Articles from December 2013

December 31
Fujifilm X-A1 real-world and test scene samples

The following real-world gallery and test scene shots were first published in our 2013 Camera Roundups, but we're highlighting the Fujifilm X-A1 again in case you missed it the first time around. The X-A1 is nearly identical to the X-M1 except for one key detail - it uses a 16MP sensor with a conventional, Bayer color filter array, rather than the X-Trans design that's been used in other bodies. See gallery

December 30
Premium prime? Nikon AF-S Nikkor 58mm f/1.4G in-depth review

The Nikon AF-S Nikkor 58mm f/1.4G was one of the more unexpected lens releases of 2013. It's a fast normal prime for full frame shooters, but its $1699.95 / £1599.99 price tag represents a huge premium compared to the existing (and very good) AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.4G. What's more, lab tests failed to show any clear sharpness advantage either. So why, exactly, is Nikon asking so much for this lens, and just how well does it perform in real-world use? Find out. Read our detailed review

Have your say: Best gear of 2013

A great many new products were released this year, and we've published in-depth content on plenty of them, full reviews of many and we've got plenty of opinions on all of them. This is your chance to have your day - which was the best gear of 2013? Click through to see our five readers' polls, and cast your vote!

December 29
Sample Gallery: Nokia Lumia 1520 smartphone images

We couldn't wait to see Nokia's first phablet in action. The Lumia 1520 boasts a 20-megapixel PureView camera with optical image stabilization as well as the ability to save uncompressed Digital Negative (DNG) files. We're working on our full review of the device now and sharing our first sample gallery today on connect.dpreview.com.

Old SLR lenses: full-frame, focal reducer, or APS-C?
There are lots of great old lenses designed for SLRs. Now you use them on a mirrorless camera with an adapter. How does image quality compare using the full-frame Sony A7 vs. the APS-C Sony NEX-7 with/without a focal reducer?
December 28
In photos: The beauty of bees

Biologist Sam Droege of the USGS Native Bee Inventory and Monitoring Program has turned the work of documenting bee species into an art form. His rare and extremely detailed look at these insects provides an online reference catalog to help researchers identity native bee species across North America. See gallery

DPReview Videos: tutorials, product overviews, interviews and more

We don't just write news stories and product reviews here on DPReview.com, we also create videos. As well as samples the cameras we review, we also produce 'hands-on' video previews and overviews of many of the current hottest products on the market. In addition to these, we've recently started adding a series of video tutorials designed to help you make informed decisions about which camera, lens, or type of product might be best for you. Click through to browse our growing library of videos. 

December 27
What The Duck #1449

We've come to the end of another week here at dpreview, and as our thoughts drift to weekend shooting opportunities, it's time to take things a little less seriously. Aaron Johnson's comic strip ‘What the Duck’ is just the thing, taking a gently satirical look through the lens of a photographically inclined waterfowl. You can find it published here (and in our newsletter) every week; we hope you enjoy it, and your weekend.

Pentax K-50 real-world and test scene samples

The following real-world gallery and test scene shots were first published in our 2013 Camera Roundups, but we're highlighting the Pentax K-50 again in case you missed it the first time around. The Pentax K-50 is the follow up to the K-30 and is similar in appearance and spec to the K-500. The camera can also be custom ordered in 120 possible color combinations. See gallery

December 26
Hands-on with the Panono panoramic ball camera

The Panono is a ball-shaped panoramic camera with 36 individual camera modules and a built-in accelerometer. We got our hands on a prototype and met with its Berlin-based creators. See what we thought of the crowd-funded camera on connect.dpreview.com.

December 25
Happy Holidays from dpreview

The entire team at dpreview would like to wish all our readers Happy Holidays, Season's Greetings, Merry Christmas or whatever you say in your part of the world. As we celebrate our 15th anniversary we're looking back on one of the busiest years that we can remember and looking ahead to 2014, which is likely to be even more exciting. Wherever you are, and whatever you're doing today, enjoy yourselves and thank you for being a part of dpreview.com!

In photos: Flowing fins of Siamese fighting fish

Thai photographer Visarute Angkatavanich has created a stunning series of close-up portraits of Siamese fighting fish. With simple backgrounds and dramatic lighting, the images show off the species' vivid colors and graceful fins. Siamese fighting fish, also known as Betta, now days are a popular aquarium fish. See gallery

December 24
Nikon D5300 real-world and test scene samples

The following real-world gallery and test scene shots were first published in our 2013 Camera Roundups, but we're highlighting the Nikon D5300 again in case you missed it the first time around since we're working toward a full review in 2014. The D5300 is Nikon's latest evolution of the D5200 by removing the optical low-pass filter (OLPF) and adding a handful of other features. See gallery

December 23
2013 Roundup: The best in smartphone photography

It's been an exciting year for mobile photography with innovations in sensors, new software features, and an even greater focus on the imaging capabilities of mobile devices. As we reflect back on the past year and look forward to further advances in 2014, we're sharing our thoughts on the most important trends in mobile imaging from 2013. Learn more on connect.dpreview.com.

Samsung NX300 real-world and test scene samples

The following real-world gallery and test scene shots were first published in our 2013 Camera Roundups, but we're highlighting the Samsung NX300 again in case you missed it the first time around. The NX300 looks a lot like the NX200 and 210, but includes updates that show signs of ever-greater integration between the company's cameras and its smartphones. See gallery

December 22
Carnivorous plant image wins Olympus BioScapes competition

The open 'mouth' of a floating humped bladderwort plant (Utricularia gibba) took first prize in Olympus' microscope image competition. Igor Siwanowicz, a researcher from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute's Janelia Farm Research Campus in Ashburn, Virginia, took the winning image of the carnivorous plant, beating more than 2,000 entries from 71 countries. See gallery

December 21
FroKnowsPhoto's Video Guide on sale

Our friend Jared Polin over at Fro Knows Photo is running a holiday season promotion on his latest video guide, FroKnowsPhoto Flash Guide. Until the end of the year you'll be able to buy the instant digital download version for just $57. Not bad for three hours of practical advice on flash photography delivered in the Fro's inimitable style.

December 20
Fujifilm, Sigma, and Pentax post firmware updates

Over the last few days a number of firmware updates have been posted. Fujifilm has new firmware for the following cameras: X-Pro1, X-E1, X-E2, and X100S. From Sigma, there are updates for the SD1 and SD1 Merrill. And finally from Pentax, the K-3 also has new firmware. Get download links and more information about each update. Learn more

What The Duck #1448

We've come to the end of another week here at dpreview, and as our thoughts drift to weekend shooting opportunities, it's time to take things a little less seriously. Aaron Johnson's comic strip ‘What the Duck’ is just the thing, taking a gently satirical look through the lens of a photographically inclined waterfowl. You can find it published here (and in our newsletter) every week; we hope you enjoy it, and your weekend.

Pics.io rolls out online Raw converter, collaborative photo sharing

As Pics.io continues its efforts to launch browser-based photo editing tools — with support for Raw files — and online storage, the first of its services is available now, for free. Pics.io's Ukrainian developers have rolled out both Live.pics.io, collaborative online photo sharing, and raw.pics.io, an online Raw file converter. Learn more at connect.dpreview.com.

Nikon Df review: A classic remade?

The Nikon Df is, at first appearance, the camera many people have been wanting for years - a classically styled DSLR with traditional external controls. A lot of what's under the Df's retro skin is pretty familiar with the 16MP full-frame D4 sensor and the AF system from the D610. But does the Df bring together the best of the old and the new for a compelling shooting experience? Find out. Read our full review

December 19
Sizing it up: Our Panasonic Lumix DMC-GM1 review

We've just posted our full review of the Panasonic Lumix DMC-GM1. It underscores the 'Micro' in Micro Four Thirds as the smallest model in that class, with a 16MP Four Thirds sensor and a collapsible 12-32mm F3.5-5.6 kit lens. It offers many features that its bigger Lumix GX7 sibling does, starting with the sensor, but in a much smaller package. See how it measures up. Read our full review

Firmware update gives Sony QX-series cameras more manual control

Sony has announced firmware upgrades that enhance the features of its QX-series 'lens-style' cameras, which clip on to the front of your smartphone. The update adds Full HD video recording and an expanded ISO range for both the QX10 and QX100, while the latter also receives a shutter priority mode. Sony's latest PlayMemories Mobile app has more seamless photo browsing and dramatically improved performance on iOS devices. Click through for more.

December 18
Have Your Say: Best DSLR / SLT of 2013

Several new DSLRs were announced in 2013, even as mirrorless cameras nipped at their heels in the entry-level and enthusiast segment of the market. Among the new DSLRs released this year were a handful of iterative updates to existing models, but also some all-new contenders, including Canon's high-tech EOS 70D and Nikon's entirely unconventional (or perhaps that should be entirely traditional) Df. Click through to check out the selection, and cast your vote. 

Have your say: Best Fixed-lens Compact Camera of 2013

2013 saw the release of five cameras in a (relatively) new class, which we're calling 'fixed lens compact cameras'. Specifically, large-sensor fixed-lens compact cameras. Fujifilm's X100S is one of our favorite cameras of the year, addressing many of the faults of its predecessor. Sony followed up on the RX1 from last year with the RX1R, which shares the same 24MP full-frame sensor but minus an AA filter for superior resolution. Meanwhile, both Nikon and Ricoh released APS-C 28mm equivalent cameras, while Sigma's DP3 offers a 75mm equivalent lens. Click through for a chance to cast your vote and decide which is best. 

Have Your Say: Best Mirrorless Interchangeable Lens Camera of 2013

2013 saw a lot of new mirrorless cameras, from minor updates to older models to all-new products like the waterproof Nikon 1 AW1 and the world's first full-frame enthusiast mirrorless cameras with Sony's Alpha A7 and A7R. We've used almost all of this year's crop of mirrorless cameras, published numerous samples galleries, wrote first impressions articles and reviews, but now it's your chance to have your say. What was the best mirrorless interchangeable lens camera of 2013? Click through to cast your vote. 

Have Your Say: Best Enthusiast Zoom Compact of 2013

2013 was a busy year for high-end compact cameras, which saw everything from iterative updates to established lines to brand new options from manufacturers entering this market segment. We've used almost all of them, reviewed a few, and in the process we've taken thousands of pictures and formed plenty of opinions. But now it's your turn - what was the best enthusiast compact camera of 2013? Click through for our selection, and a chance to cast your vote. 

Have Your Say: Best Lens of 2013

A lot of lenses were released in 2013, for a growing number of camera systems. As well as additions to established mounts this year also saw newer systems grow substantially as 'road map' lenses became a reality. We've shot with a lot of this year's most interesting lenses and reviewed some, but we want to know your opinion. What was this year's best lens? We've whittled the selection down to 10, but now it's over to you. Click through for a look at the lenses, and a chance to cast your vote.

Apple Raw update brings support for Nikon Df and Sony A7/A7R

Apple recently released Digital Camera RAW Compatibility 5.02 for Aperture 3 and iPhoto '11. The update adds Raw image support for the following five cameras: Nikon D5300, Nikon Df, Olympus OM-D E-M1, Sony Alpha 7, and Sony Alpha 7R. Get the update

Fujifilm announces XF 10-24mm F4 R OIS wideangle zoom

Fujifilm has announced the XF 10-24mm F4 R OIS, a premium ultra-wideangle zoom lens for the company's X system mirrorless cameras. It offers an angle of view equivalent to 15-36mm on full frame, and incorporates optical image stabilisation to reduce blur at slow shutter speeds when shooting hand-held. It also has an aperture control ring on the barrel, and is compatible with the company's Lens Modulation Optimizer function. It'll be available from March 2014 for $999.95 / £849.99. 

December 17
Nikon D4 and Canon EOS 6D added to test scene comparison tool

As we're racing to complete our full review of the Nikon Df, we've added the Nikon D4 and Canon EOS 6D to our studio comparison tool. The studio test scene shows image quality for both JPEG and Raw files. It offers downloadable Raw samples and is designed to simulate real-world daylight and low-light shooting. As always, you can compare the D4 and EOS 6D to a number of other cameras, including the Df. See test scene

DxOMark Mobile analyzes the LG G2's camera capabilities

We've added DxOMark Mobile's report to our camera review of the LG G2 smartphone. The report includes DxO Lab's usual industrial-quality scientific measurements. Their imaging experts analyzed 14 aspects of mobile imaging, including detailed image quality assessment, flash performance, autofocus reliability and more to calculate a final score. See their results on connect.dpreview.com.

5 Kickstarter projects for photographers

From gadgets that promise to make timelapse photography easier to a lens that will let your smartphone camera see in the dark, Kickstarter is brimming with interesting ideas from some forward-thinking developers. We take a look at a few aimed at photographers. Learn more on connect.dpreview.com.

Samyang says five of its full frame lenses now available in Sony E mount

Samyang has announced that, as promised in October, five of its full frame lenses are now available in Sony E-mount, and are therefore the first third-party optics with native mounts for the Sony A7 and A7R. The lenses are the 14mm F2.8, 24mm F1.4, 24mm F3.5 tilt-and-shift, 35mm F1.4, and 85mm F1.4. All feature manual focus and aperture operation and, because they're essentially SLR lenses with an adapter tube added, all are considerably more bulky than their Alpha mount counterparts. Click through for more information and images of the E-mount lenses.

December 16
Lens reviews update: test data for the Sigma 24-105mm f/4 DG OS HSM

DxOMark has just reviewed the Sigma 24-105mm f/4 DG OS HSM, a general-purpose zoom for full frame SLRs. As part of our ongoing collaboration we've added the test data to our lens widget, and looked to see how it compares to the Canon equivalent. We've also added test data for the Nikon mount version of Zeiss's stellar Apo Sonnar T* 2/135. Click through for our full analysis, and a link to DxOMark's own reviews.

Tamron announces availability of  150-600mm F/5-6.3 telephoto zoom

Tamron has announced that its SP 150-600mm F/5-6.3 Di VC USD telephoto zoom will go on sale on December 19th in Japan, and 17th January 2014 in the USA. The lens will feature optical image stabilization and an Ultrasonic Silent Drive autofocus motor, and be compatible with both full frame and APS-C SLRs. It will be available first in Canon mount, with Nikon and Sony versions to follow. Pricing is still to be confirmed.

Art of Building contest: Vote for your favorite photo

An eerie view from Alcatraz, the use of child labor in India and a symbol of the Soviet Union’s past industrial rush are some of the finalists in this year's international Art of Building photography competition run by the Chartered Institute of Building. A panel of judges shortlisted 15 images. Now the contest turns to you to decide the winner. Learn more

December 15
Backstory of Phantom Flex4K video shot at 1,000 FPS

Filming fire has come a long way since the 1991 movie Backdraft. Emerging Director Brendan Bellomo and DP Greg Wilson shot a slow motion short using the Phantom Flex4K camera, which shoots 1,000 FPS in full 4K resolution. The results are riveting. See video

December 14
Want to remember something? Don't take a photo

Nowadays we snap photos of every detail of our lives — the food we eat, what our cat is doing, the quirky things we see, the places we go — and we do this in an effort document and remember those experiences. But a new study, published in Psychological Science, suggests it's possible that the act of taking pictures may actually lessen our ability to recall details of a subject. Learn more

December 13
What The Duck #1196

We've come to the end of another week here at dpreview, and as our thoughts drift to weekend shooting opportunities, it's time to take things a little less seriously. Aaron Johnson's comic strip ‘What the Duck’ is just the thing, taking a gently satirical look through the lens of a photographically inclined waterfowl. You can find it published here (and in our newsletter) every week; we hope you enjoy it, and your weekend.

Lomography offers pre-order package for Petzval 85mm F2.2 SLR lens

Lomography has announced that its Kickstarter-funded Petzval portrait lens is now available for pre-order in Canon and Nikon mounts. Based on a 19th century optical design, the 85mm F2.2 lens has a brass lens barrel, a 'gear rack' manual focusing mechanism using a knob on the side of the barrel, and a set of drop-in 'Waterhouse stops' to change the aperture. The pre-order package costs $599 from Lomography's website, with a current delivery estimate of May 2014.  

SLR Magic announces 17mm T1.6 lens for Micro Four Thirds

Hong Kong-based lens maker SLR Magic has announced an addition to its family of video-oriented manual focus fast primes for Micro Four Thirds. The 17mm T1.6 offers an angle of view equivalent to 34mm on full frame, and has geared focus and aperture rings. It will be available at the end of December 2013.

Accessory Review: Manfrotto 190 Carbon Fiber Tripod

Lauded as a compact semi-professional model and constructed of cross-woven carbon fiber, the new 190 ($409.88 body only) would be an eye-catching addition to any camera kit. Manfrotto made several updates to the new model, but do they place it far enough beyond the old 190, which cost $259.95, to justify the price hike? Find out in our review

Adobe adds color profiles for Olympus cameras to ACR and Lightroom

Adobe's latest versions of Camera Raw and Lightroom contained a pleasant surprise for Olympus owners - color profiles for image conversion. The company says the addition is a response to 'a long standing customer request.' We've re-processed one of the images from our Olympus OM-D E-M1 sample gallery to see how closely the profiles match the camera's 'Natural' setting.

December 12
Eye-Fi's Mobi card will transfer directly to desktop

Eye-Fi is beta testing a new desktop receiver for Windows that will allow for direct transfer from the Eye-Fi Mobi card to the desktop. Launched earlier this year, the Eye-Fi Mobi card uses Wi-Fi to wirelessly send images to your mobile device via an iOS, Android or Kindle app — and now straight to your desktop. Download the new software for free on connect.dpreview.com.

What the Android 4.4.1 update means for Google's Nexus 5 shooters

A major software update promises to fix the bevy of camera issues Nexus 5 users started complaining about as soon as they got Google's newest smartphones in hand. So does the Android update make for a more responsive camera? We put our refreshed Nexus 5 through its photographic paces on connect.dpreview.com.

Adobe releases final versions of Camera Raw 8.3 and Lightroom 5.3

Adobe has announced the final versions of Camera Raw and DNG Converter 8.3, along with Lightroom 5.3. Different versions for ACR 8.3 are available for Photoshop CC and Photoshop CS6 - both from Adobe.com and through the update mechanisms in the software. DNG Converter is available for free for users of older versions of Photoshop. The latest versions brings support for 20 cameras, including the Nikon Df and Nokia Lumia 1020 that weren't in the release candidate versions.

December 11
Enter the 2014 World Press Photo contest

One of the premier photojournalism competitions, the 2014 World Press Photo contest, is now open for entries to professional photographers. The deadline for submissions is January 15, 2014 and the winners will be announced on February 14, 2014. The top award, the World Press Photo of the Year, carries a cash prize of €10,000 (~$13,764). Learn more

December 10
Make your own Google Street View virtual tours

Google is reaching out to photographers to help capture and record the planet's most hard-to-reach places using Android's Photo Sphere feature. A new tool lets users upload and connect their 360-degree photo spheres to create virtual tours that can be shared in Google's Street View. Learn more on connect.dpreview.com.

Nikon Df real-world samples gallery

As we work on our full review of the Nikon Df, we've been shooting with it extensively and have put together a gallery of real-world samples. We've tried to use a selection of lenses, including older Nikon glass as well as the recently-launched AF-S Nikkor 58mm f/1.4 G. Here are 40 images shot at a range of ISOs to show how the camera performs. See gallery

December 9
Nikon firmware update breaks support for third-party batteries

Owners of some of Nikon's entry and mid-range DSLRs are reporting that a recent firmware update broke support for their third-party batteries. The firmware update for the Nikon D3200, D3100, D5100, D5200 and CoolPix P7700 cameras claimed to report remaining charge more accurately for the EN-EL14a lithium-ion battery. However, on installing the update, some owners found their third-party batteries suddenly incompatible.

Fujifilm XF 23mm F1.4 R real-world samples gallery

We've been shooting for a while with Fujifilm's latest X-system lens, the XF 23mm F1.4R, and have prepared a gallery of real-world samples. They cover variety of subjects and lighting conditions, and were all shot on the X-E2. We've also quickly summarised our impressions of the lens's handling and image quality. Click through to find out more.

DPReview is hiring! Senior UX Designer wanted!

DPReview is hiring! We're looking for a Senior UX designer to shape the next generation of content and community tools for our large and passionate audience of photographers and camera enthusiasts. Candidates will have the rare ability to influence the product at all levels and to create a new user experience for a top 1000 website. Click through for more details. 

Motrr Galileo puts new spin on iPhone panorama photography

The Motrr Galileo works in combination with the Sphere iOS app to automate the panorama capturing process with much more precision than handheld shooting allows. This speeds the entire process up considerably and should, at least in theory, lead to better image results. We put it to the test on connect.dpreview.com.

December 8
DxO releases FilmPack 4.5

DxO has announced an update to its FilmPack 4 software, with version 4.5 adding two new 'film renderings' - Agfa Scala 200x and Kodak Ektar 100. FilmPack aims to simulate the look of classic film emulsions and can operate either as a standalone program or as a plugin for Adobe, Apple and DxO software. Click through for more details.

DxO releases Optics Pro 9.1

DxO has announced updates to its recently-announced Optics Pro 9 software, bringing speed enhancements and additional camera support. Optics Pro 9 is the latest version of DxO's long-running Optics Pro Raw conversion and optical correction software. It brings greatly improved 'denoising' (noise reduction) technology for enhanced high ISO image quality. Click through for more details.

December 7
TIME's top photos of the year

Each year TIME picks 10 images from 10 photographers to represent some of top news stories of the year. From the massacre at the Westgate Mall in Kenya, the Boston Marathon bombings, to the recent typhoon in the Philippines, the collection highlights the work of seasoned photojournalists. Learn more

December 6
What The Duck #1146

We've come to the end of another week here at dpreview, and as our thoughts drift to weekend shooting opportunities, it's time to take things a little less seriously. Aaron Johnson's comic strip ‘What the Duck’ is just the thing, taking a gently satirical look through the lens of a photographically inclined waterfowl. You can find it published here (and in our newsletter) every week; we hope you enjoy it, and your weekend.

There can be only 1: Polaroid licensee withdraws Nikon-like camera

Sakar International, which makes cameras under the Polaroid brand name, has agreed to stop selling the model at the center of a patent and trade dress dispute with Nikon. A New York court issued an injunction stopping Sakar from making, selling or advertising the Android-powered iM1836, based on an agreement reached by the two companies. Nikon claims the interchangeable lens iM1836 infringed design patents and 'trade dress' (appearance) of its 1 System.

Nokia test scene shootout: Lumia 920 vs 925 vs 928 vs 1020

We put all four of Nokia's newest smartphones, the Lumia 920, 925, 928, and 1020, through our studio test scene. You can use the image comparison tool to draw your own conclusions about how the devices perform. As usual you can compare how the phones perform under both bright and low light conditions, either at full resolution, or resized for print or web sharing. Learn more on connect.dpreview.com

DPReview Recommends: Best Compact Cameras for Enthusiasts

There's a long tradition of high-quality compact cameras going back more than a hundred years, and even now, in the days of digital, there are some incredibly capable compact cameras on the market. Shop carefully and you can get excellent image quality, full manual control and plenty of other bells and whistles, provided you don't mind paying a little more than you might for the average point and shoot. Top-notch lenses, great sensors and plenty of control are the hallmarks of every one of our top five recommended compact cameras for enthusiasts.

Samyang announces 10mm F2.8 manual focus wide-angle prime

Samyang has announced the 10mm F2.8 ED AS NCS SC, a wide-angle manual focus prime for APS-C format cameras. It's the company's first lens to feature nano crystal coating for increased light transmission and reduced internal reflections. With a 15mm equivalent angle of view (20mm equivalent on Micro Four Thirds), it'll be made in mounts for all current SLR and mirrorless systems. It'll go on sale at the end of January 2014 at an RRP of £469.99 for Nikon AE mount, or £429.99 for all other versions.

December 5
DPReview Recommends: Interchangeable Lens Cameras for Under $1000

A few years ago, the idea of a DSLR under $1000 was just a distant dream, but these days the financial bar to entry is much lower than it was in the past. And DSLRs aren't the only game in town anymore either - mirrorless interchangeable lens cameras are maturing quickly, and there are plenty of affordable options on the market. Here's our list of the top five interchangeable lens cameras that we'd currently recommend for under $1000 - including a kit zoom lens.

Foldio: A foldable, portable lightbox for product photography

A new product is Kickstarting its way into entry-level product photography. The Foldio lightbox aims to help inexperienced photographers on a budget capture their items in the best light possible. Folding down flat enough to fit in a briefcase, the Foldio easily props up with the use of magnets. Learn more at connect.dpreview.com.

Swimming with the Nikon 1 AW1

One of the most interesting cameras of the year is the Nikon 1 AW1, which is the first rugged mirrorless interchangeable lens camera. The AW1 offers the same 1" sensor as Nikon's other 1 System cameras, but adds the ability to go underwater or survive a 2 meter drop. We spent some time with the AW1 in Hawaii, both above and under the sea, to test if it was up to task. Find out if it passed

December 4
DPReview Gear of the Year Part 4: Sigma 18-35mm F1.8 DC HSM

A lot of equipment passes through our Seattle and London offices, everything from high-end cameras to inexpensive accessories. A lot of it gets reviewed, but we can't cover everything. In this series of short articles, DPReview staff will be highlighting their personal standout products of the year. In part 4, Richard Butler discusses the Sigma 18-35mm F1.8 DC HSM and what it means for APS-C shooters.

Anamorphic adapter lens makes for widescreen iPhone photos

A new Kickstarter project from Moondog Labs hopes to bring a wider view when shooting with the iPhone 5 and 5s. With Moondog Labs' 1.33x Anamorphic Adapter lens, a video shot on the iPhone in the standard 16:9 aspect ratio gains about 33% more width. Still images shot in 4:3 are expanded to 16:9. Learn more at connect.dpreview.com.

Accessory review: SanDisk Connect wireless media drives

Looking for an easy way to share your photos with nearby smartphone and tablet users? There are plenty of options, and SanDisk has a couple of their own in a new line of flash memory storage devices with built-in wireless that you can access from any device. We evaluate the devices from a photographer's perspective on connect.dpreview.com.

December 3
Metabones now available for Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera

Metabones has introduced two new versions of its Nikon-F to Micro Four Thirds mount Speed Booster adapters. This time they are designed specifically for the Blackmagic Cinema and Pocket Cinema cameras. The new 0.64x Speed Booster reduces the full-frame crop factor of the Blackmagic Cinema Camera from 2.39x to 1.53x. The 0.58x Speed Booster reduces the crop factor of the Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera from 2.88x to 1.75x. Learn more

Sigma issues advisory on lens compatibility with Nikon Df

Sigma has posted a statement on its website regarding incompatibilities between its lenses and the Nikon Df. As with the D5300, both autofocus and image stabilisation may not work correctly; however lenses without built-in focus motors are also affected when used on the Df. The company says it will provide free lens firmware updates to fix the issue, but this may not be possible with discontinued models. Click through for full details.

Canon announces EOS M2 in Japan

Canon has announced the EOS M2 in Japan. An updated version of its EOS M mirrorless camera, the new model promises faster autofocus due to the use of a Hybrid CMOS II sensor, as seen in the EOS 100D / SL1. It also has built-in Wi-Fi and a slightly revised body design. It will be sold either body-only or in kits with one, two, or all three EF-M lenses, and be available in either black or white.

December 2
Roger Cicala reveals winners of First Annual Photogeek contest

Roger Cicala of LensRentals has revealed the winners of his 'First Annual Photogeek Geek Photo Contest'. What was originally intended as a light-hearted joke ended up receiving over 400 entries from at least 20 countries, and the impressive quality of the entries caused a real headache for the judges. After a lot of deliberation, Rishi Sanyal won 'Best in Show' for his remarkable 'MacroSetUp' series. Click through to see the extraordinarily geeky winning images, and a link to the full contest gallery.

Homemade rig captures extreme macro shots of snowflakes

Moscow-based photographer Alexey Kljatov is a keen macro photographer, and for the past couple of years he's been producing closeup shots of snowflakes. His inexpensive homemade rig delivers extraordinary magnification, revealing an incredible amount of detail in the intricate crystals of ice. See his setup and gallery of snowflakes

DPReview on CreativeLIVE

We're very excited to announce a day of live video coverage on Monday December 2nd in partnership with CreativeLIVE. The live stream, which will be broadcast on our homepage will cover product highlights from the past year, as well as live shooting demonstrations and panels discussing the current state of the photography market, and predictions for the future. Click through for more details.

December 1
DPReview Recommends: Best Cameras for Social Photography

Smartphones are great for casual picture-taking, but they're at their absolute worst in poor lighting, or when using flash. One of the reasons smartphones are so popular is that they're small, but better images don't require enormous cameras, and increasingly, good-quality compacts are shipping with social-friendly options including built-in wireless connectivity. Click through to read our recommendations.