Samsung NX20: First Impressions

Positioned here to the left of the new NX210, the NX20 is Samsung's flagship mirrorless camera, and like its predecessor the NX10 it features a DSLR-like form factor with an electronic viewfinder. 

On a recent trip to Samsung's Seoul headquarters I got the opportunity to use the new NX20, and get a feel for how it performs. I only had a short time with a pre-production camera, but overall, my impressions of its handling and performance are very positive. Certainly, anyone who has used and liked the NX20's predecessor, the NX10, will find little to complain about in the new model, and much that is very familiar. 

Where it sits in the lineup

The NX20 sits at the top of Samsung's totally refreshed NX lineup, above the NX210 and NX1000. All three are based around the same 20MP CMOS sensor and all offer eight frame-per-second continuous shooting and Wi-Fi-connectivity and control, but the NX20 includes a handful of feature unique within the range.

The NX210 doesn't include a viewfinder, nor is its OLED screen articulated - making it less expensive - but it steps forward from the NX200 by adding Wi-Fi, faster continuous shooting and the option to use a cable shutter release and proprietary external microphone. The NX1000 is less expensive still, and features a plastic body, VGA rear screen and retractable kit zoom. Here we'll mainly look at the features of the NX20 that it offers over these other cameras, since they are what makes it the range-topping model.

Articulated 'Clear' AMOLED display

Externally, the most obvious difference between the NX20 and its predecessor is an articulated rear screen. The 3" AMOLED display offers VGA-equivalent resolution in the now-familiar Samsung 'pentile' arrangement, giving a perceptual resolution higher than its relatively-low dot-count of 614k dots might suggest. It's the same underlying OLED panel that we've seen on all of the NX models so far, and as such it is contrasty and detailed, with a wide viewing angle. Articulation makes the screen that bit more usable, of course, especially when it comes to shooting video or stills from high and low angles.

In terms of handling, the NX20 improves on its predecessor by adding both articulation to the rear display screen, and a higher-resolution electronic viewfinder. 

The NX20's display itself might offer the same specification as the previous-generation NXs, but there is one significant design change - the air-gap between the display and protective covering has been eliminated by filling it with a UV-cured resin that reduces internal reflections to improve contrast and visibility in bright lighting conditions. Samsung claims that this 'Clear AMOLED' display offers a 20% improvement in contrast ratio and, although I wasn't able to test the NX20 alongside an NX10, it does seem to deliver a genuine benefit in terms of clarity, and I was impressed by how usable the screen is in direct sunlight. 

Aside from the articulated screen, the NX20 handles in a very similar way to the NX10. The main difference from more recent cameras like the NX100 and NX200 the provision of an electronic viewfinder, but the grip too has been changed - it is now more pronounced, making the NX20 a generally 'rounder' and more comfortable camera to hold. Where the NX200 looks sharp and stylish, the NX20 looks softer, curvier and more welcoming.

At the heart of the NX20 is a 20.3MP Samsung-made CMOS sensor - the same sensor as that used in the NX200 (and the other newly-released NXs). From the rear, you can see the NX20's 3in Clear AMOLED screen, which is articulated along its leftmost edge, and its SVGA electronic viewfinder.
From the top, the NX20 looks a lot like the original NX10, but there are are two significant additions to its exposure mode dial - 'Wi-Fi' and 'C', for accessing the camera's wireless functionality and custom shooting banks, respectively. As you can see from this image, despite the DSLR-style form factor, the NX20 is an impressively compact camera. 

The softer, more rounded design belies a serious feature set though - 8fps at full-resolution and an electronic first-curtain shutter allowing a maximum shutter speed of 1/8000 sec with reduced shutter lag (40 milliseconds) are both pretty impressive. These improvements will be welcomed by enthusiast photographers, as will a new 'Custom Mode' feature that allows you to save up to three shooting setups as custom shooting modes. These can then be recalled, either from the Smart Panel, or from a dedicated 'C' position on the exposure mode dial.

Custom shooting modes can be named using an on-screen text-entry dialog or if you're in a hurry, saved automatically by date. Existing features have been given a refresh too - we've been very impressed by the evolution of Samsung's 'iFn' on-lens function feature in the NX range, and iFn 2.0 adds even more options. It's great to see an electronic spirit level added to the NX20, too, which indicates roll and pitch.

All three of the new NX models feature an electronic spirit level which indicates up-down movement away from the parallel, and left/right tilt. 

The 100% coverage electronic viewfinder is the key differentiator between the NX20 and the NX210, and although I was using an early sample which I was told may not have been up to production quality, I enjoyed using the finder for image composition. The resolution of the NX20's EVF is SVGA (800 x 600 pixels, 1.44M dots), and in my experience remains pleasantly contrasty and detailed in all but the strongest side light (where like the NX10, the screen image is prone to 'flaring out').

The only serious annoyance that came out of my short time with the NX20 was related to the position of its direct movie recording button. I shot a lot of movie clips on the NX20 when I used it, but most of them were recorded accidentally thanks to the prominence of the movie record button on the upper right shoulder of the camera. 

The NX20's movie record button is positioned on the upper-right shoulder of the camera, in precisely the right (or rather wrong) position to be knocked accidentally by the thumb of the right hand.

On a few occasions during my time with the camera, even shifting my grip after lowering the NX20 from my eye was enough, I found, to accidentally bump this button, causing movie recording to initiate. 

Apart from this minor irritation though the NX20 is, like its predecessor, a pleasant camera to use, with an interesting and competitive feature set. The addition of Wi-Fi is of huge significance to Samsung as a step on the way to achieving its stated aim of creating a generation of 'connected cameras' and refinements like increased continuous shooting speed and display articulation add real benefit in day to day shooting.

I wasn't able to save (or even closely examine) images from the NX20 that I used in Korea, but there is nothing to suggest that image quality won't be broadly in line with our expectations based on experience with the NX200, which uses the same 20MP CMOS sensor. We should be receiving an NX20 shortly, and we will publish a more in-depth assessment and sample images as soon as possible.

46
I own it
10
I want it
3
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 83
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Dec 12, 2012)

$400 on ebay! :) I just ordered one. How could I pass that up?
(search for item number: 360531451513 - qty.99 units left)

same seller also has awesome deal on the D3200, F3, and others.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
2 upvotes
ttherese
By ttherese (6 months ago)

Hi, does this camera support geo-tagging?

0 upvotes
unknown member
By (unknown member) (4 months ago)

Either do i,i just bought a unit fr B&H photo

0 upvotes
ruairi110
By ruairi110 (Nov 26, 2012)

It looks like a Clash between a Sony and a Cannon

0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Nov 15, 2012)

For all of us waiting for a FULL REVIEW, but got tired of waiting:

http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/samsung_nx20_review/

Comment edited 7 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
Andy Middleditch
By Andy Middleditch (Oct 8, 2012)

Also would like to see a full NX20 review...

2 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Nov 15, 2012)

http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/samsung_nx20_review/

0 upvotes
Andy Middleditch
By Andy Middleditch (Nov 18, 2012)

I was thinking a dpreview, review.
.. :)

0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Dec 12, 2012)

@Andy: so was I! but dpr doesn't seem to want to do it.
I think the time window is closing on this, as the secret is getting out on the new 2013 models. Let us hope that they'll give Samsung some mindshare, and in a more timely manner, next time around.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 4 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Sep 26, 2012)

@DPR: if you changed your mind about the review, please, just say so.
The "appended" incomplete review of the NX210 was a half-hazard job. So please, don't rest on that one, as it refers back to much negative feedback on the nx200 and is inconvenient to weed through the old one that completes the incomplete one. Please, just give us a clean review. I hope the Sony advertising revenues don't stop you from doing that.

3 upvotes
StevenE
By StevenE (Aug 29, 2012)

Is there a review coming? The preview was more than 4 months ago.

2 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Nov 15, 2012)

http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/samsung_nx20_review/

1 upvote
pizzolog
By pizzolog (Jul 12, 2012)

Dear dpReview,
Does The Samsung NX20 compete and overall surpass the Sony NEX-7 camera system?
On paper at least, it seems The NX20 is quite the formidable competitor. It has a 20MP APS sensor, an attractive large 3 inch articulated EVF, compact mirrorless design, large feature set, and a larger native lens system arguable right now better then that of Sony’s.
The question remains, has Samsung overcome its ill-famed design flaws: slow processing time, slow low light AF time, and slow continuous AF, enough in The NX20 to make it a viable alternative to the Sony’s NEX-7? Thanks!

Comment edited 11 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Sep 26, 2012)

If you like the Nex7 format, go with the NX210. It costs a bit less than the NX20, has the same sensor and processor, and a great screen too. A friend of mine gave me a great suggestion: rent one for a day, before buying. Some of the better camera stores may offer that.

1 upvote
Vitruvius
By Vitruvius (Jun 11, 2012)

Tried this in the store this week. Camera seems awesome but the zoom on the lens was crap. So stiff and rough that you torque the entire camera when you start to zoom in or out. That won't work when you want to zoom in or out during video. And what of the lens choices? Not much if you still want IS during video. The camera is clearly far ahead of the lens department for this series.

0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Aug 9, 2012)

I'm curious as to whether this is a quality control problem... I have an NX1000 with the 20-50mm zoom and it is nice ans smooth. Same series of lenses. So they may be having a manufacturing consistency/tolerances problem. Wonder if this has been fixed?

0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Sep 26, 2012)

After using an NX1000, NX200, and several samsung lenses for a while, I'm thinking maybe the store model that you are referring to had a damaged lens - that had been dropped by a customer or something? Because although many lenses have a cheap plastic mount (it may be deliberate so it can break when dropped, to protect lens and camera - just wondering why they'd do that otherwise), the lenses work pretty good.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Nov 15, 2012)

(delete)

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 50 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
mhike
By mhike (May 29, 2012)

Has DPR found the same circular banding problem in the NX20 that users have reported on the Samsung forum to have found on the NX200?

0 upvotes
Krutet
By Krutet (Mar 29, 2013)

Yes it seems to have the same problem. I just realised it with my new camera NX20.

0 upvotes
Azbeen
By Azbeen (May 3, 2012)

Ooooo....just discovered there's a 12-24 WA zoom definitely on the way !!!

Now that's just what is wanted !!....equiv. to 18-36 on 35mm, that's
perfect for my style of landscape work..........

NX20 + 18-55 IS zoom + 12-24 WA zoom what a great outfit...if it's as
good as I hope it is, then that's for me !!!!

0 upvotes
Valentinian
By Valentinian (May 17, 2012)

Where did you find out about the WA lens ?
I went to the Samsung website, but wasn't able to find out what lenses are available for Samsung NX...

0 upvotes
Azbeen
By Azbeen (Apr 29, 2012)

Look forward to a full review !!.....this is a very tasty bit of kit !!

But Samsung really need to bring out a decent wide-angle zoom, say
10-20mm or similar for landscapes/interiors.....then it would be a viable
small, lightweight outfit, for carrying with a rucksack, for walking the
countryside !

Very, very, tempting !!!!!!!!!

2 upvotes
carlbertossi
By carlbertossi (Apr 28, 2012)

hmmm

0 upvotes
peevee1
By peevee1 (Apr 26, 2012)

Given the current price for Panasonic DMC-G3 ($618 with 14-42 lens), this should not cost more than $700 (for WiFi, although an EyeFi card solves this problem for Pana). But I bet Samsung will try to price it significantly more.

2 upvotes
Kuturgan
By Kuturgan (Apr 28, 2012)

First, NX20 DMC-G3 are not at the same league (APS-C vs MFT)
Second, NX20's price is MSRP, and it is not on the market yet.
Third, NX 20 has a WiFi direct system which is not the same thing as a simple WiFi feature provided by a EyeFi card. With Wifi direct you dont need a WiFi router.

2 upvotes
JacobGreen
By JacobGreen (Apr 25, 2012)

looks cool, but i wonder what is the price of it.

0 upvotes
Tom Caldwell
By Tom Caldwell (Apr 23, 2012)

Big red dedicated video buttons right under the thumb are a complete turn off for me and anyone else who doesn't do video. My NX10 is looking pretty good and now seems even better.

0 upvotes
dfigueire
By dfigueire (May 3, 2012)

Really, you don't do video, so you think the button is a turn off. Cause you are the only person on the planet, and everyone thinks just like you. Is there something of real value that you don't like. Say....Image Quality. Maybe the texture isn't right. Sheesh!

1 upvote
sensibill
By sensibill (May 16, 2012)

I don't have a problem with it. I might prefer it elsewhere since I don't do video either, but it's not a huge turn off.

0 upvotes
Jeffrey Behr
By Jeffrey Behr (Jul 27, 2012)

I've been using it for a couple weeks and never touch the video-record button. Maybe my thumb is in a place different than Mr. Britton's.

1 upvote
toomanycanons
By toomanycanons (Apr 22, 2012)

What I see is a camera in the shape of a DSLR. Good point #1.

Viewfinder. Good point #2.

Given those two points at a minimum makes me interested in this camera.

If I find out it's clean to ISO 1600, even better. I won't look at cameras without a viewfinder. I just like the feel and handling of a DSLR.

2 upvotes
pomroys
By pomroys (Apr 21, 2012)

given this is a nice step forward from the NX10, i actually have the NX11, I couldn't recommend these cameras high enough. Coming from a full size DLSR that would be left behind because its weight the NX11 is always with us. Additionally, the i-function makes it so easy to use and the camera exudes quality in every piece, no rubber door over the card or battery mount etc etc. Cant wait to have a try on the NX20 when it arrives, maybe check out the 18-200 lens for it also. Only downsides for me, low light performance seems a problem point for it and high speed shots. But small gripes overall in a great package

1 upvote
thepride
By thepride (Apr 21, 2012)

Right - a step ahead with respect to the predecessors, of course. And it's small enough! But - important for me - usability means too having more "dslr-like" controls left and right the LCD, and furthermore what's my beating argument against the cam: the LCD position outside the optical axis when swiveling it. I'm simply averse to that, as I rarely use the EVF, except in situations with bright sunlight, manual focusing, e.g. Here the brain profoundly "de-couples" hand and eye ... :). Concerning the image quality: let's wait for the full test and its results. A rank position around the Alpha NEX-5N would be great - but ... I'd like to see!

0 upvotes
ProfHankD
By ProfHankD (Apr 21, 2012)

This is in several ways a step ahead of Sony NEX, but still misses on a lot of the basics. Samsung's been learning a lot from Sony; let's see if Sony can learn a little from Samsung and start to support the "connected camera" concepts... at least allowing USB tethered control (like they should have all along!).

0 upvotes
Neodp
By Neodp (Apr 21, 2012)

Sony's not going to "allow" you spit, that they do not have to, or if they can get away, with locking you in to their crap.

No, I haven't failed to notice some good features, in Sony's bid to take over cameras, but I haven't missed the stupid mistakes, either.

No, I haven't forgot the "Sony Rootkit" (Just Google it) misdeed, and I, for one, would not buy Sony; even if they were head, and shoulders above the rest.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
3 upvotes
Opperdienaar
By Opperdienaar (Apr 22, 2012)

I wonder if there is a long delay with storing raw images like with the nx200

0 upvotes
Kuturgan
By Kuturgan (Apr 28, 2012)

No, you can check it on youtube, but you should know that it is only a Beta firmware.

0 upvotes
Kuturgan
By Kuturgan (Apr 19, 2012)

Yes, NX20 is definitely a big step ahead. I like all the features especially wifi, articulated screen, high res EVF. It does worth the money.

2 upvotes
Kiril Karaatanasov
By Kiril Karaatanasov (Apr 19, 2012)

Weird why did Samsung mess up so bad?

screen...they barely got to parity with nex-5 the gel technology has benn in nex for quite some time now

Outdated viewfinder 800x600 what is this? Are we living in 2006?

The nx200 sensor brought again..why?

...and to top it all built in eye-fi card....only 8fps?

These are examples of DOA release. Samsung should bring someone from their phone division to manage the camera business.....

1 upvote
Tonio Loewald
By Tonio Loewald (Apr 19, 2012)

Note that 800x600x3 = 1.44M "dots". Camera companies triple their pixel counts both for sensors and LCD panels, so it may simply be a case of Samsung being accidentally honest. 800x600 isn't great, but it's on par with the new OM-D-M5 and the Nikon V1 (but not as nice as the 2.4 million "dot" EVFs in the NEX-7 and A-77.

If Apple were a camera company, the new iPad would have a 9.4 million "dot" display.

Comment edited 55 seconds after posting
4 upvotes
Kuturgan
By Kuturgan (Apr 19, 2012)

I can't see why one can complain about nx200 sensor? It is just great, and even perfect for the money!
Before criticize smth or smb just try to understand, I mean wi-fi is an excellent and very useful feature.
Then you talk about 8 fps, is not enough for you? You must be very crazy photographer who needs rather a video camera than a photocamera.

5 upvotes
sensibill
By sensibill (Apr 20, 2012)

Another NEX fanboi slamming all that isn't Sony. Have you noticed the aspect ratio of the NEX screen isn't true to the aspect ratio of the camera sensor? So you're wasting screen space and getting a smaller equivalent image of your picture... And I'll take that NX200 sensor, no problem. Corrected for resolution I don't see how it gives up one iota of detail or IQ to the 16MP NEX 5N.

Focus peaking is no more effective than using the FA assist bar on the old NX series. I use the telltale 'shimmer' of in-focus elements without any bar or flashing contrasts at all. It's a much more accurate measure of focus with my NX100.

2 upvotes
viking79
By viking79 (Apr 21, 2012)

NX200 has an excellent sensor. Close enough to the Sony 16 MP or 24 MP that it is a non issue. Might not have quite the dynamic range of the Sony in RAW, but is close and much better than the old NX10/100 sensor.

The rear display is AMOLED, totally different technology than the NEX, and I actually prefer the AMOLED.

Many current cameras have a similar 800x600 viewfinder, Sony A57, A55, Panasonic, etc. Also, 800x600 is higher resolution than the rear display on all cameras, 921k displays are only 640x480x3.

Why in the world would 8 fps at 20 MP be a problem?

Also, the big problem with EyeFi cards is they aren't well integrated. I will take an integrated WiFi solution any day.

4 upvotes
Shahmatt
By Shahmatt (May 1, 2012)

That's right. There's no need to jump on this bandwagon when there are bigger ones to scramble on to.

Off you go! I hope the NEX lives up to all of your expectations. :)

1 upvote
JoeDaBassPlayer
By JoeDaBassPlayer (Apr 19, 2012)

Focus Peaking is an absolute necessity for a mirrorless camera. It is a crippled toy without it.

I just got my K 01 and can laugh at the reviewers that disliked it. It is a serious tool. Video rocks. IQ is about as good as it gets. Clean ISO 3200+ and one can focus accurately in very low light with focus peaking.

Once you actually use it, you can see why it is the way it is.

2 upvotes
viking79
By viking79 (Apr 19, 2012)

Only if using manual focus only lenses. The AF lenses on Samsung are all DMF, so you turn the focus ring and the camera instantly zooms in on the selected focus point so you can get critical focus.

Also, since there is a shimmer to the rear AMOLED display where it is critically focused, it acts just like focus peaking if you learn to watch for it.

The bottom line is the K-01 is going to appeal to different consumers than the NX20. BTW I wasn't bashing the K-01 styling in my earlier thread, just that it has a strong style that is very different than the classic styling of this camera or the simple styling in the NEX cameras.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 3 minutes after posting
5 upvotes
Barney Britton
By Barney Britton (Apr 19, 2012)

I asked Samsung about this and was told that focus peaking in NX is something that they're 'looking into' but I'm afraid I couldn't persuade anyone to be more specific.

4 upvotes
Gesture
By Gesture (Apr 19, 2012)

Yes. Even over focus peaking, I would like a greater magnified view, as Panasonic provides.

0 upvotes
sensibill
By sensibill (Apr 20, 2012)

Anyone who's used an NX (ie. not most vocal NEX fans) know you can use FA green meter bar or the 'shimmer' the AMOLED exhibits for in-focus areas. It's the most accurate focusing method I've used on any camera and there's no need for extra contrast flashing regions or other image-obstructing methods. On my 'lowly' NX100 I get razor sharp focus almost every time using legacy Konica adapted lenses.

0 upvotes
viking79
By viking79 (Apr 21, 2012)

Gesture, the newer Samsung NX200 (and presumably these new models) all have much higher magnification than the NX10/100 for focus assist. I believe it is 5x and 8x (which is plenty), where the old NX10/100 were only 2x.

0 upvotes
BungHole
By BungHole (Apr 27, 2012)

Must look like a 12 year old school girl carrying that ugly thing.

0 upvotes
Aleo Veuliah
By Aleo Veuliah (Apr 19, 2012)

Good design, similar to the Panasonic Lumix G cameras with built in EVF

Samsung does a lot better than Sony, it has good lenses

7 upvotes
Gesture
By Gesture (Apr 19, 2012)

Exactly.

0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Nov 15, 2012)

For all of us waiting for a FULL REVIEW, but got tired of waiting:

http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/samsung_nx20_review/

0 upvotes
Nicolas Isaksson
By Nicolas Isaksson (Apr 19, 2012)

I like the looks of it and size. It reminds me of my Oly E-600 which I think has the perfect size.

1 upvote
qwertyasdf
By qwertyasdf (Apr 19, 2012)

I want one, please give one to me :(

1 upvote
Andreas M
By Andreas M (Apr 19, 2012)

What's a "propitiatory external microphone?"

1 upvote
MichaelSpotts
By MichaelSpotts (Apr 19, 2012)

Think they meant "proprietary", unless this microphone appeases wrath.

5 upvotes
Barney Britton
By Barney Britton (Apr 19, 2012)

I don't think I saw anything about wrath in the press release... sorry about that, it's been fixed.

2 upvotes
Azfar
By Azfar (Apr 19, 2012)

Not much of a looker. Seems such an old design.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (Apr 19, 2012)

Because what a camera looks like is so important to function and capacities, NOT. The Leica M9 and the Nikon D4 also use an old design.

Those Sony Nex cameras sure are thin bodied, how'd that work out for lenses.

7 upvotes
viking79
By viking79 (Apr 19, 2012)

Camera looks are personal taste. I really like the full frontal on this camera with the swept grip and shape of the viewfinder hump/flash housing. It will look great with the 85mm f/1.4 and 60mm f/2.8 macro, and also the pancakes.

I also like the little brick NEX cameras, but they are not modern styled or anything, actually, they don't have much style at all, they are about the lens.

Then you can over do the styling a la Pentax K-01. Someone is going to like any of these cameras. The question is will enough people like it to make it sell? The only issue I see with the Samsung is they should have made an external viewfinder for the NX210 to appeal to those who want the VF but the sleeker design. I imagine they are saving features for their next releases though.

4 upvotes
Gesture
By Gesture (Apr 19, 2012)

What about manual focusing capabilities? And I would love to see multiple spot metering on the modern dSLR. My Olympus C-2040 has it!

2 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (Apr 19, 2012)

This is not a dslr.

Manual focus on the NX100 is very good, because Samsung did the control ring on the lenses really well. (So I'd imagine the NX20 will work with that very good system).

However no focus peaking like the Nex 5n etc, perhaps Samsung will surprise us with that feature on the NX20. Remember DPReview only handled this camera briefly in Korea some weeks ago.

0 upvotes
zkz5
By zkz5 (Apr 19, 2012)

Manual focus on the NX100 is very good? More like very bad. I own one. The problem is you can't zoom the display more than 2X while manually focusing.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (Apr 19, 2012)

zkz5:

Try the FA setting on the NX100; it's really helpful. Being able to zoom in is near useless with out high res screen. And maybe I was unclear when I said the focus rings are really well done on the Samsung lenses, but what that means is Samsung easily beats the Fuji X100 for manual focus control.

1 upvote
viking79
By viking79 (Apr 19, 2012)

NX200 already has more than 2x zoom, don't recall off hand but it is like 5x and 9x or something. The one improvement they need to make is so you can zoom for manual focus lenses in a point other than the center (you can zoom in at any point if using DMF).

1 upvote
The Scurvy Dog of PR
By The Scurvy Dog of PR (Apr 19, 2012)

I, for one, would like to see the kind of spot meter used in the old OM-3 and OM-4 where I could take several readings myself and let the camera do the averaging for me. Bias it the way I want.

1 upvote
Gesture
By Gesture (Apr 19, 2012)

Agreed.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (Apr 19, 2012)

Has Samsung announced a suggested retail price in any currency?

Does this announcement portend the release in quantity of the 85mm F/1.4 lens?

Is Samsung going to allow body only purchases or force a body and lens purchase the way Samsung did with the NX200?

Given that this is the same sensor as the NX200: Has Samsung fixed the slow buffer problems from the NX200?

0 upvotes
ThePhilips
By ThePhilips (Apr 19, 2012)

> "The NX20's movie record button is positioned on the upper-right shoulder of the camera, in precisely the right (or rather wrong) position to be knocked accidentally by the thumb of the right hand."

Can one reprogram the button to do something else? or do nothing at all?

> "which uses the same 20MP CMOS sensor"

Recent FW update introduced 12bit RAW files. Would be interesting if you would take time to compare to the 14bit RAWs.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
viking79
By viking79 (Apr 19, 2012)

The camera had always used 12 bit RAW files (there are numerous proofs on this, showing values between 0-4095 even with "14" bit in EXIF, specifications indicated 12 bit).

The only issue with the new FW is it breaks support with some RAW converting applications. It works fine with NX200 and Lightroom 4. Otherwise expect to see a 25% reduction in file sizes.

0 upvotes
Nikonworks
By Nikonworks (Apr 19, 2012)

Error on the NX20 specs.

Your NX20 spec line 'Articulating LCD' reads "Fixed', it should read 'Yes'

0 upvotes
jj74e
By jj74e (Apr 19, 2012)

Thank god they took the opportunity with the NX210 to add compressed RAWs and mic jack, not just a simple WI-Fi update.

I'm surprised the NX1000 is up to specification aside from the screen and body material quality- I would've expected Samsung to skimp out on the sensor like Panasonic does with its GF line.

The NX20 seems very interesting, but I'm still not sure if it's enough; however, there's yet to be detailed information so of course, holding back on judgment.

I was a bit disappointed Samsung didn't learn from the Sony NEX7 in the placement of the video record button- no one wants a record button right where your thumb would lie. They should have placed it over where the old Menu button used to be, or even added a second button on the front to accommodate it.

4 upvotes
Brond1
By Brond1 (Apr 19, 2012)

Barney, have you looked through the NX10s viewfinder.. Would you be able to give a sense of how much an improvement the NX20's viewfinder is? Image size/resolution. Was the rear thumbwheel clicky or smooth on rotation? Another thing many will want to know is have samsung increased the image magnification for manual focus. A popular bugbear!

many thanks

1 upvote
viking79
By viking79 (Apr 19, 2012)

Image magnification had already been increased for NX200.

1 upvote
increments
By increments (Apr 19, 2012)

Thanks for the preview.

just spotted this:

"The main difference from more recent cameras like the NX100 and NX200 the provision of an optical viewfinder"

you mean electronic, right?

BTW in typical Samsung fashion, these still haven't made it onto the UK site!

0 upvotes
AMomcil
By AMomcil (Apr 19, 2012)

If only that movie record button could be reconfigured as e.g. AF button, that would've been so great..

0 upvotes
Najinsky
By Najinsky (Apr 19, 2012)

Did you get a chance to tell if the buffering and/or write time issues are resolved or improved?

As a raw shooter, it's the most serious flaw of the NX200 in my eyes, and one that puts me right off the camera.

I've previously shot with cameras with poor/slow buffering and writes, and while I was initially patient, it began to get very annoying as one misses more and more moments.

The GF3 implementation is exemplary and the best I've seen in a small camera (accepted it has fewer megapixels to process).

-Najinsky

6 upvotes
Andy Crowe
By Andy Crowe (Apr 19, 2012)

Panasonic's buffer implementation still has room for improvement, even with the GX1 you have to wait for the buffer to empty before previewing the last image, where on my ancient Canon S3IS it would preview the last image taken even while it was still writing to the card.

Still it's amazing how many cameras still get such a basic (software) feature completely wrong and lock up while writing.

1 upvote
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Nov 15, 2012)

For all of us waiting for a FULL REVIEW, but got tired of waiting:

http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/samsung_nx20_review/

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
AmirhosainD90
By AmirhosainD90 (Mar 13, 2013)

Another good review:
http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/samsung-nx20/samsung-nx20A.HTM

0 upvotes
Total comments: 83