10 Last-Minute Gift Ideas for Photographers

If - like many of us - you’ve left your Christmas shopping until the last minute and are stumped as to what to buy for the photographer in your life, fear not! Here you’ll find a wealth of inspiring gadgets and goodies that are guaranteed to put a smile on the face of your happy snapper.

Rather than focusing on the 'serious' stuff like tripods, bags and camera straps, I thought I’d be a bit more inventive and show off some of the more quirky photo-related gifts out there. In addition to the products suggested, I recommend that you take a good look around each of the sites listed in the article (click the Check Price / Buy Now links), where you’ll find even more fun, funky and downright awesome products, from apparel and watches to tiny digital cameras and photography-inspired jewelry.

I’ve kept the emphasis on the more affordable 'stocking fillers' that grabbed my attention (and I hope will grab yours), but there are plenty of pricier items on each of the websites that we’ve recommended if you’re still looking for a main gift for your loved one. Got all of your Christmas shopping done already? Then treat yourself to a well-earned early gift instead! All the prices quoted are indicative of typical 'street' prices.

Take a look at these suggestions and let us know what you think. Likewise, if you’ve come across something amazing, share it in the comments section below. Happy shopping! 

Here's my selection:

Lens Bracelet 50mm

Express your love for your favorite lens (and your partner!) with the fashionable unisex Lens Bracelet, designed by professional photographer Adam Elmakias.

The perfect fashion accessory for any chic photo-geek! Photographer Adam Elmakias originally created these bracelets to promote his work, giving them away to family, friends and fans as he toured the US and Canada in 2010. They proved so popular that he added to the range of styles and focal lengths, with his website now offering a version to suit just about anyone. We’ve picked out the 50mm prime version here, but you can also select from alternatives including: 35mm, 85mm, 14-24mm, 17-40mm, 24-70mm, 24-105mm and 70-200mm, so you can choose the one that best expresses your favorite focal length and brand.

Constructed from soft, durable silicone, these stylish black bracelets come in two sizes - 7” or 8”. The detailing on the bracelet itself looks great, with embossed lettering and a ridged texture that mimics the look and feel of a focusing ring: a perfect gift for a significant other (why not buy one for each of you?) or friend who’s nuts about photography.

Pinhole Camera: Make your own kit

Make your very own pinhole camera from scratch - then start getting creative!

Stash your beloved digital camera for a day and revive your love for (say it quietly) film with this inexpensive kit, part of the retro-styled Ridley’s House of Novelties range of products. 

The old-style 'shop worn' box contains everything you need to build your very own pinhole camera that really works, with full instructions on how to put the precision die-cut card kit together. There are 25 pieces in total (you’ll need some glue to assemble them), with the final model measuring 11.8 x 0.8 x 8.7 inches.

Once you’ve finished constructing the camera, simply load it up with standard 35mm film and start snapping! Why not put some extra thought into this gift and include a voucher to get your recipient’s first roll of film developed at a local chemist / camera shop too? Once they’ve seen what they can create, they’ll be hooked.

Click here to turn to page 2 of our Buyers Guide: Last-Minute Gift Ideas for Photographers

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions held by dpreview.com or any affiliated companies.

Comments

Total comments: 41
morepix
By morepix (Jan 19, 2012)

Maybe it'll soon be time to kill this item about Christmas/holiday buys?

0 upvotes
RDMPhotos
By RDMPhotos (Dec 27, 2011)

i do not like that T-Shirt. It looks like a misprint. The aperture scale is going the wrong way and there is 2 of them

0 upvotes
Klarno
By Klarno (Dec 28, 2011)

the double aperture scale is typical of Nikkor AI lenses, as is the direction (Nikon and Panasonic rotate counter-clockwise to get to the closest focus distance/shortest focal length/widest aperture, and just about everyone else goes clockwise for the same adjustments), but the typeface they use looks like the one used on modern Leicas.

0 upvotes
AndrewG NY
By AndrewG NY (Jan 4, 2012)

Focus and aperture rings for Pentax lenses also rotate in the same direction as Nikon. Contax, Minolta, Konica, and Canon FD are usually reversed. Olympus OM appears to have aperture ring like Nikon/Pentax but zoom/focus reversed.

0 upvotes
design1314
By design1314 (Dec 26, 2011)

Wow Amazing!

0 upvotes
HBoss26
By HBoss26 (Dec 26, 2011)

They are cool actually! and and and to those people who are sooooo serious only reviews of cameras and lenses that "must be?" please stay calm lighten up the spirit of x-mas and new year still yet present.

Happy Holiday To All Of You! Good Article btw

0 upvotes
Dames01
By Dames01 (Dec 22, 2011)

Merry Christmas DP Review and thanks for all the wonderful articles including this one.

Comment edited 53 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
RoelHendrickx
By RoelHendrickx (Dec 22, 2011)

Some fun stuff here.
Some I already knew, others new.
The cookie cutters are ideal for my daughter and myself : hint hint.
She likes to bake cookies and I like to eat them. ;-)

0 upvotes
TOOBAD2
By TOOBAD2 (Dec 22, 2011)

MERRY CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY HANUKKAH TO ALL.

0 upvotes
Roland Karlsson
By Roland Karlsson (Dec 22, 2011)

This is fun! Both reading about the presents and reading the comments. This is not serious guys! I say it again. This is not serious guys!

Never had a polaroid camera. But the polaroid mirror was fun. So was the Photoshop frame. The T-shirt looked nice. If it was a causal short sleeved shirt with that image on the back I would consider it.

Happy Xmas to all of you - no matter if you think this article is fun or not. There is room on this planet for all kinds of people.

1 upvote
Kevin Yee
By Kevin Yee (Dec 22, 2011)

This is a bit late (was late before it was named "last minute" right? ;)) but great fun, thanks!

Merry Christmas.

1 upvote
Don Simons
By Don Simons (Dec 21, 2011)

Just read some of the miserable posts here and could just imagine these guys boring people to death at a photo club. It would probably reflect in the photos they take as well. So let us sympathise with their wives if they have them, and lastly remind them that they are not paying for dpreview. Or were they tongue in cheek posts to get me going?

7 upvotes
HeezDeadJim
By HeezDeadJim (Dec 22, 2011)

You go to a photo club to talk about photography, Don. Not to ask how your kids are doing or how you cooked that turkey and side dishes for Thanksgiving. Don't be rude. We will ask you to leave if you bring up other topics in a serious environment.

We don't care about your kids, pets, or your excellent ticket price for your vacation to Hawaii. That has nothing/little to do with photography and wastes my time hearing about something proper like: still waiting for a review on the Pentax 645D.

As for my 4th wife, she says I'm impersonal. I really don't care.

1 upvote
sean000
By sean000 (Dec 21, 2011)

I want the Polaroid mirror, but as much of a photo-dork as I am I do not think I could rock the aperture ring bracelets or the PS magnet kit.

1 upvote
Earthlight
By Earthlight (Dec 21, 2011)

I liked this one, thanks! Merry Christmas everybody!

2 upvotes
fireplace33
By fireplace33 (Dec 21, 2011)

Order a lens mug and a real lens.
Then put the lens mug in the real lens box and return it for a full refund.
Sounds silly ?
Read the unfortunate experience here!

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/readflat.asp?forum=1030&message=39953353&q=fake+lens&qf=m

3 upvotes
Carol Stee
By Carol Stee (Dec 21, 2011)

Interesting ideas for gifts. I wish this article appeared a week ago. It's too late to order anything and have it arrive in time for Christmas.

0 upvotes
Ualnosaj
By Ualnosaj (Dec 21, 2011)

Agree. If you haven't gotten anything yet, there's little chance this stuff will be around or arrive on time.

0 upvotes
Barney Britton
By Barney Britton (Dec 21, 2011)

Where's your Christmas spirit? There's always New Year ;)

0 upvotes
TOOBAD2
By TOOBAD2 (Dec 21, 2011)

BETTER LATE THAN NEVER. AND THERE IS ALWAYS TIME. JUST PUT IT ON MANUAL. AND WHY NOT A NEW LENS OR BODY THAT WILL FIT IN ANY STOCKING. YOU COULD EVEN GET A BIGGER ONE IF YOU NEED.

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
fkazmi
By fkazmi (Dec 21, 2011)

I liked the lens mug the best. great idea!

0 upvotes
VENTURE-STAR
By VENTURE-STAR (Dec 21, 2011)

I didn't find this article fun or well timed. It was just the kind of thing you expect to find in an overpriced newsstand camera magazine at this time of the year.

No substance and no value.

Please stick to good quality camera reviews and technical features

4 upvotes
GeorgeD200
By GeorgeD200 (Dec 21, 2011)

What a grinch! If it doesn't interest you, don't read it.
Egomaniac: If I don't want to read it, DPR shouldn't put it on their website.
From now on DPR, please submit all article ideas to VENTURE-STAR for approval before publishing. THX.

18 upvotes
DioCanon
By DioCanon (Dec 23, 2011)

I agree with you George, but still we cant get only positive comments that you would like, everyone has the right to express an opinion, politely.

Comment edited 13 seconds after posting
1 upvote
LoganVii
By LoganVii (Dec 21, 2011)

Woa, there are so many things I like here.... Hmmm which one to get me a s a xmas gift?
Love this piece!

0 upvotes
viking5
By viking5 (Dec 21, 2011)

I think this piece was fun and well timed for christmas. For those who do not like this kind of stuff and only want die hard reviews: Just don´t read it. I think it´s good that DPR has broadened its material. It´s not at the expense of the original and core stuff either. It´s just more for us to enjoy. I´ve been a loyal follower of DPR since 2000. Keep up the good work!

8 upvotes
KonstantinosK
By KonstantinosK (Dec 21, 2011)

Come on guys, lets have some humor around here! What's wrong with an article a bit trashy from time to time? It's fine by me...

10 upvotes
Rich Rosen
By Rich Rosen (Dec 21, 2011)

Why is this article even on DPR? It must be the green the site is getting to promote this stuff.

0 upvotes
Barney Britton
By Barney Britton (Dec 21, 2011)

? It's a bit of fun for Cristmas - lighten up.

13 upvotes
keepreal
By keepreal (Dec 21, 2011)

This is about the most trashy article I have seen on DP Review ever. A much better present for Xmas would have been for it to include only serious stuff for serious people like it used to.

0 upvotes
EpyonXero
By EpyonXero (Dec 21, 2011)

Photography iz srs bizns

3 upvotes
Barney Britton
By Barney Britton (Dec 21, 2011)

@keepreal - I'm glad that you enjoy our core content so much, and rest assured that it isn't going anywhere. No reviews were harmed in the production of this article. If you don't like it, don't read it ;)

9 upvotes
RoelHendrickx
By RoelHendrickx (Dec 22, 2011)

Reply to Barney:
LOL on the "no reviews were harmed in the production..." line.
Roel

0 upvotes
santamonica812
By santamonica812 (Dec 21, 2011)

Thanks for the eBay suggestion re the lens mugs. Much prefer to pay 1/3 of the retail price quoted in this article. A very cool suggestion, and I already have 4 people in mind to give these mugs to.

1 upvote
Chaitanya S
By Chaitanya S (Dec 21, 2011)

I got lens mugs from ebay a long time back.

0 upvotes
ccarrier
By ccarrier (Dec 21, 2011)

These Lens mugs are too cool! I just ordered a 24-70mm :-)

1 upvote
carizi
By carizi (Dec 21, 2011)

Camera Lens Mug looks cool too....but that clock is really the winner of all....

1 upvote
Solarcoaster
By Solarcoaster (Dec 21, 2011)

Most of these are really lame. The only decent gift is the clock.

2 upvotes
M Jesper
By M Jesper (Dec 21, 2011)

Worst thing are these 'lens pillows'. They don't in the least resemble a lens. Does nobody know it's the glass that makes them optics work ?

0 upvotes
jimkh
By jimkh (Dec 21, 2011)

The "if you don't like it, don't read it " is rediculous. How do you know you don't like it unless you read it?

I did and I don't.

3 upvotes
HeezDeadJim
By HeezDeadJim (Dec 22, 2011)

It's quite simple jimkh: you read the topic header.

It's not a review about a camera, so skip the article. Most the users complaining about these articles are ONLY wanting reviews of cameras or lenses (wah, we want our old DPR back!).

If you don't like seafood, then don't complain about "how do I know I won't like crab unless I try it...meh, I didn't like it".

Oh what a surprise. Use common sense. Don't flood the comments area with your useless rants.

"How do I know I won't like the complaining comments unless I read the comments area?...well, maybe I could just skip the whole comments area. Or maybe I just ignore them and toss some cheese to the whine?

(P.S. I've had my eyes on that lens mug for a while).

1 upvote
Total comments: 41