Camera roundups 2013: What to buy and why

The holidays are a great time to take pictures — and they're a great time to get a camera for yourself or for a loved one. The latest cameras represent a big step forwards, compared with what was available just a couple of years ago - both in terms of features and image quality.

With more than 50 cameras going through the hands of the DPReview team over the year, we've seen it all (or so we think). Based on our collective knowledge we hope this guide will help you make an informed decision on which camera will fit your needs. 

For each of the categories above we've distilled our knowledge and experience about each camera, and stated what we liked and didn't like for many cameras released this year. You'll also find links to our test scenes to do image quality comparisons, and real-world galleries to give you a sense of how it performs outside the lab.

We'll publish one camera category at a time. Check in over the coming days to see our recommendations in each category. Don't forget to let us know what you ended up buying. 


Comments

Total comments: 269
12
Horsefeathers
By Horsefeathers (4 months ago)

I have the Panasonic brand to be reliable and have never needed any service of any sort. I have owned two Panasonic and FZ30 and an Fz150 and the FZ 30 is still taking good pictures. It hasn't missed a beat.
RJB

2 upvotes
BIJ001
By BIJ001 (1 month ago)

> I have the Panasonic brand to be reliable and have never needed any service of any sort.

I have an NV-GX7 video camera since 2002. It once needed service: its still picture taking ability was gone.

0 upvotes
wburychka
By wburychka (4 months ago)

I have the actual Nikon that the Df is imitating. Don't need another heavy DSLR. I won't buy anything made under the Panasonic name ever again. Panasonic refined bad service in the last decade. I like Olympus; had one of their original half-frame 35's. I don't know if that company can survive, though. Canon continues to lead the end of the pack. 5D3...really?

For my money, the most important new camera is actually new--the Sony A7R. FF, 36MP, no AA filter, no clunky mirror. Yes it has issues--typical Sony menus, awful battery life, and Sony lens mount (boy wouldn't it be wonderful for us, if there were a universal lens mount?), and some kind of funky internal RAW processing. It is close to what a digital camera is supposed to be. Now, all that needs to happen is losing the mechanical shutter. I'm tempted, even though I have lots tied up in Canon lenses.

Metabones, can you please work on your QC?

0 upvotes
Empies
By Empies (4 months ago)

For me the best camera is Canon 70D. 20 MP, not very expensive, a magnificent quality. A sliding screen allows to shoot from any position. Rather fast processing of the picture. A worthy camera for any photographer!
That I can still add: there are no bad cameras, there are bad photographers! And, if someone says that You have a bad camera, lets will show his photos...

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 7 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
adventurer69
By adventurer69 (4 months ago)

I would go for the EOS-M , got me an SX50 , a T3i and I still get fantastic images with my SD880 IS .

1 upvote
KAMSA
By KAMSA (4 months ago)

Still happy with my bridge cam KMDiA200 now on WiFi good for many years to come !!!

0 upvotes
sono1mito
By sono1mito (4 months ago)

mah,affermare che le ultime telecamere rappresentano un" grande passo avanti rispetto a 2 anni fa" mi sembra esagerato,certo qualche dettaglio è stato migliorato ma non tanto.Ognuno di noi penso che anche con una camera "vecchia" scatta ottime foto senza inseguire le ultime novità.
Ciao

2 upvotes
D1N0
By D1N0 (4 months ago)

Ik denk niet dat hier veel mensen Italiaans verstaan knakker.

9 upvotes
Cameracist
By Cameracist (4 months ago)

Nerozumím vám ani jednomu.

1 upvote
Petrogel
By Petrogel (4 months ago)

Ο Ιταλός έχει δίκιο, εκτός από την συνδεσιμότητα τα νέα μοντέλα δεν έχουν να επιδείξουν τίποτα το αξιόλογο.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (4 months ago)

We didn't literally mean 2 when we said 'couple' but rather: more than one, less than several.

Mirrorless cameras, in particular, have improved significantly in the past two to three years and the arrival of the RX100, within the last two years, represents a significant change in the enthusiast compact class.

2 upvotes
CWDaly
By CWDaly (4 months ago)

Hahaha. Ja ik denk dat ze ook niet Nederlands verstaan. Hahaha!

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (4 months ago)

Μαλλον έχεις δίκιο, η RX100 ανέβασε πάρα πολύ τον πήχη στις κόμπακτ φωτογραφικές μηχανές.

0 upvotes
BIJ001
By BIJ001 (4 months ago)

> Ja ik denk dat ze ook niet Nederlands verstaan.

Well, on the basis of German it is not impossible to understand some Dutch, so this much can be fairly understood by (the relatively numerous) German speakers too.

Anyway, the remark was a good way to hint that it is not very wise to publish in Italian in an English language international forum.

Akkor miért ne rögtön magyarul - azt az olasznál is kevesebben értik meg ;-)

Comment edited 55 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
JF69
By JF69 (4 months ago)

D1N0 concerned about his "knakker" vs. that of Italians despite having an Italian username……you could also use Mr. Butler's hint & respond to what he said; Petrogel actually responded to the comment (viva Google Translate!)

0 upvotes
sbansban
By sbansban (5 months ago)

I was so happy to see the Ricoh GR included among the best compact cameras for travel but was surprised to find its close twin Nikon Coolpix A missing - especially when it has by far the best sensor AND lens rating from DXOMark among all cameras anywhere close to its size. Some other great travel cameras that came to my mind were the Canon G1 X, Fujifilm F900EXR (why is the F900EXR never mentioned in the same breath as the other 20X+ pocketable compacts like ZS30/TZ40, SX280, HX20V/HX50V et al?), LX7, maybe even LF1 - all of which are still very much available for purchase. And since the Canon SX280 now has a documented battery issue that Canon has failed to resolve with their latest firmware upgrades, wouldn't its predecessor - the SX260 be a wiser choice?

1 upvote
photo perzon
By photo perzon (5 months ago)

The Coolpix A is the most hated best camera out there. Perhaps its price. The Ricoh GR is revered, the A is ridiculed. I do not understand it.

4 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (5 months ago)

When they showed sample test images from the A and the GR, it was obvious the GR hadfar better sharpness and contrast - it was day and night. I'm not sure who is right and who is wrong here... sometimes test results are absurd and out of touch with reality - not sure why. And we don't really know which of the two are wrong here, which you can rely on. I might vote against DPR's rest results, because some of their test results with Samsung cameras were a dismal failure and not consistent with other sites' results.

3 upvotes
AbrasiveReducer
By AbrasiveReducer (5 months ago)

Being as generous as possible, the Coolpix A is the Ricoh for an extra $200. Other than the $200, the only differences between the Ricoh GR and the Coolpix A are that the Ricoh has sharper corners (forget DxO nonsense; see for yourself) and a much nicer interface.

Oops. Just checked, and the Coolpix A is $300 more than the Ricoh. But it does say "Nikon"....

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 6 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
marike6
By marike6 (5 months ago)

> When they showed sample test images from the A and the GR, it was obvious the GR hadfar better sharpness and contrast - it was day and night.

I don't know what you were seeing, but there was very little difference in sharpness and contrast between the Coolpix A and Ricoh GR. That said the Coolpix A had richer colors, better high ISO performance shown in the DxOMark test.

And the DPR samples from the Coolpix A look brighter with better colors.

http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/reviewsamples/photos/2522122/r0150287?inalbum=ricoh-gr-review-samples

http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/reviewsamples/photos/2495680/dsc_0064?inalbum=nikon-coolpix-a-review-samples

0 upvotes
Shamael
By Shamael (5 months ago)

The IQ of Nikon X it's fantasy pricing, is what kills that company, it will break down sooner or later. The recent shown DF flop is another example of this suicidary policy. All started when Nikon became high nosed with D3X, then D4. You have actually the choice between cheapie clones based on the same sensor, where the low and mid range have no internal focusing motor and wheretop model has one, but has none of what makes the mid range interesting. So, all in all half done work on both sides. Then, you get too expensive models like A, V1 and V2 series that are fairly overpriced and where you find better deals in other brands. If Nikon thinks that repolishing the same cameras eternally and overpricing their gear will make their success, they will soon learn another side of the tracks. Maybe with some reosewood grips and gold plated shells, but, I doubt it. Another Hahaha company tries this without success and becomes the joke of the year on public market. So, Nikon, change or die?

0 upvotes
marike6
By marike6 (4 months ago)

> The recent shown DF flop is another example of this suicidary policy

A "Df flop" is in your head only. The Df is going to be one of the best selling Nikons of all time, and it is getting great reviews left and right. See this one from professional photographer Sam Hurd:

http://www.samhurdphotography.com/2013/gear-reviews/nikon-df-dslr-retro-styled-camera-real-world-review-compared-to-nikon-d4

Great looking images, build quality, nice VF, and as you can see in the video comparison with the D4 at link, the Df shutter is whisper quiet shutter, probably the quietest FF shutter on the market (note, it makes the A7 shutter sound like a car door slamming). :-)

Nikon has some of the most competitively priced cameras on the market (see D800 vs 5D III pricing, D610, D7100). I get that it's more fun to make stuff up about flops and high prices, but if you want people to take you seriously, you might at least be factually accurate.

3 upvotes
probert500
By probert500 (4 months ago)

I think they both use the same sony sensor. I'd buy a sony and a really good lens.

0 upvotes
abluesky
By abluesky (4 months ago)

Via DxO:

"The Nikon Coolpix A is the current king of the APS-C sensor high-end compact cameras, so to see the Ricoh GR come so close in the overall score shows just how well it is performing. In fact, the difference of 2 DxOMark points is not discernible in final images so these two can be said to have essentially the same image quality. In the portrait tests for color depth, the Ricoh outscores the Coolpix A, but as with the overall scores, the difference is so minimal as to be invisible in the real world. The pattern continues in the landscape tests for dynamic range, though the Coolpix A technically comes out on top, mostly because at ISO 100, it is 1/3rd of a stop better than the Ricoh. It’s the sports test for ISO performance that sees the Coolpix A just pip the GR to the higher overall score, managing just a little less than a 1/3rd of a stop better, with 1164 ISO to the 972 ISO of the GR."

0 upvotes
abluesky
By abluesky (4 months ago)

Via DxO:

""One point difference in the DxOMark scores between the GR lens and 18.5mm f/2.8 Nikkor lens on the Coolpix A means they are in are in fact very evenly matched. The lens and sensor configuration is similarly efficient resulting in the same excellent 13P-Mpix sharpness score, and they both share consistent edge-to-edge sharpness, however, the main difference between the two is in their vignetting.
In the extreme corners the Ricoh is brighter, approximately 1 EV at full aperture dropping to +2/3EV from f/4 through to f/16. In today’s digital world, however, vignetting isn’t as much as a problem as it was in the days of film."

0 upvotes
abluesky
By abluesky (4 months ago)

So, even though the A has the best sensor AND lens rating from DXO Mark among all cameras anywhere close to its size, it is so close to the GR as to be indistinguishable, according to DxO. While the A may be the best, its just not the best enough.

Ultimately, the differences come down to haptics, ergonomics, UI, and additional feature differences between the two cameras.

I have a GR and I would love to try an A BTW.

0 upvotes
sbansban
By sbansban (5 months ago)

I wanted to throw in my two cents under "DPReview Recommends: Best Compact Cameras for Travel" but that article is missing the comments section. Could someone at DPR please fix this glitch?

1 upvote
Barney Britton
By Barney Britton (5 months ago)

Those articles are meant to be constantly updated, as new models are released and assessed, so we're not enabling comments (since they'd go out of date so quickly). You can leave feedback though using the link at the bottom of every page - including this one.

2 upvotes
ageha
By ageha (4 months ago)

Nice! That tells a lot..

1 upvote
Treeshade
By Treeshade (5 months ago)

So, DPR reviewed super-zooms and pocket-zooms in form of "Best Compact Cameras for Travel" guide. Nicely done.

One minor problem: "Stylus 1 -> also consider -> PowerShot SX50 HS", then "Lumix DMC-FZ200 -> also consider -> Coolpix P520".

Shouldn't the alternative suggestion be FZ200 -> SX50, super-zoom to super-zoom?

0 upvotes
peevee1
By peevee1 (5 months ago)

P520 is also a superzoom (bridge format). Of course neither P520 nor SX50 are good alternatives for FZ200, and even less so for Stylus 1. Nikon P7800 is an alternative for Stylus 1.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Zvonimir Tosic
By Zvonimir Tosic (5 months ago)

About travel cameras ...
To me, a trusty D3 with 24-70, 70-200, and a flashgun is an ideal travel camera. Any discerning photographer takes only the favourite camera on a travel: all bookings, reservations, coaches, tickets and dinners are for “me and my beloved camera”. When kids, pets, family and all unnecessary cases are all left at home, one travels quite compact indeed.

5 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (5 months ago)

D700 + 70-200/2.8 = smallest configuration.

1 upvote
Miwok
By Miwok (5 months ago)

You're right if you're looking for shooting postcards. Personally, when I travel, I like to shot local people and living around, so my Nex-3 with kit lens18-50, 16 pancake and 50mm 1.7 fit me perfectly. Fit better in my backpack, too. :)

4 upvotes
JPnyc
By JPnyc (5 months ago)

oh, thank you DPR, we hear so much nowadays about what to buy and where to get it, but we never hear anything about how and where to RECYCLE all these old, obsolete cameras which we all have accumulated in our buying frenzies over the years ...
can we donate them to the red cross? the salvation army? i mean, maybe poor folks like to take pictures too, sometimes … ? why not look into that for a change, just saying …

and come to think of it, … DESIGNED OBSOLESCENCE … huh, a dirty word - but what an article that would make ...

4 upvotes
Paul Guba
By Paul Guba (5 months ago)

Buy, buy, buy. In case you didn't know what the focus is at dpreview.com

7 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (5 months ago)

This tends to be the busiest buying period - people will buy regardless of what we do.

We're not telling you where to buy anything, we're just trying to offer some advice - something we're regularly criticised for not doing.

20 upvotes
RichRMA
By RichRMA (5 months ago)

"Getting the Most out of your Ancient Gear." Some might read that article. But using a really out of date camera is like someone using a $40 lens on a $2000 body, or someone driving a rusting old Lincoln from 1985, which kind of says, "I used to have money, now I just look stupid."

1 upvote
BNapa
By BNapa (5 months ago)

R Butler,

I feel for you guys. You are in a no win situation. As much as I disagree with some of your best camera choices, I perfectly understand your point. Dpreview has also spread the wealth. So no one can fault you guys for favoring one particular manufacturer.

3 upvotes
Lukino
By Lukino (5 months ago)

This is a REVIEW site, of course the focus is on new stuff you can buy, what is the point of looking for review of things you already have?

5 upvotes
patricktdv
By patricktdv (5 months ago)

Basically, if you can't make great photographs with any of these cameras, is is not the fault of the camera. There are, however, certain advantages to the Pentax K3, which I find compelling:
* it just feels great in your hand - elegant and ergonomic
* the lenses, particularly the limiteds, are rugged and indisputably top-of-the-line
* the K3 body may be slightly heavier than some, but remember, is it waterproof (well, protected) and rugged; furthermore, the compact and lighter lenses compensate for the body
* the lenses tend to be much smaller than those of other makers, so if a light and unobtrusive package is of value to you, advantage Pentax
* the weatherproofing is superb, and note that many of the lenses are equally weatherproof
There is likely no reason to switch to a Pentax if you are happy with what you already have. But if you are starting out or are simply fed up with the huge, bulky DSLRs with gigantic lenses, I would highly recommend a Pentax K3.

5 upvotes
Bruce Edwards
By Bruce Edwards (5 months ago)

LOVE these new buying guides, and the format guys - keep it up! Finally, some clarity in your editorial picks. The format helps a lot with this, FWIW.

8 upvotes
photo nuts
By photo nuts (5 months ago)

There seems to be a massive push by DPReview to promote mirrorless cameras. Just saying. :)

5 upvotes
reginalddwight
By reginalddwight (5 months ago)

I would not lay blame on DPR but rather the MFT fanboys who are pushing for the premature demise of DSLRs.

Where I do quibble with DPR is their seemingly incessant showcasing of the Lumia 1020 that is downright cringe-worthy.

4 upvotes
mister_roboto
By mister_roboto (5 months ago)

"I would not lay blame on DPR but rather the MFT fanboys who are pushing for the premature demise of DSLRs."

Get a grip- it's just words.

1 upvote
yabokkie
By yabokkie (5 months ago)

m4/3" systems have been improved a lot recently, quite like APS-C SLRs a decade ago.

3 upvotes
SkiHound
By SkiHound (5 months ago)

My old eyes see the IQ of current Nikon APS-C sensors as class leading. But they also see the current sensors used by Olympus as better than any current Cannon APS-C camera. All of these cameras can make stunning images. Current m43 cameras would kill any 2004 APS-C camera, and probably any 2004 FF camera in terms of what folks mean by IQ.

0 upvotes
xrokx
By xrokx (5 months ago)

@SkiHound ... wow is that true?

0 upvotes
SkiHound
By SkiHound (5 months ago)

well there's lots of subjectivity. That's what I see when I really try to compare. But I tire of the "almost as good as APS- C was a decade ago" kind of response. The technical IQ of all these cameras is amazing. Mostly, real image quality is far more limited by operator skills. And I know that's true about my photography.

0 upvotes
BNapa
By BNapa (5 months ago)

I am going to pay close attention to 4/3 cameras at next year's WPPI in Vegas. Thus far I have not even given them a glance. If DPreview's samples and test charts are any indication, these babies are becoming serious contenders in a much more compact form factor. Just my two cents.

1 upvote
rpm40
By rpm40 (5 months ago)

@xrokx, I think everything SkiHound said is pretty accurate.

0 upvotes
Jogger
By Jogger (5 months ago)

Why is DPR recycling the comment thread from the other round-ups.. its a bit confusing to have different "news" items with the same comment thread.

Same thing with recycling threads when reviews finally arrive and you think "oh, there are 1500 comments since the review was released 10 min ago".

Comment edited 28 seconds after posting
6 upvotes
D1N0
By D1N0 (5 months ago)

this is the assembled topic of all round-ups. The ones you want are just one click away.

2 upvotes
Scott Everett
By Scott Everett (5 months ago)

We agree with you, this comment structure is not ideal, and a technical roadblock we're going to address. THanks for the feedback!

3 upvotes
Lukas Ildza
By Lukas Ildza (5 months ago)

great! thanks for these articles. I can get rid of all friends asking what should they buy all the time :D

3 upvotes
eastvillager
By eastvillager (5 months ago)

Where's the GM1? Am I missing something?

0 upvotes
stevens37y
By stevens37y (5 months ago)

Why do you need a category to buy something?

5 upvotes
Andy Westlake
By Andy Westlake (5 months ago)

The GM1 is an entry-level mirrorless camera, so will be covered in the upcoming 'Entry-level mirrorless cameras' roundup.

5 upvotes
Gesture
By Gesture (5 months ago)

For a beginner, I'd buy an Olympus E-PL1 with kit lens, still available for about $250. One of the best values in photography.

4 upvotes
tkbslc
By tkbslc (5 months ago)

Canon EOS-M is only a tiny bit more expensive and trounces it in image quality. New Olympus (Sony-based) sensors can meet or beat Canon, but their older sensors were 1-2 stops behind.

1 upvote
yabokkie
By yabokkie (5 months ago)

I think E-PM2 is quite good.

Canon sensors are about 0.5 stops less sensitive than best ones from Sony or Nikon. but EF-M 22mm f/2 is a really good and handy lens (all of EF-M lenses are of high quality, all = 3).

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
AbrasiveReducer
By AbrasiveReducer (5 months ago)

Usually, I would say image quality trumps the other stuff. Although the EOS-M is a great deal in terms of money for image qaulity, the fun doesn't start until after you take the photos. It's a classic qualtiy vs. convenience dilemma. I don't mind the speed of the EOS-M and love the results but if someone has no idea what to get, I'd say the Olympus.

0 upvotes
quiquae
By quiquae (5 months ago)

EOS M is the last thing you want to give to beginners--the UI design doesn't exactly encourage beginners to learn all the settings (unlike the Rebel lines), and the slow AF can be so frustrating to use that it might turn him off from photography for good. It's a good camera if you understand exactly what the bargain is, but that means you are no longer a beginner, right?

0 upvotes
rpm40
By rpm40 (5 months ago)

As an e-pl1 owner, its served me well but I'd never recommend someone to buy it new today. Speed and IQ have improved so much in m4/3 over the past couple of years. You can get the e-pm2 for around $400. If price is a real issue I'd go for the GX1, which is still an upgrade for not much more.

2 upvotes
mpgxsvcd
By mpgxsvcd (5 months ago)

I agree with every recommendation they gave.

2 upvotes
nawknai
By nawknai (5 months ago)

Me too.

I was a little bit confused about the camera categories, but some cameras are difficult to categorise without placing them in two groups.

Comment edited 36 seconds after posting
1 upvote
TacticDesigns
By TacticDesigns (5 months ago)

One thing I noticed is that the waterproof / tough cameras aren't here . . .

Although it's not summer . . . the other wet season is quickly approaching . . . the season of frozen water (a.k.a. winter) with skiing, tobagganing . . . etc. Conditions that just beg for a tough camera . . .

Just had someone ask me what point-and-shoot to get at about $100 . . . They already have a dSLR so . . . I tossed in the idea of getting a waterproof / tough camera . . .

0 upvotes
stevens37y
By stevens37y (5 months ago)

It's summer in Australia.

3 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (5 months ago)

it's not winter season but whaling season.

0 upvotes
TacticDesigns
By TacticDesigns (5 months ago)

@stevens37y -- exactly! Endless Summer! Or as Warren Miller would say . . . Endless Winter! It's always wet somewhere . . . everywhere . . . the perfect conditions for a tough camera! <grin>

1 upvote
Steve_
By Steve_ (5 months ago)

...

0 upvotes
AshMills
By AshMills (5 months ago)

Cor. anyone would think this site was owned by a major online retailer. Not that content has been changed recently in the runup to christmas....

2 upvotes
Barney Britton
By Barney Britton (5 months ago)

I assume you're joking, but just in case you're not, we have run roundup content at various points in the year, for several years. This is the season when a lot of people are shopping for cameras, and part of our remit is to offer advice and recommendations. Same as it ever was...

17 upvotes
photog4u
By photog4u (5 months ago)

Yeah to infer that this site would ever attempt to do something so obviously self serving is preposterous...shame on you Ashmills! :)

2 upvotes
Gesture
By Gesture (5 months ago)

No issue with links to retail. Before DPReview became Amazon owned and so commercial, I clicked away on retail links to support the site. Still do.

BUT. You post a guide with dozens of attractive links to GearShop or Amazon. Just say what it is.

1 upvote
nawknai
By nawknai (5 months ago)

If the advice and reviews were being steered by guys in suits who didn't give a poo about objectivity, then I'd agree.

However, I don't because the quality of the content hasn't decreased in the 10 years I've visited this site, even after Amazon bought it and Phil left. If they link to a place you can buy the camera, then by all means go ahead.

Amazon paid good money for this website. They may as well monetize it somehow.

4 upvotes
Seagull TLR
By Seagull TLR (5 months ago)

If one wants "commercial" free reviews, go reads Consumer Reports. : D

0 upvotes
idnab
By idnab (5 months ago)

Nikon P330 - "F1.8-5.9 lens" ?

What is actually indicated on the ring at the base of lens is "1:1.8-5.6", not a major difference, but what is stated here by DPR should be consistent with the product spec.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 5 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Richard Shih
By Richard Shih (5 months ago)

Fixed the typo. Thanks.

1 upvote
ybizzle
By ybizzle (5 months ago)

Picked up a Fuji XF-1 for $250 in brown. Looks great and as an added bonus, you can have fun with people when you ask them to try and figure out how to power it on! Quite the attention getter at a party!

0 upvotes
tkbslc
By tkbslc (5 months ago)

Amazon has Black and Red ones for $199. Great option for the money.

1 upvote
ybizzle
By ybizzle (5 months ago)

I bought mine a few months back but at $199 you can't beat it! Anyone looking for a solid all around pocket cam should not pass this up!

1 upvote
Optimal Prime
By Optimal Prime (5 months ago)

Sounds like you attend wild parties...

4 upvotes
idnab
By idnab (5 months ago)

Nikon P330 - "lack of a quick function menu" ?

Must be an oversight by DPR writers -
there is a programmable Fn button, on front face of the camera, which allows quick access to 10 variable parameters.

0 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (5 months ago)

The Fn button allows access to one of ten settings (with the option to re-configure it fairly easily, I understand), but that's not as straightforward as providing all the key options and letting you change them on a single display.

It's not a major negative, but it's not as slick as it could (should?) be.

3 upvotes
Gesture
By Gesture (5 months ago)

Please do the same thing this spring summer for Mother's Day and Father's Day.

1 upvote
kadardr
By kadardr (5 months ago)

I buy second hand...

5 upvotes
Don Kiyoti
By Don Kiyoti (5 months ago)

Sucks to be you.

1 upvote
polkatronixx
By polkatronixx (5 months ago)

I'm a bit confused. I just checked the retail prices and the Sony RX-100 seems to go for about £50 less than the Canon S120 (both at online retailers and Amazon). One of the pluses listed for the Canon was that it was much cheaper than the Sony.

That said, the newer version of the RX-100 is much pricier.

0 upvotes
Stollen1234
By Stollen1234 (5 months ago)

i just bought Leica D-Lux 6 it comes with lightroom 5 download its similar to Panasonic LX7

great pocketable camera with a lot of features and a fast lens

Comment edited 15 seconds after posting
1 upvote
tkbslc
By tkbslc (5 months ago)

I don't think most people would consider these to be "pocketable" cameras. They are heavy and quite thick as the lens sticks out from the body. Having owned an LX5 and an S95, there is no comparison for pocket friendliness.

3 upvotes
photog4u
By photog4u (5 months ago)

The Ricoh GR belonged in the Leave the DSLR category. Egregious oversight but not at all surprising...

3 upvotes
christiangrunercom
By christiangrunercom (5 months ago)

Why is the Ricoh GR left out ? It would have nuked all the others...

4 upvotes
Andy Westlake
By Andy Westlake (5 months ago)

This is a roundup of pocketable cameras with smaller sensors and zoom lenses. The GR sits in a different category - it has a fixed 28mm-equiv lens, APS-C sensor, and it's much more expensive.

1 upvote
matty_boy
By matty_boy (5 months ago)

Is there a plan to cover this niche ? its one i am more interested in than any other - candidate camera list:

Coolpix A
Sigma DP Merrill (DP1, DP2, DP3)
Ricoh GR
Fuji X100s
Sony RX1 (might leave the others out of their depth)
Leica X2

surely this is easily enough for a round up?

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
Andy Westlake
By Andy Westlake (5 months ago)

We've reviewed most of those cameras in detail. The only ones missing are the Sigma DP Merrills (which we struggle to recommend for most users, as they're highly reliant on Sigma Photo Pro for Raw conversion, which can produce great output but is painfully slow and clunky), and the Leica X2, which is pretty much eclipsed by the X100S.

If you're buying in this class, I'd say the choice looks pretty simple. Pick whether you want a 35mm-equiv or 28mm-equiv lens. If 28mm, buy the GR, unless you have Nikon accessories which you can (and will) use with the Coolpix A. If 35mm, buy the X100S, unless you have a really good reason to pick the RX1.

Comment edited 18 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
Heie2
By Heie2 (5 months ago)

Is this not the 'High End Pocketable Compact Camera" list?

I'm confounded...

2 upvotes
Gesture
By Gesture (5 months ago)

"Sigma Photo Pro for Raw conversion, which can produce great output but is painfully slow and clunky"

It's a wonderful program. The only thing I found to handle highlights and shadows better is PhotoNinja.

1 upvote
ET2
By ET2 (5 months ago)

How would Ricoh GR nuke all others?

It has larger sensor, yes, but the lens is one stop less bright. RX100 at 28mm is F1.8. GR is F2.8.

GR does not have image stabilization (not even optical one).

No zoom of course.
No 1080 60p video
More expensive.

RX100 beats it, hands down

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (5 months ago)

ET2 - RX100 got f/1.8 at only one focal length and much smaller sensor offering worse IQ, worse high ISO performance, worse dynamic range, etc. etc.
GR nukes it easily (only real downside of this camera is it's focal length - I would much rather have something with 35 or 50mm equivalent at this price point).

0 upvotes
ET2
By ET2 (5 months ago)

Plastek, GR ONLY has one focal length. 28mm. Nothing else. At 28mm RX100 is F1.8 and GR is F2.8.

That's exactly one stop more light on RX100, diminishing the larger sensor advantage for GR.

GR does not have image stabilization. A user can take better lowlight shots on RX100 as they can use slower shutter speeds handheld with IS combined with faster lens.

The FPS is slower on GR.
Video is much inferior.
GR is more expensive.
AF is slower on GR.

Most importantly, unlike RX100, GR does NOT have Zoom !!!!

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 9 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
AbrasiveReducer
By AbrasiveReducer (5 months ago)

Any comparison of these cameras is flawed because, not only do they have fixed focal length lenses, they have different focal lengths.

For example, the Ricoh is the best 28mm wide angle compact camera you can buy. But the Fuji is the best 35mm slightly wide angle camera. There are pictures you can take with the Ricoh that you cannot take with the Fuji--and you can shoot portraits (more or less) with the Fuji but you can't really with the Ricoh because it's too wide.

1 upvote
christiangrunercom
By christiangrunercom (5 months ago)

Hmm have you compared actual output from the rx-100 (mkI or II) and compared it to the GR ? I have, the GR files are dslr-like in quality. I'd say none of the compacts comes near it (except for the rx1)

Comment edited 54 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Tapani Tarvainen
By Tapani Tarvainen (5 months ago)

Incidentally, I chose the GR over X100S not because of the focal length difference but because the GR fits in my pants pocket and the X100S does not. I think DPR seems a bit too obsessed with focal length and zoom as camera selection criteria.

1 upvote
yabokkie
By yabokkie (5 months ago)

the stacked Foveon sensor is a very interesting design. however it's a bad design in every aspect and performs worse in every aspect than Bayer sensors.

0 upvotes
Shamael
By Shamael (4 months ago)

yabokkie, we can read that you never had one. For those who shoot in base ISO, Foveon is the most fantastic sensor ever made. No Bayer sensor can match it's image quality and color fidelity. The only fact that is disturbing is the one that the 3 layer sensor it is not higher ISO sensitive and, like Andy Westlake wrote, the horrible soft for conversion. The fact that Sigma does not share the algorythm with other RAW conversion sotware companies makes the camera non of interest for many of us. The same counts for Fuji X sensors, most companies have cracked the code in their way, and the best to do it is Capture One, to my opinion.

0 upvotes
vphphoto
By vphphoto (5 months ago)

W H E R E I S T H E I N C R E D I B L E R I C O H G R ? ? ? ? ?

4 upvotes
D1N0
By D1N0 (5 months ago)

In the missing category "So you think you are street photographer?" Along with the Coolpix A and the X100s.

2 upvotes
bcc1955
By bcc1955 (5 months ago)

My favorite is left out, Ricoh GR, why??

9 upvotes
zodiacfml
By zodiacfml (5 months ago)

agreed.

1 upvote
RichRMA
By RichRMA (5 months ago)

The Ricoh GR is kind of like a Sigma, without the resolution.

2 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (5 months ago)

Only more portable, with better sensor, and better UI? Oh, and RAW files which can be processed by normal software, not that "thing" Sigma gives to you as a substitute of real digital darkroom.

2 upvotes
bcc1955
By bcc1955 (5 months ago)

Insane to leave Ricoh GR out of mix. For $750 you get the best IQ/portability ratio of any camera on these lists.

1 upvote
kpaddler
By kpaddler (5 months ago)

This site have become like reviews of car magazines. Every car gets thumbs up, and a "good buy". Yet, a year later you hear the car they raved about catches fire while on family vacation, or the front wheel comes off on the freeway while doing 80 click. Just minor inconveniences....

There is exactly 3 weak points and 3 good points in each camera. That is a good review, that is, if you want to sell anything that your dad carries in his store.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
11 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (5 months ago)

Most cameras are extremely good - so it's not surprising we're not particularly scathing about any of them.

However, we are recommending the ones we think are best and it should be clear which are the very best, which are simply good and which are the weakest.

11 upvotes
KenRomie
By KenRomie (5 months ago)

I think 'you' do a fine job of reporting cameras and it is the buyer that needs to be informed. And as a general statement of my interest level, I think all cameras are capable of a great image. It is simply the person behind it, their sensitivity to the subject, and if they have no understanding of photographic principles, their luck to be in the right space at the right time. Everyone has access to a camera now. There are many more pictures. And it is difficult to be unique in such a large crowd. That is more important even than which camera you take the image with.

3 upvotes
Gesture
By Gesture (5 months ago)

I don't mind that the site is a buying guide. But it is strange to me that expensive investments make GearShop recommended before they are even into production or have had any reasonable user experience. I may have misunderstood how the GearSHop was envisioned.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
rfsIII
By rfsIII (5 months ago)

DPR is perfect for what it is....The one thing that you guys should consider adding is a way for users to share their reliability experience—maybe via a Survey Monkey-like section on the site where people can choose a camera they own add the length of ownership and click check boxes corresponding to various camera/lens problems and the cost of repair or success with warranty service. For instance, the D200 I bought six years ago based on the DPReview is still going strong....

Comment edited 50 seconds after posting
1 upvote
AbrasiveReducer
By AbrasiveReducer (5 months ago)

Sure, it's a buying guide but DPR is free. Popular Photo is nothing but a buying guide and they expect you to pay for the privilege of being advertised to. If you subscribe, but feel you haven't paid enough to receive advertisements, they'll sell you a "buying guide". Imagine if you went to a car dealer and the salesman said "Would you like a brochure on the 2014 models? It's just $15."

1 upvote
yabokkie
By yabokkie (5 months ago)

> it's a buying guide but DPR is free.

definitely some one will have to pay for it.

0 upvotes
mcshan
By mcshan (5 months ago)

@rfsIII, Your suggestion is a good one BUT the problem is historically DPR know it alls just can't help themselves and insist on "reviewing" cameras they have never touched. The old DPR 5 star system was hilarious. An announced camera that wasn't even out would have 8 reviews by posters who had never even seen one. Some people just can't help themselves.

2 upvotes
BNapa
By BNapa (5 months ago)

Thank god cameras don't catch fire! Or do they?

That is the way technology goes. Saab made superior cars. Where are they now.

0 upvotes
Markol
By Markol (5 months ago)

So buying guides instead of reviews til Christmas, then the holidays, then some trade fair....any review to come in the next 3 months?

3 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (5 months ago)

Buying guides for about two weeks building up to the period where we're always criticised for not offering advice (The US Thanksgiving holiday).

Then straight back onto reviews, with the hope of publishing at least one review before Christmas.

8 upvotes
J One
By J One (5 months ago)

Some people are so ungreateful. Go create something yourself. Or accept what you get (for free) and find a positive in that.

0 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (5 months ago)

all the work for the shopping season should have been done by now and DPReviewers should have plenty of time in December.

from users' point of view, high on the best-buy list should be those from the last season and early this year. like Canon 610F, Fuji XF1, Sony RX100, Oly E-PM2, Canon 700D, Nikon D7100, ... they are still top performers at reasonable prices.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 5 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Optimal Prime
By Optimal Prime (5 months ago)

What?! No Casio? How can it be?!

0 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (5 months ago)

The EX-10 would be in here if it had been released in time for us to have used one.

It looks very promising and, when we get one and have had a little time to use it, we'll add it.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
5 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (5 months ago)

I cannot see why EX-10 should be in the candidate list. better have a look at similar cameras that DPReview mentioned in the news and some better ones at much lower prices (like Fuji XF1 for 200 US).

0 upvotes
Shamael
By Shamael (4 months ago)

"when we get one and have had a little time to use it". For all of us the day has 24 hours, so why do you can't find time for a test.
Hope you are not constipated by not finding time for the most important job in your life. But, you can test your camera there to, a toilet paper roll is also a huge subject and full of details, hahaha.

0 upvotes
AbrasiveReducer
By AbrasiveReducer (5 months ago)

Great choices here. The problem for the photo biz is not a lack of innovation but rather that digital cameras have gotten so good, people have no reason to get a new one. For most users, we have arrived at reasonably priced, foolproof auto everything cameras. Point 'em at a good subject and bingo.

2 upvotes
stevens37y
By stevens37y (5 months ago)

There are too many manufacturer. In the next 5 years 50% of them will disappear.

Comment edited 14 seconds after posting
3 upvotes
dccdp
By dccdp (5 months ago)

@stevens37y: There are never too many manufacturers. Competition is essential, although some still delude themselves with older, simpler models that claim a couple of players is enough. Easy choice doesn't mean better choice.

1 upvote
BNapa
By BNapa (5 months ago)

I do think we will see consolidations. The market is over saturated and new cameras are coming at us at mile-a-minute. How many cameras can one buy at a time. I feel for a newbie who has to sift through the maze to decide on which camera to buy.

As a whole all of these cameras can deliver more than acceptable results. I guess it comes down to whose advertising message is more convincing. Curious to see who will survive.

0 upvotes
carrigman
By carrigman (5 months ago)

"For anyone simply looking for the best image quality from a compact, the RX100 II is the answer." You can stop reading after that. IQ is what it's all about and the RX100 (versions 1 and 11) delivers that in spades. I have the original RX100 and I am constantly amazed at the quality it delivers.

Comment edited 24 seconds after posting
4 upvotes
wetsleet
By wetsleet (5 months ago)

I would not disagree with you. But I would add that for myself the most important thing is fluidity of use and reactivity/accuracy of focusing. IQ still needs to be decent, but the things I photograph move, and A1 IQ but out of focus, or the moment missed, is no good.

3 upvotes
inorogNL
By inorogNL (5 months ago)

why would anyone get rx100 and not Gm1 from panasonic ?

0 upvotes
LarryLatchkey
By LarryLatchkey (5 months ago)

Since when is image quality all that it's about?! You rather have a high res. getty images studio shot at your wall than a Marianne Breslauer or a Munkacsi, right?!

3 upvotes
backayonder
By backayonder (5 months ago)

I am always looking for a camera that gives the best image and has a viewfinder

3 upvotes
Joseph Mama
By Joseph Mama (5 months ago)

It is all about varying tradeoffs in Zoom, Price, Image quality, size, and various features.

RX100 is great not because of best image quality (RX1 or at least Ricoh BR would win) in a compact, but because it does so at a fairly reasonable price, with good supporting features like video quality, some zoom, good lens, all in a very compact body.

Some might prefer that Stylus 1 or whatever with its 300mm zoom range @2.8 aperture, despite its weaker overall image quality and less portability.

2 upvotes
aerorail
By aerorail (5 months ago)

why not gm1 instead of rx100 m2? size mostly....and when i had lx3/lx5. panny would upgrade the model and the accessories don't fit from the previous model. never again...

1 upvote
inorogNL
By inorogNL (5 months ago)

size? if you want larger camera? gm1 is smaller than this sony
http://www.dpreview.com/previews/panasonic-lumix-dmc-gm1/4

0 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (5 months ago)

norogNL - the real question is other way around: Why would anyone get GM1 and not rx100 from Sony?

ps. smaller with zoom lens that starts at f/1.8? I didn't think so.

Comment edited 58 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
JordanAT
By JordanAT (5 months ago)

It's all about prestige. If it doesn't come with a colored mark or genuine wood grip, I'm not interested.

;-)

0 upvotes
nawknai
By nawknai (5 months ago)

@inorogNL

In a way, you're right. Personally, I'd rather have the GM1 than the RX100, but if you buy a GM1 and NEVER intend on buying an additional lens, then the RX100 is also a great choice. I'd choose the GM1 only because I can build on the m4/3 "system". If I had no intention to, I would probably go with the RX100-II.

The RX100's lens starts at f/1.8, which would be quite useful in low-light shooting conditions. The m4/3 cameras have a larger sensor, but at the widest angle, you could be shooting at f/1.8 and ISO 1600 while a m4/3 camera would be shooting at f/3.5 and ISO 6400 for the same shutter speed. Meh.
The image quality in good light seems great for both cameras.

0 upvotes
vapentaxuser
By vapentaxuser (5 months ago)

Except that it feels like you're taking photos with a bar of soap. Sony needs to work on the ergonomics aspect of the camera.

0 upvotes
jkoch2
By jkoch2 (5 months ago)

Many great cameras appeared in 2013. Too bad camera sales have languished. Sad to say, most holiday pictures will be taken with phones. The Kodak era of "Open Me First" is gone. The only positive spin I can think of is ... maybe discount prices soon.

0 upvotes
tkbslc
By tkbslc (5 months ago)

The Kodak "open me first" cameras were usually junk anyway. It's not like people were getting SLR with a bounce flash in their stocking. Cell phone pictures will match all the crappy, dark, grainy christmas morning photos we got from cheap "real" cameras.

6 upvotes
HSway
By HSway (5 months ago)

All the picks earned their place deservedly imo and pleasure to read a matured assessment in a bit broader perspective. What fantastic cameras and lenses 2013 has brought.. As to Dpreview awards, otherwise photographers’ subjective rating; it'd have downgraded the reviews for me personally if they were missing. no matter my own sentiments.

Comment edited 16 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
horushin
By horushin (5 months ago)

Best for selfies? Sony nex 3n.......it has a selfie screen to turn over so you can see yourself before taking pictures....

0 upvotes
stevens37y
By stevens37y (5 months ago)

Need a 7th category: Best Selfie

0 upvotes
ryansholl
By ryansholl (5 months ago)

8th category:

Most obtrusive camera for food shots at fine dining establishments

0 upvotes
qwertyasdf
By qwertyasdf (5 months ago)

DPR, go with the times!
I just need to know which camera is best for selfies period

9 upvotes
onlooker
By onlooker (5 months ago)

That cracked me up. ;)

3 upvotes
miiicho
By miiicho (5 months ago)

The question is: which camera comes first with duck-face detection for selfies :D

4 upvotes
birdbrain
By birdbrain (5 months ago)

When I heard the word selfie it contoured up a completely different meaning and I can't get that out of my mind. So when I hear someone say "they want a camera to do a selfie". I am initially first perplexed, then shocked, then I realise they mean taking a self portrait. :)

5 upvotes
qwertyasdf
By qwertyasdf (5 months ago)

birdbrain,

There's nothing to be ashamed of doing selfies ;P

3 upvotes
Resom
By Resom (5 months ago)

trust me - iPhone5s with Duck Face app!

1 upvote
Jeff Keller
By Jeff Keller (5 months ago)

Don't worry, we'll get to the selfie cameras shortly :)

1 upvote
AbrasiveReducer
By AbrasiveReducer (5 months ago)

If you're planning a career in politics you'll need a camera that's good for "selfies".

1 upvote
mcshan
By mcshan (5 months ago)

The "best selfie" camera should come with instructions for females on how to best take a photo with a facial expression as if you had just peed your pants and were sitting in it. I would guess it is 95% a female thing. Duck face is being way too kind.

1 upvote
srados
By srados (5 months ago)

People, shoot some pictures...stop arguing about "categories" who give a damn?There are more important things in life...

3 upvotes
onlooker
By onlooker (5 months ago)

And yet you felt compelled to post.

5 upvotes
tkbslc
By tkbslc (5 months ago)

People that have more important things to do with their life aren't visiting this site and and commenting on articles.

3 upvotes
mcshan
By mcshan (5 months ago)

This may come as a complete surprise and shock but this is a photography and gear site where posts about cameras and subjects like "categories" are discussed.

1 upvote
IEBA1
By IEBA1 (5 months ago)

Pocket superzoom indeed.

Something with 10x + and stellar image quality.
Fast shutter and multiple FPS.
Great JPEG right in camera, without having to resort to a RAW workaround/workflow just for some great shots of the weekend trip to the zoo with the kids.

0 upvotes
white shadow
By white shadow (5 months ago)

The cheapest, most compact and capable 10X zoom with a fast shutter which can shoot up to 2.5 fps is the Canon IXUS 255 HS.

Will definitely give great JPEG right in camera without having to resort to a RAW workaround/workflow. Will provide some great shots of the weekend trip to the zoo with the kids.

Somehow, this camera is missing in the line-up.

Will it be in the high-end pocketable compact camera category?

Comment edited 8 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
tkbslc
By tkbslc (5 months ago)

I've got the American version of that camera (ELPH 330 HS) and it's really, really impressed me.

However, it doesn't have any manual control, or RAW, and the lens is painfully slow at f3-6.9. These things automatically kill it from contention as "high end".

For the vast majority of happy-snappers, I'd recommend it in a heartbeat. It even sends photos right to the web or you can pass them through your phone to upload to instagram, etc. Great camera.

1 upvote
white shadow
By white shadow (5 months ago)

@ tkbsic

It does not matter whether this camera is classified "high end" or not. What is strange is such an excellent point and shoot camera is missing in the line-up.

Eventhough mirrorless cameras are gaining popularity a lot recently, there are still a vast majority of snapshooter who would not want to use a phone but to use a camera like the Canon IXUS 255 HS (ELPH 330 HS) to shoot. A proper P&S camera with about 10X zoom is very versatile and useful compared to a phone. Besides, this camera is not expensive. Nevermind it does not have manual control, cannot shoot RAW and have a rather slow lens. Ultimately, it deliver most of the photos one want to shoot casually efficiently.

I almost missed out on this camera until recently. It is good I found this gem. I am not new to photography. In fact, I have been shooting for almost 40 years. Most of the time, I shoot with my Canon 5D Mk2 with my Zeiss and "L" lenses and my Lumix GF1. I also use a Canon G12 for casual photography.

1 upvote
contadorfan
By contadorfan (5 months ago)

I have the ELPH 110 HS, an earlier version. I like it enormously, though I have to be careful in low light and use all my photographer's tricks. There is an ELPH/IXUS fan base over at Flickr who get amazing photos out of these great little cams.

0 upvotes
white shadow
By white shadow (5 months ago)

@ contadorfan

Good that you have found that out too.

Never underestimate the capability of a good P&S camera. Use properly, it still has its place in a photographer's pocket. Anytime, it is better than a phone.

However, there are too many bad ones to confuse the average potential owner.

0 upvotes
sbansban
By sbansban (5 months ago)

How about two more categories/roundups - 1) pocket superzoom (Sony HX50V, Panasonic ZS30/35/20, Canon SX280/SX260, Fujifilm F900EXR/F770EXR, maybe even Canon SX160/SX170) and 2) bridge cameras/bridge superzooms (Canon SX50 HS, Panasonic FZ200 and FZ70, Nikon P520/P510, Sony HX300, Fujifilm HS50EXR, SL1000 and X-S1)?

1 upvote
Gesture
By Gesture (5 months ago)

Good roundup but I consider those high-level expensive cameras.

2 upvotes
onlooker
By onlooker (5 months ago)

dual12 wrote:
"A gold award means nothing."

Barney Britton responded:
"@ dual12 - really?"

I also agree with dual12. Barney, DPR produces great reviews with a lot of data points. One needs to read them carefully and make up his mind based on how the camera fits his needs. I remember long time ago Olympus 3040Z did not get "Highly Recommended" (equivalent of "Gold" back in those days). Yet, based on the info in the review I bought it, and it was the best compact I ever had, period - for me.

7 upvotes
DPReview Staff
By DPReview Staff (5 months ago)

A Gold award means the reviewer liked it as much as you liked your 3040Z. It allows us a separate assessment of the camera that doesn't rely so much on raw data. Why? Because sometimes a camera is more than the sum of its parts. If it's a joy to use, that's good to be able to express, and sometimes more important than its raw dynamic range, for example.

16 upvotes
Shomari
By Shomari (5 months ago)

Yes, sum of all parts, I can say that about my Fuji X-S1

0 upvotes
Naveed Akhtar
By Naveed Akhtar (5 months ago)

Also its a good catalogue for entry level photographers who know very little about current offerings .. to see what's available in their domain. and then go and read the full review to make their mind. I may disagree with a model or two in a list, but generally very happy seeing these small reads!!

0 upvotes
AbrasiveReducer
By AbrasiveReducer (5 months ago)

It sounds like the gold award means the camera is more fun to use which is fine but it's like giving an Olympic champion a gold medal for being the most popular.

Still, if gold means the camera is fun, it's nice to know that most cameras are a lot of fun.

1 upvote
Plastek
By Plastek (5 months ago)

Shawn Barnett - So: Reviewer that shoots Canon will never give gold award to Nikon, and reviewer that shoots Nikon will never give gold to Canon?

Well, that explains a lot in some of the gold awards you gave / didn't give.

1 upvote
Vinc T
By Vinc T (5 months ago)

@Plastek, so a Honda driver/owner will never give a gold award to a Porsche? LOL!

1 upvote
Resom
By Resom (5 months ago)

@Shawn - "A Gold award means the reviewer liked it as much as you liked your 3040Z"

If this is so, it would be better to calls this "Editors choice" and not "Gold/Silver/Whatever >>>DPREVIEW<<< Award".

I guess a conclusion is enough. Skip this award thing.
On the other side, the manufacturer loving awards and thats the point to offer this "award" thingamabob.

1 upvote
DPReview Staff
By DPReview Staff (5 months ago)

Plastek, that's not what I said. As a reviewer over these past 15 plus years, I've given plenty of awards to cameras I don't own and wouldn't own, and thumbs down on brands I do. We review cameras on their merits. My body of work speaks for itself. The constant accusations that we're biased simply aren't backed up by the facts that are freely available to anyone who can google.

6 upvotes
reginalddwight
By reginalddwight (5 months ago)

These camera categories are exceedingly simple and straightforward.

I can explain them to a non-camera friend as quickly as I can DPR's ratings score.

2 upvotes
TacticDesigns
By TacticDesigns (5 months ago)

+1

I like the categories. Its how you use the camera . . . not just about the tech or specs . . .

When someone asks me about a camera . . . I already send them to this site to read more about the camera . . . if they don't even know what type of camera they want . . . I'm sending them here . . .

<grin>

:)

0 upvotes
Paul Guba
By Paul Guba (5 months ago)

Because we all know photography is about buying stuff. Thanks DPR for reminding us.

6 upvotes
Eleson
By Eleson (5 months ago)

Member for ten years and just realized it's a gear forum ;-)

3 upvotes
vapentaxuser
By vapentaxuser (5 months ago)

Some folks might find this information helpful. I'm not sure what's so bad about providing an analysis of what's on the marketplace these days.

0 upvotes
Total comments: 269
12