch (the same as that used on the recently announced D800) has been added below the LCD screen. 

Key Specifications:

  • 16.2 effective megapixel, full-frame sensor (16.6MP total)
  • 10fps shooting with AF and AE, 11fps with focus and exposure locked, 24fps 2.5MP grabs
  • 91,000 pixel sensor for metering, white balance, flash exposure, face detection and active d-lighting
  • ISO Range 100-12,800 (extendable from 50 – 204,800)
  • MultiCAM 3500FX Autofocus sensor works in lower light and with smaller apertures
  • Two sub-selector joystick/buttons for shooting orientation
  • 1080p30 HD video at up to 24Mbps with uncompressed video output
  • New EN-EL18 battery (21.6Wh capacity, CIPA-rated at 2600 shots)
  • Twin card slots - one Compact Flash and one XQD
298
I own it
249
I want it
22
I had it
Discuss in the forums
189
I own it
68
I want it
58
I had it
Discuss in the forums
Our favorite products. Free 2 day shipping.
Support this site, buy from dpreview GearShop.
Nikon D4

Comments

Total comments: 184
12
Reservoir_Dog
By Reservoir_Dog (3 months ago)

Preview march 2012, and still no review, this site is a joke! The D4S is announced, you are gonna preview that camera instead? And, also no review after that? Like i said before, this site is becoming a true joke! Rename the site to DPPreview!

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
the_adb
By the_adb (4 months ago)

First impressions: published Mar 7, 2012. Full-review: absent in December 2013. Is this a joke of some sort ? :P

0 upvotes
Chris Noble
By Chris Noble (4 months ago)

The article says that a full review is "in the pipeline". We'll eventually see how long the pipeline is.

1 upvote
TwoMetreBill
By TwoMetreBill (6 months ago)

See Thom Hogan's review at:
http://www.dslrbodies.com/cameras/current-nikon-dslr-reviews/nikon-d4-review.html

1 upvote
Kai Babick
By Kai Babick (8 months ago)

XQD Cards - What was Nikon thinking?

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Jamesbond6668
By Jamesbond6668 (6 months ago)

I feel that Sony must of made a deal with Nikon to have this exclusive XQD card slot. I see no other use for it other than I had to buy a separate (2 actually for 2 locations) card readers after I started using the card. I like the fact I can have two cards ready to go at the same time but that could have been done with simply another CF card slot.

0 upvotes
Philippe Manning
By Philippe Manning (10 months ago)

I think the team did not have the skills to set the record straight, no joke guys go and took effort. I will took me a night to settle a D4.

1 upvote
thomas2279f
By thomas2279f (11 months ago)

Agreewith tar4heel2 where's the reviews of these 2 pro camera Canon 1DX or the Nikon D4 ?

2 upvotes
tar4heel2
By tar4heel2 (Apr 20, 2013)

WHY have you not done full reviews of the Canon 1Dx or the Nikon D4???

6 upvotes
clicks1000
By clicks1000 (Apr 12, 2013)

The only reason I can see for not progressing to a full review is politics. Guess you don't want to offend Nikon, so better not to post a full review at all? With the D4 cost being what it is, and with the rapid pace of DSLR development being what it is, maybe it's better to get both a D800 and D600 and change them when the time is right? Either way, your private conclusions about the D4 seem to be unprintable....

0 upvotes
CamNoobie
By CamNoobie (Apr 9, 2013)

Canon 1DX vs Nikon D3S = Only a professtional web will do this review :)

0 upvotes
Jay Williams
By Jay Williams (Apr 4, 2013)

If you've decided not to do a full review of the D4 (despite promising it multiple times), fine. At least have the courtesy to say so and explain why.

4 upvotes
l_d_allan
By l_d_allan (Mar 26, 2013)

Just noticed that the NR specs for the D4 are available when doing comparisons between cameras. For example, when looking at the D800 review, I can compare with D4 (and other cameras). So some progress is happening. This is further along than the Canon 1dx, which isn't available for comparisons.

0 upvotes
macdane
By macdane (Mar 18, 2013)

Ha! Just noticed that the preview is more than a year old, with no actual review yet. Glad I didn't wait for a review before buying mine! Here, I'll save you the trouble:

The Nikon D4 does everything you'd expect from a $6000 workhorse, and it does so extremely competently and reliably. The fact that it's also a pure joy to handle is the icing on the cake. If you're even remotely considering a body in this league, just buy it and be happy.

No charge for that one, DPReview ;-)

2 upvotes
jadmaister2
By jadmaister2 (Feb 20, 2013)

ok let me guess....someone dropped it and broke it and Nikon have refused to lend you another?
or
You were testing it, but aunt celia sent you a nice cake, which is taking AGES to taste test properly
or
you forgot you'd not done it yet.
?
Hey but don't worry guys...delay another year and the D5 or D4s will be out, then it won't matter anyway.

6 upvotes
Lea5
By Lea5 (Feb 14, 2013)

Hey DPR, can we see a D4 review finally?

6 upvotes
Mapleleaf
By Mapleleaf (Jan 6, 2013)

What in the world is taking so long for the damn D4 review?!? Jeez...beyond ridiculous.

4 upvotes
Captain Tommy
By Captain Tommy (Dec 16, 2012)

I shoot some of the NFL games and the D4 is the best I have ever shot with!
The focus following is spectacular and FPS is what I need!
I also shoot some nature and use both the D800 and D4---for action shots like Orca/Humpbacks breaching you can't beat the D4--blazingly fast!! Resolution is fine for most publishing. If I am shooting for a very large format---then I use my D800--the resolution is second to none--a real game changer. Both are amazing cameras and most of my lenses are Nikon 2.8

2 upvotes
larrywilson
By larrywilson (Dec 5, 2012)

I'm too busy using my d4 for the last several months to read reviews. Dpreview seems stuck on the d800 and d600. All I can say is that the d4 meets my needs for a super high iso camera, excellant build, af excellant and frame rate fast amongst a lot of other improvements. It is a pity that dpreview has ignored the d4. Maybe because the d800 and d600 brings more hits on their forum?

2 upvotes
jadmaister2
By jadmaister2 (Nov 20, 2012)

PLEASE tell us why it takes all this time to review???
D600? Done
D 800? Done..........

1 upvote
AlexCHStudio
By AlexCHStudio (Nov 25, 2012)

Cause it is a top pro-grade camera and there is really nothing to say beyond that.

1 upvote
chasecindy
By chasecindy (Nov 5, 2012)

Waiting on full review. Please.

5 upvotes
thanasaki
By thanasaki (Oct 28, 2012)

Just wondering if the D4 ,Nikon's DSLR flagship does not deserve a full review after staying in "preview mode" for 7 months already.

7 upvotes
luka3rd
By luka3rd (Oct 23, 2012)

Focus mode switch and illuminated buttons are very good upgrade, love them.

1 upvote
luka3rd
By luka3rd (Oct 23, 2012)

Where is exposure lock from previous models? And metering switch was very useful, why remove it?
And, yes... DP is going south.
Leave all but cameras to other sites!!! Do what you did the best!
You are too much moving, changing officies, employers... do the JOB!

0 upvotes
Stepanfo
By Stepanfo (Oct 22, 2012)

....and 7 months later, where is the in depth review???

2 upvotes
Fella
By Fella (Sep 17, 2012)

....and 6 months later, where is the in depth review? It's very poor that it is taking so long to get the review done and online, especially since this is what this site is supposed to do, DP review??

7 upvotes
MPA1
By MPA1 (Aug 4, 2012)

I'm just testing one now after testing a D800E for a week. I normally shoot a combination of D3s bodies and D2Xs bodies.

I disliked the D800 for my work and ergonomically. The D4 is a much better (for me - YMMV!) designed camera and far better built.

I do find it very odd that the multi selector and sub selectors more or less do the same thing. That seems pretty pointless. Personally I prefer the sub selectors and would like to be able to disable the multi selector.

I think this is kind of my sweet spot in terms of resolution and as soon as funds permit (the body is nearly NZ$9,000 here) I will get one. A bit annoyed that I cannot share batteries though and will have to carry two types, plus 2 chargers = a PITA when travelling, especially internationally.

1 upvote
Greg Gebhardt
By Greg Gebhardt (Jul 19, 2012)

I have not found the D4 to be a "great leap" in technology over my D3x but it was still worth the purchase. The high ISO abilities and the D4's ability to focus in the dark with most lenses is still unrivaled on the market today.

This is a nice chunk of hardware!

1 upvote
OptimaMoving
By OptimaMoving (Jul 5, 2012)

good samples with good camera.

0 upvotes
mestreamador
By mestreamador (Jun 9, 2012)

Pela analise desta maquina D800/800E e destaque, a Nikon evoluiu muito não só 36mp, mas pelo equipamento em si.Só acho que a Nikon deveria soltar a D800, com obturador mais rapido tipo 1/16000 e não permanecer no 1/8000!!.
no mais é uma linda maquina que atende todos nós fotografos.Outra coisa que deveria ser melhor, um FPS ao redor de 9, e não 4fps!!!Aí sim valeria seu preço de $3000!. E quanto ao video, sem comentarios, otimo!!!!!.

0 upvotes
George A Fiad Sr
By George A Fiad Sr (9 months ago)

Con 36mp no es posible que la D800/D800E tenga UM FPS más alto. Recordemos que la máquina tiene que procesar estos 36mp en su computadora abordó y trasmitirlo a la tarjeta. Mientras más rápida la tarjeta mejor funciona, pero esta máquina no es para estar a más de 4fps, además, tiene un buffer enorme. Si no se logra la foto con 4,8 o 12 disparos, no es la cámara, es el fotógrafo que esta mal. Para mi la D800E en patrullar es una máquina que destaca a Nikon como un compañía de primera en la fabricación de cámaras profesionales de superior calidad e innovación sin igual. Cuando ponen una cámara nueva al mercado, generalmente es lo mejor de las máquinas del momento, y aún las máquinas viejas como la D2Xs, sigue produciendo resultados profesionales en excelencia. Bravo a Nikon por equipos de súper excelencia para el fotógrafo Professional, y de larga duración y vida.

0 upvotes
luka3rd
By luka3rd (May 24, 2012)

It is simply impossible not to mention missing LOCK button from the top left controls... but you did it! Congrats... Where is the lock now?

0 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Jun 15, 2012)

isn't that a bit offensive? your obviously blind because first, its on the photo,its mentioned in the text,and its on the same position ^^

2 upvotes
Aleo Veuliah
By Aleo Veuliah (Apr 22, 2012)

This one and the Nikon D800 are the best of the best, no matter what people say, this is the true, considering all aspects and the whole Nikon system

2 upvotes
jkokich
By jkokich (Apr 16, 2012)

I WANT ONE!

0 upvotes
ebishop
By ebishop (Mar 26, 2012)

Nice that the D4 shoots in the dark. But how well does it hold highlights?

0 upvotes
GordonAtWork
By GordonAtWork (Mar 18, 2012)

Isn't photography about the end result ? It's great having the newest, fastest, most hunky-doryest model around but I think most are being swept along with all the hype. Good that Nikon, Canon etc are pushing the technological barriers but the images are what count.
No good having a great camera but not having the talent to use it properly.

Comment edited 43 seconds after posting
8 upvotes
CELLINGTON
By CELLINGTON (Mar 19, 2012)

I think the manufacturers understand that. But that doesn't mean they should stop making technological advances. I see no harm in improving quality, speed and functionality in these machines so enhance the beautiful shots that good photographers take.

Your comment I believe is more a commentary for the purchasers of these cameras to realize they're just buying improved specs, not a new eye for creativity and skill.

Or else Nikon and Canon among others would be Photography Training companies. Schools, writers, tutorials and other photographers do that. Somebody has to advance the actual technology to show off what good photographers do and give them new and faster ways of practicing their craft.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
7 upvotes
Khizer
By Khizer (Mar 19, 2012)

This is the age of consumerism, and people have the right (and ability) to enjoy products they are not skilled enough to use expertly. Consider sports cars - how many people who own a Porsche are capable of driving this car up to its full potential? Skoal goes out to the novice who just likes to take snaps on 'auto' with a flagship DSLR :) What's wrong with that? Who are we to judge?

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
Oliver Foxley
By Oliver Foxley (Mar 26, 2012)

It is all about the end result at the end of the day. If you're a commercial photographer it is necessary to have the latest equipment if you want to be competitive. Or is it?!

Whilst these advancements in technology are incredible and cameras are becoming 'capable of anything' it is only ever the photographer that is actually capable of anything. This can be seen all over the web with many 'professional' photographers using top grade equipment and getting pretty average results.

I did an architectural commission a few years ago where there were two other photographers on site. One was using a Phase One large format system and the other a Hassy with similar setup. I was commissioned by another firm working on the project and fresh out of uni could only afford a Nikon D80 at the time. My pictures were published in an international architectural magazine and were the only pictures used exclusively by the other firms who'd commissioned the other photographers.

3 upvotes
vr6blue
By vr6blue (Mar 31, 2012)

If people stop buying then they stop producing new tech products

2 upvotes
Poss
By Poss (Apr 7, 2012)

The end result depends on (in order from the subject to the photographer) the light on the subject, the lens you're putting on, the camera you have and the little grey cells between one's ears.
None of those is more or less important in the process than the other.

Can I get good results (and a good laugh) using Instagram at a wedding? Sure I can. Will I use an iphone to shoot the entire wedding ? Ummm... no.

3 upvotes
Vinod EL
By Vinod EL (Apr 16, 2012)

I agree, but creating better cameras is probably an attempt to reach near eye effect. and most often people want to take night shots, which can only come with a good camera.

1 upvote
George A Fiad Sr
By George A Fiad Sr (9 months ago)

The discussion in dp is not about talented photographers, its about camera innovation, technological improvements and pushing the limits on new gear to new heights to allow the photographer to have a more responsive, agile and capable piece of hardware (camera) to better focus his/her time and attention on matters of composition, light, art and to free the professional from the tedious while providing the exacting tools that can keep up with the talented professional. Not everyone needs nor knows what to do with a D4, a D800E, or a D3X, D3S, D3, or even a D700 or D300 for that matter. A talented photog will produce breathtaking images with a D50, a D4 just makes life easier and more pleasant. If you can afford the D4, more power to you. Without buyers technology will cease evolving. A VW Jetta will get you from NYC to Miami, but a MB-S550 will be just that much more enjoyable while doing the very same thing in the hands of a capable, if not professional, driver.

Comment edited 12 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
newcameraguy2821
By newcameraguy2821 (Mar 18, 2012)

Here are some interesting videos about the D4 Camera:

Nikon D4 Hands-on Review
http://shrt.fm/wyj5fM

Nikon D4 unboxing
http://shrt.fm/FPMD8f

Nikon D4 Low Light Field Test
http://shrt.fm/FU56jy

0 upvotes
Tee1up
By Tee1up (Aug 7, 2012)

The First D4 link just seems to hang. "Video is now starting" message. Isn't.

0 upvotes
star shooter
By star shooter (Mar 18, 2012)

How about some ISO test shots under available light to show the camera's low-light potential. Would love to see some shots taken at night with no flash at ISO 204,000!!! and what can we expect when the D4s comes out?

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Fuji Fan
By Fuji Fan (Mar 16, 2012)

Hi
First impressions of my new D4 collected today which I reluctantly gave up my superb D3x for!!! Firstly this is fast and mean superb fast. Maybe I was spoilt because I went straight from D700 to the D3x which I found slow. But this is quick and each picture is perfect which I found unusual for me. Thing is, I didn't bargain on having to upgrade my Lightroom 3 for Lightroom 4? Currently using LR3 and it wouldn't accept the RAW file so of course carried out the update which was running v3.4, now running v3.6. No use won't accept D4 camera. Downloaded trial of LR4 and it works but not happy, further expense. Second gripe, battery. There nearly identical in shape and size but Nikon made it impossible to use D3x battery in D4? So further expense for second battery. SB910 works better with D4 than D3x. Will do more when I have really tried it but apart from expense which I feel unnecessary for extras, its the Bo..ocks

2 upvotes
neversink
By neversink (May 15, 2012)

Never give up anything reluctantly.
You spent $6000 plus to buy the D4 but didn't want to upgrade to Lightroom 4 for a few pennies in comparison? I don't get it. And you didn't think that you would need to buy backup batteries.
Part of owning a pro camera is understanding you have to pay $ for the extras. You have to do this for any camera. Sorry, but I have no sympathy. If you couldn't afford the upgrade and the extra batteries and the extra cards, why in the world did you buy the D4????

2 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Jun 15, 2012)

see?:) thats why you need more than a pro body to get nikon pro support ;)

if you still keep the d4 package to search for that tripod, i have shocking news : its not included ;)

0 upvotes
williejr
By williejr (Mar 15, 2012)

1DX will beat the D4 hands down in specs, picture quality and video once it is all said and done. D3S stills are better according to a lot of Nikon forums.

1 upvote
ovrebekk
By ovrebekk (Mar 20, 2012)

Sure ;)

1 upvote
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Jun 15, 2012)

so THATS what daydreaming is like .. i like it its funny hehe

0 upvotes
Fellowpedestrian
By Fellowpedestrian (Mar 14, 2012)

Does it make sense to have a $ 6000 stills camera that can make jittery movie and choppy clips? I 'd rather shoot video segments with a nice Panasonic, Sony or Canon pro video cams! Other than that, I'm a convinced Nikon shooter.

0 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Jun 15, 2012)

no, you don't have to shoot shakey amateur video with a 6000€ camera instead of using a slider a tripod or a flycam/steadycam like everyone else does, but you know theres always room for enhancement.
but if you want to, you could use your nikon glass on a decent nikon body to shoot video instead of buying plastic toys from companies that should stick to walkmans :)

you are ready to tape the record button with black duct and/or isolation tape and rip out the video related pages from the manual now.

0 upvotes
gordgal
By gordgal (Mar 14, 2012)

Thank you for your first impressions and sample gallery.

I printed two of the 12800 photos at 8X10 (after adjusting in Lightroom 4) and I am quite impressed by the detail and low noise.

Looking forward to the same preview of the D800.

Gordon

0 upvotes
lamosaurousrex
By lamosaurousrex (Mar 14, 2012)

1Dx or Nikon D4? ummmmm please....

1 upvote
Poss
By Poss (Apr 7, 2012)

Yes! :-)

0 upvotes
srados
By srados (Mar 13, 2012)

Why is that on these forums there is a LOT of people that complain and nit-pick about features like "how they will not buy camera because button does not exist". It reminds me about commercial when guy is sitting in formula 1 and obviously does not have money to purchase it, he was asking a sales person "does it comes in blue"??? It seems to me photographers are bunch of cry-babies that did forgot the fact that not so long ago we were shooting FILM and that was a challenge...especially changing roll in the middle of the shoot.No button to press...not to mention 5-10% of failed pictures for wedding for example.For the record I will continue to use my trusty Canon 20D...I like the new Nikon line!!!Especially 4D.If I could afford it to make money with it, I would buy it, no I am not asking does it come in blue... :-)

5 upvotes
srados
By srados (Mar 13, 2012)

to elaborate, we need to change, if you do not want to change stick to what you like.Your old camera...

0 upvotes
Poss
By Poss (Apr 7, 2012)

Somehow I never loved my old 20D...
Try a used but not abused old 5D... you'll see what I mean... :-)

0 upvotes
Florent Chev
By Florent Chev (Jun 1, 2012)

You better go Pentax if you want blue!
;-)

0 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Jun 15, 2012)

first of all, you have to put it this way : the more they buy, the more used ones appear on the used-market, secondly: the shorter the production cycle, the faster the price drops.

my second point is,there is no second point :)

0 upvotes
kayone
By kayone (Mar 12, 2012)

Anyone else wish they kept ISO and WB as buttons on the top upper left dial?

1 upvote
csdotam
By csdotam (Mar 14, 2012)

The ISO and WB buttons have never been on the top upper left dial — at least not on a flagship body (I don't think). They certainly weren't on the D3/s/x or the D2h/x/xs.

0 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Jun 15, 2012)

iso/wb is on d700, and i personally prefer the d3 layout, especially as they wasted one button for quality/size, i mean come on ^^

0 upvotes
munro harrap
By munro harrap (Mar 11, 2012)

It is not good having toggles that move around against your body, I am unhappy with that and the rearranged focussing options. I know I'll get them on a D800 as well, but something sticks in the craw- I want the options where my fingers wont alter them accidentally, and that arrangement at the front is a bad one- it has always been a bad one because if you hold the lens to zoom and / or focus with your left hand there is a constant risk of moving the lever. I would prefer it to be on the top of the camera, as with the mode dial on a D3.It can be done: just put more options on the dial, and have that same button to depress before you turn it. With the eye to the viewfinder and info on in the viewfinder you can do the entire operation with your left index finger, but you have to do it on purpose- it cannot be an accident.
I would move the lens release button to the top front under the prism, as you can release your lens while zooming or focussing STILL (Nikon F same)

0 upvotes
Keilidh
By Keilidh (Mar 10, 2012)

One camera to rule them all. Bye bye, Canon...

5 upvotes
David zzzzzzzzzz
By David zzzzzzzzzz (Mar 11, 2012)

For studio and landscape use this camera is not going to change anything. The majority of print add photos will continue to come from Canon and Hasselblad. This model changes nothing in the studio world.

1 upvote
kayone
By kayone (Mar 11, 2012)

Enough with the stupid brand wars already, I'm.a Nikon shooter and I think what you said sounds stupid, don't care about brand superiority, Individual cameras are all that matters

3 upvotes
Valentino Antonio
By Valentino Antonio (Mar 14, 2012)

*mock speech

blye blye can non one camwera 2 rule them all

*hand waving weakly

(trying not to barf!)

heee haaaw heee haaaw

I dond't know how much more of these moronic replies I can take. . . . buy a damn camera take photos and stfu about it already. With the 1Dx, for someone to say "bye bye Canon" due to the D4. . . . it shows people like this do not have ANY clue about photography. You are a company's best friend, eh! yeah! Let's rock! You probably still drive a 76 Pinto, and haven't even gotten past a point and shoot.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 9 minutes after posting
1 upvote
CameraLabTester
By CameraLabTester (Mar 9, 2012)

This sensor one-up manship between rival camera brands is getting out of hand...

"This shot was taken at the D4's maximum ISO sensitivity setting of 204,800 (equivalent) in light so low that I could barely see my subject (I certainly couldn't tell whether she was smiling or blinking, or what color her clothing was)."

It's getting to be a night vision thingy...

What next? XRay vision sensor?

.

4 upvotes
a44dn
By a44dn (Mar 9, 2012)

Hello Barney,
can one take pictures while recording a movie with the D4 ?

0 upvotes
jon404
By jon404 (Mar 9, 2012)

It takes good pictures.
But isn't a camera like this too complicated to use rapidly in the field?
So many buttons, joysticks, and menu options...

0 upvotes
Burbclaver
By Burbclaver (Mar 12, 2012)

By this logic, wouldn't a Kodak Instamatic be the way to go? I want everything to hand through a well thought out placement of controls, which is much faster than going to menus. Once you master your camera, changing settings is fast and easy. A must is being able to change the aperture and shutter speeds on different dials, which Nikon implemented on their higher cameras some time ago, but phased out on lower end cameras soon after the D70.

Comment edited 38 seconds after posting
1 upvote
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Jun 15, 2012)

why ? what makes a camera quick in the field is to be able to react to changes as quick as possible.

the point is that you don't have to use the menu BECAUSE of the buttons. its like an analog nikon plus some controls for some functions that are related to the digital process of taking the picture, you don't HAVE to use 30 buttons just because there are 30 buttons available :)

0 upvotes
eyepatchfilms
By eyepatchfilms (Mar 9, 2012)

In Live View, what is the "Max Continuous Burst" at 24fps? Is there anyway you can quickly test this?

0 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Jun 15, 2012)

and another question, in a car, what is the maximum speed at 40mph ?

0 upvotes
DanCart
By DanCart (Mar 9, 2012)

QUESTION for Barny : When using the D4 were you using the new XQD memory cards ? If so whats your impression on their performance?

0 upvotes
Barney Britton
By Barney Britton (Mar 9, 2012)

We have been using one for our studio testing but we haven't done any 'fast action' photography yet. That'll be in the review.

0 upvotes
Peter K Burian
By Peter K Burian (Mar 8, 2012)

I would love to know more about the new autofocus options, especially for sports photography. Guess that will be in the actual Review. (And it's strange to see the word focussed but WIKI says it is used in the UK and Canada. I am Canadian but have never seen it spelled focussed)

0 upvotes
Total comments: 184
12