Enthusiast interchangeable lens camera 2013 roundup

Buy on GearShop$1,146.9515 deals

Nikon D7100


24MP APS-C CMOS Sensor | 7fps Continuous Shooting | Dual SD Card Slots


What we like:

  • Cutting-edge 24MP sensor
  • Sophisticated autofocus system
  • 100% viewfinder

What we don't:

  • Large and heavy next to MILC rivals
  • Disappointing video quality
  • Slow live view focus

The D7100 is Nikon's latest high-end APS-C DSLR, featuring solid build quality and a twin-dial control system. It's built around a 24MP sensor (without an anti-aliasing filter) and a sophisticated 51-point AF system. For less money, the D5300 loses wireless flash control, one of the control dials and the autofocus motor for focusing older lenses. Next up in the lineup is the similarly featured, but full frame D610.

"Probably the most capable APS-C DSLR on the market"

The D7100's image quality is pretty much the benchmark for contemporary APS-C cameras, with good color response, the clever Active D-Lighting system and well-balanced noise reduction making the camera's JPEG output very usable. Meanwhile its Raw output is highly detailed and offers class-leading dynamic range - giving lots of flexibility when it comes to processing.

The D7100 has a fairly conventional two-dial user interface, making it quick to change major exposure parameters, and direct-access buttons for most other functions (White Balance, ISO, etc). It also features a comfortable grip and large viewfinder, making it a pleasant camera to spend time shooting with. It also has microphone and headphone jacks for video shooters.

The D7100 is probably the most capable APS-C DSLR on the market, combining a sophisticated feature set for both stills and movie shooting (albeit at 30fps).


Studio Test Scene | Specifications Compared


Sample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photo
961
I own it
282
I want it
75
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 267
12
CrashMaster
By CrashMaster (1 week ago)

Having now used the NEX-7 for 6 months with SELP 1850 SEL 55210 I can say the quality is excellent. I have even seen press photographers using it in London with serious lenses.
The only down side I see is the complexity of the menus but with use it becomes clearer. iAuto is excellent and for most shots all I need. JPEG quality is good but now shoot RAW and JPEG for best of both.

0 upvotes
rusticus
By rusticus (3 weeks ago)

pentax the best !!!

Comment edited 14 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
sadatoni
By sadatoni (1 month ago)

"Relatively unrefined onscreen interface". What? Isn't that a personal preference kind of thing?

3 upvotes
SkilakDeZoo
By SkilakDeZoo (1 month ago)

I cannot figure out how D7100 has got better build quality and Ergonomics & Handling over K-3/5 (I have D710 and K5). The other thing "JPEG color response" - I understand it is based that the Nikon JPEG went through a PP while Pentax comes out great straight off the camera. Well, those subjective elements always can help to have a better score;). DPreview we do not want the winner, we want an objective assessment;)

1 upvote
SkilakDeZoo
By SkilakDeZoo (1 month ago)

thanks for the above, so then where is the K-3 review? if you do not mind asking. You see, to me it is very simple, with K-5 I can drive a 5in nail into a log while with D7100 I would not dare. I think this is an example of the build quality or I am wrong. The other thing I would like to ask is the way how you change the settings of WB and Color space/profile. Pentax does it with a picture in the background so you can see the changes on the fly while Nikon does not have such option. In my opinion Nikon is far behind with the menu and settings. Please, do not think I am a Pentax fan boy as I like Nikon too and have spent 10 years with. Pentax gave me a different point of view, that's it ;)

2 upvotes
drummercam
By drummercam (1 month ago)

Huh? Why does the "review" link from the K-3 camera thumbnail bring me here and not DIRECTLY to DPR's own K-3 First Impressions Review?

6 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (1 month ago)

Where are you finding a link marked 'Review'? It should always make clear that it's part of a roundup.

0 upvotes
Leandros S
By Leandros S (1 month ago)

Here, Richard: http://www.dpreview.com/products/pentax/slrs/pentax_k3/review

0 upvotes
joyclick
By joyclick (2 months ago)

Is dpr partisan?

1 upvote
Madaboutpix
By Madaboutpix (2 months ago)

Will we see a full review of the K-3 before the end of February? I bet we won't. A flagship model announced back in October 2013 and winner of DPReview's own Readers' Choice Award in the digital SLR category.

The point that the delay is going to affect sales of a model that would deserve much better has been beaten to death already. Nor do I care for DPReview's verdict any longer, since the K-3 has received such a number of good to excellent reviews elsewere.

Will the masses rush out to buy this kind of camera? Some enthusiasts, a few discerning photogs looking for a budget pro system maybe, but otherwise I doubt it. The future of photography surely lies in smartphones with clip-on lenses, overpriced retrostyle cameras and other "photo jewelry", and, lest I forget, the selfie as a superior art form. What a wondrous world we live in!

Okay, end of rant. Let's get our gear out and concentrate on taking photos again.

9 upvotes
ChazSelf
By ChazSelf (2 months ago)

I'm reasonably sure that the timing of a full review is at least partly tied to the manufacturer's timing in getting a camera into the reviewer's hands. I don't recall ever even hearing about Pentax being early at that little job.

0 upvotes
Madaboutpix
By Madaboutpix (2 months ago)

@ChazSelf: If they simply failed to provide a production specimen for testing, Ricoh would only have themselves to blame.

However, as far as I recall, the first-impressions review stump has been up for months now (likely based on a pre-production K-3), and meanwhile there're even quite interesting studio samples (from a production camera), yet something tells me most potential buyers will look for the conclusions and gold/silver awards ...

1 upvote
jcserlet
By jcserlet (2 months ago)

as a joke "many popular people is pround to have Nikon or Canon gnd other one is happy to use Pentax without worry about DPReview's silence" ...Carpe Diem

3 upvotes
ozdean
By ozdean (2 months ago)

Yes keen to hear your thoughts on the K3.

3 upvotes
Madaboutpix
By Madaboutpix (3 months ago)

Even with the full review awaiting completion, the studio scene shots from the K-3, which are already up, are quite instructive.

Just studied the K-3 RAW output - because that's what really counts for me as a RAW shooter - against its peers Nikon D7100 and Canon 70D in the comparison tool. Seems like the K-3 needn't fear the competition at all. Noise-wise it fares markedly better than both the Nikon and the Canon at higher ISOs, where it is only bettered by the Fujifilm X-Pro1 (a totally different animal). And it does so while retaining quite a lot of detail. Remember all that "smudgemeister" hue and cry on the forums?

I, for one, am looking forward to seeing the final review ... Bring it on, DPReview!

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 10 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
JeffAHayes
By JeffAHayes (3 months ago)

If I said all I'm really thinking I fear I'd get banned from DPReview.

To say the least, I find it QUITE ironic that the Nikon D7100 got THOROUGHLY TROUNCED in the popularity poll for Best new DSLR of 2013 (coming in 3rd or 4th behind the K-3). And that if you read the comments posted below the poll, MANY Nikon shooters -- including more than a few who felt "TRAPPED" in the Nikon format with their D7000 or 7100 because they'd invested too much in Nikon glass said THEY voted for the K-3 because they think it's superior to anything Nikon has, and would switch if they could afford to.

Yet DPReview has YET to do a review of the 2-1 winner of that poll, instead giving one of the sore losers its BEST review score and putting it out here as the camera it recommends the most. In fact of ALL the cameras in this list, the K-3 was the ONLY ONE not yet reviewed by DPReview!

Things smell like the coast when the tide goes out to me!
Jeff

19 upvotes
EthanX
By EthanX (3 months ago)

The 7100 was announced on Feb. 2013 and reviewed 2 months later, in April.

The K3 was announced on October 2013, so if we get a full review by the end of the month, or even sometime next month - there wouldn't be much to complain about, would there?

I just hope DPReview doesn't make us wait NINE months again, as it was with the review of the K5-II, posted last June after being announced on Sep. '12. That was really weird...

Comment edited 51 seconds after posting
7 upvotes
WetCoast
By WetCoast (3 months ago)

I agree with Ethan that 3 or 4 months is acceptable. 9 is perhaps not. Yet, at the same time, there is lots of product out there and DPReview is not rolling in dough or employees, I'm sure. We're lucky to get what we get.

1 upvote
ChazSelf
By ChazSelf (2 months ago)

Nonsense. No camera=no test.

0 upvotes
SkilakDeZoo
By SkilakDeZoo (3 months ago)

OK folks, I have K-5 and D7100 a successor to D70. So I do not have K-3 but based on my K-5 I can say that K-series are PRO, D7xxx are not. Why? 1)build quality,2)Pentax can interpolate pixels in camera, 3)WB can be adjusted with the last picture in the background so you see what is going on, 4)Since I have K-5 i do not use computer and soft to correct pictures at all and I stopped using raws. Why I have Nikon? of course for flashing system ;) apropos, re AF, I cannot say if 35mm 1.8G is faster than my 21mm Ltd apart that the second one is noisy;)

Cheers and happy snappy:)

5 upvotes
ChazSelf
By ChazSelf (2 months ago)

I am forced to replace my K20D (as soon as insurance pays off on the loss): I compared the D7100 and the D610 with the K3. No contest. The K3 won because of cost of third party glass (for the D7100) and similar feelings plus weight for the full frame D610. It's not much heavier than the D610, but to get equal glass length, it is a monster (at least at my age and condition). The K3 matches the D7100 feature for feature, shows better at higher ISOs, and...big one here...is reasonably familiar in handling to the K20D, though there are some major changes.

0 upvotes
Vaughn T.Winfree
By Vaughn T.Winfree (3 months ago)

Great article.. I was a Canon DSLR owner, 10D, 20D, 5DMII with L-Glass. My biggest complaint was the size and weight if the DSLR to be able to have high quality images.. The NEX 7 changed that for me. The NEX-7 with a 24.3 MP APS-C sensor and high resolution EVF was perfect for my shooting needs. The size is right for hiking and long walks in rough terrain. Now that the NEX brand is being changed, I look forward to seeing what SONY does next with a NEX-7 successor. I don't care what they call it just as long as it has a high resolution APS-C style sensor. To me it's the perfect balance of getting the most bang for the buck... To enjoy FF to it's fullest, the lenses will be expensive and larger than the APS-C system. Therefore, I hope to see a NEX-7 successor real soon.

0 upvotes
Average User
By Average User (3 months ago)

Love the article. Clearly for different photographers differing factors are most important. For me, 1. I want a camera that I can use to shoot sharp in focus pictures. My Sony Nex 7 gives me in focus properly exposed shots most reliably. 2. Availability of good lenses is critical, because if you can zoom on the picture you want, clarity will be great. Here, the brightness and sharpness of the new Sigma 18-35, changes everything. 3. Dynamic range and the ability to discern nuanced colors and textures. My experience is that the 16 mp half frames get better dynamic range and color than the 24 mp half frames. For this, Nikon D 7000, So, Sony Nex 7 and Nikon D7000.
I appreciate DP Review and DXOmark measuring and comparing to help us decide. Thank you. You have helped with many of my camera and lens choices.
I also want to thank the enthusiasts whose comments are positive and informational. I have learned a lot from you.

0 upvotes
Dellis12
By Dellis12 (4 months ago)

I shot with Nikon for years in film days as a photojournalist. Switched to Canon when things went digital. For me it was better, more intuitive usability, same IQ, lens assortment and durability--no camera survives contact with a beer or a dust storm. Have more Canon stuff than I can list, but switched to Sony NEX for IQ, portability, and for the fact that I just seem to make better pictures with it than anything else I shoot with. The interface that gets dissed here all the time is just fine with me--took about 10 minutes for me to figure it out. Unless you're operating a ratings lab, pick any of one of these up, put it in our hand and point it somewhere. That's what it's about.

5 upvotes
drummercam
By drummercam (4 months ago)

Don't like "Relatively unrefined onscreen interface" . . .

What? This is a camera, not an iPad.

0 upvotes
shigzeo ?
By shigzeo ? (4 months ago)

Sometimes, refined interfaces help a user get around. I'm using the Sony a7r and the X-Pro 1. Of the two, the X-Pro 1 is simple to operate, the a7r is a headache of immemorable niches and confusing panels/slides.

0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (5 months ago)

I really like the Samsung NX20.
It's an awesome value for the money, with a few outstanding lenses in the lineup too. APS sensor, nice controls, comprehensive interface, good ergonomics... it's the incarnation of "bang for the buck".
I'm surprised they didn't want to include it here.

0 upvotes
BNapa
By BNapa (5 months ago)

Nectar D Or,

I have owned a total of 11 Canons since 2000.
How many have you owned my friend?

I thought they fixed the focusing problem with the 5D MarkIII, but a pro buddy of mine who has owned twice as many Canons as I have thinks the 5DIIIs focus is no good either. This guy shoots over 50 weddings and 300 portrait sessions a year.

I love my 6D when it focuses. The image quality is far superior to anything I have shot previously. But if the focusing system is sub par then so be it.

You missed my point altogether my friend.

BTW, I have owned Nikon F3T and other bodies with lots of superior Nikon lenses from film days. I have owned Pentax, Minolta and Konica bodies and lenses. I know what I am talking about. I am not a newbie who picked up a camera yesterday.

2 upvotes
Just Ed
By Just Ed (3 months ago)

Then don't buy a Canon 5d mkiii or 6d.

I own the 6D and use the 5D mk iii occasionally. For bif's the 5d mk iii is superb at focusing moving birds with the several L tele lenses we have. The 6d isn't as good, but focuses amazingly well in low light situations.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
cbh006
By cbh006 (5 months ago)

Live view still does not offer a real-time exposure preview

0 upvotes
Babka08
By Babka08 (5 months ago)

DSLR = Optical Viewfinder, for me, much better.

9 upvotes
mpgxsvcd
By mpgxsvcd (5 months ago)

These articles are SOOOOO MUCH MORE HELPFUL than the Gold/Silver star ratings. They allow the writers opinion to factor in without limiting it to a binary rating system.

Ditch the Gold/Silver star ratings and put out more articles like these. Keep the reviews strictly about data and facts. Write the articles for those people who want to know what the writer's opinion is.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
JohnHoppy
By JohnHoppy (5 months ago)

Whilst having no problem with dpreview's choices, I wonder why the scoring system is, by their admission, heavily weighted towards IQ. Where even cameras around the $700 Mark can now produce IQ that a few years ago you could only see in the best $2000+ cameras, might we not put IQ into a more comparative relationship with other factors? When so many good cams offer me high IQ, I am going to make a choice based on factors like handling and functionality or balance of features. With so many cams offering excellent potential IQ, maybe dpreview should look again at its "heavy weighting". Or perhaps they could indicate what miscroscopic level of detail they consider High IQ is.

8 upvotes
Josh152
By Josh152 (5 months ago)

I sort of agree.

The thing with an ILC is that unless you are just starting out with nothing chances are you are just going to buy what you already have lenses and stuff for which makes this article basically for people with no ILC or the few who want to switch. So Instead of IQ a much better thing to weight towards is the SYSTEM that goes with the camera. Lenses, flashes,batteries, upgrade path, third party support, ect and their availability and cost. IQ is so good now and the cameras all have basically the same features at the same price level for the same type of camera. So what matters most is the system the supports the camera body, how the ergonomics and controls work for you personally and any specific features you personally need/want. The last two will vary greatly from person to person so it's the overall system that articles like this should consider the most.

3 upvotes
JohnHoppy
By JohnHoppy (5 months ago)

I don't have a problem with any of that, Josh. I think DPR's problem is that slapping a single Neon sign on a camera that says "82%" or whatever is far too limited. Tends to promote elitism too ("Hey, my Nikon got 83%, that beats your Canon at 82%"). Some review sites (CameraLabs is always very fair) offer results at several levels and in fact DPR do too but then blow it all by giving a single % figure and admitting their scoring is weighted in ways many might dispute. My main point was about IQ being overrated, but DPR themselves admit Portability (e.g.) isn't factored in, and portability is another big issue today with Compact System Cameras making a big selling point here.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
Josh152
By Josh152 (5 months ago)

The problem is that at the end of the day the differences between cameras are very subtle. It just wont make much difference for 99% of people if they chose a D7100 or a 70D for example which is why you see scores that are so close. It really comes down to subjective personal things or what someone personally needs feature wise but people want to know "which is better" so DPR has to have the silly score and awards to make them happy because the real answer is "it depends, probably neither" most of the time. Plus a gold award badge looks good when you are trying to sell a camera.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 56 seconds after posting
1 upvote
heavenscanwait
By heavenscanwait (2 months ago)

Hi johnhoppy
I'm not a pro, and I don't have these fantastic cameras BUT I agree with giving image quality the most importance. I bought a Panasonic TZ30 based on the fact that it had won most reviews. When I took pictures, I was so disappointed that I then read reviews in detail. All the reviews mentioned picture quality was acceptable, not brilliant but it won on its bells and whistles....what a shame. Anyhow it headed for the ebay. In my view any camera is about picture quality and the bells and whistles are about consumer experience which although important, should not supersede image quality. Would you buy a car which has all the bells and whistles but can't take you from A to B?

0 upvotes
mpgxsvcd
By mpgxsvcd (5 months ago)

I really like these types of articles. They highlight the best from each brand.

2 upvotes
guido1953
By guido1953 (5 months ago)

As long as Pentax continues to use the SDM focus motors or not
increasing the warranty for those lenses to 3-4 years, then IMO, stay clear
of Pentax.

1 upvote
MikePursey
By MikePursey (5 months ago)

Well the SDM motors in my 16-50mm, 50-135mm and 60-250mm have long since passed the 3 year mark. My 300mm and 17-70mm are well over 12 months old. None have had a single issue. I now sit here wondering if all 5 will fail overnight.

3 upvotes
flynnstone
By flynnstone (4 months ago)

guido1953 I would say that that was a problem with pentax when SDM was first released and was a reason to not consider Pentax but they have fixed the issues with SDM and now have a better service record on their silent focus system then Canon or Nikon. If you plan on dogging likely the best valued system in the market that holds its own at a fraction of the cost you might want to be more accurate.

1 upvote
xmeda
By xmeda (5 months ago)

Pentax K5, K5II, K5IIs, K3 depending on money.

8 upvotes
Ramasubramaniyan
By Ramasubramaniyan (5 months ago)

While mentioning the pros of the Olympus E-M1, you could have also mentioned the build quality, the proven IBIS, the best dust reduction in the industry as well..

1 upvote
igor_s
By igor_s (5 months ago)

"OM-D E-M1. It's not the highest scoring camera in this class, because it isn't the very best for image quality (which our scoring system is heavily weighted towards"

Perhaps the 70D got your Gold Award for its stunning image quality? LOL

2 upvotes
fanedi
By fanedi (5 months ago)

definitely panasonic lumix G6 with new 14/140
relatively cheap, compact even with the lenses , and good enough

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 6 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
BNapa
By BNapa (5 months ago)

When I shot weddings regularly about 7 years ago. I suffered through Canon's sub par focusing and flash system. I envied my friend's Nikons for what Canon lacked. Then again I was shooting mid-range Canons and they were shooting high-end Nikons.

When I picked up my Pentax K5IIs, I had high hopes that the focusing would be better than my 6D's but it was not.

What I charged did not warrant or support buying high-end Canon or Nikons to get a camera that would focus when i asked it to. I have high hopes that K3 would be the camera.

I would gladly use manual focus just so the camera allows me to triger the shutter at the right moment. But my eyesight is not what it used to be so I have to rely on autofocus.

I miss a lot of good shots because of the focusing problem. My 5D, 7D and now the 6D and the k5IIs all have the same problem.

Do I have to switch to Nikon to get it done?

2 upvotes
Nectar D Or
By Nectar D Or (5 months ago)

So your 5D, 7D, 6D and K5IIs all have the same problem. Interesting.

I think your Nikons would have the same problem too. Don't bother switching.

19 upvotes
Joaquin Trigueros
By Joaquin Trigueros (5 months ago)

My OM-Ds (EM-5s until I got my EM-1 a couple of weeks ago) focus fast and accurately. I have a Canon 1DX too and it does likewise but for much more. I keep the Canon for the wides and the Olys for the teles. They´re brilliant.

The K3 is supposed to be getting rave reviews everywhere. Don't diss it. It's probably the biggest bang for the buck yet.

Comment edited 6 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
wansai
By wansai (5 months ago)

if fast and accurate af is necessity, you may want to check out the EM1. i know the focus issues you are talking about from canon and the EM1 is the most reliable shooter next to anything but the very most expensive high end cameras.

it's blazing fast and near 100% accurate. the few shots where it misfocussed was in extremely low light or in backlighting that creates such heavy foreground show i can barely make out facial detail in the parts shrouded in shadow. but to be honest that would foil nearly any camera.

0 upvotes
odpisan
By odpisan (5 months ago)

Try by Pentax:
- put on MF lenses
- switch on AF (!!!)
- keep the trigger down
- camera will not take photo until centre is sharp
- when you get the bet sharpness, camera automaticcaly takes a foto
With a little practice you can shoot almost fast as with AF by AF-lenses ...
It works by mine ...
:o)))

6 upvotes
Devendra
By Devendra (5 months ago)

stop beating around the bush and just try a Nikon. I am sure you will love the consistency and accuracy of its focusing.
That is one of the biggest reason why I enjoy my Nikons. They just work like you expect them to, and beyond. Even a simplest Nikon has affirmative focusing to keep you "locked-in" to focus on your photography rather than being stuck with a wishlist camera.

3 upvotes
prodz
By prodz (5 months ago)

@steelski: don't be ridiculous :)))

0 upvotes
avicenanw
By avicenanw (5 months ago)

Don't be ridiculously right???

2 upvotes
steelski
By steelski (5 months ago)

What a bunch of phooey.
The D7100 beats the K-3 how exactly....
ergonomics, no,
IQ, no
price, no
LV, no
movie mode, no
speed, NO!!!
buffer, no
AF, debatable....
AF in the dark, No
menus, no!
in body sensor shift, No
GPS stat tracking, no
Metering, no
Viewfinder, no
Magnesium body, no
shutter actuations reliability, no
dampening, no
USB3,no
flash sync, yes
battery life yes,
flash system yes
Nikon badge yes!!!!!
I think your assessment is total bias. to put it mildly.
thanks for putting in time and effort.

35 upvotes
buzzinhornet
By buzzinhornet (5 months ago)

Totally agree with you steelski!

Bias whatever do you mean. The 3 positives they list for the D7100 are all positives for the K-3 (also 24mp, also 100% viewfinder only slightly better magnification, equivalent AF even better in live view, the 3 negatives listed for the D7100 are not so for the K-3 (its smaller, live view focuses like a pro, and has pretty good movie mode) and as far as the negatives mentioned for the K-3, JPEG color response really DPR? I looked very closely at your studio scene shots and the K-3 is very close in color to the Canon and Olympus, the Nikon on the other hand looks washed out in comparison, red looks more orange, deep blue looks light, it appears to me the Nikon is the one with inaccurate color response, otherwise you'd have listed it on the Oly and Canon minuses right, I mean if your not being biased and all.

The fact is DPR haven't even reviewed the K-3 so its hard to see what the impression is based on.

20 upvotes
vapentaxuser
By vapentaxuser (5 months ago)

Sorry but IMO the D7100 has better image quality. Yes I know I'm traitor...but I have to call it as I see it. You are more than welcome to disagree with me.

2 upvotes
BNapa
By BNapa (5 months ago)

GO @steelski. You rock!

I guess Pentaxians are coming out of the woods and demanding justice.

12 upvotes
Tonio Loewald
By Tonio Loewald (5 months ago)

(Nikon guy here.) I agree. I think the K3 is a better (and smaller) body than the D7100, although autofocus speed is a definite issue with Pentaxes — if it were only a question of camera bodies the K3 pretty much wins. Pentax also offers nice primes, and a lot of weather-sealed lenses. But if you already have glass, and if you need the system, Nikon overall wins. (Pentax has also gone belly up and been sold twice in less than ten years.)

If the K3 had an F-mount and the D7100's AF it would be the D400, only smaller and lighter ;-)

Comment edited 59 seconds after posting
8 upvotes
audiobomber
By audiobomber (5 months ago)

Pentax has never gone "belly up" Pentax Imaging division was acquired by Hoya in a hostile takeover. Hoya did not want to be in the camera business, they only wanted Pentax Medical and tried to sell or marry off Pentax Imaging. The Samsung deal fell through, and Ricoh came through with a purchase.

Ricoh bought Pentax Imaging primarily to compete with Canon, their main competitor in copiers, and have invested a lot in R&D, and re-hiring Pentax engineers that Hoya terminated. The future looks good for Pentax.

Nice list steelski. I agree completely, the K-3 beats the D7100 in almost every way. The question mark is the AF-C. I'll wait for FNAC Labs to test that, they are the only credible source for focus testing.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 4 minutes after posting
10 upvotes
Josh152
By Josh152 (5 months ago)

Nikon has one of the two most developed and full systems of lenses and accessories both Nikon brand and third party. Plus they have very wide availability so you can all but guarantee if you are in at least a semi moderate sized industrialized city you will be able to purchase and/or rent lenses, flashes, batteries, ect for it. Not to mention what is widely considered the best flash system available. An ICL is not just a body it is a system and Nikon and Canon easily beat Pentax and pretty much everyone else when it comes to the system to support their bodes both in what they have to offer and in availability. That is enough reason alone to recommend the D7100 over the K3.

0 upvotes
Mrrowe8
By Mrrowe8 (5 months ago)

Hey asshat You forgot THE most important parts weather proof body ,& and image quality that blows the K-3 into another time zone so take your hurt feelings else where facts are facts ...

0 upvotes
audiobomber
By audiobomber (5 months ago)

Spoken like a true fanboy Mrrowe8. The K-3 and D7100 both use 24mp APS-C sensors. There is no significant IQ difference.

The K-3 has better sealing than a D7100, and a lineup of affordable weather-resistant lenses that no manufacturer can touch (DA 18-55 f3.5-5.6, 18-135 f3.5-56, 50-200 f4-5.6, 55-300mm f4-5.6 WR).
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eo61t5fH6Qw

3 upvotes
Mrrowe8
By Mrrowe8 (4 months ago)

Actually @autobomber I am an artist/photographer and have no allegiance to one maker other then the one with the best image making ability for what I need & have had canon , Minolta ,Pentex , Fuji 6x7 , Mamiya 6x6 ..,Before I bought my d 7100 only my 2nd nikon ever , I researched what camera gave me most bang for my $$ & had Sony came out with a7 it a7r sooner I might of bought those .. K-3 sucks , in comparison & sorry to butt hurt your feelings .. Now go pound sand ..

0 upvotes
wildkat2
By wildkat2 (4 months ago)

@Josh152 - totally with you if we are evaluating entire systems. The Nikon CLS is amazing and Pentax support for strobes aspires to be pathetic. But that is not what we are talking about here or the Oly would not make the cut. In fact if we are going system then there are only two real choices - Canon or Nikon. No one else has the dealer network. no one else has the range of 1st and 3rd party accessories.

On the other hand I have no issues with batteries because my Pentax takes AAs. And I can get just about lens or accessory I need in 48 hours online. Even while I was in Afghanistan it took less than a week. I cleaned my sensor twice in a year of my Pentax being dragged through a war zone. Try that with a Nikon. Bottom line is that for 90% of the population, its not a system question, its a body, 2-5 lenses and a basic strobe. For that Pentax is a great choice.

Comment edited 26 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
flynnstone
By flynnstone (4 months ago)

I just had the chance to shoot side by side with my brother in law who was shooting a canon 5d markiii I was shooting a mid model Pentax K-30. He had a mid priced zoom lens $3600.00 retail. I had a old fully auto 50mm prime $185.00 used. We both did a little pp and I later received a text message from him saying" I really like the pic you took of the falls. The color grading and overall sharpeness/look. I actually prefer your pic to mine and you had the handicap with the telephoto lens. Frame it brother". Canon 5dIII W/ zoom lens $6500+, Pentax K-30 W/ f50mm 1.7 under $1000.00. I can't vouch for extreem low light conditions but hey thats when I use a flash . All I can say is if you have the money to blow by all means by Canon or Nikon, I mean Ashton Kutcher uses them so........, but if you need the most camera/lens for your money don"t over look Pentax, they are the photographers camera By the way, they have had FF in the form of the medium format 40mp 645d for quite some time.

2 upvotes
SkilakDeZoo
By SkilakDeZoo (3 months ago)

@vapentaxuser. Good that it is only your opinion because, in my opinion my K-5 gives better pictures off the camera than my D7100. Nikon without Ps or other pp soft is poor in terms of the image dynamic, is just flat, and if you try to make it more vivid, the faces go pastel orange. Perhaps after pp you can get fantastic results with Nikon so you can do with any camera;) but for me the biggest PLUS for Pentax, or would be for any other brand (I hope I will try Fuji X100s one day), is the quality from the camera - time is money :) cheers

0 upvotes
YogiGX20
By YogiGX20 (2 months ago)

Pentax has brilliant camera bodies (apart from slow AF) but today's lens line up doesn't reflect what customers want. I've had a K20D and K5 with several lenses before somebody asks. The SDM can't keep up with running kids, most WR lenses are consumer lenses, the Limiteds are too expensive (brilliant though) and Tamron has decided not to consider Pentax mounts in the future (I got that from Tamron Germany). I don't love my D7000 but I can't deny that the picture quality is better (better affordable quality zoom glass). I concentrate more on the pictures these days rather than the camera which is a bonus I suppose ;-)
If Pentax get their AF speed and lens lineup sorted I will move back.
Just copy the lenses and kit the other manufacturers already have to bring money in to make the brand popular again - tough today but surely not impossible?

0 upvotes
tbcass
By tbcass (5 months ago)

They left too many currently available enthusiast cameras off this list to be a worthwhile overview. It's like they randomly chose one model from each manufacturer.

1 upvote
Josh152
By Josh152 (5 months ago)

No it looks like they chose based on MSRP. They are all around $1000-$1500 with most of them being in the $1200 range for the body only kit.

Comment edited 31 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
solarider
By solarider (5 months ago)

"The Pentax produces strong JPEGs, though the color response isn't to everybody's taste. The Raw output is excellent, though."

Hi DPR staff!

Does that mean the JPEG's are less good and they can NOT be improved with
in-camera settings? Is that the message here? Although that might not be your intention, it seems to suggest that.

If the JPEG's CAN be improved in-camera, is that possible? What would be some suggested settings to do that for starters?

Does DPR test default settings only for a reason? If JPEG's are adjustable, why would DPR seem to make it look/sound worse than it is? Why not say with each review "Hey, look, you can make it better, just do a few quick things here..."

I would like it if you could make your website (which I really like btw) even more user friendly. :-)

Thank you!

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
15 upvotes
Shamael
By Shamael (5 months ago)

So, if I start by the last page, all I can see is that I should buy OMD M1, or Nikon D7100. Is that a joke, or what?

What is done here again is mixing apples and oranges only. Imagine that I do not want the 4/3 mini sensor, imagine that I do not want a heavy DSLR, what now?

Anyone of us will chose the camera that fits, 1st, his needs, 2d, his wallet, 3d the system he had and he ow glass for.

Now, a newbie will probably get a P&S or a bridge of a moderate price and that offers good picture quality. For that, and only for that, I get an idea online on Photoblogs and Photo sites like this one, despite the fact that the samples you post are often a reason not to buy the camera, very often your samples are scrappy.

2 upvotes
Shamael
By Shamael (5 months ago)

All this buying guides are superficial, they do not match every ones needs, I would even say that they match your needs or what you highlight in a camera. I would still select the NEX-7, and to state here that lens choice is limited, with adapters it can take 85% of all lenses on the market. And even if OMD had a larger sensor, I would not buy it, the OMD 5 body was more convenient to me, and the one of NEX-7 is just perfect. If the GX7 from Pana was APSC, I would go for that one, for sure. Also, your AF comments leave me cold, even the worst AF system fits me if there is any MF focusing assistance, I focus manually since ever.

And here again you see that your opinion or buying proposal is a mismatch. To my opinion, remain a test site, with objective camera tests and descriptions, and stop playing buying guide and shopping advisers.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 3 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Treeshade
By Treeshade (5 months ago)

So you are someone who could use "the worst AF system" because you "focus manually since ever".

I would say: you are not those who need this buying guide.

2 upvotes
Peter Lacus
By Peter Lacus (5 months ago)

IMHO viewfinder magnifications should be normalized (say to 35mm format) to make them comparable across different sensor sized systems as current numbers may be misleading and in favour of smaller sensor systems. They should be specified using lenses with the same AOV, therefore 50mm for 35mm format, 35mm for APS-C and 25mm for m43. Or in other words, published numbers should be divided by 2 for m43 and by 3/2 for APS-C to get the same apparent viewfinder magnification.

0 upvotes
VBLondon
By VBLondon (5 months ago)

One thing that surprised me in the final conclusion were the remarks on image quality EM1 vs D7100 being about the same.

Trying to be objective, I looked at the DXOmark scores. The D7100 sensor scores significantly more highly. In the one metric I can easily compare several cameras I've owned, I've found the DXO ISO measurement reasonably accurate in indicating low light performance. The D7100 has about a stop better performance - not at "crazy" high ISOs, but at those useful for normal available light shooting on occassion indoors or outdoors. The DXO mark also suggests better colour depth and DR.

I'm not saying the EM1 isn't arguably the best choice, I'm just surprised the sensor performance trade-off is not even mentioned?

3 upvotes
DonTom
By DonTom (5 months ago)

"just to prove the unprovable that m43 camera can take decent portrait which it cannot."

It's comments like this that make me avoid DP Review. As always though, such comments speak more about the person making the comment. Perhaps your skills are such that you would struggle to make a decent portrait with a m43 camera?

8 upvotes
Brian Mosley
By Brian Mosley (5 months ago)

"just to prove the unprovable that m43 camera can take decent portrait which it cannot."

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/52584698

2 upvotes
dmanthree
By dmanthree (5 months ago)

Brian, I have it on good authority that those nice portraits don't exist.

Honestly, what a stupid statement. Thanks for the link.

1 upvote
Kiril Karaatanasov
By Kiril Karaatanasov (5 months ago)

Studio portraits? I can take this with bridge camera...kind of shows what is the m43 IQ level.

0 upvotes
Ontario Gone
By Ontario Gone (5 months ago)

Mirrorless apsc have an innate advantage over full body apsc cameras: they can use speed boosters and get, essentially, very near FF image quality. More light equals a lower iso used per given scene which equals higher DR, less noise, and better colors. However, some people don't like the ergonomics of mirrorless. I personally think a mirrorless version of the K3 would be the perfect camera. Better than any FF on the market today. Keep the big grip, remove the mirror box, add sony's EVF, perfection.

4 upvotes
Spodworld
By Spodworld (5 months ago)

Not exactly sure what a speed booster is, but Is there some kind of speed booster that you are aware of that would work with an apsc mirrorless like the pentax k01?

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Gazeomon
By Gazeomon (4 months ago)

Please define 'perfect camera'

0 upvotes
Reinhard136
By Reinhard136 (5 months ago)

I do need a new camera, and would love to go for the EM1 - but how can anyone live without a flash ?? Pls explain if all the size and cuteness is out the window, when it seems like a car with 3 wheels ? I would have thought flash and viewfinders are the non-negotiables ?
I had the Nex 6, which on paper seems to be the best all round, and better than the EM1, and I thought I was pleased with. But when it went thru the washing machine (a disadvantage of being small) I felt no longing to replace it. I realized I liked it not loved it. The skinny body never felt right, and the lag after each foto cost a lot of good shots. I tried my old DSLR again, and realized it was so much more satisfying. Hence the EM1 ? ... but no flash ? does it freeze after each shot too ? The poorer PQ seems less important, as they are all pretty good anyway.
The Nikon leaves me cold, just a bit less than the K3 in every department, except the "prestige" . Seems K3's only problem is size.

0 upvotes
Heie2
By Heie2 (5 months ago)

>>Seems K3's only problem is size.

like size/ergonomics is a fault of any Pentax...

lmao

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
9 upvotes
NickNock
By NickNock (5 months ago)

it comes with a small flash and a tiny bag that can be attached to the strap.

0 upvotes
BJN
By BJN (5 months ago)

Yeah, the tiny flash requires that you deal with three caps. It's a pain, and you need to protect the vulnerable accessory port connector so that cap's not optional.

3 upvotes
Dccps
By Dccps (5 months ago)

I have the E-M1. I love it. Fast shooting, lag less than many cameras including many DSLRs out there. And I like the small external flash options for the E-M1. It comes with a small flash but right now you can get a better external flash free with your purchase. I don't know what you shoot, but if you liked the NEX-6, then you may love the E-M1. It's bigger, but not much bigger so still highly portable. IQ is close and I think as good and it is definitely fast.

2 upvotes
wansai
By wansai (5 months ago)

i went from the nex 7 to the em1. the em1 is a much better camera and more reliable even if it loses out on some IQ.

you have a small kit flash on the em1. i have it on all the time. i dont have a problem with this because i got it to shoot professionally, which means a proper flash unit.

also, there's no lag. just keep shooting. the internal buffer is huge even shooting raw. the em1 is not a camera you will miss shots with.

0 upvotes
bcalkins
By bcalkins (5 months ago)

This statement says it all, and show that it is a 'fair' comparison amongst a field of outstanding cameras: "it's hard to imagine anyone being unhappy with any of these cameras". A few years ago people took outstanding professional and fine art images with cameras with lesser dynamic range, slower focusing (remember when you could only really rely on the center focus point) and long turn on times. We're getting a lot of bang for the buck these days. While there are differences between all of these cameras, they all have their happy owners and niche fan base.

That said, I'm not sure why DPR doesn't just provide the list and declare them all winners like they do in the text - declaring an overall winner at the end always exaggerates the differences.

Personally I went for the E-M1 - it is smaller than the dSLRs at this level, has a more consistent experience going between the viewfinder and LCD, and is the high end of a system with very portable options.

6 upvotes
aramgrg
By aramgrg (5 months ago)

I am a Canon shooter(also Olympus), but this roundup definitely wins D7100, for best quality available. The only things I do not like are oddly positioned buttons (Nikon users may argue the opposite) and live view mode(objectively). Also, to me , images from Nikon look softer(talking about RAW), otherwise one can find plenty of reasons to go with D7100. To me the 24mp Toshiba sensor is the only one.

0 upvotes
pixelpushing
By pixelpushing (5 months ago)

The omission of the NX300 in the company of all these mirrorless models seems odd.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Impulses
By Impulses (5 months ago)

It costs 1/2 to 1/3 as much as any of these and it's smaller than all... It doesn't belong in this category,it belongs in the mid range mirrorless category. I'm sure that category will be heavily contested, maybe even more so than this one.

0 upvotes
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

What about lens selection? EM1 may be the favour of the day. But, APSC lens selection for DSLR is way better.

For example, Sigma 18-35 1.8 matches DOF control of FF. What is the EM1 equivalent?

0 upvotes
beomagi
By beomagi (5 months ago)

Lens selection for MFT is pretty good these days.

This one lens will compare against one standard bright zoom on ff - but one lens doesn't mean the system matches. Should we switch to primes, it's a different story once more.

Is matching FF really criteria for a decent enthusiast camera?

2 upvotes
Impulses
By Impulses (5 months ago)

The size and selection of MFT lenses was actually what pushed me to get my first ILC... Shame they get so little publicity, I had no clue how versatile they were until I started researching.

3 upvotes
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

For beomagi,

IMO, a good system needs to be versatile. Being able to match FF DOF control is a bonus for APSC. Reach (when required) + shallow DOF (on demand).

APSC will always be one stop better DOF control. APSC DSLR means that cheap prime lenses are always available. Example, Nikon 35mm 1.8 ($200) versus MFT 25mm 1.4 (price?).

I was quite pleased with the video of D5100 + 35mm 1.8. Also, light compact combo.

http://vimeo.com/23574674

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 9 minutes after posting
1 upvote
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

BTW, I was quite pleased by the D800 + Sigma 35mm 1.4 combo. FF is outstanding for narrative purposes.

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/52576853

Of course, the guys at DPR don't need FF since they deal with internet-size images for documentary work.

0 upvotes
LincolnB
By LincolnB (5 months ago)

If HappyVan thinks a system needs to be versatile, then why does he own so many different cameras? Are Nikon's systems so limited that he needs a compact, a mirrorless, an APS-C, and a full frame? This is especially confusing considering the very limited range and skill set of HappyVan's photography, which as far as anyone can tell seems to consist almost entirely of snapshots in broad daylight.

2 upvotes
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

For Lincoln,

I'm definitely not a fan of $5 lenses.

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/52502973

Comment edited 36 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

For LincolnB,

A system can include a portfolio of lenses and cameras. M43 has only one sensor format and two camera footprints.

Nikon includes three sensor sizes and cameras of different footprints. Some lenses can be shared between different cameras.

FYI, fast lenses aren't only used in low light. Fast lenses are used for narrative purposes. Do get someone at M43 forum to explain it to you!!!

1 upvote
LincolnB
By LincolnB (5 months ago)

Answer the question: why do you own so many cameras? Especially since your photos show such a limited repertoire of style, skill, and ability? You have one of practically everything Nikon sells. How is that not the exact OPPOSITE of versatile???

1 upvote
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

First answer my question. Why do you like $5 lenses? You get $5 results.

Are you in a position to pass judgement on my work?

Why post 50 pages in your gallery when 99% is mush?

0 upvotes
LincolnB
By LincolnB (5 months ago)

You recently paid $900 on a lens so you could take a picture of a parking lot. A parking lot.

Yes, I am in a position to pass judgment on your snapshots.

If I'm getting $5 results on a $5 lens that means I'm getting better value for my money than you. Heck, I've even been paid for photos I took with a point & shoot. And there you are, hiding behind your anonymous account with a $3,000 camera and a $900 lens for what? Why do you own so many cameras with so little to show for them?

Comment edited 8 minutes after posting
1 upvote
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

What a laugh. Lot's of famous pictures of car parks, gas stations etc.

Look at many highly regarded photog. Individual photographs may be unremarkable or strange. Collectively, they represent an idea, vision or intention.

That's art, not mere recording.

Anyway, I don't sell my stuff.

Point and shoot?

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/50574037

I had a laugh at your comments. You're a no-talent stalker. You freaked out when I revealed that the emperor had no clothes.

0 upvotes
LincolnB
By LincolnB (5 months ago)

You don't sell because nobody likes your stuff. Nobody thinks you're the better photographer. NOBODY. I do better work in a week than you do in a year. Or ever. There are lots of photographers to admire but you're not one of them. You collect haters like a hobby. You're a troll. That's what you do. You lecture people on photography and no one takes your advice. You're a troll.

Why do you own so many cameras and have so little to show for it?

Comment edited 42 seconds after posting
1 upvote
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

Yeah! You do better work!

Look at this.

http://www.dpreview.com/challenges/Entry.aspx?ID=758372

Or, this. What were you thinking. Look at how popular it is.

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/52496509

This won't sell?

http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/7625069483/photos/2580667/_dsc6763

http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/7625069483/photos/2197118/_dsc9902

http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/7625069483/photos/1786374/_d3s8396

Why was this viewed >200 times?

http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/7625069483/photos/2708762/

You think being popular on DPR is a measure of success? The interesting work of Ed Ruscha, Thomas Struth, Ian Wallace, the Bechers etc would pass right over their heads.

To help you, I can offer an insight into DPR photog. Interested.?

0 upvotes
LincolnB
By LincolnB (5 months ago)

Honey, you are none of those photographers.

1 upvote
LincolnB
By LincolnB (5 months ago)

You can cherry-pick and nit-pick from among my thousands of shots and dozens of DPR Challenge entries all you want. That sort of ad-hominem attack won't fix your photography or enhance your reputation one whit.

Meanwhile, I will continue to be selected as photographer of the month on other sites, I will continue to accept paying clients as I please, I will continue to win and place well above average in DPR Challenges, I will continue to let my photographs be used on books and in published articles and marketing materials.

You will continue to attempt to buy your way out of a lack of taste and skill. You will continue to lecture others to do the same. You will continue to troll until forced to stop.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 7 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Ranford Stealth
By Ranford Stealth (5 months ago)

Muhammad Ali eat your heart out! Ease off the sugar, young man, and put that firearm down while you're at it. Pop another can of Bud and chill out for a spell. Nothing like an overdose of FIGJAM to liven up a debate, but geez, you MUST be the greatest photographer of ALL time, and a genuine legend in your own mind. Poor old Eugene Smith must be turning over in his grave. I've heard DPR's forums referred to as the Nuthouse and I'm pleased you're doing your level best to change THAT perception. HappyVan will just have to be content walking in your colossal shadow along with the rest of us. And Nachtwey and McCullin and McCurry and Salgado and Capa and Cartier-Bresson and Doisneau etc.

1 upvote
JefffromMaRS
By JefffromMaRS (5 months ago)

Ummh...disappointing video...I guess only if great color rendition coupled with terrific hi-iso video performance is your idea of disappointment...oh and pretty well controlled moire...sheesh...DPReview needs a dedicated video aspect reviewer who knows their stuff.

0 upvotes
tjbates
By tjbates (5 months ago)

On the GH3 page - must be a typo.
"What we liked"
"What we like" ..... should read "What we don't like."

0 upvotes
Jeff Keller
By Jeff Keller (5 months ago)

Fixed.

0 upvotes
Infared
By Infared (5 months ago)

So this is the space where all the people get angry because their camera is not at the top of the list. LOL!
If you like your camera...who cares?

11 upvotes
BNapa
By BNapa (5 months ago)

I like it! You are funny. Exactly. Where is my 6D?!!!

0 upvotes
BNapa
By BNapa (5 months ago)

@LXNights you make a good point about system compatability. I recently used a 120 macro from the Pentax 645 ststem with my K5IIs and the images are first rate. I have also acquired a 67 lens and used it with my Canon and Pentax with great results as well.

0 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (5 months ago)

5 mirrorless 3 DSLRs? No Sony SLTs?

Best enthusiast-level camera - Olympus OM-D E-M1 - a 2x crop factor mirrorless in price of full frame DSLR? Why you haven't included Canon 6D and Nikon D600 than?

You've got to be kidding me. It's a joke, not a comparison.

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
BNapa
By BNapa (5 months ago)

Plastek, I agree with you that Canon 6D and Nikon D600 should be in this group. Unless they are slated to appear in another grouping. My 6D is the best camera I have owned. Focus speed is lacking, I am sure it has orher flaws. But in terms of pure image quality, especially at high ISOs, it is be far the best Canon I have owned.

0 upvotes
Treeshade
By Treeshade (5 months ago)

Prehaps it is price that put 6D and D600 out of enthusiast-level? The bodies are more expansive, and you need FF lens which also cost more. Same for a99.

0 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (5 months ago)

The 6D, D610 and A7 would all be in a class above these. We probably won't get a chance to cover those cameras this time 'round and would want to spend more time with the A7 before trying to draw a conclusion.

Comment edited 10 minutes after posting
1 upvote
peevee1
By peevee1 (5 months ago)

DPR wrote: "It's extremely hard to choose between the Nikon and the Pentax, but the sophistication of the Nikon's AF system just puts it ahead,"

Does it mean you have already tested K-3's AF?

2 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (5 months ago)

No. It's just "sophistication" - real-world results don't matter according to them. Just a level of sophistication.

8 upvotes
Impulses
By Impulses (5 months ago)

Is there a formatting error on the mobile site or something? The line that reads:

" However, even without taking that step, these enthusiast models offer until recently undreamt of image quality in a more compact package "

Shows up at the start of the last paragraph, when I'm pretty sure it's meant to go at the end of said pantagraph (contextually).

0 upvotes
Jeff Keller
By Jeff Keller (5 months ago)

You're probably seeing the "pull quote" in the wrong place. I'll let our developers know.

0 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (5 months ago)

You're right - the paragraph had been shifted at some point (and picked-up some odd formatting in the process). I'm not sure how that happened, but it's now fixed.

Thanks for drawing it to our attention.

0 upvotes
Impulses
By Impulses (5 months ago)

Cool, got owned by auto correct while pointing that out too hah (not even sure what a pantagraph is...). That isn't the first time I see an out of place pull quote on the mobile site btw, using stock Android browser if it helps any.

0 upvotes
Chris Noble
By Chris Noble (5 months ago)

How can you not include the most innovative enthusiast camera by far, the Panasonic Lumix GX7? It can't be due to "timing" since you've already reviewed it. Or is this a case of "we need to pick one from each of our advertisers"?

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
2 upvotes
Impulses
By Impulses (5 months ago)

They mentioned it'll be included in one of the other roundups... Looks like the criteria for this one was a mix of size/controls and price point, both of which were above the GX7's level. Looks like the GH3 was put in retroactively though, judging by the earlier comments.

Makes sense to me, even though there are outliers to this criteria (like the NEX's street price, by virtue of being the oldest), the GX7 is a closer competitor to something like an EM5 than to an EM1. There's always gonna be some overlap depending on your needs, budget, current deals, etc.

1 upvote
BNapa
By BNapa (5 months ago)

Hey Chris,
I was wondering about that too. I see Canon ads from time to time.

Frankly I do not pay much attention to the ads anyway. In magazines they put a good size box at the top distinguishing the page as advertisement.

It is more difficult to tell the difference between ads and editorial on an online page.

0 upvotes
Astrotripper
By Astrotripper (5 months ago)

Nicely written and useful overview of available options. Although I was surprised that Olympus' in-body stabilization had not been mentioned as a big selling point. And it was only hinted in case of K-3. And this is a major differentiating factor, as those are the only two cameras from the comparison that offer this. And depending on user preferences, that might be a really big deal.

If I were still in a market for a DSLR, I'd go with Pentax, but since I got Oly E-PL1 for cheap, I'm totally sold on the mirrorless idea. E-PL1 is crap by today's standards, but it was enough to make me realize that I really don't want to carry large and heavy piece of equipment such as a DSLR. So I will probably upgrade to E-P5, thought I would prefer a Pen Lite if it had focus peaking.

Anyway, it's been an interesting year in photo industry, lot's of interesting products that actually try to push on forward. I wonder when will Canon wake up and make a move.

2 upvotes
Total comments: 267
12